Guidelines for mortality review

A "death by natural causes" is one that happens because of a naturally-occurring disease or process. In accordance with Section 19 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, CSC is required to investigate and report when an inmate dies. Once the death of an inmate is classified as a "death by natural causes", whether it is expected or unexpected, the Commissioner convenes a Mortality Review.

During a mortality review, a health care professional, with continuous support from CSC's National Medical Advisor, reviews the clinical care provided to that inmate in a CSC facility, as well as the circumstances leading up to the death by natural causes. That health care professional completes a Mortality Review Report, giving an overview of the health care provided to the inmate while in custody. The review may lead to recommendations about practises and procedures, as well as ongoing quality improvement. The review process may reaffirm existing practises and procedures.

The Mortality Review Committee is debriefed on the preliminary findings and recommendations of the review. This ensures that the events, overall care, quality of life issues and clinical care preceding an inmate's death by natural causes have been appropriately reviewed.

In 2016-2017, CSC spent approximately $214M to provide health services (physical health and mental health) for incarcerated inmates. This includes screening, diagnosis and treatment for infectious diseases, other chronic and potentially fatal diseases (such as cancer and heart disease) and mental health illnesses.

Source - Commissioner's Directive 041 – Incident Investigations

Date modified:

Qu'est-ce qu'un examen de cas de décès?

Un « décès de causes naturelles » est le résultat de la progression naturelle d'une maladie ou d'un processus. Conformément à l'article 19 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) doit faire enquête et remettre un rapport en cas de décès d'un détenu. Lorsqu'il est déterminé qu'un détenu est mort de causes naturelles, que son décès ait été attendu ou non, le commissaire ordonne la tenue d'un examen de cas de décès.

Dans le cadre d'un tel examen, un professionnel de la santé examine les soins cliniques prodigués au détenu dans les installations du SCC et les circonstances qui ont mené au décès de causes naturelles avec la collaboration continue du conseiller médical national du SCC. Le professionnel de la santé rédige ensuite un rapport d'examen de cas de décès présentant une vue d'ensemble des soins prodigués au détenu en établissement. L'examen peut donner lieu à des recommandations au sujet des pratiques et des procédures à suivre et aux fins d'amélioration continue de la qualité. L'examen peut également permettre de réaffirmer les pratiques et les procédures en place.

Le Comité d'examen de cas de décès est informé des constatations et des recommandations préliminaires découlant de l'examen afin de garantir un examen adéquat des événements, des soins généraux, des questions de qualité de vie et des soins cliniques qui ont précédé le décès de causes naturelles du détenu.

En 2016-2017, le SCC a dépensé environ 214 millions de dollars pour assurer la prestation de services de santé (santé physique et santé mentale) aux détenus incarcérés. Cela comprend le dépistage, le diagnostic et le traitement des maladies infectieuses, autres que les maladies chroniques et potentiellement mortelles (comme le cancer et les maladies cardiaques), et des maladies mentales.

Source - Directive du commissaire 041 - Enquêtes sur les incidents

Date de modification :