Privacy Impact Assessment Summary

Electronic Monitoring Program Pilot (EMPP)

Overview

Express Lane is a simple interactive web site for managers that standardizes, simplifies, and expedites our low-risk staffing process and actions requiring limited HR consultation. The targeted staffing actions are:

The Electronic Monitoring (EM) of criminal justice defendants and offenders has been done since 1964 and the use of EM technologies in North America has grown steadily since. There are a number of EM technologies available to aid in the detention, restriction and surveillance of individuals within the criminal justice system. Two of the most common are the Radio Frequency (RF) System and the Global Positioning System (GPS).

One of CSC's priorities is the safe transition of offenders into the community and to achieve this priority CSC has committed to developing strategies to enhance supervision and monitoring tools for higher-risk offenders in the community. One way to achieve this is the development, implementation and assessment of an Electronic Monitoring Program Pilot (EMPP). The EMPP will allow CSC to test the efficiency of using GPS technology as a supervision tool to assist in managing higher-risk offenders in the community. It will also allow CSC to identify future needs and requirements in relation to a larger-scale, national EM program.

The assessment demonstrates that the proposed information sharing method was developed in accordance with the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, the Privacy Act and Treasury Board Secretariat's Policy on Privacy and Data Protection.

This web-based self-service approach enables managers to place requests online for low-risk staff needs in the above mentioned categories.

Summary of Risks and Recommendations

General/Overall Use

Risk

The staff and the contractor who will be involved in the administration of the program may use it for purposes for which it is not intended.

Recommendations for mitigation

Given the fact that the information will pertain to offenders who are approaching the end of their sentence and CSC's experience with the handling of such information, the risks are low. These risks may be further reduced by the inclusion of a description of the authorized uses in the EM program related procedures and protocols.

Disclosures

Risk

Because no Canadian owned and operated companies offer a monitoring service of the kind that is required for the operation of the EM program, the short period for which the trial period will take place, and the small number of participating offenders, CSC will most likely choose to use the services of the firm (Premier Geographix Limited) that is currently providing the services for the BC government. This company, however, operates from a US location, which means that it is subject to the U.S. Patriot Act. Even if the risk factor that the personal information that pertains to the few offenders who will take part in the trial CSC EM program to ever be requested by representatives of the Government of the United States is rather low, the possibility does exist.

Recommendations for mitigation

The unintended potential disclosures, and more particularly as they may occur as a result of the application of the U.S. Patriot Act to the personal information gathered by the US based contractor, do present some privacy concerns, however, the risks associated with the trial EM program are low and should any such disclosure ever occur, the adverse consequences for the offender(s) would most likely be imposed limitation on their access to the territory of the United States.

Safeguarding

Recommendations for mitigation
  • Proper and accepted auditing and monitoring of data, application and server changes.
  • Proper and accepted authentication methodologies.
  • Limited access to systems and data on a need-to-know basis.
  • Proper documentation.

Sommaire de l'évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Programme pilote de surveillance électronique (PPSE)

Aperçu

La surveillance électronique (SE) des personnes traduites devant la justice pénale et des délinquants existe depuis 1964, et le recours aux technologies de SE en Amérique du Nord croît constamment depuis. Il y a un certain nombre de technologies de SE servant à la détention, à la restriction de la liberté et à la surveillance des délinquants au sein du système de justice pénale. Deux des plus courantes sont le système de fréquence radioélectrique et le système mondial de positionnement (GPS).

L'une des priorités du SCC est le retour en toute sécurité des délinquants dans la collectivité; à cette fin, le SCC s'est engagé à établir des stratégies pour améliorer les outils de surveillance et de contrôle des délinquants à risque élevé dans la collectivité. Une façon d'y arriver consiste à concevoir, à mettre en œuvre et à évaluer un PPSE. Le PPSE permettra au SCC de mettre à l'épreuve l'efficacité de la technologie du GPS comme outil de surveillance pour aider à surveiller les délinquants à risque élevé dans la collectivité. Il permettra aussi au SCC de déterminer les exigences et les besoins futurs par rapport au programme national de SE à grande échelle.

L'évaluation montre que la communication de l'information proposée est conforme à la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et à la Politique du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor sur la protection des renseignements personnels et des données.

Sommaire des risques et des recommandations

Utilisation générale/globale

Risque

Le personnel et l'entrepreneur qui prendront part à l'administration du programme pourraient utiliser ce dernier à des fins non prévues.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Compte tenu du fait que les renseignements seront ceux de délinquants dont la fin de la peine approche et de l'expérience du SCC du traitement de tels renseignements, les risques sont faibles. Ces risques pourraient également être atténués par l'inclusion d'une description des utilisations autorisées dans les procédures et les protocoles du programme de SE.

Divulgation

Risque

Comme aucune entreprise de propriété et d'exploitation canadiennes n'offre le type de service de surveillance requis pour le fonctionnement du programme de SE, que la période d'essai sera courte et qu'il y aura un nombre restreint de délinquants participants, le SCC choisira vraisemblablement de faire appel à la société (Premier Geographix Limited) qui offre actuellement des services au gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique. Cependant, cette entreprise œuvre à partir des États-Unis, ce qui signifie qu'elle est assujettie à la U.S. Patriot Act. Même s'il est peu probable que les renseignements personnels des quelques délinquants qui prendront part à l'essai du programme de SE du SCC soient demandés par des représentants du gouvernement des États-Unis, cela est tout de même possible.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

La divulgation potentielle non prévue, spécialement en ce qui a trait à l'application de la U.S. Patriot Act relativement aux renseignements personnels recueillis par l'entrepreneur œuvrant aux États-Unis, présente certaines préoccupations liées à la protection des renseignements personnels; cependant, les risques associés à l'essai du programme de SE sont faibles, et, si une telle divulgation survenait, les conséquences négatives pour les délinquants se limiteraient vraisemblablement à leur accès aux États-Unis.

Protection

Recommandations
  • Vérification et surveillance adéquates et acceptées des données, de l'application et des changements de serveur.
  • Méthodes d'authentification adéquates et acceptées.
  • Accès limité aux systèmes et aux données en fonction du besoin de savoir.
  • Documentation adéquate.