Electronic Sharing of Offender's Information via InfoPol with Police Forces

Overview

InfoPol is a bilingual database designed by Correctional Service Canada (CSC) to electronically share offenders' personal information with police forces about offenders serving federal sentences who are paroled in the community or are actively being sought (suspended or revoked, unlawfully at large, escaped).

Police forces will access this information through a virtual private network (VPN) using an internet connection. The system also allows for the exchange of electronic correspondence between CSC and the staff and officers of police forces which will provide additional capability for the direct and timely exchanges of essential information about the offenders.

Summary of Risks and Recommendation:

General Use

Risk

Potential for information to be used for unauthorized purposes.

There is the potential of embarrassment for CSC should a police force misuse the personal information of an offender which it had extracted from InfoPol.

Recommendations for mitigation

CSC has established contractual and technical measures to minimize the risks that police forces use the information in InfoPol for unauthorized purposes. CSC could develop an effective communications plan that could be used to explain the limitations of its action and responsibility in relation to the violation.

The PIA Team believes that the best way to respond to an occurrence resulting in potential embarrassment for CSC would be to make sure that the public understands the limitations of CSC's action and responsibility in that regards.

Retention & Disposal

Risk

The possibility that the employees of police forces may reproduce and/or print some of the information to which they will have access and that they retain those copies beyond the schedules period for their disposition.

The possibility that the employees of polices forces improperly remove information from the system before the expiry of its retention schedule.

Recommendations for mitigation

These risks have always existed under the current arrangement and allowing police forces to access offenders' personal information via InfoPol instead of manually will not, in all probability, create those risks, especially when one considers that most police forces have been inputting the information they obtain manually from CSC onto their own information management systems.

Safeguarding

Risk

CSC conducted a TRA in relation to InfoPol in the fall of 2003.

Recommendations for mitigation

At the time of this PIA report, CSC authorities were in the process of addressing the technical security issues that were identified during the course of the TRA.

Communication électronique de renseignements sur les délinquants avec les services de police par l'entremise d'InfoPol

Aperçu

InfoPol est une base de données bilingue que le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) a conçue pour échanger avec les services de police des renseignements personnels sur les délinquants qui ont purgé une peine de ressort fédéral et qui sont en liberté conditionnelle dans la collectivité ou qui sont activement recherchés (liberté conditionnelle suspendue ou révoquée, illégalement en liberté ou évadés).

Les services de police accéderont à ces renseignements au moyen d'un réseau privé virtuel (VPN) à l'aide d'une connexion Internet. Le système permet un échange de correspondance électronique entre le SCCet les employés et les agents des services de police, ce qui accroît la capacité d'échanges directs et rapides de renseignements essentiels à propos de délinquants.

Sommaire des risques et des recommandations

Utilisation générale

Risque

Il est possible que les renseignements soient utilisés à des fins non autorisées.

Le SCC pourrait être mis dans l'embarras si un service de police utilise de façon inadéquate les renseignements personnels d'un délinquant extraits d'InfoPol.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Le SCC a établi des mesures contractuelles et techniques pour réduire au minimum les risques que les services de police utilisent les renseignements dans InfoPol à des fins non autorisées. Le SCC pourrait élaborer un plan de communication efficace qui pourrait servir à expliquer les limites des mesures qu'il peut prendre et de sa responsabilité par rapport à la violation.

L'équipe d'EFVP est d'avis que la meilleure façon d'intervenir lorsque survient une situation pouvant mettre le SCC dans l'embarras est de s'assurer que le public comprend les limites des mesures que peut prendre le SCC et de sa responsabilité à cet égard.

Conservation et élimination

Risque

Les employés des services de police pourraient reproduire ou imprimer certains des renseignements auxquels ils auront accès et qu'ils conservent ces copies au-delà du délai d'élimination prévu.

Les employés des services de police pourraient supprimer inadéquatement des renseignements dans le système avant l'expiration du délai de conservation.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Ces risques ont toujours existé dans le cadre de l'entente actuelle; par ailleurs, permettre aux services de police d'accéder aux renseignements personnels des délinquants par l'entremise d'InfoPol plutôt que manuellement n'entraînera vraisemblablement pas la matérialisation de ces risques, surtout lorsque l'on tient compte du fait que la plupart des services de police entrent les renseignements qu'ils obtiennent manuellement du SCC dans leurs propres systèmes de gestion de l'information.

Protection

Risque

Le SCC a mené une EMR par rapport à InfoPol à l'automne 2003.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport d'EFVP, les responsables du SCC étaient en train d'examiner les problèmes liés à la sécurité technique déterminés dans le cadre de l'EMR.