Privacy Impact Assessment Summary

Electronic Sharing of Offenders' Information with Provincial Governments

Overview

Historically, the sharing of offender information between Correctional Service Canada (CSC) and provincial correctional organizations has been done verbally and in writing. Both of these methods rely heavily on effective communications between the parties involved and on their appropriate exercise of judgement.

The new proposed information sharing method will involve the establishment of a virtual private network (VPN) using an internet connection between CSC and the computer network of each participating provincial institution. The network will allow the provincial institutions to gain secure and timely access to some of the personal information about offenders that is kept in CSC's Offender Management System (OMS) based on the terms of the agreement between CSC and each provincial government.

The assessment demonstrates that the proposed information sharing method was developed in accordance with the requirements of the Privacy Act, the Corrections and Conditional Release Act and the Government of Canada Security Policy.

Summary of Risks and Recommendation:

General Collection

Risk

Because the employees of provincial institutions will not be able to enter information in OMS, the privacy related risks associated with the collection of information are limited to the quality of the offender personal information that CSC will extract from the provincial databases.

Recommendations for mitigation

These risks are mitigated by the existence of privacy legislation in all jurisdictions from which CSC will obtain that information and the right of offenders to request access to, and the correction of their own personal information kept in those systems

Use

Risk

The privacy related risks associated with the use of the personal information that they will extract from OMS are rather low.

There is the potential of embarrassment for CSC should a provincial institution misuse the personal information of an offender that came from OMS

Recommendations for mitigation

The terms of the agreements to be signed between CSC and the privacy authorities, provide for the implementation of security and privacy controls as well as for the establishment of training/awareness programs for the authorized users of the system.

CSC should develop an effective communications plan to explain the limitations of the responsibility should questions ever be raised by the public concerning a possible misuse of the personal information that has been extracted from OMS.

The PIA team believes that the best way to respond potential embarrassment would be to ensure that the public is aware of, and understands the limitations of CSC's action and responsibility in that regard.

Retention & Disposal

Risk

The possibility that the employees of provincial institutions may reproduce and/or print some of the information to which they will have access and that they retain those copies beyond the scheduled period for their disposition; the possibility that the employees of provincial institutions improperly remove information from the system before the expiry of its retention schedule.

Recommendations for mitigation

The contractual and policy framework established by CSC for the retention and the disposal of the personal information that will be involved in the proposed sharing method meets the requirements of the Privacy Act. The risks associated with the retention and the disposal aspects of the proposed sharing method will not be significantly higher than they are under the current manual sharing arrangement.

Safeguarding

Risk

CSC conducted a TRA in relation to the proposed system in January 2003 in order to identity any potential security risks that the proposed approach may pose and determine ways to mitigate them.

Recommendations for mitigation

At the time of this PIA report, CSC authorities were in the process of addressing the technical security issues that were identified during the course of the TRA.

Sommaire de l'évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Communication électronique de renseignements sur les délinquants avec les gouvernements provinciaux

Aperçu

Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) et les organisations correctionnelles provinciales ont depuis toujours échangé de l'information sur les délinquants verbalement et par écrit. Pour que ces deux méthodes fonctionnent, il faut que les parties concernées communiquent efficacement et qu'elles exercent un bon jugement.

La nouvelle méthode de communication proposée requiert la création d'un réseau privé virtuel (VPN); une connexion Internet unira le SCC et le réseau de chacun des établissements provinciaux participants. Le réseau permettra à ces établissements d'accéder de façon rapide et sécuritaire aux renseignements personnels de délinquants figurant dans le Système de gestion des délinquant(e)s (SGD) du SCC. Les modalités d'accès au réseau varieront selon les ententes que le SCC aura conclues avec les gouvernements des provinces.

L'évaluation montre que la méthode de communication proposée a été élaborée conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, à la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition et à la Politique du gouvernement du Canada sur la sécurité.

Sommaire des risques et des recommandations

Collection générale

Risque

Comme les employés des établissements provinciaux ne pourront entrer de renseignements dans le SGD, les risques liés à la protection des renseignements personnels en ce qui concerne la collecte de renseignements ne portent que sur la qualité des renseignements personnels des délinquants que le SCC extraira des bases de données provinciales.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Ces risques sont atténués par les lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels de toutes les administrations dont le SCC obtiendra des renseignements et le droit des délinquants de demander l'accès à leurs renseignements personnels et leur correction dans ces systèmes

Utilisation

Risque

Les risques liés à la protection des renseignements personnels en ce qui concerne l'utilisation des renseignements personnels que les employés des établissements provinciaux extrairont du SGD sont plutôt faibles.

Le SCC pourrait être mis dans l'embarras si un établissement provincial utilise de façon inadéquate les renseignements personnels d'un délinquant extraits du SGD.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Les conditions des ententes que le SCC signera avec les responsables de la protection des renseignements personnels prévoient la mise en œuvre de mesures de contrôle de la sécurité et de la protection des renseignements personnels et la mise sur pied de programmes de formation et de sensibilisation destinés aux utilisateurs autorisés du système.

Le SCC devrait élaborer un plan de communication efficace pour expliquer les limites de sa responsabilité advenant que le public pose des questions concernant une éventuelle utilisation inadéquate des renseignements personnels extraits du SGD.

L'équipe d'EFVP est d'avis que la meilleure façon d'éviter un embarras potentiel est de veiller à ce que le public soit au courant des limites des mesures que le SCC peut prendre et de sa responsabilité à cet égard et qu'il les comprenne.

Conservation et élimination

Risque

Possibilité que les employés des établissements provinciaux reproduisent ou impriment certains des renseignements auxquels ils auront accès et qu'ils conservent ces copies au-delà du délai d'élimination prévu; possibilité que les employés des établissements provinciaux suppriment inadéquatement des renseignements dans le système avant l'expiration du délai de conservation.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Le cadre des contrats et des politiques établi par le SCC pour la conservation et l'élimination des renseignements personnels qui seront visés par la méthode de communication proposée satisfait aux exigences de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les risques inhérents à la conservation et à l'élimination des renseignements dans le cadre de la méthode de communication proposée ne seront pas beaucoup plus élevés que ce n'est le cas dans l'entente d'échange manuel actuelle.

Protection

Risque

Le SCC a mené en janvier 2003 une EMR par rapport au système proposé afin de déterminer les risques pour la sécurité que l'approche proposée pourrait présenter et de trouver des façons de les atténuer.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport d'EFVP, les responsables du SCC étaient en train d'examiner les problèmes liés à la sécurité technique déterminés dans le cadre de l'EMR.