Ontario Sex Offender Registry

Overview

The Ontario Sex Offender Registry (OSOR) is a database that provides 24-hour support for police services throughout the province. It is located at the OPP General Headquarters in Orillia. This service supports the objective of the Christopher's Law (Sex Offender Registry) of Ontario, 2000 which is to "provide information and investigative tools, including information about the whereabouts of sexual offenders that police forces within the province require in order to prevent and solve crimes of a sexual nature."

The OPP have been mandated by the Government of Ontario to establish, operate and maintain the OSOR on behalf of the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services. Correctional Services Canada (CSC) is responsible for the disclosure of the offender's personal information through a process whereby CSC, on a daily basis, extracts the information to be provided from its Offender Management System and transfers it electronically to OSOR via a virtual private network (VPN) using an internet connection.

Summary of Risks and Recommendations:

General Use

Risk

Recipients of the information may use it for purposes for which it was not intended.

There is potential of embarrassment for CSC should a police force misuse the personal information of an offender.

Recommendations for mitigation

CSC has established contractual and technical measures to minimize the risks that the recipients of the information will use it for unauthorized purposes.

The legislative and contractual framework provides reasonable assurance that OSOR and the police forces that will receive the information provided by CSC will be rigorous in the way in which they use and handle it.

The PIA Team believes that the best way to respond to an occurrence resulting in potential embarrassment for CSC would be to make sure that the public understands the limitations of CSC's action and responsibility in that regards.

Retention & Disposal

Risk

The possibility that the staff of OSOR or police forces reproduce and/or print some of the information to which they will have access and that they retain those copies beyond the scheduled period for their disposition.

The possibility that the staff of OSOR or police forces improperly remove information from the system before the expiry of its retention schedule.

Recommendations for mitigation

These risks have always existed in relation to the offenders' information that CSC provides to Ontario, and the OSOR information sharing agreement will not, in all probability, increase those risks.

The legislated and contractual framework established by the agreement as well as by the applicable Ontario privacy and archival legislation for the retention and the disposal of the personal information that will be involved in the proposed sharing program meets the requirements of the Privacy Act.

Safeguarding

Risk

A Threat and Risk Assessment (TRA) was completed.

Recommendations for mitigation

The security risks that were identified during the TRA were addressed by CSC at the time of the PIA.

Registre des délinquants sexuels de l'Ontario

Aperçu

Le Registre des délinquants sexuels de l'Ontario (RDSO) est une base de données qui fournit jour et nuit des renseignements aux services de police de la province. Il se trouve au quartier général de la Police provinciale de l'Ontario (PPO), à Orillia. Ce service permet d'atteindre l'objectif de la Loi Christopher de 2000 sur le registre des délinquants sexuels de l'Ontario, qui vise à fournir aux corps de police de la province les renseignements et les outils d'enquête nécessaires, y compris des renseignements sur les lieux où se trouvent les délinquants, pour prévenir et élucider les crimes de nature sexuelle.

La PPO s'est vu confier par le gouvernement de l'Ontario le mandat d'établir, d'utiliser et de tenir à jour le RDSO pour le compte du ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels. Il incombe au Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) de divulguer les renseignements personnels sur les délinquants au moyen d'un processus dans le cadre duquel le SCC extrait tous les jours les données à fournir de son Système de gestion des délinquant(e)s et transfère ceux-ci électroniquement au RDSO par l'entremise d'un réseau virtuel privé (VPN) à l'aide d'une connexion Internet.

Sommaire des risques et des recommandations

Général utilisation

Risque

Les bénéficiaires des renseignements pourraient les utiliser à des fins non prévues.

Le SCC pourrait être mis dans l'embarras si un service de police utilise de façon inadéquate les renseignements personnels d'un délinquant.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Le SCC a établi des mesures contractuelles et techniques pour réduire au minimum le risque que les bénéficiaires des renseignements les utilisent à des fins non autorisées.

Le cadre législatif et contractuel garantit raisonnablement que le personnel du RDSO et les services de police qui recevront des renseignements fournis par le SCC les utiliseront et les traiteront de façon rigoureuse.

L'équipe d'EFVP est d'avis que la meilleure façon d'intervenir lorsqu'une situation survient pouvant mettre le SCC dans l'embarras est de s'assurer que le public comprend les limites des mesures que peut prendre le SCC et de sa responsabilité à cet égard.

Conservation et élimination

Risque

Possibilité que le personnel du RDSO ou des services de police reproduise ou imprime certains des renseignements auxquels il aura accès et qu'il conserve ces copies au-delà du délai d'élimination prévu.

Possibilité que le personnel du RDSO ou des services de police supprime inadéquatement des renseignements dans le système avant l'expiration du délai de conservation.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Ces risques ont toujours existé en ce qui a trait aux renseignements des délinquants que le SCC fournit à l'Ontario, et, selon toute vraisemblance, l'entente de communication des renseignements du RDSO n'augmentera pas ces risques.

Le cadre législatif et contractuel établi par l'entente ainsi que par les lois applicables de l'Ontario sur la protection des renseignements personnels et l'archivage aux fins de la conservation et de l'élimination des renseignements personnels qui seront visés par le programme de communication proposé satisfait aux exigences de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Protection

Risque

Une évaluation de la menace et des risques (EMR) a été menée.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Les risques liés à la sécurité qui ont été déterminés dans le cadre de l'EMR ont été traités par le SCC au moment de l'EFVP.