Memorandum of Understanding regarding the Use and Disclosure of Information  with Respect to Periods of Incarceration for the Administration of the Old Age Security Act

Please refer to HRSDC's PIA Summary for their risks and recommendations for mitigation.

Overview

A joint Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) has been conducted on the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) regarding the Use and Disclosure of Information with Respect to Periods of Incarceration for the Administration of the Old Age Security Act. This assessment is limited to the collection, use, disclosure and retention of the information as it pertains to the agreement.

The MOU authorizes the disclosure by CSC to HRSDC of personal information regarding individuals who are aged 60 years and older who have been recently incarcerated.

Summary of Risks and Recommendations:

General

Risk

A potential unauthorized use or disclosure.

Recommendations for mitigation

CSC will ensure that HRSDC exercises due diligence with the information it receives on offenders in order to administer the changes to the OAS Act. This "due diligence" may include conducting regular privacy or security audits or reviews of the program to protect the integrity and confidentiality of the information transmitted in electronic format to HRSDC.

Risk

An increase in Access to Information Act and Privacy Act requests from offenders who are seeking to know why their personal information is being disclosed to HRSDC. They may also want details on the MOU concerning the exchange of information.

Recommendations for mitigation

CSC will prepare communication materials so that employees of those affected areas can prepare for an increase in ATIP requests and grievances. Affected areas may wish to review their existing resources to identify ways to handle an influx of offender requests.

CSC has in place a mechanism that allows for the reporting and corrective action of any privacy breaches due to improper use and disclosure of personal information. This includes written Privacy Breach Guidelines and the reporting of breaches to members of CSC's Privacy Committee, chaired by the Assistant Commissioner, Policy Sector. The Guidelines stipulate that, where appropriate, a Privacy Risk Assessment is to be completed to determine the severity of the breach and to identify those cases where the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada is notified.

Protocole d'entente sur l'utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements concernant les périodes d'incarcération pour l'application de la Loi sur la sécurité de la vieillesse

Veuillez consulter le sommaire de l'EFVP de RHDCC pour connaître les risques et les recommandations liées à l'atténuation.

Aperçu

Une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) conjointe a été menée par rapport au protocole d'entente (PE) sur l'utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements concernant les périodes d'incarcération pour l'application de la Loi sur la sécurité de la vieillesse. Cette évaluation porte uniquement sur la collecte, l'utilisation, la divulgation et la conservation des renseignements relativement à l'entente.

Le PE autorise le SCC à divulguer à RHDCC des renseignements personnels concernant les personnes qui ont 60 ans ou plus et qui ont récemment été incarcérées.

Sommaire des risques et des recommandations

Général

Risque

Utilisation ou divulgation non autorisée potentielle.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Le SCC verra à ce que RHDCC fasse preuve de diligence raisonnable en ce qui concerne les renseignements reçus sur les délinquants afin d'appliquer les changements de la Loi sur la sécurité de la vieillesse. Cette diligence raisonnable pourrait supposer la tenue régulière de vérifications ou d'examens de la protection des renseignements personnels ou de la sécurité du programme pour assurer l'intégrité et la confidentialité des renseignements transmis par voie électronique à RHDCC.

Risque

Augmentation du nombre de demandes liées à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels de la part de délinquants qui cherchent à savoir pourquoi leurs renseignements personnels sont divulgués à RHDCC. Ils pourraient également vouloir de l'information sur le PE concernant l'échange de renseignements.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Le SCC préparera du matériel de communication afin que les employés des secteurs concernés puissent se préparer à l'augmentation du nombre de demandes et de griefs liés à l'AIPRP. Les secteurs concernés pourraient souhaiter examiner leurs ressources existantes pour déterminer les façons de traiter le nombre accru de demandes de délinquants.

Le SCC compte sur un mécanisme de signalement et de prise de mesures correctives pour toute violation de la protection des renseignements personnels découlant de l'utilisation et de la divulgation inadéquates des renseignements personnels. Cela comprend des lignes directrices sur la violation de la protection des renseignements personnels et le signalement des violations aux membres du Comité sur la protection des renseignements personnels du SCC, présidé par le commissaire adjoint, Secteur des politiques. Les lignes directrices établissent que, le cas échéant, une évaluation des risques liés à la protection des renseignements personnels doit être menée pour déterminer la gravité de la violation et les cas où la commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada est avertie.