Uniform Program

Overview

Correctional Service Canada (CSC) provides uniform clothing (work, dress uniform, dog handler, drivers and other entitled employee uniform items) to approximately 6,800 correctional officers, 100 drivers and various employees entitled to uniforms across Canada. CSC is responsible for the overall management of its employee clothing program. In previous years, employees have ordered their uniforms and other clothing items directly through the National Depot in Laval Quebec, with the overall management of the program administered by Technical Services, Corporate Services Branch. As a result of a contract awarded in June 2009, this service will now be the responsibility of Logistik Unicorp Inc. with the administrative authority remaining with Technical Services, Corporate Services Branch.

Summary of Risks and Recommendations:

Risk

The contract awarded to Logistik Unicorp Inc. and the statement of work does not refer to any requirements regarding proper safeguarding or retention of personal information under their control.

Recommendations for mitigation

The contract and statement of work will be revised to include the appropriate privacy clauses/requirements. This will be done in consultation with PWGSC and CSC's legal services.

Risk

CSC does not have a personal information bank for the Uniform Program and is therefore not in compliance with the legislative requirement outlined in section 10 of the Privacy Act. If personal information collected is not described in a corresponding PIB it will result in a poor Management Accountability Framework (MAF) rating.

Recommendations for mitigation

An institution specific PIB was created and will be included in the 2010 Info Source Updates.

Risk

A Threat Risk Assessment of Logistik's system has not been conducted by CSC's IT Division. Until the completion of the TRA, it cannot be determined if there is any IT security risks associated with Logistik's system.

Recommendations for mitigation

A TRA will be done immediately following the completion of the PIA.

Programme d'uniformes

Aperçu

Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) fournit des uniformes (vêtements de travail, uniformes de grande tenue, de maîtres-chiens et de chauffeurs et autres articles d'uniforme auxquels les employés ont droit) à environ 6 800 agents correctionnels, 100 chauffeurs et divers employés ayant droit à un uniforme, et ce, partout au Canada. Le SCC est responsable de la gestion globale de son programme d'uniformes des employés. Au cours des années passées, les employés commandaient leurs uniformes et d'autres articles vestimentaires directement au Dépôt national de Laval (Québec), et les Services techniques de la Direction des services corporatifs assuraient la gestion générale du programme. À la suite de l'attribution d'un marché en juin 2009, ce service est devenu la responsabilité de Logistik Unicorp Inc., tandis que les Services techniques de la Direction des services corporatifs ont conservé l'autorité administrative.

Sommaire des risques et des recommandations

Général

Risque

Le marché attribué à Logistik Unicorp Inc. et l'énoncé de travail ne font pas mention d'exigences concernant la protection ou la conservation adéquate des renseignements personnels dont la société est responsable.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Le marché et l'énoncé de travail seront révisés pour y intégrer des dispositions et des exigences adéquates concernant la protection des renseignements personnels. Cela sera effectué en consultation avec TPSGC et les Services juridiques du SCC.

Risque

Le SCC ne tient pas de banque d'information personnelle pour le programme d'uniformes; par conséquent, il n'est pas en conformité avec l'exigence législative établie à l'article 10 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Si les renseignements personnels recueillis ne sont pas décrits dans une banque d'information personnelle correspondante, la cote relative au Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion (CRG) sera faible.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Une banque d'information personnelle propre à chaque établissement a été créée et sera intégrée aux mises à jour d'InfoSource de 2010.

Risque

La Division des TI du SCC n'a pas mené d'évaluation de la menace et des risques du système de Logistik. Jusqu'à ce que l'EMR soit menée, on ne peut déterminer si des risques liés à la sécurité des TI sont associés au système de Logistik.

Recommandations liées à l'atténuation

Une EMR sera menée immédiatement après l'achèvement de l'EFVP.