Job Profiles

What Do CSC Employees Do?

Working for CSC often means working with offenders. As part of the CSC team, your job is to provide a safe, secure and positive environment for offenders. This is an essential element in helping offenders to reintegrate into society.

Here is an overview of the career opportunities CSC offers:

Male Correctional Officer in Uniform Two Female Correctional Officers in Uniform

Correctional Officer

Correctional Officers maintain the safety and security of federal penitentiaries. They monitor, supervise and interact with offenders. They regularly watch for signs that the safety of others or security of the institution might be at risk. When necessary, they take appropriate security measures.

Read more

Female Primary Worker in Uniform

Primary Worker

Primary Workers are the main, daily contact for women offenders. Primary Workers are key members of the correctional team. They work with colleagues such as Psychologists, Behavioural Counsellors, Parole Officers, and others. Together, they develop each woman offender's correctional plan. They encourage the women to participate in reintegration programs.

Read more

Female Parole Officer Working at her Desk

Parole Officer

Parole Officers work either within a correctional facility or in the community. They supervise and manage multiple offenders. This is referred to as a "caseload". They use policies and their professional judgement to provide written reports and recommendations to CSC and the Parole Board of Canada about offenders under their supervision.

Read more

Male Correctional Program Facilitator Speaking with an Offender

Correctional Program Officer

Correctional Program Officers are essential to an offender's rehabilitation efforts. Every day, they deliver important correctional programs to offenders (e.g. substance abuse and violence prevention programs). They motivate and encourage offenders along the path to successful reintegration.

Read more

Male Social Program Officer

Social Program Officer

In institutions every day, Social Program Officers plan, organize, and deliver social programs. These programs assist offenders with their rehabilitation and reintegration into the community. Programs can range from Community Integration Programs to Parental Skills Programs. They are designed to meet the social, cultural, and personal development needs of inmates.

Read more

Female Aboriginal Liaison Officer

Aboriginal Liaison Officer

Aboriginal Liaison Officers provide leadership, cultural awareness, counselling and other services to Aboriginal offenders. They are a link between the offender and the Aboriginal community.

Read more

Male Aboriginal Community Liaison Officer

Aboriginal Community Liaison Officer

Aboriginal Community Liaison Officers are based in the community, not in CSC institutions. They monitor, support and motivate Aboriginal offenders. They work both with individual offenders and with groups.

Read more

Male Aboriginal Community Development Officer

Aboriginal Community Development Officer

Aboriginal Community Development Officers work with Aboriginal offenders who are interested in returning to their communities.

Read more

Female Aboriginal Correctional Program Facilitator

Aboriginal Correctional Program Facilitator

Aboriginal Correctional Program Facilitators deliver culturally appropriate Aboriginal correctional programs to offenders. They work in partnership with Elders, and collaborate with parole officers. Programs are designed to address, in a culturally sensitive way, behaviours that increase an offender's risk to re-offend.

Read more

Female Kimisinaw

Kimisinaw (Aboriginal Primary Worker)

Kimisinaws (Cree term for Older Sister) work on the front lines of the correctional system. They are the primary, daily contact for women offenders at a Healing Lodge. They work at CSC's Okimaw Ohci Healing Lodge for Aboriginal women offenders on the Nekaneet First Nation near Maple Creek, Saskatchewan.

Read more

Female Nurse Male Nurse


Nurses are the cornerstone of the Correctional Service of Canada's (CSC) Health Services operations. They are the primary health care providers for federal offenders. Nation-wide, we employ more than 700 nurses. They work in clinics located in our institutions.

Read more

Female Psychologist

Psychologist and Assistant Psychologist

In the past decade, the number of offenders exhibiting signs of mental health and behavioural issues has increased significantly. The Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) is working to address this issue. We are now the largest federal employer of psychologists in Canada. Our team of over 300 psychologists are world-renowned for their work in developing risk assessment tools and contributing to corrections research.

Read more

Female Pharmacist


Pharmacists are another key part of the Correctional Service of Canada's (CSC) Health Services team. They are responsible for providing essential pharmacy services for offenders. They assist in the operation of our Regional Pharmacies.

Read more

Female Social Worker

Social Worker

Social workers are another important piece of the Correctional Service of Canada's (CSC) Health Services team. They provide expert advice and recommendations to support the development and implementation of a comprehensive clinical release plan for offenders.

Read more

Male Tradesperson Welding Rivets


A key factor in the successful reintegration of an offender into the community is getting a job upon their release. Many offenders choose to learn one of the many trades that are taught at Correctional Service of Canada institutions.

Read more

Profils d’emploi

Que font les employés du SCC?

Le fait de travailler pour le SCC signifie souvent qu'il faut travailler auprès des délinquants. En tant que membre de l'équipe du SCC, votre travail consiste à fournir un environnement sûr, sécuritaire et positif pour les délinquants. Il s'agit d'un élément essentiel visant à aider les délinquants à réintégrer la société.

Voici un aperçu des possibilités de carrière qu'offre le SCC :

Agent correctionnel - agente correctionnelle

Agent correctionnel/agente correctionnelle

Les agents correctionnels veillent à ce que les pénitenciers fédéraux soient des endroits sûrs et sécuritaires. Ils contrôlent et surveillent les délinquants et interagissent avec ceux-ci. Ils cherchent régulièrement des signes que la sécurité des autres personnes ou de l'établissement pourrait être menacée. Au besoin, ils adoptent les mesures de sécurité appropriées.

En lire plus

Intervenant - intervenante de première ligne

Intervenant/intervenante de première ligne

Les intervenants de première ligne sont le premier contact quotidien des délinquantes. Les intervenants de première ligne sont des membres essentiels de l'équipe correctionnelle. Ils travaillent de près avec leurs collègues, comme des psychologues, des conseillers en comportement, des agents de libération conditionnelle, etc. Ensemble, ils conçoivent un plan correctionnel pour chaque délinquante. Ils encouragent les délinquantes à participer à des programmes de réinsertion sociale.

En lire plus

Agent - agente de libération conditionnelle

Agent/agente de libération conditionnelle

Les agents de libération conditionnelle travaillent dans un établissement correctionnel ou dans la collectivité. Ils surveillent et gèrent de nombreux délinquants, qui constituent leur « volume de travail ».

En lire plus

Intervenant de programmes correctionnels

Agent de programmes correctionnels

Les agent de programmes correctionnels jouent un rôle essentiel afin d'aider les délinquants dans leurs efforts de réadaptation. Chaque jour, ils offrent des programmes correctionnels importants aux délinquants (p. ex., programmes de lutte contre la toxicomanie et de prévention de la violence). Ils motivent et encouragent les délinquants pendant leur parcours vers une réinsertion sociale réussie.

En lire plus

Agent - agente de programmes sociaux

Agent/agente de programmes sociaux

Chaque jour, dans les établissements, les agents de programmes sociaux planifient, organisent et offrent des programmes sociaux. Ces programmes aident les délinquants dans leur réadaptation et leur réinsertion sociale dans la collectivité. Il peut s'agir du Programme d'intégration communautaire comme du Programme d'acquisition des compétences parentales. Ils sont conçus pour répondre aux besoins sociaux et culturels et aux besoins en perfectionnement personnel des détenus.

En lire plus

Agent - agente de liaison autochtone

Agent/agente de liaison autochtone

Les agents de liaison autochtone sont chargés d'assurer un leadership, de sensibiliser les délinquants autochtones à leur culture et de leur offrir des séances de counseling et d'autres services. Ils servent de lien entre le délinquant et la collectivité autochtone.

En lire plus

Agent - agente de liaison autochtone avec la collectivité

Agent/agente de liaison autochtone avec la collectivité

Les agents de liaison autochtone avec la collectivité travaillent dans la collectivité, et non dans les établissements du SCC. Ils surveillent, soutiennent et motivent les délinquants autochtones. Ils travaillent auprès des délinquants en séances individuelles et en groupe.

En lire plus

Agent - agente de développement auprès de la collectivité autochtone

Agent/agente de développement auprès de la collectivité autochtone

Les agents de développement auprès de la collectivité autochtone travaillent auprès des délinquants autochtones qui veulent retourner dans leur collectivité.

En lire plus

Intervenant de programmes correctionnels pour Autochtones

Intervenant de programmes correctionnels pour Autochtones

Les intervenants de programmes correctionnels pour Autochtones offrent aux délinquants des programmes correctionnels pour Autochtones adaptés sur le plan culturel. Ils travaillent en partenariat avec les Aînés et collaborent avec les agents de libération conditionnelle. Des programmes sont conçus pour remédier, en tenant compte des différences culturelles, aux comportements qui augmentent le risque de récidive du délinquant.

En lire plus

Kimisinaw

Kimisinaw (intervenante de première ligne pour Autochtones)

Les Kimisinaws (terme cri signifiant soeurs aînées) sont à l'avant-plan du système correctionnel et représentent le premier contact pour les délinquantes dans un pavillon de ressourcement.

En lire plus

Personnel infirmier

Personnel infirmier

Le personnel infirmier est la pierre angulaire des opérations des Services de santé du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC). Les membres du personnel infirmier sont les principaux fournisseurs de soins de santé aux délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale.

En lire plus

Psychologue et psychologue adjoint - adjointe

Psychologue et psychologue adjoint/adjointe

Au cours de la dernière décennie, le nombre de délinquants montrant des signes de problèmes de santé mentale et de comportement a augmenté de manière importante. Le SCC travaille à résoudre ce problème et est désormais le plus important employeur fédéral de psychologues au Canada.

En lire plus

Pharmacien - pharmacienne

Pharmacien/pharmacienne

Les pharmaciens sont des membres clés de l'équipe de Services de santé du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC). Ils sont chargés d'assurer les services essentiels de pharmacie pour les délinquants et d'aider au fonctionnement des pharmacies régionales.

En lire plus

Travailleur social - travailleuse sociale

Travailleur social/travailleuse sociale

Les travailleurs sociaux sont une autre partie importante de l'équipe de Services de santé du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC). Ils fournissent des conseils professionnels et des recommandations à l'appui de l'élaboration et de la mise en œuvre d'un plan clinique complet de libération pour les délinquants.

En lire plus

Gens de métier

Gens de métier

Un facteur essentiel à la réinsertion sociale réussie d'un délinquant dans la collectivité est l'obtention par celui-ci d'un emploi à la suite de sa mise en liberté.

En lire plus