Guide to applying for a job at CSC

Remember to visit www.jobs.gc.ca daily, some positions are only posted for 24 hours!

When you work at the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC), you become part of an organization that changes lives and protects Canadians. CSC is responsible for the custody and supervision of offenders serving sentences of two years or more. On a typical day, CSC manages 43 institutions with approximately 15,000 offenders, and supervises more than 8,500 offenders in the community (parole).

CSC offers a wide variety of jobs and professions to keep our offices and institutions running smoothly.

As of April 9, 2019, Correctional Service Canada recruits receive an allowance* of $400/week, up to a maximum of $5,600 for 14 weeks, during the third stage of the Correctional Training Program (CTP). This allowance, paid bi-weekly, is in addition to the meal and hospitality fees already covered for recruits at this same CTP stage. Administrative procedures for payment of the allowance are initiated upon arrival at the Training Academy.

*Individuals who receive a salary as a public servant are not eligible. Recruits who already receive a salary or financial compensation through another program while their participation at CTP are responsible to inform the parties concerned.

The selection process

The selection process at CSC is based on merit as well as standards of fairness, transparency and efficiency to ensure we hire the right people for the job. Candidates are assessed on the knowledge, abilities and personal suitability which are pertinent to the job.

How to find a federal job on-line

The best way to get your employment search started is by visiting www.jobs.gc.ca, where you can view a list of all CSC job postings by region, by category and by organization. You can also check out opportunities specifically for students and recent graduates.

Once you have found an employment opportunity that you are interested in, look for the "Apply Online" link at the bottom of the advertisement. You must use this link to submit an application to the Public Service.

The "Apply Online" link allows you to log-in to your file in the Public Service Resourcing System. If you do not have an account, click "Create Account".

Having an account allows you to:

  • Apply for jobs that you are interested in and for which you meet the requirements.
  • Create a user profile that will match you to jobs that are currently advertised.
  • View the status of your previously submitted applications.
  • View your scheduled tests or test results.

Remember to visit www.jobs.gc.ca daily, some positions are only posted for 24 hours!

Things to keep in mind when applying

  • Prior to applying, make sure to update your resume.
  • Pay particular attention to each job advertisement. You must demonstrate that you meet the essential education and experience qualifications (with concrete examples) or you will be screened out of the process.
  • Read through the entire job advertisement, as it may contain information on what to include with your application.
  • DO NOT send your application via e-mail to the contact listed on the job advertisement, unless the advertisement indicates that alternate forms of the application will be accepted (i.e. for mail or fax).
  • All applications must be received by the closing date indicated.
  • Applicants may call 1-888-780-4444, or TTY/TDD users (for hearing impaired / speech impaired persons) at 1-800-465-7735, for information on the nearest public internet access location.
  • If you are unable to access the Internet in your area, contact the nearest Public Service Commission of Canada office.

Once you have finished applying

If you meet the education and experience levels required for the job, you will be informed whether or not you have been "screened in" for further consideration.

If you have been screened in, the next steps will often be a written exam, an interview, and reference checks. You can be eliminated at any stage of this process. You will be notified of the decision at each stage of the process.

For up-to-the-minute information on new job postings, follow us on Twitter.

If you require further assistance with the application process, please read the Public Service Commission’s information on how to apply section. However, if you have any questions please consult our Frequently Asked Questions tab or contact the Regional Recruitment Office in your area:

National Capital Region
ncrrecruitment@csc-scc.gc.ca

Quebec
quebecrecruitment@csc-scc.gc.ca
(includes Nunavik Region)

Prairies
prairiesrecruitment@csc-scc.gc.ca
(includes North West Territories)

Atlantic
atlanticrecruitment@csc-scc.gc.ca
(includes Nunatsiavut Region)

Ontario
ontariorecruitment@csc-scc.gc.ca
(includes Nunavut Region)

Pacific
pacificrecruitment@csc-scc.gc.ca
(includes Yukon)

Guide pour poser sa candidature

N'oubliez pas de visiter jobs-emplois.gc.ca chaque jour, certains postes ne sont affichés que 24 heures!

Lorsque vous travaillez pour le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC), vous faites partie d'une organisation qui transforme des vies et qui protège les Canadiens. Le Service est chargé de la garde et de la surveillance des délinquants qui purgent des peines de deux ans ou plus. Au cours d'une journée normale, le SCC gère 43 établissements, où sont placés plus de 15 000 délinquants, et surveille plus de 8 500 délinquants dans la collectivité (liberté conditionnelle).

Le SCC offre un large éventail d'emplois et de professions pour assurer le bon fonctionnement de ses bureaux et de ses établissements.

Processus de sélection

Le processus de sélection du SCC est fondé sur le mérite, l'équité, la transparence et l'efficience et permet de s'assurer que les bonnes personnes sont embauchées. Les candidats sont évalués en fonction de leurs connaissances, de leurs capacités et de leurs qualités personnelles pertinentes dans le cadre de l'emploi.

Comment trouver un emploi au sein du gouvernement fédéral en ligne

La meilleure façon de commencer votre recherche d'emploi est de consulter le site jobs-emplois.gc.ca, où vous pourrez consulter, par région, par catégorie et par organisation, une liste de tous les postes annoncés au SCC. Vous pourrez aussi en apprendre davantage sur les possibilités d'emplois offertes aux étudiants et aux récents diplômés.

Une fois que vous aurez trouvé une possibilité d'emploi qui vous intéresse, cherchez le lien « Postulez » affiché au bas de l'annonce. Vous devez cliquer sur ce lien pour soumettre votre demande à la Commission de la fonction publique.

Le lien « Postulez » vous permet d'accéder à votre dossier dans le Système de ressourcement de la fonction publique. Si vous n'avez pas de compte, cliquez sur « Créer un compte ».

Avoir un compte vous permet d'accomplir ce qui suit :

  • postuler des emplois qui vous intéressent et pour lesquels vous répondez aux exigences;
  • créer un profil correspondant aux emplois qui sont actuellement affichés;
  • vérifier l'état des demandes que vous avez déjà présentées;
  • voir les examens auxquels vous êtes convoqué et consulter vos résultats.

N'oubliez pas de visiter www.jobs.gc.ca chaque jour, certains postes ne sont affichés que 24 heures!

Choses importantes dont vous devez vous souvenir lorsque vous posez votre candidature

  • Avant de poser votre candidature, assurez-vous de mettre à jour votre curriculum vitæ.
  • Portez une attention particulière à chaque annonce. Vous devez montrer que vous possédez toutes les exigences essentielles en matière de scolarité et d'expérience (à l'aide d'exemples concrets), sinon vous serez éliminé du processus.
  • Lisez tout le contenu de l'annonce, parce que celle-ci peut comprendre des renseignements sur les éléments à inclure dans votre demande.
  • N'envoyez PAS votre demande par courrier électronique à la personne-ressource mentionnée dans l'annonce, à moins qu'on y précise que vous pouvez recourir à d'autres moyens pour poser votre candidature (p. ex., poste ou télécopieur).
  • Nous devons avoir reçu toutes les demandes avant la date limite précisée dans l'annonce.
  • Les candidats peuvent téléphoner au 1­888-780-4444 ou au 1-800-465-7735 (pour malentendants (ATS) et pour personnes ayant des troubles de la parole) pour connaître le point d'accès Internet le plus proche.
  • S'il vous est impossible d'avoir accès à Internet dans votre région, communiquez avec le bureau de la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada le plus près.

Une fois que vous avez posé votre candidature

Si vos études et votre expérience correspondent aux exigences du poste, on vous fera savoir si votre candidature a été retenue afin d'être examinée plus en profondeur.

Si vous avez été sélectionné, les prochaines étapes consisteront souvent à vous convoquer à un examen écrit et à une entrevue, et à procéder à la vérification de vos références. Votre candidature peut être éliminée à n'importe quelle étape du processus. Vous serez informé de la décision prise à chaque étape du processus.

Pour des renseignements toujours à jour sur les nouveaux postes annoncés, suivez-nous sur Twitter.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide en ce qui a trait au processus de demande, veuillez consulter le guide pour les postulants de la Commission de la fonction publique. Toutefois, si vous avez des questions, consultez notre onglet « Foire aux questions » ou contactez le bureau régional de recrutement de votre région :

Région de la capitale nationale
ncrrecruitment@csc-scc.gc.ca

Québec
quebecrecruitment@csc-scc.gc.ca
(comprend la région du Nunatsiavut)

Prairies
prairiesrecruitment@csc-scc.gc.ca
(comprend les Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

Atlantique
atlanticrecruitment@csc-scc.gc.ca
(comprend la région du Nunatsiavut)

Ontario
ontariorecruitment@csc-scc.gc.ca
(comprend la région du Nunatsiavut)

Pacifique
pacificrecruitment@csc-scc.gc.ca
(comprend le Yukon)