CORCAN Business Lines

Offender building a mattress.

CORCAN operates 103 shops in 36 of the 53 federal institutions, many of which are ISO-Certified (International Organization for Standardization)

As reflected in the Corrections and Conditional Release Regulations, CORCAN is legislated to provide offenders with a work environment that strives to mimic private sector standards with respect to productivity and quality while recognizing institutional setting and training imperatives. This results in a realistic work experience, which is deemed to be a more effective rehabilitative experience.

Manufacturing

CORCAN's Manufacturing shops are equipped with state-of-the art machinery and highly-trained instructors. They successfully generate high volumes of quality manufactured goods while providing offenders with meaningful employment opportunities and training. A wide range of standard products are produced, many of which are stocked at our National Warehouse and Distribution Centre. They include:

  • Workstations and systems furniture
  • Ergonomic office seating and accessories
  • Dormitory furniture (e.g. mattresses)
  • Reception furniture
  • Metal lockers and shelving
  • Vehicle repair and refurbishing

CORCAN can also provide custom solutions to suit the specialized needs or preferences of our clients. The National Engineering and Technical Support Center (NETSC) uses the latest AutoCAD and related design software to react quickly to any requirement, providing drawings and three dimensional renditions for clients. CORCAN also provides clients with floor plan layouts and other design, drawing, or architectural services.

Textiles

CORCAN's Textile operations use private sector standards and methods to manufacture a wide range of high quality textile products in our well-equipped ISO-certified shops. We provide offenders with opportunities to develop skills in all aspects of tailoring and garment creation, as well as the production of various products including:

  • Offender clothing
  • Uniforms and other tailored goods
  • Bedding
  • Towels
  • Draperies
  • Webbing, canvas, and other custom manufacturing

In addition to the standard products noted above, CORCAN's textile operations can custom design and deliver products that meet specific client needs, such as our fire retardant fleece blankets. Our experienced staff work hard to ensure our clients' needs are met.

Construction

CORCAN provides a range of Construction services to CSC and other clients. Skilled tradespersons train offenders in framing, drywall, plumbing, electrical, and related disciplines. These new skills are then used to complete projects primarily within CSC's institutions according to exact specifications.

Construction trades have been identified as a labour market need. CORCAN works with community colleges, construction trade unions, and other partners to ensure that the training offenders receive is certified and recognized in the industry, further enhancing the offender's employment prospects.

Services

CORCAN's Services operations provide offenders with training and employment opportunities in a variety of business lines including industrial laundry operations and printing.

Industrial laundry operations in Quebec and Ontario train offenders to work in high-volume laundry facilities, managing everything from equipment operations to material handling and distribution. In some cases, on-the-job training can be certified, further enhancing the value of the work experience.

CORCAN also produces and distributes a wide range of office supplies, including file folders and related file storage products. Print shops produce forms, business cards, and other material for CSC and other government departments. Shops can also produce vinyl signage, silk screened clothing, and tote bags.

Secteurs d'activité de CORCAN

CORCAN compte 103 ateliers dans 36 des 53 établissements fédéraux, dont un grand nombre qui ont reçu la certification ISO (Organisation internationale de normalisation).

Comme en témoigne la Règlement sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, CORCAN a l'obligation légale d'offrir aux délinquants un environnement de travail qui s'efforce d'imiter les normes du secteur privé concernant la productivité et la qualité, tout en respectant les exigences liées au milieu carcéral et les impératifs de formation. Cela donne lieu à une expérience de travail réaliste, laquelle est considérée comme une expérience de réadaptation plus efficace.

Fabrication

Les ateliers de fabrication de CORCAN sont dotés d'équipement de pointe, et les instructeurs sont très compétents. Les ateliers réussissent à générer un volume important de produits manufacturés de qualité tout en offrant aux délinquants des possibilités d'emploi valorisantes et de la formation. Un large éventail de produits et services standard sont produits, et nombre d'entre eux sont entreposés dans notre Centre national d'entreposage et de distribution. Mentionnons les suivants :

  • postes de travail et meubles de bureau modulaires;
  • chaises et accessoires de bureau ergonomiques;
  • mobilier de dortoir, y compris des matelas;
  • mobilier de réception;
  • armoires et étagères de métal;
  • réparation et remise en état de véhicules.

CORCAN peut également fournir des solutions sur mesure, adaptées aux besoins particuliers ou aux préférences de nos clients. Le Centre national d'ingénierie et de soutien technique (CNIST) utilise la dernière version d'AutoCAD et un logiciel de conception connexe pour répondre rapidement aux besoins et fournir des schémas et des maquettes aux clients. CORCAN fournit également aux clients des plans d'aménagement ainsi que d'autres services de conception, de dessin ou d'architecture.

Textiles

Le secteur des textiles de CORCAN applique les normes et les méthodes du secteur privé à la fabrication d'un large éventail de produits textiles de haute qualité dans ses ateliers bien équipés et certifiés ISO. Nous offrons aux délinquants des possibilités d'acquérir des compétences à l'égard de tous les aspects de la confection et de la création de vêtements, de même que de la fabrication de divers produits, y compris les suivants :

  • des vêtements pour les délinquants;
  • des uniformes et d'autres produits personnalisés;
  • de la literie;
  • des serviettes;
  • des rideaux;
  • des produits faits de sangles, produits en toile et autres produits manufacturés personnalisés.

Outre les produits standard indiqués ci-dessus, le secteur des textiles de CORCAN peut concevoir et livrer des produits sur commande qui répondent aux besoins particuliers des clients, comme des couvertures molletonnées ignifuges. Notre personnel expérimenté travaille dur pour s'assurer de répondre aux besoins de nos clients.

Construction

CORCAN offre une diversité de services de construction au SCC et à d'autres clients. Des gens de métier qualifiés offrent de la formation aux délinquants en matière de charpentes, de cloisons sèches, de plomberie, d'électricité et d'autres disciplines connexes. Ces nouvelles compétences sont ensuite mises à profit dans le cadre de projets réalisés principalement dans les établissements du SCC, conformément à des spécifications précises.

Les métiers de la construction sont en demande sur le marché du travail. CORCAN travaille en collaboration avec les collèges communautaires, les syndicats des métiers de la construction et d'autres partenaires afin de s'assurer que la formation que reçoivent les délinquants est certifiée et reconnue dans l'industrie, ce qui améliore les possibilités d'emploi des délinquants.

Services

Le secteur des services de CORCAN offre aux délinquants de la formation et des possibilités d'emploi dans divers secteurs d'activité, y compris la blanchisserie industrielle et l'impression.

Dans le cadre des activités de blanchisserie industrielle au Québec et en Ontario, les délinquants apprennent à travailler dans des blanchisseries à grande capacité et à y exercer toutes les fonctions, des activités liées à l'équipement jusqu'à la manutention et la distribution du matériel. Dans certains cas, la formation en cours d'emploi peut mener à l'obtention d'une certification, ce qui accroît la valeur de l'expérience de travail.

En outre, CORCAN fabrique et distribue un large éventail de fournitures de bureau, comme des chemises de classement et de produits connexes de rangement de dossiers. Les imprimeries produisent des formulaires, des cartes de visite et d'autre matériel pour le SCC et d'autres ministères fédéraux. Les ateliers peuvent également fabriquer des enseignes en vinyle, des vêtements sérigraphiés et des sacs fourre tout.