CORCAN Apprenticeships

CORCAN provides employment experience to offenders in areas that are in line with apprenticeship trades. In order to increase the benefits of on-the-job training in the institutions, many regions are working with the provincial governing body responsible for apprenticeship training, regulation and certification to have the hours worked by offenders registered towards a trade.

Offenders who have worked with CORCAN have a wealth of skills and knowledge to contribute to your workplace. If you are an employer and are interested in providing offenders with the opportunity to continue earning their apprenticeships, please contact CORCAN's Manager of Employment and Employability for more information. We look forward to working with you.

To date, offenders working in CORCAN shops in British Columbia, Ontario, Saskatchewan, and Alberta are logging apprenticeship hours:

Pacific Region (British Columbia)

The Pacific region has been working with the Industry Training Authority (ITA) in British Columbia for several years, and in 2011/2012, over 70 offenders logged apprenticeship hours related to trades such as Residential Framing Technician, Welder, and Industrial Mechanic (Millwright), among others.

Ontario Region (Ontario)

In the Ontario region, many advances have been made as well. The CORCAN Welding and Fabrication shop at Collins Bay Institution has been a Training Delivery Agent since January 2010, offering Level 1 of the Welding Apprenticeship program to offenders. In 2011, this shop received approval to deliver Level 2 of the Welding Apprenticeship program.

In 2011/2012, approximately 80 offenders earned apprenticeship hours in the following trades: Welding, Automotive Painter, Truck and Coach Technician, and Auto Body Repair.

Prairie Region (Saskatchewan and Alberta)

The Prairie Region has made significant progress as well and provided opportunities for approximately 50 offenders to earn apprenticeship hours in trades such as Welding and Cabinetmaker.

CORCAN continues to work with the proper provincial authorities to enable more offenders to log hours towards an apprenticeship. In the community, offenders must seek out an employer who is willing to sponsor them as an apprentice. CORCAN, through its relationship with the authority governing apprenticeships in some provinces, provides assistance where possible. Offenders also seek assistance from CORCAN instructors, Community Employment Coordinators and other resources through non-profit agencies and employment agencies to find suitable employers to continue their apprenticeship.

Formation en apprentissage à CORCAN

CORCAN offre aux délinquants des emplois dans des secteurs où les métiers d'apprentissage sont en demande. Afin d'accroître les avantages de la formation en cours d'emploi de CORCAN dans les établissements, de nombreuses régions travaillent avec l'organisme provincial responsable de la formation en apprentissage, de la réglementation connexe et de la certification pour faire reconnaître les heures de travail enregistrées par les délinquants dans l'exercice d'un métier.

Les délinquants qui ont travaillé à CORCAN disposent d'un vaste éventail de compétences et de connaissances qui peuvent contribuer à votre milieu de travail. Si vous êtes un employeur et que vous souhaitez offrir à des délinquants la possibilité de poursuivre leur formation en apprentissage, veuillez communiquer avec le gestionnaire de l'Emploi et de l'employabilité de CORCAN pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. Nous serons heureux de collaborer avec vous.

À ce jour, les délinquants qui travaillent dans des ateliers de CORCAN en Colombie Britannique, en Ontario, en Saskatchewan et en Alberta jouissent d'une reconnaissance des heures d'apprentissage accumulées :

Région du Pacifique (Colombie-Britannique)

La région du Pacifique travaille avec l'Industry Training Authority (ITA) de la Colombie Britannique depuis plusieurs années; pour 2011-2012, plus de 70 délinquants ont accumulé des heures d'apprentissage liées à des métiers tels que technicien charpentier résidentiel, soudeur, mécanicien industriel (de chantier).

Région de l'Ontario (Ontario)

Dans la région de l'Ontario, de nombreux progrès ont également été enregistrés. L'atelier de soudage et de fabrication de CORCAN à l'Établissement de Collins Bay est, depuis janvier 2010, un agent de formation accrédité pouvant offrir aux délinquants le programme d'apprentissage pour les soudeurs de niveau 1. En 2011, l'atelier a reçu l'approbation pour offrir le niveau 2 de ce programme.

Dans la région de l'Ontario, pour l'exercice 2011 2012, environ 80 délinquants ont accumulé des heures d'apprentissage dans les métiers suivants : soudeur, peintre d'automobiles, mécanicien de camions et d'autocars et réparateur de tôlerie.

Région des Prairies (Saskatchewan et Alberta)

La région des Prairies a également enregistré des progrès importants et a donné à environ 50 délinquants l'occasion d'accumuler des heures d'apprentissage dans des métiers comme soudeur et ébéniste.

CORCAN continue de travailler avec les autorités provinciales compétentes afin de permettre à plus de délinquants d'accumuler des heures de formation en apprentissage. Dans la collectivité, les délinquants doivent trouver un employeur prêt à les parrainer en tant qu'apprentis. CORCAN, grâce à sa relation avec l'autorité responsable de la formation en apprentissage dans certaines provinces, offre du soutien lorsque c'est possible. Les délinquants peuvent également obtenir du soutien de la part des instructeurs à CORCAN, des coordonnateurs de l'emploi dans la collectivité et d'autres ressources d'organisations sans but lucratif et d'agences de placement pour trouver de bons employeurs et continuer leur apprentissage.