General Information

Background

Correctional Service Canada (CSC) was formed in 1979 through the amalgamation of the Canadian Penitentiary Service and the Parole Board of Canada. Learn more about CSC’s history and background.

CSC is an agency within the Public Safety Portfolio.  The Portfolio brings together key federal agencies dedicated to public safety, including the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the Parole Board of Canada, the Canada Border Services Agency, the Canadian Security Intelligence Service, and three review bodies, including the Office of the Correctional Investigator. Correctional Service Canada reports to Parliament through the Minister of Public Safety.

CSC has the fundamental obligation to contribute to public safety by actively encouraging and assisting offenders to become law-abiding citizens, while exercising reasonable, safe, secure and humane control. It does this by operating under the rule of law – in particular, the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (the CCRA), which provides its legislative framework. The Commissioner of CSC has the authority, extending from the CCRA, to issue directives, procedures and guidelines to carry out the agency’s operations.

CSC also has a variety of directives and procedures to exercise reasonable, safe, secure and humane control.  Learn more about CSC's policy and legislation.

Responsibilities

CSC contributes to public safety by administering court-imposed sentences for offenders sentenced to two years or more. This involves managing institutions (penitentiaries) of various security levels and supervising offenders on different forms of conditional release, while assisting them to become law-abiding citizens. CSC also administers post-sentence supervision of offenders with Long Term Supervision Orders for up to 10 years.

CSC provides services across the country, from large urban centres with their increasingly diverse populations, to remote Inuit communities across the North. CSC manages institutions, mental health treatment centres, Aboriginal healing lodges, community correctional centres and parole offices. In addition, CSC has five regional headquarters that provide management and administrative support and serve as the delivery arm of CSC's programs and services. CSC also manages an addictions research centre, a correctional management learning centre, regional staff colleges and a national headquarters.

Learn more about CSC’s organization.

CORCAN, a Special Operating Agency of CSC, provides work and employability skills training to offenders in institutions in order to enhance job readiness upon their release to communities, and to increase the likelihood of successful reintegration. CORCAN also offers support services at 53 community-based employment locations across Canada to assist offenders on conditional release in securing employment. CORCAN's services are provided through partnership contracts internally (CSC and CORCAN) as well as externally with other government organizations, Non-Governmental Organizations, and private enterprises.

Renseignements généraux

Contexte

Le Service correctionnel Canada (SCC) a été formé en 1979 par la fusion du Service canadien des pénitenciers et du Service national de libération conditionnelle. Pour en savoir plus sur l'historique et l'arrière-plan du SCC.

Le SCC est un organisme du portefeuille de la Sécurité publique. Le Portefeuille réunit des organismes fédéraux clés qui s'occupent de la sécurité publique, notamment la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité et trois organismes de surveillance, dont le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel. Le Service correctionnel du Canada se rapporte au Parlement par l'intermédiaire du ministre de la Sécurité publique.

Le SCC a l'obligation fondamentale de contribuer à la sécurité publique en incitant activement et en aidant les délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois, tout en exerçant sur eux un contrôle raisonnable, sûr, sécuritaire et humain. SCC exécute son mandat conformément à la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (LSCMLC), laquelle lui confère son cadre législatif, et dans le respect de la primauté du droit. Le commissaire du SCC a le pouvoir, découlant de la LSCMLC, de publier des directives, des procédures et des lignes directrices pour assurer le fonctionnement du Service.

Le SCC s'appuie également sur diverses directives et procédures pour exercer un contrôle raisonnable, sûr, sécuritaire et humain sur les délinquants. Pour en savoir plus sur les politiques et les lois du SCC.

Responsabilités

Le SCC contribue à la sécurité publique en administrant les peines d'emprisonnement de deux ans ou plus imposées aux délinquants par les tribunaux. Cette responsabilité comprend la gestion des établissements (pénitenciers) de divers niveaux de sécurité et la surveillance des délinquants mis en liberté conditionnelle tout en les aidant à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois. SCC assure également la surveillance postpénale des délinquants visés par une ordonnance de surveillance de longue durée (OSLD), pouvant aller jusqu'à dix ans.

Le Service fournit des services dans tout le pays tant dans les grands centres urbains aux populations de plus en plus diversifiées que dans les collectivités inuites éloignées du Nord. SCC gère des établissements, des centres de traitement des maladies mentales, des pavillons de ressourcement pour Autochtones, des centres correctionnels communautaires et des bureaux de libération conditionnelle. De plus, SCC possède cinq administrations régionales qui fournissent des services de soutien administratif et qui gèrent les programmes et services offerts par l'organisation. Le Service gère aussi un centre de recherche en toxicomanie, un centre d'apprentissage en gestion correctionnelle, des collèges régionaux du personnel et une administration centrale.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'organisation du SCC.

CORCAN, organisme de service spécial du SCC, offre aux délinquants une formation professionnelle et la possibilité d'acquérir des compétences liées à l'employabilité en établissement pour améliorer leur aptitude à l'emploi après leur mise en liberté et ainsi favoriser une réinsertion sociale réussie. Corcan offre aussi des services de soutien dans 53 centres d'emploi communautaires à la grandeur du Canada afin d'aider les délinquants en liberté sous condition à obtenir un emploi. Les services de CORCAN sont offerts dans le cadre de contrats de partenariat à l'interne (SCC et CORCAN) et de contrats externes avec d'autres organismes du gouvernement, des organismes non gouvernementaux et des entreprises privées.