Additional Information

Additional information is available on our ATIP page including information on

The Government of Canada encourages the release of information through informal requests. You may wish to consult Correctional Service Canada's (CSC) summaries of completed Access to Information requests.

Note on Consistent Uses of Personal Information Banks

Personal information may be disclosed without the consent of the individual in accordance with section 8(2) of the Privacy Act. Personal information will be used most often in compliance with subsection 8(2)(a) which states that personal information under the control of a government institution may be disclosed for the purpose for which the information was obtained or compiled by the institution or for a use consistent with that purpose. CSC may also disclose personal information under other subsections of section 8(2) such as to an investigative body during the course of lawful investigations and for research or statistical purposes.

General Information on Personal Information Sharing

The mandate of Correctional Service Canada requires that it routinely shares personal information with other areas of the Criminal Justice Community, to ensure that offenders are appropriately managed in a safe, secure and humane environment, and to ensure the safety of the offender, other offenders, staff and the community at large. In order for CSC to carry out its mandate and to administer its' legislation and directives, the Service needs to obtain a variety of information provided by other agencies and therefore information sharing is conducted.

Sharing of Personal Information with Law Enforcement Agencies (municipal, provincial, international, federal police forces or another law enforcement body).

Following an offender's sentence to a federal institution, CSC requests the criminal record (history information) from the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)

This information is used to assess the impact of the offender's criminal behaviour and to alert staff who will deal with the offender. CSC also requests a police report from the arresting and/or investigating law enforcement body in order to have a full understanding of the events surrounding the offence.

Following a sentence to a federal institution in the case of foreign nationals, CSC must also request from the Inland Service (Immigration) that they provide information that is relevant to the administration of the offender's sentence and to the case management process.

When an offender is released to the community, there is a requirement to notify the RCMP and/or the local/provincial police force, and, when necessary, the Inland Service (Immigration), of the offender's address and the terms and conditions of the release. If an offender violates conditions of release, or is considered to be a risk, CSC will issue a warrant for the apprehension of the offender. The warrant is transmitted to the local police and the data is entered into the Canadian Police Information Centre (CPIC) system. The police are requested to locate and apprehend the offender.

Sharing of Personal Information with the Parole Board of Canada

CSC data is shared with the Parole Board of Canada (PBC). With the current renewal of the OMS by both CSC and PBC, seamless data/information sharing continues to occur and be a priority for both organizations since both organizations play a key role in managing offenders.

While it is CSC's responsibility to manage the offenders for the duration of their sentence, it is the PBC's responsibility to assess the offenders' progress during incarceration, their risk to society, and their potential for successful reintegration into the community as law-abiding citizens. CSC information is shared with PBC pertaining to all aspects related to an offender prior to and during incarceration. Once PBC has assessed the information, and through a hearing process, makes their decision, CSC is notified. If the PBC makes a decision to conditionally release an offender, it is CSC staff that are responsible for the supervision and control of the offender in the community and keeping PBC informed of the offender's progress.

Sharing of Personal Information with Provincial Authorities

An offender, who is sentenced to a period of incarceration of two years or more, will serve this sentence under the jurisdiction of CSC. Offenders sentenced to less than two years will serve their sentence under a provincial jurisdiction. However, CSC is doing the case preparation and supervision for some provinces that do not have a provincial parole board.

Often an offender will have a history of provincial incarceration, further, prior to sentencing the offender could be held in a provincial institution or a remand centre. Information collected during any period of incarceration is deemed significant and sometimes crucial to the successful management of that offender. It is for these reasons that information is routinely shared between CSC and provincial authorities, which include also the boards of education and hospitals.

Information is also requested from the sentencing judge and could also be requested from the crown attorney, from provincial parole and probation services. CSC uses this information in the management of the offender and decision-making process.

Method of Personal Information Sharing

Every effort is taken to ensure that the personal information shared concerns the appropriate individual. In order to validate that the different agencies are dealing with the same individual, a number of personal identifiers are matched. These include: name, sex, date of birth, finger print series number (FPS) and in some cases physical features.

CSC may conduct or assist others in conducting ad hoc personal information sharing for the purpose of the administration or the enforcement of any law (i.e. Criminal Code).

CONTACT US

For additional information about the programs and activities of Correctional Service Canada, please contact us.

Requests for information under the Access to Information and Privacy Acts must be sent to the following address.  You may also learn more about the Access to Information and Privacy processes at CSC.

Correctional Service Canada
Mark Nafekh
Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
Sir Wilfrid Laurier Building
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0P9

You may also contact National Headquarters or any of the Regional Headquarters listed below or search for the contact information of CSC's other facilities and institutions:

National Headquarters
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0P9
Phone: 613-992-5891
Fax: 613-943-1630

Atlantic Regional Headquarters
Terminal Plaza Building
1045, Main Street, 2nd Floor
Moncton, New Brunswick  E1C 1H1

Ontario Regional Headquarters
443 Union Street
P.O. Box 1174
Kingston, Ontario K7L 4Y8

Pacific Regional Headquarters
Unit 100 – 33991 Gladys Avenue
PO Box 4500
Abbotsford, British Columbia V2S 2E8

Prairies Regional Headquarters
3427 Faithfull Avenue
PO Box 9223
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3X5

Quebec Regional Headquarters
3 Place Laval, Suite 200
Laval, Quebec H7N 1A2

READING ROOM

In accordance with the Access to Information Act and Privacy Act, the applicant may wish to review material on site. The address is:

360 Albert Street, 13th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario 

Reading rooms are also available at each of the regional headquarters mentioned above.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Vous pouvez également en savoir plus sur le processus de l'accès à l'information et à la protection des renseignements personnels au SCC, inclus

 Le gouvernement du Canada encourage la communication de renseignements à la suite d'une demande informelle. Vous voudrez peut-être consulter le sommaire des demandes d'accès à l'information complétées du SCC.

Remarques au sujet de l'usage compatible des fichiers de renseignements personnels

On peut communiquer des renseignements personnels sans le consentement de la personne concernée conformément au paragraphe 8(2) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Le plus souvent, les renseignements personnels sont utilisés conformément à l'alinéa 8(2)a) qui prévoit que la communication des renseignements personnels qui relèvent d'une institution fédérale est autorisée aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis ou préparés par l'institution ou pour les usages qui sont compatibles avec ces fins. SCC peut également communiquer des renseignements personnels en vertu d'autres alinéas du paragraphe 8(2), notamment à un organisme d'enquête pendant la tenue d'enquêtes licites et pour des travaux de recherche ou de statistique.

Renseignements généraux sur la communication de renseignements personnels

Dans le cadre de son mandat, SCC est tenu de communiquer systématiquement des renseignements personnels à d'autres secteurs du milieu de la justice pénale pour s'assurer que les délinquants sont détenus de façon sûre, sécuritaire et humaine, ainsi que pour assurer leur sécurité et celle du personnel et de l'ensemble de la collectivité. Pour que SCC remplisse son mandat et applique ses lois et ses directives, il doit obtenir divers renseignements auprès d'autres organismes. C'est ainsi qu'a lieu l'échange de renseignements.

Échange de renseignements personnels avec des organismes d'application de la loi (services de police municipaux, provinciaux, internationaux et fédéral ou autres organismes d'application de la loi)

Après que le délinquant est condamné à purger une peine dans un établissement fédéral, SCC demande son casier judiciaire à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC).

Le casier judiciaire permet d'évaluer les répercussions du comportement criminel du délinquant et d'aviser le personnel chargé du délinquant. SCC peut également demander un rapport de police à l'organisme d'application de la loi qui a procédé à l'arrestation du délinquant ou qui a fait enquête afin de bien comprendre les événements entourant l'infraction.

Lorsqu'un ressortissant étranger est condamné à purger une peine dans un établissement fédéral, SCC doit également demander à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada de lui communiquer des renseignements pertinents pour l'administration de la peine du délinquant et la gestion du cas.

Lorsque le délinquant est mis en liberté dans la collectivité, SCC doit informer la GRC et le service de police local ou provincial et, au besoin, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada de l'adresse du délinquant et des modalités de sa mise en liberté. Si le délinquant ne respecte pas les conditions de sa mise en liberté ou si l'on considère qu'il pose un risque, SCC délivrera un mandat en vue de l'appréhender. Le mandat est transmis à la police locale et entré dans le système du Centre d'information de la police canadienne. On demande à la police de trouver le délinquant et de procéder à son arrestation.

Échange de renseignements avec la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada (CLCC)

Les données du SCC sont communiquées à la CLCC. Dans le contexte de la révision du SGD entreprise par SCC et la CLCC, le partage continu de l'information se poursuit et demeure une priorité pour les deux organismes, car les deux jouent un rôle essentiel dans la gestion des délinquants.

SCC est responsable de la gestion des délinquants pendant la durée de leur peine et la CLCC, de l'évaluation des progrès des délinquants durant leur incarcération, du risque qu'ils posent pour la société et de leur potentiel de réinsertion dans la société à titre de citoyens respectueux des lois. SCC communique à la CLCC les renseignements relatifs à la conduite du délinquant avant et durant son incarcération. Une fois que la CLCC a évalué tous les renseignements et tenu une audience, elle prend une décision qu'elle communique au SCC. Si la CLCC autorise la libération sous condition du délinquant, il incombe au personnel du SCC de superviser et de contrôler le délinquant dans la collectivité, et de tenir la CLCC informée des progrès du délinquant.

Échange de renseignements avec les autorités provinciales

Le délinquant condamné à une peine d'emprisonnement de deux ans ou plus purge sa peine dans un établissement fédéral. Le délinquant condamné à une peine de moins de deux ans purge sa peine dans un établissement provincial. SCC se charge cependant de la préparation du cas et de la supervision dans les provinces où il n'y a pas de commission des libérations conditionnelles.

Souvent, le délinquant a déjà été incarcéré dans un établissement provincial; ainsi, avant le prononcé de la sentence, le délinquant pourrait être détenu dans un établissement ou un centre de détention provisoire provincial. Les renseignements recueillis durant l'incarcération sont considérés comme importants et parfois essentiels pour la gestion réussie du délinquant. C'est pour ces raisons que SCC et les autorités provinciales, notamment les conseils scolaires et les hôpitaux, s'échangent systématiquement des renseignements.

On demande également des renseignements au juge qui prononce la peine ainsi qu'au procureur de la Couronne et aux services provinciaux des libérations conditionnelles et de probation. SCC utilise ces renseignements pour la gestion des délinquants et dans son processus décisionnel.

Méthode de communication des renseignements personnels

Nous ne ménageons aucun effort pour nous assurer que les renseignements personnels communiqués concernent la bonne personne. Pour confirmer que les renseignements fournis par les différents organismes concernent la même personne, on fait concorder un certain nombre d'identificateurs personnels tels que : le nom, le sexe, la date de naissance, le numéro matricule et, dans certains cas, des caractéristiques physiques.

SCC peut procéder ou aider des gens à procéder à une communication ponctuelle de renseignements personnels aux fins de l'application de toute loi (p. ex. le Code criminel).

CONTACTEZ-NOUS

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les programmes et les activités du SCC, contactez-nous.

Toute demande d'information présentée en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels devrait être envoyée à l'adresse suivante. Vous pouvez également en savoir plus sur le processus de l'accès à l'information et à la protection des renseignements personnels au SCC

Service correctionnel Canada
Mark Nafekh
Coordonateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels
Édifice Sir Wilfrid Laurier
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0P9

Vous pouvez aussi joindre administraton centrale ou une des administrations régionales énumérées ci-dessous ou recherchez des informations sur nos régions et nos établissements du SCC.

Administration centrale
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P9
Téléphone : 613-992-5891
Télécopieur : 613-943-1630

Administration régionale de l'Atlantique
1045, rue Main, 2e étage
Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick) E1C 1H1

Administration régionale de l'Ontario
443, rue Union
C. P. 1174
Kingston (Ontario) K7L 4Y8

Administration régionale du Pacifique
100-33991, avenue Gladys
C. P. 4500
Abbotsford (Colombie-Britannique) V2S 2E8

Administration régionale des Prairies
3427 rue Faithfull
C. P. 9223
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan) S7K 3X5

Administration régionale du Québec
3, Place Laval, 2e étage
Laval (Québec) H7N 1A2

SALLE DE LECTURE

Conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, l'auteur de la demande peut souhaiter examiner les documents sur place. Voici l'adresse :

360, rue Albert, 13e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) 

Des salles de lecture sont aussi aménagées à chacune des administrations régionales mentionnées ci‑dessus.