Audit of IT Security

Internal Audit Report

378-1-275

May 9, 2012

Table of Contents

Executive Summary

Background

Correctional Service Canada’s (CSC) 2011-2014 Risk-Based Audit Plan (RBAP) identified IT Security as an area of moderate risk and requires that an audit of Information Technology (IT) Security be completed in 2011-2012. The purpose of this audit was to assess CSC’s IT Security capabilities primarily in the areas of incident detection and incident response. The audit objectives were two-fold, to:

  • assess the adequacy of CSC’s current approach to ensure the protection of IT systems, data and IT services from accidental or deliberate threats to confidentiality; and
  • assess the adequacy of CSC’s current approach to respond to deliberate or accidental threats to confidentiality, integrity or availability of IT systems, data or IT services.

To achieve these objectives, the audit team included consultants hired for their IT expertise. The team reviewed documentation, policies, procedures, and logs. It interviewed CSC IT staff and conducted ‘active testing’ that was modeled after high-profile security incidents experienced by the Government of Canada in 2010, including vulnerability testing and social engineering.

A glossary of terms is available in Annex D.

Conclusion

The results of the audit indicate that overall, CSC has an IT security management framework, with supporting procedures and technology for IT security incident detection and response. Specifically:

  • CSC policies and procedures are consistent with TB policies;
  • Comprehensive and functional technology investments in incident detection and prevention have been made in many areas of the CSC IT network;
  • CSC’s IT Operations and IT Security groups recognise the need for, and have developed and follow some incident management practices; and
  • CSC receives and generates vulnerability and threat intelligence.

Recommendations have been made in the report to address these areas for improvement.  Management has reviewed and agrees with the findings contained in this report and a Management Action Plan has been developed to address the recommendations (see Annex E).

Statement of assurance

This mandate was conducted at a moderate level of assurance.

In my professional judgment as Chief Audit Executive, sufficient and appropriate audit procedures have been conducted and evidence gathered to support the accuracy of the opinion provided and contained in this report. The opinion is based on a comparison of the conditions, as they existed at the time, against pre-established audit criteria that were agreed on with management. The opinion is applicable only to the area examined. The evidence was gathered in compliance with Treasury Board policy, directives and standards on internal audit and the procedures used meet the professional standards of the Institute of Internal Auditors. The evidence gathered was sufficient to provide senior management with proof of the opinion derived from the internal audit.


__________________________________  Date: __________________
Sylvie Soucy,
Chief audit Executive

1.0 Introduction

Background

CSC’s 2011-2014 Risk-Based Audit Plan (RBAP) identified IT Security as an area of moderate audit priority. The RBAP requires that an audit of IT Security be completed in 2011-2012 with the objective of providing reasonable assurance that the processes in place throughout CSC are efficient, effective, and meet regulations.

The Treasury Board (TB) Policy on Government Security states that “government security is the assurance that information, assets and service are protected against compromise. The extent to which government can ensure its own security, directly affects its ability to ensure the continued delivery of services that contribute to the health, safety, economic well-being and security of Canadians.”1

The TB Operational Security Standard: Management of Information Technology Security (MITS) then “defines the baseline security requirements that federal departments must fulfill to ensure the security of information and information technology (IT) assets under their control.”2 Baseline requirements include such matters as IT Security policy, defined roles and responsibilities, incident management, and vulnerability management. MIT identifies IT security as “an integral part of continuous program and service delivery. To avoid the loss of service and trust that IT security breaches can cause, departments need to view IT security as a business imperative; a service enabler.”3

The MITS standard further details that “IT continues to rapidly advance in support of greater interconnectedness and improved service delivery. At the same time, the number and potential severity of threats, vulnerabilities and incidents similarly increase. Departments need to be aware of this evolving environment, and understand how to manage their IT security programs in order to respond.”4

MITS identifies that in order for departments to protect information and ensure service delivery, they must continuously monitor system performance to rapidly detect:

  • attempts (failed or successful) to gain unauthorized access to a system, or to bypass security mechanisms;
  • unauthorized probes or scans to identify system vulnerabilities;
  • unplanned disruption of systems or services;
  • denial-of-service attacks; unauthorized changes to system hardware, firmware, or software; and
  • system performance anomalies and known attack signatures.5

CSC Background

A glossary of terms is available in Annex D.

The IT security environment changed at CSC when the Government of Canada announced the creation of Shared Services Canada (SSC) on August 4, 2011. This entity will assume responsibility for some of the IT activities at CSC.  As a result, all resources associated with the delivery of email, data and network services will be transferred to SSC, which will have a significant HR and financial impact on CSC. It will also impact the manner in which IT security is managed within the department.

IT Security at CSC

CSC’s Information Management Services (IMS), which is led by the Chief Information Officer, who reports to the Senior Deputy Commissioner, has responsibility for the overall information management and information technology framework. IMS is comprised of seven divisions, one of which is IT Security.

CSC’s IT Security division, which is led by a Director of IT Security, oversees the security of electronic information and assets that are stored, processed or transmitted on computer and telecommunications systems. IT Security is devoted to the implementation and adherence to the technology security requirements of the business and the standards, policies and procedures set by the Government of Canada.

Shared Services Canada (SSC)

On August 4, 2011, the federal government announced the creation of SSC, which is charged with cutting overall government IT costs by rolling more than 100 e-mail systems into one and more than 300 data centers into 20 across 44 federal departments. Shared Services Canada has effectively assumed the role as a service provider for CSC and is mandated to provide technical and personnel resources to support CSC’s IT needs within common services. This mandate includes a portion of the IT Security domain, where SSC will provide the operational IT Security services while departments will maintain a business and oversight responsibility.

2.0 Audit Objectives and Scope

2.1 Audit Objectives

The audit objectives were to:

  • assess the adequacy of the current approach taken by CSC to ensure the protection of IT systems, data and IT services from accidental or deliberate threats to confidentiality; and
  • assess the adequacy of the current approach taken by CSC to respond to deliberate or accidental threats to confidentiality, integrity or availability of IT systems, data or IT services.

Specific criteria related to each of the objectives are included in Annex A.

2.2 Audit Scope

The audit was national in scope and included the common network infrastructure, internet gateways, and regional users in the audit tests. It focused on the IT infrastructure, in particular the CSC network environment and included an examination of controls pertaining to incident detection and response elements, quality checks to verify technical incident detection capabilities, and looked for the existence and consistency of governance and operational practices in the areas of incident response.

For the purposes of this audit, examination of incident detection and response was considered within the following elements: governance of IT security, IT operations at CSC and CSC’s technical capabilities within IT security.

The audit did not include CSC’s applications and services (such as the Offender Management System, Messaging, the Human Resource Management System, etc.)  The audit focused on the overall capability of CSC to detect and respond to deliberate or accidental threats to its IT systems supporting infrastructure.

The timeframe for the audit’s examination phase was January – February 2012.

3.0 Audit Approach and methodology

The approach taken on this audit included a combination of interviews with CSC IT Security Division and SSC IT Operations staff, reviews of documentation, detailed testing and walkthroughs of systems.
Section 1210.A1 of the Institute of Internal Auditors Professional Practices Framework (PPF) states that “the Chief Audit Executive should obtain competent advice and assistance if the internal audit staff lacks the knowledge, skills, or other competencies needed to perform all or part of the engagement.”6 Due to the technical expertise required to successfully execute the audit of IT Security and to ensure that it was conducted with proficiency and due professional care, the Internal Audit group contracted a third party expert consultant to conduct the audit on its behalf.


1 TB Policy on Government Security, section 3.1,
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=16578&section=text

2 TB Operational Security Standard: MITS, section 1,
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=12328&section=text

3 TB Operational Security Standard: MITS, section 4,
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=12328&section=text

4 TB Operational Security Standard: MITS, section 4,
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=12328&section=text

5 TB Operational Security Standard: MITS, section 17,
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=12328&section=text

6 IIA Professional Practices Framework, section 1210

Examen de la sécurité des TI

Vérification Interne

378-1-275

9 mai 2012

Table des matières

RÉSUMÉ

Contexte

Le Plan de vérification interne 2011-2014 fondé sur le risque du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) indique que la sécurité de la TI est un domaine où il y a un risque modéré et exige la tenue d’une vérification de la sécurité de la technologie de l’information (TI) en 2011-2012. Cette vérification a pour but d’évaluer les capacités de sécurité de TI du SCC principalement dans les domaines touchant à la détection des incidents et les réactions aux incidents. Les objectifs de la vérification ont deux volets :

  • évaluer le caractère adéquat de l’approche actuelle du SCC pour veiller à la protection des systèmes, des données et des services de TI contre les menaces accidentelles ou délibérées à la confidentialité;
  • évaluer le caractère adéquat de l’approche du SCC pour réagir aux menaces accidentelles ou délibérées à la confidentialité, à l’intégrité ou à la disponibilité des systèmes, des données ou des services de TI.

Afin d’atteindre ces objectifs, l’équipe de vérification a embauché des consultants pour bénéficier de leur expertise en TI. L’équipe a passé en revue les documents, les politiques, les procédures et les registres. Elle a interrogé le personnel de TI du SCC et effectué des essais actifs basés sur des incidents notoires de sécurité auxquels le gouvernement du Canada a été exposé en 2010, y compris des essais sur la vulnérabilité et l’ingénierie sociale.

Vous trouverez un glossaire à l’Annexe D.

Conclusion

La vérification indique qu’en général, le SCC a un cadre de gestion de la sécurité des TI et des procédures et de la technologie permettant de détecter les incidents de sécurité de la TI et d’y réagir. Plus particulièrement :

  • les politiques et les procédures sont conformes aux politiques du Conseil du Trésor;
  • les investissements complets et fonctionnels en technologie ont été effectués en vue de la détection et de la prévention dans de nombreux domaines du réseau de TI du SCC;
  • les groupes de la sécurité et des opérations de la TI reconnaissent le besoin de posséder, d’établir et de suivre certaines pratiques de gestion du risque;
  • le SCC reçoit et produit des renseignements sur les vulnérabilités et les menaces.

Le présent rapport contient des recommandations visant l’amélioration de ces domaines. La haute direction a passé en revue et accepté les constatations énoncées dans le rapport et un plan d’action de la direction a été conçu afin de répondre aux recommandations (voir l’Annexe E).

ÉNONCÉ D'ASSURANCE

Le mandat a été réalisé avec un niveau modéré d’assurance.

Selon mon jugement professionnel en tant que chef de la vérification interne, les procédures de vérification appropriées et suffisantes ont été suivies, et les éléments de preuve recueillis appuient l’exactitude de l’opinion énoncée dans le présent rapport. L’opinion est fondée sur une comparaison des conditions, telles qu’elles existaient alors, avec les critères de vérification convenus par la direction. L’opinion formulée ne vaut que pour les questions examinées. Les données ont été compilées en conformité avec les politiques, les directives et les normes du Conseil du Trésor applicables à la vérification interne et avec les procédures utilisées pour satisfaire aux normes professionnelles de l’Institut des vérificateurs internes.


__________________________________  Date: __________________
Sylvie Soucy,
Dirigeante principale de la vérification

1.0 INTRODUCTION

Contexte

Selon le Plan de vérification interne 2011-2014 fondé sur le risque du SCC, la sécurité de la TI est un domaine modérément prioritaire en fait de vérification. Le Plan de vérification interne exige la tenue d’une vérification de la sécurité de la TI en 2011-2012 ayant pour objectifs de fournir une assurance raisonnable que les processus en place au SCC sont efficients, efficaces et conformes aux règles établies.

La Politique du Conseil du Trésor (CT) sur la sécurité du gouvernement stipule que « la sécurité du gouvernement, c’est l’assurance que l’information, les biens et les services ne sont pas compromis (…). La mesure dans laquelle le gouvernement peut assurer sa propre sécurité influe directement sur sa capacité de garantir que les services qui contribuent à la santé, à la sécurité et au mieux-être économique des Canadiennes et des Canadiens continuent d’être fournis. »1

La Norme opérationnelle de sécurité du CT : Gestion de la sécurité des technologies de l’information (GSTI) « définit les exigences sécuritaires de base que les ministères fédéraux doivent satisfaire pour assurer la sécurité de l’information et des biens de technologie de l’information (TI) placés sous leur contrôle. »2 Les exigences de base comprennent des questions telles que les politiques de sécurité de la TI, l’établissement des rôles et des responsabilités, la gestion des incidents et la gestion de la vulnérabilité. La GSTI indique que « la sécurité des TI fait partie intégrante de la prestation continue de programmes et de services. Pour éviter toute interruption de service ou de perte de confiance que pourrait causer une atteinte à la sécurité des TI, les ministères sont tenus de concevoir la sécurité des TI comme étant un impératif organisationnel et un outil de prestation de services. »3

De plus, selon la GSTI, « les technologies de l’information continuent à progresser rapidement dans le sens de l'accroissement de l’interconnectivité et de l’amélioration de la prestation des services. Simultanément, le nombre et la gravité éventuelle des menaces, des vulnérabilités et des incidents se multiplient. Les ministères doivent être conscients de l’évolution de l’environnement et comprendre comment gérer leurs programmes de sécurité des TI en conséquence. »4

Le GSTI précise qu’afin de protéger l’information et de garantir la prestation de services, les ministères doivent surveiller continuellement le rendement de leur système pour repérer rapidement :

  • les tentatives (réussies ou échouées) d’accès sans autorisation au système, ou celles de déjouer les mécanismes de sécurité;
  • les tentatives de sonder ou de balayer le système sans autorisation afin d’en déceler les vulnérabilités;
  • l’interruption non planifiée des systèmes ou des services;
  • les attaques par déni de service;
  • la modification non autorisée du matériel, de la microprogrammation et des logiciels du système;
  • les anomalies de fonctionnement du système et les signatures d’attaque connues.5
Contexte du SCC

Un glossaire se trouve à l’Annexe D.

L’environnement de sécurité de la TI a changé au SCC lorsque le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la création de Services partagés Canada (SPC) le 4 août 2011. Cet organisme sera responsable de certaines activités de TI au SCC. Par conséquent, toutes les ressources associées aux services de courriels, de données et de réseau seront transférées au SPC, ce qui aura des conséquences importantes pour le SCC en ce qui a trait aux ressources humaines et aux finances. Cela aura aussi un impact sur la façon dont la sécurité de la TI sera gérée dans l’organisation.

Sécurité de la TI au SCC

Les Services de gestion de l’information (SGI) du SCC, dirigés par le dirigeant principal de l’information, qui relève du sous-commissaire principal, sont responsables de la gestion générale de l’information et du cadre des technologies de l’information. Les SGI comptent sept divisions, dont la Sécurité de la TI.

La division de la Sécurité de la TI au SCC, dirigée par un directeur de la Sécurité de la TI, supervise la sécurité des renseignements et des biens électroniques qui sont stockés, traités ou transmis par ordinateur et par système de télécommunication. La Sécurité de la TI se consacre à mettre en œuvre les exigences opérationnelles ainsi que les normes, les politiques et les procédures établies par le gouvernement du Canada au sujet de la sécurité de la technologie et à en assurer le respect.

2.0 OBJECTIFS ET PORTÉE DE LA VÉRIFICATION

2.1 Objectifs de la vérification

La vérification avait pour objectifs :

  • d’évaluer le caractère adéquat de l’approche actuelle du SCC pour veiller à la protection des systèmes, des données et des services de TI contre les menaces accidentelles ou délibérées à la confidentialité;
  • d’évaluer le caractère adéquat de l’approche du SCC pour réagir aux menaces accidentelles ou délibérées à la confidentialité, à l’intégrité ou à la disponibilité des systèmes, des données ou des services de TI

Les critères spécifiques liés à chacun des objectifs figurent à l'Annexe A.

2.2 Portée de la vérification

La vérification a une portée nationale et les essais comprennent l’infrastructure commune de réseau, les portails internet et les utilisateurs des régions. Elle porte sur l’infrastructure de la TI, en particulier sur l’environnement de réseau du SCC et comprend l’examen des contrôles relatifs à la détection des incidents et aux éléments de réponse, à la vérification de la qualité pour vérifier les capacités de détection des incidents techniques, et a cherché l’existence de gouvernance et de pratiques opérationnelles dans le domaine de la réponse aux incidents ainsi que la conformité à celles-ci.

Aux fins de la présente évaluation, l’examen de la détection des incidents et des réponses aux incidents est compris dans les éléments suivants : gouvernance de la sécurité de la TI, activités de TI au SCC et capacités techniques du SCC en sécurité de la TI.

La vérification ne comprend pas les applications et les services du SCC (comme le Système de gestion des délinquant(e)s, la messagerie, le Système de gestion des ressources humaines). Elle porte principalement sur la capacité générale du SCC de détecter les menaces intentionnelles ou accidentelles l’intégrité de l’infrastructure de ses systèmes de TI et d’y réagir.

L’étape d’examen de la vérification devait commencer en janvier 2012 et se terminer en févrie 2012.

3.0 APPROCHE ET MÉTHODOLOGIE DE VÉRIFICATION

L’approche adoptée lors de la présente vérification comprend un ensemble d’entrevues avec le personnel de la division de la Sécurité de la TI du SCC et des activités de TI du SPC, des examens de la documentation, des revues et des essais détaillés des systèmes.

La section 1210.A1 du Cadre de référence des pratiques professionnelles de l’Institut des vérificateurs internes (IVI) indique que le dirigeant principal de la vérification doit obtenir les conseils et l’aide de personnes compétentes, si le personnel de vérification interne ne possède pas la connaissance, le savoir-faire et les autres compétences nécessaires à l’exécution d’une partie ou de la totalité de la mission.6 En raison des connaissances techniques requises pour procéder à la vérification complète de la Sécurité de la TI et pour veiller à ce qu’elle soit effectuée avec compétence et professionnalisme, le groupe de vérification interne a communiqué avec des consultants externes afin d’effectuer la vérification en son nom.


1 Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la sécurité du gouvernement, partie 3.1,
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=16578&section=text

2 Norme opérationnelle de sécurité du Conseil du Trésor : GSTI partie 1
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=12328&section=text

3 Norme opérationnelle de sécurité du Conseil du Trésor : GSTI partie 4,
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=12328&section=text

4 Norme opérationnelle de sécurité du Conseil du Trésor : GSTI partie 4,
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=12328&section=text

5 Norme opérationnelle de sécurité du Conseil du Trésor : GSTI partie 17,
http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=12328&section=text

6 Cadre de référence des pratiques professionnelles de l’Institut des vérificateurs internes, partie 1210