Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality, and Conferences for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2013

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality, and conferences for Correctional Service Canada (CSC) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2013. It also provides the explanations of the significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality, and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to supporting departmental mandate(s) and the government's priorities.

CSC is an agency within the Public Safety Portfolio which is comprised of five key federal agencies and three review bodies, including the Office of the Correctional Investigator, dedicated to public safety. CSC, as part of the criminal justice system and respecting the rule of law, contributes to public safety by actively encouraging and assisting offenders to become law-abiding citizens, while exercising reasonable, safe, secure and humane control. It delivers its mandate under four major program activities. A summary description of CSC's program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

CSC has locations throughout Canada that require travel for staff in order to oversee its operations. Other travel is required for CSC staff to attend training sessions to maintain or develop skills or to participate in various sessions to promote productive relationships with increasingly diverse partners, stakeholders, and others involved in public safety. Travel also occurs when transferring offenders and for parole officers to discharge their responsibilities.

For more details on CSC mandate and priorities please refer to the CSC's Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP) and Departmental Performance Report (DPR) which can be viewed at the following links:

Total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of Correctional Service Canada are summarized below:

Expenditure Category Expenditures for the
year ending
March 31, 2013
(in thousands of dollars)
Expenditures for the
year ending
March 31, 2012
(in thousands of dollars)
Variance
(in thousands of dollars)

Travel – Public Servants

17,028 30,724 (13,696)

Travel – Non-Public Servants

3,286 3,072 214 
Total Travel 20,314 33,796 (13,482)
Hospitality 130 295 (165)
Conference Fees 1 6 (5)
TOTAL 20,445 34,097 (13,652)

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year

Travel:

  • Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, CSC's travel expenditures for public servants decreased mainly due to the implementation of strict controls to reduce travel expenditures and by maximizing the use of technology, such as teleconferencing and videoconferencing.
  • Non-Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, CSC's travel expenditures for non-public servants increased mainly due to additional transfers of inmates between institutions.

Hospitality:

  • Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, CSC's hospitality expenditures decreased mainly due to the implementation of strict controls to reduce hospitality expenditures.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles liées aux voyages, à l'accueil et aux conférences pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2013

Comme l'exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit des renseignements sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013. Il donne également une explication des écarts importants par rapport à l'exercice précédent.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et agences fédéraux appuient le mandat ministériel et les priorités gouvernementales.

Le SCC est un organisme du portefeuille de la Sécurité publique, qui réunit cinq organismes fédéraux clés et trois organismes de surveillance, dont le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel, qui s'occupent de la sécurité publique. Le SCC, en tant que composante du système de justice pénale et dans la reconnaissance de la primauté du droit, contribue à la sécurité publique en incitant activement et en aidant les délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois, tout en exerçant sur eux un contrôle raisonnable, sûr, sécuritaire et humain. Le SCC s'acquitte de son mandat dans le cadre de quatre principales activités de programme. Une brève description des activités de programme peut être consultée dans la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

Les unités opérationnelles du SCC se trouvent partout au Canada, ce qui exige beaucoup de déplacements de la part des employés, afin d'assurer la supervision des activités. Les employés doivent également se déplacer pour participer à des séances de formation, pour acquérir des compétences ou pour participer à différentes conférences visant à promouvoir des relations productives avec une diversité croissante de partenaires, d'intervenants et d'autres responsables de services correctionnels contribuant à la sécurité publique au Canada et à l'étranger. Il y a également des déplacements lorsque des employés doivent accompagner des délinquants lors des transfèrements entre les unités opérationnelles, et des agents de libération conditionnelle doivent voyager pour s'acquitter de leurs responsabilités.

Pour mieux comprendre les rôles et les responsabilités du SCC, veuillez consulter le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) du Service et le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement (RMR) :

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyage, d'accueil et de conférences du Service correctionnel du Canada sont résumées ci-dessous :

Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013
(en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012
(en milliers de dollars)
Écart
(en milliers de dollars)

Voyages - Fonctionnaires

17 028 30 724 (13 696)

Voyages - Non-fonctionnaires

3 286 3 072 214 
Total des dépenses de voyages 20 314 33 796 (13 482)
Accueil 130 295 (165)
Frais de participation aux conférences 1 6 (5)
TOTAL 20 445 34 097 (13 652)

Écarts importants par rapport à l'exercice précédent

Voyages :

  • Fonctionnaires : Par rapport à l'exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses de voyage pour les fonctionnaires du SCC ont diminué principalement en raison de la mise en œuvre de contrôles stricts afin de réduire les dépenses liées aux voyages et en maximisant l'utilisation de la technologie comme la téléconférence et la vidéoconférence.
  • Non-fonctionnaires : Par rapport à l'exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses organisationnelles de voyage pour des non-fonctionnaires ont augmenté principalement en raison des transfèrements additionnels de détenus d'un établissement à un autre.

Accueil :

  • Par rapport à l'exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses d'accueil du SCC ont diminué principalement en raison de la mise en œuvre de contrôles stricts afin de réduire les dépenses liées à l'accueil.