Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality, and Conferences for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2015

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality, and conferences for Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2015. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality, and conferences fees incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to activities that support a departmental or agency mandate and the government’s priorities.

CSC is an agency within the Public Safety Portfolio which is comprised of five key federal agencies and three review bodies, including the Office of the Correctional Investigator, dedicated to public safety.  CSC, as part of the criminal justice system and respecting the rule of law, contributes to public safety by actively encouraging and assisting offenders to become law-abiding citizens, while exercising reasonable, safe, secure and humane control. It delivers its mandate under four major program activities. A summary description of CSC’s program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

CSC has locations throughout Canada that require travel for staff to provide service delivery and to oversee its operations. Other travel is required for CSC staff to attend training sessions to maintain or develop skills or to participate in various sessions to promote productive relationships with increasingly diverse partners, stakeholders, and others involved in public safety. Travel also occurs when transferring offenders.

For more details on CSC mandate and priorities please refer to the CSC’s Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP) and Departmental Performance Report (DPR) .

Annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Correctional Service of Canada
Expenditure Category Expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2015

(in thousands of dollars)
Expenditures for the Previous year ending
March 31, 2014

(in thousands of dollars)
Change
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel – Public Servants 10,724 16,041 (5,317)
Travel – Non-Public Servants 4,879 4,698 181
Total Travel 15,603 20,739 (5,136)
Hospitality 86 97 (11)
Conference Fees 0 0   0
TOTAL 15,689 20,836 (5,147)

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year

Travel

  • Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2013-14, CSC’s travel expenditures by public servants decreased mainly due to the continued efforts on the effective, efficient and economical management of those expenditures including maximizing the use of technology, such as teleconferencing and videoconferencing.

Hospitality

  • Compared to fiscal year 2013-14, CSC’s hospitality expenditures decreased mainly due to the continued efforts and strict controls to reduce spending related to hospitality.

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles liées aux voyages, à l’accueil et aux conférences pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2015

Comme l’exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces données sont mises à jour chaque année et ne comportent aucun renseignement non divulgué en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux sont liées à des activités à l’appui du mandat du ministère ou de l’organisme et des priorités gouvernementales.

Le SCC est un organisme du portefeuille de la Sécurité publique, qui réunit cinq organismes fédéraux clés et trois organismes de surveillance, dont le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel, qui s’occupent de la sécurité publique. Le SCC, en tant que composante du système de justice pénale et dans la reconnaissance de la primauté du droit, contribue à la sécurité publique en incitant activement et en aidant les délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois, tout en exerçant sur eux un contrôle raisonnable, sûr, sécuritaire et humain. Le SCC s’acquitte de son mandat dans le cadre de quatre principales activités de programme. Une brève description des activités de programme peut être consultée dans la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

Les unités opérationnelles du SCC se trouvent partout au Canada, ce qui exige beaucoup de déplacements de la part des employés, afin d’assurer la livraison des services et la supervision des activités. Les employés doivent également se déplacer pour participer à des séances de formation, pour acquérir des compétences ou pour participer à différentes conférences visant à promouvoir des relations productives avec une diversité croissante de partenaires, d’intervenants et d’autres responsables de services correctionnels contribuant à la sécurité publique au Canada et à l’étranger. Il y a également des déplacements reliés aux transfèrements des délinquants.

Pour mieux comprendre les rôles et les responsabilités du SCC, veuillez consulter le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) du Service et le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement (RMR).

Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Service correctionnel du Canada
Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le
31 mars 2015

(en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses pour l’exercice précédent se terminant le 31 mars 2014
(en milliers de dollars)
  Écart
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages – Fonctionnaires 10 724 16 041 (5 317)
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 4 879 4 698 181
Total des dépenses de voyages 15 603 20 739 (5 136)
Accueil 86 97 (11)
Frais de participation aux conférences 0 0
TOTAL 15 689 20 836 (5 147)

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

Voyages 

  • Fonctionnaires : En comparaison avec l’exercice 2013-2014, les dépenses de voyage des fonctionnaires ont diminué principalement en raison des efforts continus pour la gestion efficace, efficiente et économique de ces dépenses, et en maximisant l’utilisation de la technologie telles que la téléconférence et la vidéoconférence.

Accueil 

  • En comparaison avec l’exercice 2013-2014, les dépenses d’accueil ont diminué principalement en raison des efforts continus et des contrôles rigoureux afin de réduire les dépenses liées à l’accueil.