Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality, and Conferences
For the fiscal year ending March 31, 2017

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality, and conferences for Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2017. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality, and conferences fees incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to activities that support a departmental or agency mandate and the government’s priorities.

CSC is an agency within the Public Safety Portfolio which is comprised of five key federal agencies and three review bodies, including the Office of the Correctional Investigator, dedicated to public safety. CSC, as part of the criminal justice system and respecting the rule of law, contributes to public safety by actively encouraging and assisting offenders to become law-abiding citizens, while exercising reasonable, safe, secure and humane control. It delivers its mandate under four major program activities. A summary description of CSC’s program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

CSC has locations throughout Canada that require travel for staff to provide service delivery and to oversee its operations. Other travel is required for CSC staff to attend training sessions to maintain or develop skills or to participate in various sessions to promote productive relationships with increasingly diverse partners, stakeholders, and others involved in public safety.

Travel by non-public servants is mainly attributable to costs incurred when transferring offenders. Additionally, it includes travel by individuals such as contractors that offer their services to CSC such as psychiatrists, doctors, lawyers, Elders and others that contribute to the care and custody of inmates and to the offender’s rehabilitation and successful reintegration into the community.

For more details on CSC mandate and priorities please refer to the CSC’s Departmental Plan (DP)  and Departmental Results Report (DRR).

Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of the Correctional Service of Canada

Expenditure Category Expenditures for the Year Ending
March 31, 2017
(in thousands of dollars)
Expenditures for the Previous Year Ending
March 31, 2016
(in thousands of dollars)
Change
(in thousands of dollars)
Travel – Public Servants 11,392 10,842 550
Travel – Non-Public Servants 4,089 4,100 (11)
Total Travel 15,481 14,942 539
Hospitality 83 57 26
Conference Fees 21 0 21
Total 15,585 14,999 586

Significant variances compared with the previous fiscal year

Travel

Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2015-2016, CSC’s travel expenditures by public servants increased, mainly due to:

Non-Public Servants: Compared to fiscal year 2015-2016, there was no significant variance in CSC’s travel expenditures by non-public servants. The minor decrease can be attributed to continued efforts to ensure that travel expenditures are managed in the most effective and economical manner by promoting the use of available technologies such as teleconferencing and videoconferencing.

Hospitality

Compared to fiscal year 2015-2016, there was no significant variance in CSC’s hospitality expenditures.

Conferences

During 2016-2017, CSC employees attended conferences, however compared to fiscal year 2015-2016 there was no significant variance in conference fees expenditures.

Date modified:

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles liées aux voyages, à l'accueil et aux conférences
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017

Comme l’exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces données sont mises à jour chaque année et ne comportent aucun renseignement non divulgué en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux sont liées à des activités à l’appui du mandat du ministère ou de l’organisme et des priorités gouvernementales.

Le SCC est un organisme du portefeuille de la Sécurité publique, qui réunit cinq organismes fédéraux clés et trois organismes de surveillance, dont le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel, qui s’occupent de la sécurité publique. Le SCC, en tant que composante du système de justice pénale et dans la reconnaissance de la primauté du droit, contribue à la sécurité publique en incitant activement et en aidant les délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois, tout en exerçant sur eux un contrôle raisonnable, sûr, sécuritaire et humain. Le SCC s’acquitte de son mandat dans le cadre de quatre principales activités de programme. Une brève description des activités de programme peut être consultée dans la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

Les unités opérationnelles du SCC se trouvent partout au Canada, ce qui exige beaucoup de déplacements de la part des employés, afin d’assurer la livraison des services et la supervision des activités. Les employés doivent également se déplacer pour participer à des séances de formation, pour acquérir des compétences ou pour participer à différentes conférences visant à promouvoir des relations productives avec une diversité croissante de partenaires, d’intervenants et d’autres responsables de services correctionnels contribuant à la sécurité publique au Canada et à l’étranger.

Les dépenses de voyage des non-fonctionnaires sont principalement attribuables aux coûts engagés pour le transfert des délinquants. Il y a également des voyages effectués par des particuliers à titre d’entrepreneurs qui offrent leurs services au SCC à titre, entre autres, de psychiatres, médecins, avocats, Aînés et tout autres qui contribue à la prise en charge et à la garde des détenus et à la réadaptation des délinquants et au succès de leur réinsertion sociale dans leur collectivité.

Pour mieux comprendre les rôles et les responsabilités du SCC, veuillez consulter le Plan ministériel (PM) du SCC et le Rapport sur les résultats ministériels (RRM).

Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Service correctionnel du Canada

Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2017
(en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses pour l’exercice
précédent se terminant
le 31 mars 2016
(en milliers de dollars)
Écart
(en milliers de dollars)
Voyages – Fonctionnaires 11 392 10 842 550
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 4 089 4 100 (11)
Total des dépenses de voyages 15 481 14 942 539
Accueil 83 57 26
Frais de participation aux conférences 21 0 21
TOTAL 15 585 14 999 586

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

Voyages

Fonctionnaires : En comparaison avec l’exercice 2015-2016, les dépenses de voyage des fonctionnaires de l’organisation ont augmenté, principalement en raison de ce qui suit :

Non-fonctionnaires : En comparaison avec l’exercice 2015-2016, il n’y a aucun écart important en ce qui concerne les dépenses de voyage des non-fonctionnaires de l’organisation. La diminution mineure peut s’expliquer par les efforts continus visant à assurer la gestion la plus efficace et la plus économique possible des dépenses de voyages en favorisant le recours aux technologies disponibles, comme les téléconférences et les vidéoconférences.

Accueil

En comparaison avec l’exercice 2015-2016, il n’y a aucun écart important en ce qui concerne les dépenses d’accueil du SCC.

Conférences

Durant l’exercice 2015-2016, les employés du SCC ont assisté à des conférences, toutefois en comparaison avec l’exercice 2015-2016, il n’y a aucun écart significatif en ce qui concerne les dépenses de frais de participation aux conférences.

Date de modification :