Response of the Correctional Service of Canada to the 42nd Annual Report of the Correctional Investigator 2014 - 2015

Introduction

The purpose of the federal correctional system, as defined in law, is to contribute to the maintenance of a just, peaceful and safe society by carrying out sentences imposed by courts through the safe and humane custody and supervision of offenders; and by assisting the rehabilitation of offenders and their reintegration into the community as law-abiding citizens through the provision of programs in penitentiaries and in the community (Corrections and Conditional Release Act, s.3).  On a typical day during 2014-2015, CSC was responsible for 22,958 offenders, of whom 15,043 were in federal custody (including temporary detainees) and 7,915 were supervised in the communityFootnote 1. CSC is responsible for the management of 43 institutions (comprised of six maximum security, nine medium security, five minimum security, 12 multilevel security, and 11 clustered institutions), 92 parole offices and sub-parole offices, and 15 community correctional centres. CSC also manages four healing lodges (included in the 43 institutions) and works in partnership with Aboriginal communities to support the reintegration of Aboriginal offenders back in the community. CSC employed over 17,500 people.

Over the last decade, CSC has faced numerous challenges stemming from a more complex and diverse offender population profile, resulting in new pressures on the Service and its operations. In response to the requirements of managing a changing offender profile and in achieving quality public safety results for Canadians, CSC will continue to focus on six key priorities as outlined in its Report on Plans and Priorities: 

  1. Safe management of eligible offenders during their transition from the institution to the community, and while on supervision
  2. Safety and security of members of the public, victims, staff and offenders in our institutions and in the community
  3. Effective, culturally appropriate interventions for First Nations, Métis and Inuit offenders
  4. Mental health needs of offenders addressed through timely assessment, effective management and appropriate intervention, relevant staff training and rigorous oversight
  5. Efficient and effective management practices that reflect values-based leadership in a changing environment
  6. Productive relationships with diverse partners, stakeholders, victims' groups, and others involved in public safety 

Health Care in Federal Corrections

Recommendation 1:

I recommend that CSC prepare a business case to seek additional funding this fiscal year to expand inmate access to evolving Hepatitis C therapies.  This initiative should be framed as an investment in public health and public safety.

CSC lists new treatments for Hepatitis C on the CSC National Formulary as they become the standard of care.  New treatments were added to the National Formulary on January 5, March 20, and August 21, 2015, respectively. CSC will seek additional funding to address the increased cost of new drug therapies as needed.

Recommendation 2:

I recommend that CSC's efforts to establish prevalence estimates for chronic physical and mental health conditions be complemented by a comprehensive analysis of annually tracked and reported trends and causes of natural mortality among the federal inmate population.

CSC Health Services, in collaboration with the CSC's Research Branch, has implemented a system to track the causes of natural deaths and related demographics among the federal inmate population and a preliminary analysis of trends and causes will be available by June 2016.  Prevalence estimates for chronic physical and mental health conditions are reported in a number of documentsFootnote 2&Footnote 3. Further work will be done in 2016-17 to enhance the collection and estimation of prevalence of chronic physical and mental health conditions.

Recommendation 3:

I recommend that CSC engage its Health Care Advisory Committee to develop a chronic/long-term care model that is responsive to the needs of the growing number of older/geriatric people behind bars. The model should be presented in time to influence CSC's 2016-17 operational budget.

Health Services has conducted a review of the prevalence of chronic diseases including age stratification, and of trends in age and geographic distribution of older offenders.  These reports have been presented to Health Care Advisory Committee (HCAC) and further discussions will occur in relation to an overall strategy.

Recommendation 4:

I recommend that CSC immediately produce an Action Plan detailing the steps to be taken to address the issues of concern identified in the September 2014 Accreditation Canada report. This plan should be vetted at the next meeting of the Health Care Advisory Committee.

Accreditation Canada provides a process that facilitates quality improvement and the implementation of patient safety and risk management practices. Following the survey, the organization receives a comprehensive report and an accreditation award. In the interest of ongoing quality improvement, CSC is required to submit performance indicator data and follow up evidence. Some performance data are required by specified dates and other follow-up data are required to be addressed during 18-36 months following the review.

Accreditation Canada has identified conditions to be met by February 2015 and February 2016 respectively.  The February 2015 commitments are complete and CSC is on track to meet the 2016 commitments.  CSC will continue to be accountable to the Accreditation Canada process and timelines. Accreditation Canada will review and reassess CSC's accreditation status in December 2018.

Recommendation 5:

I recommend that CSC establish a standing expert advisory committee on FASD to establish prevalence, provide advice on screening, assessment, treatment and program models for FASD-affected offenders.  The Committee should recommend a FASD strategy for CSC's Executive Committee in the next fiscal year.

CSC has adopted a multi-pronged approach to strengthening the provision of correctional services to offenders with mental health needs. This means that interventions and supports are provided to offenders based on their level of adaptive functioning and individual need. Offenders with mental/cognitive impairments are eligible for specialized programming, treatment and reintegration supports and services, regardless of having a confirmed diagnosis of a mental disorder or cognitive impairment which includes suspected FASD. CSC will assess in the coming year whether there is a need for such a committee.

Recommendation 6:

I recommend that the Department of Public Safety commission, in partnership with Health Canada, an independent validation of CSC's 'optimal' model of mental health care and report findings to the Minister of Public Safety.

This recommendation is directed to the Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness and lies outside the jurisdiction of the Correctional Service of Canada.

Recommendation 7:

I recommend that CSC examine international research and best practices to identify appropriate and effective trauma-informed treatment and services for offenders engaged in chronic self-injurious behaviour, and that a comprehensive intervention strategy be developed based on this review.

CSC will conduct a literature review of international research and best practices in the provision of trauma-informed treatment for chronic self-injury. Moreover, CSC has engaged an external expert with experience in the provision of trauma-informed care to First Nations populations, to liaise with CSC's Regional and National Complex Mental Health Committees and to provide trauma-informed case consultations for identified offenders with complex mental health needs. The literature review will be complete by September 2016.

Prevention of Deaths in Custody

Recommendation 8:

I recommend that the Minister of Public Safety request that the Public Safety and National Security Committee (SECU) of parliament conduct a study and public hearings into policy options for managing the care, custody and safe release of inmates aged 65 and over who no longer pose an ongoing substantiated risk to public safety.

This recommendation is directed to the Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness and National Security Committee which lies outside the jurisdiction of the Correctional Service of Canada

Conditions of Confinement

Recommendation 9:

I recommend that the Government of Canada amend the Corrections and Conditional Release Act to significantly limit the use of administrative segregation, prohibit its use for inmates who are mentally ill and for younger offenders (up to 21 years of age), impose a ceiling of no more than 30 continuous days, and introduce judicial oversight or independent adjudication for any subsequent stay in segregation beyond the initial 30 day placement.

The Correctional Service of Canada will be proposing amendments to the Corrections and Conditional Release Act for consideration by the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness.

Recommendation 10:

I recommend that the Department of Public Safety conduct a compliance audit of the CSC's legal obligation to provide accessible, fair and expeditious resolution of offender complaints and grievances.

The Correctional Service of Canada will be defining a compliance review process in 2016, in conjunction with other complaint review agencies, in order to improve the overall complaint and grievance process.

Recommendation 11:

I recommend that CSC re-allocate resources to Alternative Dispute Resolution to ensure the program is funded and made available in all federal penitentiaries.

CSC will examine funding options in 2016-17 to make Alternative Dispute Resolution available in all federal penitentiaries.

Recommendation 12:

I recommend that in 2015-16 CSC undertake an external audit of its meal production services, with particular emphasis on safe food handling practices, equitable distribution of meals and concordance between the standards outlined in the National Menu and the nutritional value of meals provided to inmates.

All institutions are subject to a Food Premises inspection by an external qualified food sanitation expert at a minimum annually. These inspections are reported publicly through CSC's Departmental Performance Report process. Additionally, it should be noted that the national menu is reviewed by a Registered Dietician and is in accordance with the standards outlined in Canada's Food Guide. Furthermore, CSC has scheduled an internal audit on Food Services which is planned for 2017-18.

Recommendation 13:

I recommend that the Office of the Auditor General of Canada consider a compliance audit of the CSC's use of force review process.

This recommendation is directed to the Auditor General of Canadaand lies outside the jurisdiction of the Correctional Service of Canada.

Recommendation 14:

I recommend that Shield Walk Patrols be discontinued or, if not, be considered a use of force intervention and, as such, comply with all use of force policy and reporting requirements.

Policy will be clarified to emphasize the requirement to seek proper authorization and obtain a video camera when there is a reasonable likelihood of a use of force response using shields.

Aboriginal Corrections

Recommendation 15:

I recommend that CSC publicly release its study of the impact of Aboriginal social history (Gladue factors) on case management and its influence on correctional decision outcomes for Aboriginal offenders. This study should be accompanied by a Management Action Plan.

The Aboriginal Social History Factors in Case Management report was published on CSC's Internet site on March 2015. The report is available at the following link: http://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/research/r356-eng.shtml

Safe and Timely Reintegration

Recommendation 16:

I recommend that CSC re-tool its CORCAN employment and employability program to focus on building capacity in vocational skills training in demand areas, including significantly increasing access to Red Seal trades and apprenticeships, as well as sales, marketing and information technologies.

Vocational training plans have been integrated and vocational training has been aligned with Labour Market trends by working with specialized community organizations to provide the training and community recognized certificates. CORCAN continues to increase the number of offenders completing apprenticeship hours by working with the provincial governing body responsible for apprenticeship training, regulation and certification to have the hours worked by offenders registered towards a trade.

Federally Sentenced Women

Recommendation 17:

I recommend that CSC take full advantage of the expanded capacity in the minimum security units to maximize participation in the residential component of the mother-child program at the regional women's facilities.

The Correctional Service of Canada recognizes the importance of the Institutional Mother-Child Program and the need to support meaningful interaction between the inmates who are mothers and the child(ren) when it is in the best interests of the child(ren).  As such, the opening of the minimum security units are an important part of CSC's approach and will contribute to our ability to facilitate the Institutional Mother-Child Program.

Recommendation 18:

I recommend that the National Complex Mental Health Committee oversee the treatment and intervention plans of chronically self-injurious offenders and ensure external psychological assessments are conducted in these cases.

Clinical oversight of treatment and management plans is provided by the interdisciplinary teams at the sites who work directly with the offenders. Regional Complex Mental Health Committees (RCMHCs) work directly with institutional staff to improve interventions for offenders with complex mental health needs by reviewing and monitoring treatment and management plans as needed. These committees also review the need for external assessments. 

The National Complex Mental Health Committee (NCMHC) functions as a mechanism to assist and support the regions in providing an effective continuum of care to offenders experiencing significant mental health concerns during their period of incarceration; including those offenders who engage in chronic self-injury. RCMHCs present case summaries of inmates with the most complex needs to the NCMHC. Both the regional and national committees monitor progress in treatment/effectiveness of intervention plans against identified targets of treatment. As part of its mandate, the NCMHC reviews requests for specialized resources for these complex cases, including external assessments.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

2014-2015 Departmental Performance Report

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Stewart, L.A., Nolan, M.A., Sapers, B.A., Power, J., Panaro, L., Smith, J. Chronic health conditions reported by male inmates newly admitted to Canadian federal penitentiaries.  Canadian Medical Association Journal Open, 2015.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Stewart et al. (2015). National Prevalence of Mental Disorders among Incoming Federally-Sentenced Men (R-357). Ottawa: Correctional Service of Canada.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Réponse du Service correctionnel du Canada au 42e rapport annuel de l'Enquêteur correctionnel 2014-2015

INTRODUCTION

Le but du système correctionnel fédéral, comme le définit la loi, est de contribuer au maintien d'une société juste, vivant en paix et en sécurité, d'une part, en assurant l'exécution des peines par des mesures de garde et de surveillance sécuritaires et humaines, et d'autre part, en aidant, au moyen de programmes appropriés dans les pénitenciers ou dans la collectivité, à la réadaptation des délinquants et à leur réinsertion sociale à titre de citoyens respectueux des lois (Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, article 3). Chaque jour, pendant l'exercice 2014-2015, le SCC a été responsable en moyenne de 22 958 délinquants, soit 15 043 délinquants incarcérés sous responsabilité fédérale (y compris les délinquants en détention temporaire) et 7 915 délinquants surveillés dans la collectivitéNote de bas de page 1. Le SCC est responsable de la gestion de 43 établissements (6 établissements à sécurité maximale, 9 établissements à sécurité moyenne, 5 établissements à sécurité minimale, 12 établissements à niveaux de sécurité multiples et 11 établissements regroupés), de 92 bureaux de libération conditionnelle et bureaux secondaires et de 15 centres correctionnels communautaires. Le SCC gère également 4 pavillons de ressourcement (comptés parmi les 43 établissements); il travaille en partenariat avec les collectivités autochtones pour soutenir la réinsertion sociale des délinquants autochtones dans leur collectivité. Plus de 17 500 personnes travaillent pour le SCC.

Pendant la dernière décennie, le SCC a fait face à de nombreuses difficultés associées à la population de délinquants de plus en plus complexe et diversifiée, ce qui a augmenté les pressions sur le SCC et ses activités. Pour répondre aux exigences liées à la gestion du changement de profil des délinquants, et pour atteindre ses objectifs liés à la sécurité publique, le SCC continuera de cibler les six priorités établies dans son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités : 

  1. La gestion en toute sécurité des délinquants admissibles durant leur transition de l'établissement à la collectivité et pendant qu'ils sont sous surveillance.
  2. La sécurité des membres du public, y compris des victimes, du personnel et des délinquants dans nos établissements et dans la collectivité.
  3. La prestation d'interventions efficaces et adaptées à la culture des délinquants issus des Premières Nations et des délinquants métis et inuits.
  4. Répondre aux besoins en santé mentale des délinquants grâce à une évaluation en temps opportun, à une gestion efficace et à des interventions judicieuses, à la prestation de formation pertinente au personnel et à une surveillance rigoureuse.
  5. Des pratiques de gestion efficaces et efficientes qui reflètent un leadership axé sur les valeurs dans un environnement en évolution.
  6. Des relations productives avec une diversité de partenaires, d'intervenants, de groupes de victimes, et d'autres parties intéressées contribuant à la sécurité publique.

SOINS DE SANTÉ DANS LES SERVICES CORRECTIONNELS FÉDÉRAUX

Recommandation 1

Je recommande que le SCC prépare une analyse de rentabilisation pour tenter d'obtenir du financement additionnel pendant l'actuel exercice afin d'élargir l'accès des délinquants aux nouvelles thérapies de traitement du virus de l'hépatite C. Cette initiative devrait être présentée sous la forme d'un investissement dans la santé et la sécurité publique.

Le SCC inscrit les nouveaux traitements du virus de l'hépatite C au formulaire pharmaceutique national lorsqu'ils deviennent une norme des soins. De nouveaux traitements ont été ajoutés au formulaire national le 5 janvier, le 20 mars et le 21 août 2015. Le SCC cherchera à obtenir un financement supplémentaire afin de s'adapter à l'augmentation des coûts des nouvelles pharmacothérapies, le cas échéant. 

Recommandation 2

Je recommande que les efforts déployés par le SCC afin d'établir des estimations de la prévalence des problèmes chroniques de santé mentale et physique soient complétés d'une analyse complète des renseignements annuels sur les tendances et les causes suivies et signalées de mortalité naturelle dans la population carcérale fédérale.

Les Services de santé du SCC, en collaboration avec la Direction de la recherche du SCC, ont mis en œuvre un système de suivi des cas de mortalité naturelle et des données démographiques qui y sont liées dans la population carcérale fédérale, ainsi qu'une analyse préliminaire des tendances et des causes qui sera disponible d'ici juin 2016. Les estimations de la prévalence des problèmes chroniques de santé mentale et physique sont indiquées dans un certain nombre de documentsNote de bas de page 2&Note de bas de page 3. Des travaux additionnels auront lieu en 2016-2017 afin d'améliorer la collecte et l'évaluation de la prévalence des problèmes chroniques de santé mentale et physique.

Recommandation 3

Je recommande que le SCC demande à son Comité consultatif des soins de santé d'élaborer un modèle de soins visant les maladies chroniques ou à long terme qui pourra répondre aux besoins du nombre accru de personnes âgées derrière les barreaux. Le modèle devrait être présenté de façon à pouvoir être pris en compte dans le budget opérationnel de 2016‑2017 du SCC.

Les Services de santé ont réalisé une étude sur la prévalence des maladies chroniques en fonction de catégories d'âge, ainsi que les tendances relatives à l'âge et à la répartition géographique des délinquants âgés. Ces rapports ont été présentés au Comité consultatif des soins de santé (CCSS) et des discussions supplémentaires sur une stratégie globale auront lieu.

Recommandation 4

Je recommande que le SCC élabore sans délai un plan d'action présentant en détail les mesures à prendre pour résoudre les questions préoccupantes soulevées dans le rapport d'Agrément Canada en septembre 2014. Ce plan devrait être présenté à la prochaine réunion du Comité consultatif des soins de santé.

Agrément Canada offre un processus qui favorise l'amélioration de la qualité et l'adoption de pratiques permettant d'assurer la sécurité des patients et la gestion des risques. Après la visite, l'organisation concernée reçoit un rapport détaillé ainsi qu'un agrément. En vue d'améliorer constamment la qualité de ses services, le SCC doit soumettre des données sur des indicateurs de rendement ainsi que des renseignements aux fins de suivi. Certaines données sur le rendement doivent être soumises dans un délai précis, tandis que d'autres données de suivi doivent être transmises au cours des 18 à 36 mois suivant l'examen.

Agrément Canada a défini des conditions à respecter d'ici février 2015 et février 2016, respectivement. Le SCC a rempli tous les engagements pour février 2015 et il est en bonne voie de respecter ceux pour 2016. Le SCC continuera à se conformer au processus et aux délais d'Agrément Canada. Agrément Canada examinera et réévaluera l'agrément du SCC en décembre 2018.

Recommandation 5

Je recommande que le SCC forme un comité consultatif permanent d'experts sur l'ETCAF pour établir le taux de prévalence, donner des conseils sur des modèles de dépistage, d'évaluation, de traitement et de programmes à l'intention des délinquants atteints de l'ETCAF. Le comité doit recommander, au cours du prochain exercice, une stratégie relative à l'ETCAF à l'intention du Comité de direction du SCC.

Le SCC a adopté une stratégie à volets multiples pour améliorer la prestation des services correctionnels aux délinquants ayant des besoins en santé mentale. Ainsi, les délinquants bénéficient d'interventions et de services de soutien en fonction de leur niveau de fonctionnement adaptatif et de leurs besoins personnels. Les délinquants ayant une déficience mentale ou cognitive sont admissibles à des programmes, à des traitements et à des services de réinsertion sociale spécialisés, qu'ils aient ou non reçu un diagnostic confirmant qu'ils sont atteints d'un trouble mental ou d'une déficience cognitive, ce qui comprend les cas probables d'ETCAF. Le SCC évaluera la nécessité d'un tel comité au cours de l'année à venir.

Recommandation 6

Je recommande que la commission du ministère de la Sécurité publique, en partenariat avec Santé Canada, procède à une validation indépendante du modèle « optimal » pour les soins de santé mentale du SCC et qu'elle rende compte de constatations au ministre de la Sécurité publique.

Cette recommandation s'adresse au ministère de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile et ne relève pas de la compétence du Service correctionnel du Canada.

Recommandation 7

Je recommande que le SCC examine les recherches et les pratiques exemplaires à l'échelon international afin de déterminer les traitements et les services appropriés axés sur les traumatismes pour les délinquants ayant des comportements d'automutilation chroniques et d'élaborer une stratégie d'intervention complète en fonction de cet examen.

Le SCC réalisera une analyse documentaire sur les recherches et les pratiques exemplaires à l'échelon international qui se rapportent aux traitements axés sur les traumatismes s'adressant aux personnes ayant des comportements d'automutilation chroniques. De plus, le SCC a embauché un expert externe possédant de l'expérience dans les soins axés sur les traumatismes offerts aux populations des Premières Nations. Cet expert assure la liaison avec le comité national et les comités régionaux sur les cas complexes de santé mentale du SCC et offre des services de consultation axés sur les traumatismes aux délinquants ayant des besoins complexes en santé mentale. L'analyse documentaire sera terminée d'ici septembre 2016.

PRÉVENTION DES DÉCÈS EN ÉTABLISSEMENT

Recommandation 8

Je recommande que le ministre de la Sécurité publique demande au Comité permanent de la sécurité publique et nationale (SECU) du Parlement de mener une étude et des audiences publiques concernant les options stratégiques de gestion des soins, de l'incarcération et de la libération sécuritaire des détenus de 65 ans ou plus qui ne présentent plus un risque corroboré pour la sécurité publique.

Cette recommandation s'adresse au ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile et au Comité de la sécurité nationale et ne relève pas de la compétence du Service correctionnel du Canada.

CONDITIONS DE DÉTENTION

Recommandation 9

Je recommande que le gouvernement du Canada modifie la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition en vue de limiter grandement le recours à l'isolement préventif, d'interdire son utilisation chez les détenus souffrant de troubles mentaux et chez les jeunes délinquants (jusqu'à 21 ans), d'imposer un plafond d'au plus 30 jours consécutifs, et de mettre en place une surveillance judiciaire ou un arbitrage indépendant pour tout isolement subséquent dépassant le placement initial de 30 jours.

Le Service correctionnel du Canada proposera, aux fins d'examen par le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, des modifications à la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition.

Recommandation 10

Je recommande que Sécurité publique Canada procède à une vérification du respect par le SCC de son obligation législative d'offrir une procédure de règlement juste et expéditive des plaintes et des griefs à laquelle les délinquants ont libre accès.

Le Service correctionnel du Canada établira un processus d'examen de la conformité en 2016, en collaboration avec d'autres organismes chargés d'évaluer les plaintes, afin d'améliorer l'ensemble du processus de règlement des plaintes et des griefs.

Recommandation 11

Je recommande que le SCC réaffecte des ressources à l'initiative de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends afin de s'assurer que le programme est financé et offert dans tous les pénitenciers fédéraux.

En 2016-17, le SCC examinera les options de financement en vue d'offrir le programme  de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends dans tous les pénitenciers fédéraux.

Recommandation 12

Je recommande que, en 2015-2016, le SCC procède à une vérification externe de ses services de préparation des repas, en mettant particulièrement l'accent sur les pratiques de manipulation sécuritaire des aliments, la distribution équitable des repas et la concordance entre les normes définies dans le menu national et la valeur nutritionnelle des repas fournis aux détenus.

Une inspection des services d'alimentation est menée, au moins tous les ans, par un expert externe qualifié dans le domaine de la salubrité des aliments dans tous les établissements. Les résultats de ces inspections sont rendus publics dans le cadre du processus relatif au Rapport ministériel sur le rendement du SCC. Il importe aussi de souligner que le menu national est examiné par un diététiste autorisé et est conforme aux normes établies dans le Guide alimentaire canadien. Le SCC a également prévu la tenue d'un audit interne des Services d'alimentation, qui devrait avoir lieu en 2017-18.

Recommandation 13

Je recommande que le Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada envisage de procéder à une vérification de la conformité au processus d'examen du recours à la force du SCC.

Cette recommandation s'adresse au Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada et ne relève pas de la compétence du Service correctionnel du Canada.

Recommandation 14

Je recommande que les patrouilles avec bouclier soient abandonnées ou qu'elles soient sinon considérées comme un recours à la force et donc assujetties aux politiques concernant les recours à la force et aux exigences en matière de déclaration.

La politique sera précisée pour mettre l'accent sur la nécessité d'obtenir l'autorisation appropriée, ainsi qu'une caméra vidéo, lorsqu'il y a une possibilité raisonnable de recours à la force avec utilisation de boucliers.

SERVICES CORRECTIONNELS POUR AUTOCHTONES

Recommandation 15

Je recommande que le SCC publie son étude sur l'incidence des antécédents sociaux des Autochtones (facteurs liés aux principes de l'arrêt Gladue) sur la gestion des cas et son influence sur les résultats des décisions en matière correctionnelle sur les délinquants autochtones. Cette étude devrait être accompagnée d'un plan d'action de la gestion.

Le rapport Facteurs liés aux antécédents sociaux des Autochtones dans la gestion des cas, qui a été publié sur le site internet du SCC, en mars 2015, est accessible à l'adresse suivante : http://www.csc-scc.gc.ca/recherche/r356-fra.shtml.

RÉINSERTION SOCIALE EN TEMPS OPPORTUN DES DÉLINQUANTS

Recommandation 16

Je recommande au SCC de ré-outiller son programme d'emploi et d'employabilité CORCAN pour mettre l'accent sur le renforcement de la capacité dans le domaine de la formation professionnelle dans les secteurs en demande, notamment en accroissant de façon importante l'accès aux métiers et aux postes d'apprenti désignés Sceau rouge, ainsi que les ventes, le marketing et les technologies de l'information.

Des plans de formation professionnelle ont été intégrés, et la formation professionnelle a été harmonisée aux tendances observées sur le marché du travail, en collaboration avec des organisations communautaires spécialisées, pour offrir de la formation et des certificats reconnus par la collectivité. CORCAN continue d'accroître le nombre de détenus qui accumulent des crédits d'apprentissage en travaillant avec l'autorité provinciale en matière d'apprentissage responsable de la formation, de la réglementation et de la reconnaissance professionnelle pour faire consigner les heures travaillées par les délinquants en vue d'obtenir un certificat pour un métier.

FEMMES PURGEANT UNE PEINE DE RESSORT FÉDÉRAL

Recommandation 17

Je recommande au SCC de tirer pleinement profit de la capacité accrue dans les unités à sécurité minimale pour maximiser la participation à la composante résidentielle du Programme mère-enfant dans les centres régionaux pour femmes.

Le Service correctionnel du Canada reconnaît l'importance du Programme mère-enfant en établissement et le besoin de soutenir les interactions significatives entre les détenues qui sont mères et leurs enfants, quand cela est dans l'intérêt de ces derniers. L'ouverture d'unités à sécurité minimale, qui est une partie importante de l'approche du SCC, contribuera donc à renforcer notre capacité d'offrir le Programme mère-enfant en établissement.

Recommandation 18

Je recommande que le Comité national sur les cas complexes de santé mentale supervise le traitement et les plans d'intervention des délinquantes qui ont un comportement d'automutilation chronique et qu'il veille à ce que des évaluations psychologiques externes soient menées dans ces cas.

La supervision clinique des plans de traitement et de gestion relève des équipes interdisciplinaires en établissement, qui travaillent directement auprès des délinquantes. Les Comités régionaux sur les cas complexes de santé mentale (CRCCSM) travaillent directement auprès du personnel en établissement afin d'améliorer les interventions destinées aux délinquantes qui ont des besoins en santé mentale complexes, en examinant et supervisant les plans de traitement et de gestion, au besoin. Ces comités examinent aussi la nécessité de tenir des évaluations externes.

Le Comité national sur les cas complexes de santé mentale (CNCCSM) est un mécanisme servant à aider et à soutenir les régions en vue d'assurer l'efficacité du continuum de soins offert aux délinquantes qui ont de graves problèmes de santé mentale pendant leur incarcération, y compris celles qui ont un comportement chronique d'automutilation. Les CRCCSM présentent des résumés de cas au CNCCSM sur les détenus qui ont les besoins les plus complexes. Les comités régionaux et le comité national font le suivi des progrès réalisés par rapport aux plans de traitement et d'intervention, ainsi que leur efficacité en ce qui concerne les objectifs de traitement fixés. Dans le cadre de son mandat, le CNCCSM examine les demandes de ressources spécialisées pour ces cas complexes, y compris la nécessité de tenir des évaluations externes.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de 2014-2015

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

STEWART, L. A., Nolan, M. A., Sapers, B. A., Power, J., Panaro, L. et Smith, J. Chronic health conditions reported by male inmates newly admitted to Canadian federal penitentiaries.  Canadian Medical Association Journal Open, 2015.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

STEWART et coll. La prévalence nationale des troubles mentaux chez les délinquants de sexe masculin sous responsabilité fédérale nouvellement admis. Service correctionnel du Canada, Ottawa, 2015.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3