Circles of Support and Accountability

Circles of Support and Accountability (CoSA) are community-based initiatives that operate across Canada.  Each circle involves a group of trained volunteers supporting one core member.  The core member is the person who is returning to the community after being detained to the end of sentence because of a sexual offence history.  The group supports and holds the core member accountable.

Background

The Chaplaincy Division at the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) was an active partner in the creation of the CoSA approach, and remains involved in the support of CoSA initiatives across Canada.  The model has gained international recognition for its effectiveness in the successful re-entry and reintegration of sexual offenders into communities.

A CoSA initiative includes a group of trained volunteers and the core member, which meets on a regular basis. The circle is guided by a covenant, which is an informalagreement between the core member and the circle volunteers.  The core member voluntarily commits to openly relating to the circle about his identified needs.

Volunteers also meet with the core member individually to help with any re-entry challenges.  The CoSA volunteers themselves are professionally supported.

They work in conjunction with community agencies, treatment providers, psychologists, parole and probation officers.

The objective of CoSA is reflected in the motto:

No More Victims

Key Roles

The reality is that most offenders will eventually be released into our communities. CoSA helps contribute to enhancing public safety by providing a healthy environment for the core member of the group. The circle supports the core member by:

  • Journeying through difficulties and emergencies;
  • confronting inappropriate attitudes or behaviours;
  • advocating with treatment providers, community groups, police services and other professionals in the community;
  • mediating community concerns; and
  • helping to celebrate the core member's successes and anniversaries.

Join the Circle

CoSA is looking for volunteers who are interested in serving their community and journeying with individuals as they re-enter society. Circle members make a one year commitment, receive extensive training, and are continually supported.

Want to Know More?

Additional information about federal corrections in Canada is available on CSC’s Web site at www.csc-scc.gc.ca.

January 2010

Cercles de soutien et de responsabilité

Les cercles de soutien et de responsabilité (CSR) sont des initiatives communautaires qui existent partout au Canada. Chaque cercle comprend un groupe de bénévoles qualifiés qui appuient le participant essentiel. Le participant essentiel est la personne qui retourne dans la collectivité après avoir été maintenue en incarcération jusqu’à l’expiration de sa peine à cause de ses antécédents d’infractions sexuelles. Le groupe appuie le participant essentiel et l’oblige à rendre des comptes.

Contexte

La Division de l’aumônerie du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) a joué un rôle actif dans la création de l’approche des CSR et continue d’appuyer ces initiatives partout au pays. Ce modèle est maintenant reconnu internationalement pour son efficacité à aider les délinquants sexuels à se réinsérer avec succès dans la société.

Un CSR se compose d’un groupe de bénévoles qualifiés et d’un participant essentiel qui se réunissent régulièrement. Le cercle est guidé par une alliance, c’est­à­dire une entente officieuse conclue entre le participant essentiel et les bénévoles du cercle. Le participant essentiel s’engage de son plein gré à communiquer ouvertement avec le groupe au sujet de ses besoins.

De plus, les bénévoles peuvent rencontrer le participant essentiel individuellement pour l’aider à surmonter les difficultés qu’il éprouve à se réinsérer dans la société. Les bénévoles des CSR sont secondés par des spécialistes.

Ils travaillent en collaboration avec des organismes communautaires, des fournisseurs de traitement, des psychologues, des agents de libération conditionnelle et des agents de probation.

L’objectif des CSR correspond au mot d’ordre :

Plus jamais de victimes

Rôles principaux

Le fait est que la plupart des délinquants finiront par être mis en liberté dans la collectivité. Le CSR améliore la sécurité publique en offrant un environnement sain au participant essentiel. Le cercle appuie le participant essentiel en :

  • l’aidant à surmonter ses difficultés et à faire face aux situations d’urgence;
  • en remettant en question ses attitudes et comportements inappropriés;
  • appuyant les fournisseurs de traitement, les groupes communautaires, les services de police et d’autres professionnels de la collectivité;
  • jouant le rôle de médiateur pour alléger les inquiétudes de la collectivité; et
  • célébrant ses réussites et ses dates anniversaires.

Joignez-vous au cercle

Les CSR sont à la recherche de bénévoles qui désirent servir leur collectivité et sont prêts à s’engager à accompagner des délinquants dans leur réinsertion sociale. Les membres des cercles prennent un engagement d’un an, reçoivent une formation exhaustive et bénéficient d’un appui continu.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les services correctionnels fédéraux canadiens, veuillez consulter le site Web du SCC à l’adresse suivante : www.csc-scc.gc.ca.

Janvier 2010