Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Age, Gender and Indigenous Ancestry

Data Collection

Enhanced surveillance data between 2005 and 2012 in the Web-enabled Infectious Disease Surveillance System (WebIDSS) was examined for records with evidence of HIV testing. HIV cases were determined by either a positive serology result, on HAART treatment for HIV, or self-reported HIV positive status. Records were reviewed for data quality and consistency. HIV case status was cross tabulated with gender, Indigenous ancestry, and age. Data were extracted June 2016.

Analysis and Results

HIV Cases

A total of 24,353 records with information on HIV status were included in the analysis. Of these, 429 records met the definition for HIV case status (1.76%). Of the 429 HIV cases, 365 (85%) already knew their positive status on admission (78, or 21% were newly diagnosed via routine screening at intake). Of the 64 inmates newly diagnosed with HIV on follow up during their incarceration, 17 had baseline negative serology data (laboratory confirmed seroconversion)Footnote 1.

HIV Prevalence

Table 1: HIV Prevalence by Gender, Indigenous Ancestry, and Age
  HIV Case Prevalence± ChiSquare
Total
Overall 429/24,353 (1.76%) n/a
Gender
Male 373/22,671 (1.65%) p<0.0001
Female 56/1,670 (3.35%)
Indigenous Ancestry
Indigenous 143/5,449 (2.62%) p<0.0001
Non-Indigenous 286/18,904 (1.51%)
Age
17-19 0/241 (0%) p<0.0001
20-29 71/8651 (0.82%)
30-39 133/7115 (1.87%)
40-49 167/5155 (3.24%)
50-59 45/2217 (2.03%)
60+ 11/783 (1.39%)

±-Numbers may not add due to missing data

HIV prevalence was higher among women offenders (3.35% vs 1.65%), higher among inmates of Indigenous ancestry (2.62% vs 1.51%), and highest among inmates 40-49 years of age (3.24%) (see Table 1).

Indigenous Ancestry and Gender

HIV prevalence was highest among women offenders of Indigenous ancestry (6.03%) compared to male inmates of Indigenous ancestry (2.27%) and other women offenders (2.16%) (see Figure 1).

The bar graph shows the prevalence of HIV and breaks down the information by origin and gender. Non-Indigenous males (shown in blue) represent 1.47% of cases, and non-Indigenous females (shown in pink), 2.16%. Indigenous males (shown again in blue) represent 2.27% of cases, and Indigenous females (shown again in pink), 6.03%.

Gender and Age

Among male inmates, the highest HIV prevalence was observed among 40-49 (3.25%) and 50-59 (2.11%) age groups. Among women offenders, the highest HIV prevalence was observed among 30-39 (4.86%) and 40-49 (3.07%) age groups.

Among male inmates of Indigenous ancestry the highest HIV prevalence was observed among 40-49 (4.19%) and 30-39 (2.76%) age groups. Among women offenders of Indigenous ancestry, the highest HIV prevalence was observed among 30-39 (8.88%) and 20-29 (5.75%) age groups.

Summary

The estimated HIV prevalence of 1.76% among inmates in CSC was consistent with previously published reports using other methodsFootnote 2. Most (85%) of the burden of prevalence is acquired prior to incarceration at CSC. This analysis demonstrates that particular subgroups (women offenders, inmates of Indigenous ancestry), especially younger women offenders of Indigenous ancestry are at increased likelihood of having HIV.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Health Services Quick Facts; HIV Repeat Testing and Seroconversion. CSC 2016

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Health Services Quick Facts; HIV Surveillance Report 2014. CSC 2016

Return to footnote 2

Virus de l’immunodéficience humaine (VIH) Âge, sexe et origine autochtone

Collecte de données

Les données issues de la surveillance accrue de 2005 à 2012 dans l’Application Web du Système de surveillance des maladies infectieuses ont été analysées pour trouver les dossiers contenant une preuve de test de dépistage du VIH. Les cas de VIH ont été déterminés par une réaction sérologique positive, un traitement par TAHA pour le VIH, ou une séropositivité autodéclarée. Les dossiers ont été examinés pour assurer la qualité et la cohérence des données. La séropositivité a été recoupée selon le sexe, l’origine autochtone et l’âge. Les données ont été extraites en juin 2016.

Analyse et résultats

Cas de VIH

L’Analyse a visé un total de 24 353 dossiers contenant de l’information sur la séropositivité. Parmi ces dossiers, 429 répondaient à la définition d’un cas de VIH (1,76 %). De ce nombre, 365 (85 %) étaient déjà conscients de leur séropositivité à l’admission (78 ou 21 % étaient des cas nouvellement diagnostiqués lors du dépistage de routine à l’admission). Sur les 64 détenus chez qui le VIH a été nouvellement diagnostiqué dans le cadre d’un suivi durant leur incarcération, 17 avaient des données sérologiques de base négatives (le laboratoire a confirmé la séroconversion)Footnote 1.

Prévalence du VIH

Tableau 1 : Prévalence du VIH par sexe, origine autochtone et âge
  Prévalence des cas de VIH± Chi carré
Total
Global 429/24 353 (1,76 %) s. o.
Sexe
Hommes 373/22 671 (1,65 %) p<0,0001
Femmes 56/1 670 (3,35 %)
Origine autochtone
Autochtone 143/5 449 (2,62 %) p<0,0001
Non-Autochtone 286/18 904 (1,51 %)
Âge
17-19 0/241 (0 %) p<0,0001
20-29 71/8 651 (0,82 %)
30-39 133/7 115 (1,87 %)
40-49 167/5 155 (3,24 %)
50-59 45/2 217 (2,03 %)
60+ 11/783 (1,39 %)

± - L'addition des chiffres peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux indiqués en raison des données manquantes

La prévalence du VIH était plus élevée chez les délinquantes (3,35 % contre 1,65 %), les détenus d’origine autochtone (2,62 % contre 1,51 %) et les détenus âgés de 40 à 49 ans (3,24 %) (voir le tableau1).

Origine autochtone et sexe

La prévalence du VIH était plus élevée chez les détenus d’origine autochtone (6,03 %) comparativement aux délinquants d’origine autochtone (2,27 %) et aux autres délinquantes (2,16 %) (voir la figure 1).

Le diagramme à bandes détaille la prévalence des cas de VIH et ventile l’information par l’origine et le sexe. Les hommes non-autochtones (identifiés par une bande bleue) représentent 1.47% des cas tandis que les femmes non-autochtones (identifiées par une bande rose) représentent 2.16% des cas. Les hommes autochtones (identifiés par une autre bande bleue) représentent 2.27% des cas tandis que les femmes autochtones (identifiées par une autre bande rose) représentent 6.03% des cas.

Sexe et âge

Parmi les hommes, la prévalence du VIH était plus élevée chez les détenus âgés de 40 à 49 ans (3,25 %) et de 50 à 59 ans (2,11 %). Parmi les femmes, la prévalence du VIH était plus élevée chez les délinquantes âgées de 30 à 39 ans (4,86 %) et de 40 à 49 ans (3,07 %).

Chez les détenus d’origine autochtone, la prévalence du VIH était plus élevée dans les groupes d’âge de 40 à 49 ans (4,19 %) et de 30 à 39 ans (2,76 %). Parmi les délinquantes d’origine autochtone, la prévalence du VIH était plus élevée dans les groupes d’âge de 30 à 39 ans (8,88 %) et de 20 à 29 ans (5,75 %).

Résumé

La prévalence estimée du VIH de 1,76 % parmi les détenus du SCC était cohérente avec les rapports publiés précédemment qui avaient recours à d’autres méthodesFootnote 2. La majorité (85 %) du fardeau de la prévalence est acquise avant l’incarcération au SCC. Cette analyse démontre que des sous-groupes particuliers (délinquantes, détenus d’origine autochtone), surtout celui des jeunes délinquantes d’origine autochtone, sont plus susceptibles d’avoir le VIH.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Capsule sur les services de santé; Reprise de test de dépistage du VIH et séroconversion. SCC 2016

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Footnote 2

Capsules des services de santé; Rapport de surveillance du VIH 2014 SCC 2016

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2