Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Repeat Testing and Seroconversion

Data Collection

Enhanced surveillance data between 2005 and 2012 in the Web-enabled Infectious Disease Surveillance System (WebIDSS) was examined for repeat assessment for bloodborne and sexually transmitted infections. Reported risk behaviours were tabulated. Records with repeat laboratory assessments for HIVFootnote 1were reviewed for data quality and consistency. HIV seroconversion was defined as a negative serology test result followed by a positive serology test result. Data were extracted June 2016.

Analysis and Results

Repeat HIV Testing

Follow up testing is voluntary, and not all inmates require follow up. A total of 15,737 inmates had repeat assessments over a period of seven years (2005-2012).

Reported HIV Risk Behaviours

Inmates were asked about risk behaviours “since the last assessment”. Questions were not specific as to whether the risk occurred in prison or in the community. Roughly 40% of the records had risk information available for analysis (see Table 1).

Table 1: Reported Risk Behaviours± since Last Test, 2005-2012
Risk Yes (n, %) No (n, %)
Injection Drug Use 1,293 (20%) 5,353 (80%)
Snorted Drugs 2,122 (32%) 4,503 (68%)
Tattoo 3,251 (53%) 3,160 (47%)
Body Piercing 790 (35%) 1,479 (65%)
Fighting / Slashing 1,319 (20%) 5,234 (80%)
Unprotected Sex 3,611 (56%) 2,800 (44%)
Sex with IDU 665 (11%) 5,392 (89%)
SexTrade Work 284 (5%) 6,017 (95%)
Client of STW 484 (8%) 5,767 (92%)

±-Due to missing data denominator ranged between 6,057 – 6,681

Half of all inmates reassessed reported receiving a tattoo (53%) and twenty percent (20%) reported injecting drugs. Among those who reported injection drug use 50% reported sharing needles or other injection drug equipment (i.e., spoons and cookers).

HIV Seroconverters

A total of 7,166 inmates had repeat HIV laboratory tests available for analysis. Of these 17 were identified as seroconverters for HIV (positive laboratory results preceded by a documented negative test). The mean time between first negative test and subsequent positive laboratory result was 3.3 years (median 3.0 yrs, range 73 days to 7.0 yrs).

HIV Incidence Rate

Based on the total number of days under observation in this open cohort, the incidence of HIV was estimated at 1 case per 1,000 inmates at risk per yearFootnote 2.

Risk Factors for HIV Seroconversion

Risk ratios for the exposed and unexposed groups were determined and the relative risk (RR) was calculated. Relative Risk was used to estimate the population attributable fraction (proportion of new cases attributed to that risk factor). These data are summarized in Table 2.

Table 2: HIV Relative Risk Ratios, 2005-2012
Risk RR 95% CI PAF±
Injection Drug Use 1.33 0.35, 5.02 6.8%
Snorted Drugs 0.73 0.19, 2.75 -10.0%
Tattoo 0.67 0.21, 2.20 -22.3%
Body Piercing 0.81 0.07, 8.86 -8.0%
Fighting / Slashing 1.02 0.21, 4.91 0.5%
Unprotected Sex 1.96 0.52, 7.38 35.6%
Sex with IDU 2.02 0.42, 9.70 11.2%
SexTrade Work 1.86 0.24, 14.5 4.2%
Client of STW 0.51 0.03, 8.72 -4.1%

±-Population Attributable Fraction

Because the numbers are small (due to missing data the number of HIV seroconverters included in the bivariate RR is n=11) the confidence intervals around each point estimate are wide. None reach statistical significance. However it is interesting to note the magnitude of the RR estimates for risky sexual behaviour, consistent with known transmission pathways.

Community Exposure

Preliminary investigation into the 17 HIV seroconverters indicated that 9 or 53% had spent some time in the community, ranging from 2% to 90% of the time interval under observation. Offenders may reengage in risk behaviours and could acquire HIV via community exposure.

Summary

Offenders in CSC seroconvert to HIV positive status at an estimated rate of 1 per 1,000 inmates at risk per year. Not all inmates are at risk, and testing uptake is high. Roughly half of the seroconverters spent time in the community. Understanding the attribution of risk behaviours in prison versus community requires more study.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

CSC follows national HIV guidelines for screening and testing from the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC)

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Rounded from 0.90 cases per 1,000 inmates at risk per year

Return to footnote 2

Virus de l’immunodéficience humaine (VIH) Reprise de test de dépistage et séroconversion

Collecte de données

Les données issues de la surveillance accrue de 2005 à 2012 dans l’Application Web du Système de surveillance des maladies infectieuses ont été analysées pour trouver les reprises de tests de dépistage des infections transmises sexuellement et par le sang. Les comportements à risque déclarés ont été présentés sous forme de tableau. Les dossiers présentant des reprises de tests de dépistage pour le VIHFootnote 1 ont été examinés pour la qualité et la cohérence des données. La séroconversion du VIH a été définie comme une réaction négative à un test sérologique, suivi d’une réaction positive à un test sérologique. Les données ont été extraites en juin 2016.

Analyse et résultats

Reprise de test de dépistage du VIH

Le test de dépistage de suivi est volontaire et il n’est pas nécessaire pour tous les détenus. Un total de 15 737 détenus ont repris les tests sur une période sept ans (2005-2012).

Comportements à risque d’infection par le VIH déclarés

Les détenus devaient parler de leurs comportements à risque « depuis la dernière évaluation ». On ne précisait pas si le comportement était survenu en prison ou dans la collectivité. Environ 40 % des dossiers contenaient des renseignements sur le risque accessibles pour analyse (voir le tableau 1).

Tableau 1 : Comportements de risque déclarés± depuis le dernier test, 2005-2012
Risques Oui (n, %) Non (n, %)
Drogues injectables 1 293 (20 %) 5 353 (80 %)
Drogues reniflées 2 122 (32 %) 4 503 (68 %)
Tatouage 3 251 (53 %) 3 160 (47 %)
Perçage 790 (35 %) 1 479 (65 %)
Bagarre/entaille 1 319 (20 %) 5 234 (80 %)
Relations sexuelles non protégées 3 611 (56 %) 2 800 (44 %)
Relation sexuelle avec UDI 665 (11 %) 5 392 (89 %)
Travail dans l’industrie du sexe 284 (5 %) 6 017 (95 %)
Client d’un travailleur de l’industrie du sexe 484 (8 %) 5 767 (92 %)

± - En raison d’un dénominateur de données manquant entre 6 057 et 6 681.

La moitié de tous les détenus qui ont repris le test ont déclaré s’être fait tatouer (53 %) et 20 % ont mentionné avoir consommé des drogues injectables. Parmi les personnes qui ont mentionné l’injection de drogues, 50 % ont révélé avoir partagé des seringues ou tout autre équipement d’injection de drogue (comme des cuillères et des récipients).

Séroconversion du VIH

Au total, 7 166 détenus ont repris des tests de dépistage du VIH aux fins d’analyse. Parmi ces détenus, une séroconversion du VIH a eu lieu chez 17 personnes (résultats positifs en laboratoire précédés d’un résultat négatif documenté). La durée moyenne entre le premier résultat négatif et le résultat positif subséquent était de 3,3 ans (médiane 3 ans, de 73 jours à 7 ans).

Taux d’incidence du VIH

D’après le nombre total de jours en observation dans cette cohorte ouverte, l’incidence du VIH a été estimée à 1 cas par 1000 détenus à risque par année .

Facteurs de risque de la séroconversion du VIH

Les rapports de risque pour les groupes exposés et non exposés ont été déterminés, et le risque relatif (RR) a été calculé. Le RR a été utilisé pour estimer la fraction étiologique (FE) (la proportion de nouveaux cas attribués à ce facteur de risque). Ces données sont résumées dans le tableau 2.

Tableau 2 : Rapports de risque relatif du VIH, 2005-2012
Risques RR IC à 95 % FE±
Drogues injectables 1,33 0,35 et 5,02 6,8 %
Drogues reniflées 0,73 0,19 et 2,75 -10,0 %
Tatouage 0,67 0,21 et 2,20 -22,3 %
Perçage 0,81 0,07 et 8,86 -8,0 %
Bagarre/entaille 1,02 0,21 et 4,91 0,5 %
Relations sexuelles non protégées 1,96 0,52 et 7,38 35,6 %
Relation sexuelle avec UDI 2,02 0,42 et 9,70 11,2 %
Travail dans l’industrie du sexe 1,86 0,24 et 14,5 4,2 %
Client d’un travailleur de l’industrie du sexe 0,51 0,03 et 8,72 -4,1 %

±-fraction étiologique

Puisque les nombres sont petits (en raison des données manquantes, le nombre de séroconversions du VIH compris dans le RR à deux variables est n=11), les intervalles de confiance de chaque estimation ponctuelle sont importants. Aucun n’a atteint la signification statistique. Cependant, il est intéressant de remarquer l’ampleur des estimations du RR pour les comportements sexuels à risques, ce qui est cohérent avec les voies de transmission connues.

Exposition de la collectivité

Des enquêtes préliminaires sur les 17 cas de séroconversion du VIH ont révélé que 9 ou 53 % de ces cas avaient passé du temps dans la collectivité; temps représentant de 2 à 90 % de l’intervalle de temps en observation. Les détenus peuvent adopter de nouveau des comportements à risque et pourraient contracter le VIH lors d’une exposition dans la collectivité.

Résumé

Le taux estimé de séroconversion du VIH chez les détenus du SCC est de 1 par 1000 détenus à risque par année. Ce ne sont pas tous les détenus qui sont à risque, et la participation au test de dépistage est élevée. Environ la moitié des personnes ayant connu une séroconversion avaient passé du temps dans la collectivité. Comprendre l’attribution des comportements à risque en prison comparativement à la collectivité exige davantage d’étude.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Le SCC suit les lignes directrices nationales en matière de dépistage du VIH de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Footnote 2

Arrondis de 0,90 cas par 1000 détenus à risque par année

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page2