Hepatitis C Virus (HCV) Age, Gender and Indigenous Ancestry

Data Collection

Enhanced surveillance data between 2005 and 2012 in the Web-enabled Infectious Disease Surveillance System (WebIDSS) was examined for records with evidence of HCV testing. HCV cases were determined by either a positive serology result (antibody or RNA positive), treated for HCV, or self-reported HCV positive status. Records were reviewed for data quality and consistency. HCV case status was cross tabulated with gender, Indigenous ancestry, and age. Data were extracted June 2016.

Analysis and Results

HCV Cases

A total of 25,655 records with information on HCV status were included in the analysis. Of these, 6,524 records met the definition for HCV case status (25.4%). Of the 6,524 HCV cases, 5,216 (80%) already knew their positive status on admission (1,231, or 24% were newly diagnosed via routine screening at intake). Of the 1,308 inmates newly diagnosed with HCV on follow up during their incarceration, 330 had baseline negative serology data (laboratory confirmed seroconversion)Footnote 1.

HCV Prevalence

Table 1: HCV Prevalence by Gender, Indigenous Ancestry, and Age
  HCV Case Prevalence± ChiSquare
Total
Overall 6524/25,655 (25.4%) n/a
Gender
Male 5926/23,844 (24.9%) p<0.0001
Female 594/1,797 (33.1%)
Indigenous Ancestry
Indigenous 1859/5,847 (31.8%) p<0.0001
Non-Indigenous 4665/19,808 (23.6%)
Age
17-19 8/240 (3.3%) p<0.0001
20-29 973/8,660 (11.2%)
30-39 2120/7,547 (28.1%)
40-49 2307/5,752 (40.1%)
50-59 922/2,470 (37.3%)
60+ 152/800 (19.0%)

±-Numbers may not add due to missing data

HCV prevalence was higher among women offenders (33.1% vs 24.9%), higher among inmates of Indigenous ancestry (31.8% vs 23.6%), and highest among inmates 40-49 years of age (40.1%) (see Table 1).

Indigenous Ancestry and Gender

HCV prevalence was highest among women offenders of Indigenous ancestry (44.8%) compared to male inmates of Indigenous ancestry (30.4%) and other women offenders (27.7%) (see Figure 1).

The bar graph shows the prevalence of HIV and breaks down the information by origin and gender. Non-Indigenous males (shown in blue) represent 1.47% of cases, and non-Indigenous females (shown in pink), 2.16%. Indigenous males (shown again in blue) represent 2.27% of cases, and Indigenous females (shown again in pink), 6.03%.

Gender and Age

Among male inmates, the highest HCV prevalence was observed among 40-49 (40.3%) and 50-59 (37.5%) age groups. Among women offenders, the highest HCV prevalence was observed among 40-49 (38.4%) and 30-39 (38.0%) age groups.

Among male inmates of Indigenous ancestry the highest HCV prevalence was observed among 50-59 (51.1%) and 40-49 (50.9%) age groups. Among women offenders of Indigenous ancestry, the highest HCV prevalence was observed among 50-59 (61.5%) and 40-49 (59.8%) age groups.

Summary

The estimated HCV prevalence of 25.4% among inmates in CSC was consistent with previously published reports using other methodsFootnote 2. Most (80%) of the burden of prevalence is acquired prior to incarceration at CSC. This analysis demonstrates that particular subgroups (women offenders, inmates of Indigenous ancestry), especially older women offenders of Indigenous ancestry are at increased likelihood of having HCV.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Health Services Quick Facts; HCV Repeat Testing and Seroconversion. CSC 2016

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Health Services Quick Facts; HCV Surveillance Report 2014. CSC 2016

Return to footnote2

Virus de l’hépatite C (VHC) Âge, sexe et origine autochtone

Collecte de données

Les données issues de la surveillance accrue de 2005 à 2012 dans l’Application Web du Système de surveillance des maladies infectieuses ont été analysées pour trouver les dossiers contenant une preuve de test de dépistage du VHC. Les cas de VHC ont été déterminés par une réaction sérologique positive (anticorps ou charge virale), un traitement contre le VHC, ou une séropositivité autodéclarée. Les dossiers ont été examinés pour assurer la qualité et la cohérence des données. La séropositivité a été recoupée selon le sexe, l’origine autochtone et l’âge. Les données ont été extraites en juin 2016.

Analyse et décisions

Cas de VHC

L’analyse a visé un total de 25 655 dossiers contenant de l’information sur la séropositivité pour le VHC. Parmi ces dossiers, 6 524 répondaient à la définition d’un cas de séropositivité pour le VHC (25,4 %). De ce nombre, 5 216 (80 %) savaient déjà qu’ils étaient séropositifs à l’admission (1 231 ou 24 % étaient des cas nouvellement diagnostiqués lors du dépistage de routine à l’admission). Sur les 1 308 détenus chez qui le VHC a été nouvellement diagnostiqué dans le cadre d’un suivi durant leur incarcération, 330 avaient des données sérologiques de base négatives (le laboratoire a confirmé la séroconversion)Footnote 1.

Prévalence du VHC

Tableau 1 : Prévalence du VHC par sexe, origine autochtone et âge
  Prévalence des cas de VHC± Chi carré
Total
Global 6 524/25 655 (25,4 %) s. o.
Sexe
Hommes 5 926/23 844 (24,9 %) p<0,0001
Femmes 594/1 797 (33,1 %)
Origine autochtone
Autochtone 1 859/5 847 (31,8 %) p<0,0001
Non-Autochtone 4 665/19 808 (23,6 %)
Âge
17-19 8/240 (3,3 %) p<0,0001
20-29 973/8 660 (11,2 %)
30-39 2 120/7 547 (28,1 %)
40-49 2 307/5 752 (40,1 %)
50-59 922/2 470 (37,3 %)
60+ 152/800 (19,0 %)

± – L’addition des chiffres peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux indiqués en raison des données manquantes

La prévalence du VHC était plus élevée chez les délinquantes (33,1 % contre 24,9 %), les détenus d’origine autochtone (31,8 % contre 23,6 %), et les détenus âgés de 40 à 49 ans (40,1 %) (voir le tableau 1).

Origine autochtone et sexe

La prévalence du VHC était plus élevée chez les délinquantes d’origine autochtone (44,8 %) comparativement aux détenus d’origine autochtone (30,4 %) et aux autres délinquantes (27,7 %) (voir la figure 1).

Le diagramme à bandes détaille la prévalence des cas de VIH et ventile l’information par l’origine et le sexe. Les hommes non-autochtones (identifiés par une bande bleue) représentent 1.47% des cas tandis que les femmes non-autochtones (identifiées par une bande rose) représentent 2.16% des cas. Les hommes autochtones (identifiés par une autre bande bleue) représentent 2.27% des cas tandis que les femmes autochtones (identifiées par une autre bande rose) représentent 6.03% des cas.

Sexe et âge

Parmi les détenus, la prévalence du VHC était plus élevée dans les groupes d’âge de 40 à 49 ans (40,3 %) et de 50 à 59 ans (37,5 %). Parmi les délinquantes, la prévalence du VHC était plus élevée parmi les groupes d’âge de 40 à 49 ans (38,4 %) et de 30 à 39 ans (38,0 %).

Chez les détenus d’origine autochtone, la prévalence du VHC était plus élevée dans les groupes d’âge de 50 à 59 ans (51,1 %) et de 40 à 49 ans (50,9 %). Parmi les délinquantes d’origine autochtone, la prévalence du VHC était plus élevée dans les groupes d’âge de 50 à 59 ans (61,5 %) et de 40 à 49 ans (59,8 %).

Résumé

La prévalence estimée du VHC de 25,4 % parmi les détenus du SCC était cohérente avec les rapports publiés précédemment qui avaient recours à d’autres méthodesFootnote 2. La majorité (80 %) du fardeau de la prévalence est acquise avant l’incarcération au SCC. Cette analyse démontre que des sous-groupes particuliers (délinquantes, détenus d’origine autochtone), surtout celui des délinquantes d’origine autochtone plus âgées, sont plus susceptibles d’avoir une infection à VHC.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Capsule sur les services de santé; Reprise de test de dépistage du VHC et séroconversion. SCC 2016

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Footnote 2

Capsules des services de santé; Rapport de surveillance du VHC 2014 SCC 2016

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page2