Hepatitis C Virus (HCV) Repeat Testing and Seroconversion

Data Collection

Enhanced surveillance data between 2005 and 2012 in the Web-enabled Infectious Disease Surveillance System (WebIDSS) was examined for repeat assessment for bloodborne and sexually transmitted infections. Reported risk behaviours were tabulated. Records with repeat laboratory assessments for HCVFootnote 1 were reviewed for data quality and consistency. HCV seroconversion was defined as a negative EIA test result followed by a positive test result (EIA or RNA). Data were extracted June 2016.

Analysis and Results

Repeat HCV Testing

Follow up testing is voluntary, and not all inmates require follow up. A total of 15,737 inmates had repeat assessments over a period of seven years (2005-2012).

Reported HCV Risk Behaviours

Inmates were asked about risk behaviours “since the last assessment”. Questions were not specific as to whether the risk occurred in prison or in the community. Roughly 40% of the records had risk information available for analysis (see Table 1).

Table 1: Reported Risk Behaviours± since Last Test, 2005-2012
Risk Yes (n, %) No (n, %)
Injection Drug Use 1,293 (20%) 5,353 (80%)
Snorted Drugs 2,122 (32%) 4,503 (68%)
Tattoo 3,251 (53%) 3,160 (47%)
Body Piercing 790 (35%) 1,479 (65%)
Fighting / Slashing 1,319 (20%) 5,234 (80%)
Unprotected Sex 3,611 (56%) 2,800 (44%)
Sex with IDU 665 (11%) 5,392 (89%)
SexTrade Work 284 (5%) 6,017 (95%)
Client of STW 484 (8%) 5,767 (92%)

± - Due to missing data denominator ranged between 6,057 – 6,681

Half of all inmates reassessed reported receiving a tattoo (53%) and twenty percent (20%) reported injecting drugs. Among those who reported injection drug use 50% reported sharing needles or other injection drug equipment (i.e., spoons and cookers).

HCV Seroconverters

A total of 5,218 inmates had repeat HCV laboratory tests available for analysis. Of these 330 were identified as seroconverters for HCV (positive laboratory results preceded by a documented negative test). The mean time between first negative test and subsequent positive laboratory result was 2.9 years (median 2.4 yrs, range 78 days to 7.6 yrs).

HCV Incidence Rate

Based on the total number of days under observation in this open cohort, the incidence of HCV was estimated at 25 cases per 1,000 inmates at risk per yearFootnote 2.

Risk Factors for HCV Seroconversion

Risk ratios for the exposed and unexposed groups were determined and the relative risk (RR) was calculated. Relative Risk was used to estimate the population attributable fraction (proportion of new cases attributed to that risk factor). These data are summarized in Table 2.

Table 2: HCV Relative Risk Ratios, 2005-2012
Risk RR 95% CI PAF±
Injection Drug Use 9.9 7.3, 13.5 47%
Snorted Drugs 2.0 1.5, 2.8 24%
Tattoo 2.1 1.5, 3.0 37%
Body Piercing 1.7 0.9, 3.1 20%
Fighting / Slashing 1.4 0.9, 1.9 7%
Unprotected Sex 1.1 0.8, 1.6 7%
Sex with IDU 2.3 1.5, 3.6 10%
SexTrade Work 0.6 0.2, 1.7 -2%
Client of STW 1.0 0.5, 1.9 -1%

± - Population Attributable Fraction; bold = p<0.05

Offenders who reported injection drug use were almost 10 times more likely to get HCV, and 47% of HCV seroconversions were attributed to this risk behaviour. Risk for HCV doubled with snorting drugs and getting a tattoo, but more seroconversions were attributed to tattooing (37%) due to the prevalence of this behaviour among offenders. Sex with an IDU doubled the risk of acquiring HCV, and accounted for 10% of all seroconversions.

Community Exposure

Preliminary investigation into the 330 HCV seroconverters indicated that 43% spent some time in the community, ranging from 1% to 98% of the time interval under observation. Offenders may reengage in risk behaviours and could be at risk for HCV via community exposures.

Summary

Offenders in CSC seroconvert to HCV positive status at an estimated rate of 25 per 1,000 inmates at risk per year. Not all inmates are at risk. Roughly half of the seroconverters spent time in the community. Understanding the attribution of risk behaviors in prison versus community requires more study.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

CSC follows national HIV guidelines for screening and testing from the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC)

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Health Services Quick Facts; HCV Age, Gender and Aboriginal Ancestry. CSC 2016

Return to footnote2

Virus de l’hépatite C (VHC) Reprise de test de dépistage et séroconversion

Collecte de données

Les données issues de la surveillance accrue de 2005 à 2012 dans l’Application Web du Système de surveillance des maladies infectieuses ont été analysées pour trouver les reprises de tests de dépistage des infections transmises sexuellement et par le sang. Les comportements à risque déclarés ont été présentés sous forme de tableau. Les dossiers présentant des reprises de tests de dépistage pour le VHCFootnote 1 ont été examinés pour la qualité et la cohérence des données. La séroconversion du VHC a été définie comme un résultat négatif à une épreuve immuno enzymatique (EIA), suivi d’un résultat positif à une épreuve (EIA ou ARN). Les données ont été extraites en juin 2016.

Analyse et résulats

Reprise de test de dépistage du VHC

Le test de dépistage de suivi est volontaire et il n’est pas nécessaire pour tous les détenus. Un total de 15 737 détenus ont repris les tests sur une période sept ans (2005 2012).

Comportements à risque d’infection par le VHC déclarés

Les détenus devaient parler de leurs comportements à risque « depuis la dernière évaluation ». On ne précisait pas si le comportement était survenu en prison ou dans la collectivité. Environ 40 % des dossiers contenaient des renseignements sur le risque accessibles pour analyse (voir le tableau 1).

Tableau 1 : Comportements à risque déclarés± depuis le dernier test, 2005-2012
Risques Oui (n, %) Non (n, %)
Drogues injectables 1 293 (20 %) 5 353 (80 %)
Drogues reniflées 2 122 (32 %) 4 503 (68 %)
Tatouage 3 251 (53 %) 3 160 (47 %)
Perçage 790 (35 %) 1 479 (65 %)
Bagarre/entaille 1 319 (20 %) 5 234 (80 %)
Relations sexuelles non protégées 3 611 (56 %) 2 800 (44 %)
Relation sexuelle avec UDI 665 (11 %) 5 392 (89 %)
Travail dans l’industrie du sexe 284 (5 %) 6 017 (95 %)
Client d’un travailleur de l’industrie du sexe 484 (8 %) 5 767 (92 %)

± - en raison d’un dénominateur de données manquant entre 6 057 et 6 681

La moitié de tous les détenus qui ont repris le test ont déclaré s’être fait tatouer (53 %) et 20 % ont mentionné avoir consommé des drogues injectables. Parmi les personnes qui ont mentionné l’injection de drogues, 50 % ont révélé avoir partagé des seringues ou tout autre équipement d’injection de drogue (comme des cuillères et des récipients).

Séroconversion VHC

Au total, 5 218 détenus ont repris des tests de dépistage du VHC aux fins d’analyse. Parmi ces détenus, une séroconversion VHC a eu lieu chez 330 personnes (résultats positifs en laboratoire précédés d’un résultat négatif documenté). La durée moyenne entre le premier résultat négatif et le résultat positif subséquent était de 2,9 ans (médiane 2,4 ans, de 78 jours à 7,6 ans).

Taux d’incidence du VHC

D’après le nombre total de jours en observation dans cette cohorte ouverte, l’incidence du VHC a été estimée à 25 cas par 1000 détenus à risque par annéeFootnote2.

Facteurs de risque de séroconversion VHC

Les rapports de risque pour les groupes exposés et non exposés ont été déterminés et le risque relatif (RR) a été calculé. Le RR a été utilisé pour estimer la fraction étiologique (FE) (la proportion de nouveaux cas attribués à ce facteur de risque). Ces données sont résumées au tableau 2.

Tableau 2 : Rapports de risque relatif du VHC, 2005-2012
Risques RR IC à 95 % FE±
Drogues injectables 9,9 7,3 et 13,5 47 %
Drogues reniflées 2,0 1,5 et 2,8 24 %
Tatouage 2,1 1,5 et 3,0 37 %
Perçage 1,7 0,9 et 3,1 20 %
Bagarre/entaille 1,4 0,9 et 1,9 7 %
Relations sexuelles non protégées 1,1 0,8 et 1,6 7 %
Relation sexuelle avec UDI 2,3 1,5 et 3,6 10 %
Travail dans l’industrie du sexe 0,6 0,2 et 1,7 -2 %
Client d’un travailleur de l’industrie du sexe 1,0 0,5 et 1,9 -1 %

± - Fraction étiologique; en gras = p<0,05

Les délinquants qui ont déclaré consommer des drogues injectables avaient un risque presque 10 fois plus élevé de contracter une infection par le VHC, et 47 % des séroconversions ont été attribuées à ce comportement à risque. Le risque de contracter une infection par le VHC doublait avec le tatouage ou la consommation de drogues reniflées, mais une plus grande partie des cas de séroconversions (37 %) ont été attribués au tatouage à cause de la prévalence de ce comportement à risque parmi les détenus. Le fait d’avoir des relations sexuelles avec un travailleur de l’industrie du sexe doublait le risque de contracter une infection par le VHC et était responsable de 10 % des séroconversions.

Exposition de la collectivité

Des enquêtes préliminaires sur les 330 cas de séroconversion VHC ont révélé que 43 % des porteurs avaient passé du temps dans la collectivité; temps représentant de 1 % à 98 % de l’intervalle de temps en observation. Les délinquants peuvent adopter de nouveau des comportements à risque et pourraient contracter le VHC lors d’une exposition dans la collectivité.

Résumé

Le taux estimé de séroconversion au statut positif pour le VHC chez les détenus du SCC est de 25 par 1000 détenus à risque par année. Ce ne sont pas tous les détenus qui sont à risque. Environ la moitié des personnes ayant connu une séroconversion avaient passé du temps dans la collectivité. Une étude approfondie est nécessaire pour comprendre la distribution des comportements à risque dans une prison par rapport à celle que l’on trouve dans la collectivité.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

SCC suit les lignes directrices nationales de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) pour le dépistage et le diagnostic de l'infection par le VHC

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Footnote 2

Arrondis de 25,4 cas par 1000 détenus à risque par année

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page2