Case Studies

All female sex offenders listed in the Offender Management System (OMS) as of July 1995 were identified according to any sexual offences on any sentence. OMS sources were first used to develop an inmate profile, which, when inadequate, were supplemented by hard-copy files obtained from various jurisdictions. In some cases, even after obtaining hard-copy files, there were gaps in the available information.

Although every attempt was made to retrieve all information available, information was sparse both on OMS and hard-copy files, and little information was provided by provincial corrections for female sex offenders incarcerated under some Exchange of Services Agreements. When these prisoners are transferred to federal jurisdiction, an in-depth intake assessment will be warranted.

Files were the sole source of information collected. It was not possible, due to the scope of this study, to carry out interviews with either the offender or collateral sources.

Case studies of nineteen offenders were established. Given that the most common profiles were male coerced and male accompanied, detailed case studies of each type are presented.

Male Accompanied - Offender 1

ALL OFFENCES (FEDERAL):

Criminal Code Offence: SEXUAL EXPLOITATION- TOUCHING, 1993

Offender 1 was an offender in her 30's, sentenced to a 3 year aggregate sentence. The victim of the assault was her daughter. Although Offender 1 had a prior record for theft, this was her first federal offence. In June of 1994, she was granted full parole with conditions which prohibit contact with the victim, her co-accused and children under 16, as well as acceptance of counselling.

The incidents involved Offender 1 allowing her common-law husband (the co-accused) to have sexual intercourse with her daughter. The co-accused assaulted the victim from her early childhood until her teenage years (6 years). The first five years involved sexual touching and in the last year, included intercourse. The victim's privileges (i.e. phone) were removed if she resisted and on one occasion the victim was physically assaulted. The victim finally called the police and reported a sexual assault by her stepfather which had occurred the previous night.

Offender 1 assisted in the assaults against her daughter by forcing her to have sexual relations with the co-accused. Offender 1 struck her daughter or took things away from her if she refused.

The victim suffered both physical and psychological damage. Her victim impact statement indicates that she was often hit, punched, and covered in bruises. She suffered from nightmares/flashbacks, has indicated problems in meeting new people, and was uncomfortable being alone in a room with strangers or in a doctor's office. She also has had difficulty accepting flattery as she doubted its sincerity and wondered what people wanted in return.

Offender 1 was also a victim of molestation and sexual assault by family and non-family members. Her father sexually abused her and, until recently, her family denied the abuse.

Offender 1's offences seem to have been situationally based. Psychological testing indicated she had severe assertive and relationship deficits and, as a consequence, was a woman who did not possess the necessary skills to defend her rights. Offender 1 attempted suicide before her court appearance.

Offender 1 has undergone a considerable amount of treatment and has been very receptive to it. According to reports, she has dealt with her alcoholism through treatment. With respect to emotional/personal orientation, Offender 1 has benefited greatly from self-esteem enhancement.

Through marital/family counselling, Offender 1 has come to terms with her own past sexual victimization by various family members. In addition to this, she has identified contributing factors which led to her role as an abuser. Offender 1 is also actively trying to develop a relationship with her daughter (the victim) and has taken action to divorce the co-accused. Offender 1's daughter seems to be doing well and is interested in building a relationship with her mother.

Offender 1 was a good student who spent a lot of time studying in pursuit of her career goal as a nurse.

No incidents on file in the Offender Management System (OMS).

Male Coerced - Offender 10

ALL OFFENCES (FEDERAL):

Criminal Code Offence: INVITE SEXUAL TOUCHING, SEXUAL INTERFERENCE, 1994

Offender 10 was a first time federal offender in her early twenties, serving a two year sentence for Sexual Interference and Invite Sexual Touching. The victim of her offences was Offender 10's common-law husband's (the co-accused) ten year old niece.

The file suggests that Offender 10 was involved in an abusive relationship and, allowed herself to be convinced to participate in inappropriate sexual activity with the ten year old victim.

The offence occurred sometime during a fifteen month period. The incident involved having the victim perform sexual acts on her aggressors, and also having sexual acts performed on her.

No details were available on the victim other than the fact that Offender 10 no longer has any contact with her.

Offender 10 comes from a very dysfunctional background. Her father was severely alcoholic during his marriage with Offender 10's mother. Offender 10's father was also very verbally abusive to the family and, according to Offender 10's mother, none of his children felt loved by him.

It is believed that Offender 10 and her sister were both molested by an adolescent male baby-sitter as young children. Although there is the possibility of further sexual abuse in Offender 10's history, details on the abuse are sketchy as Offender 10 was very traumatized and has not disclosed information.

Offender 10 met her co-accused in 1989 and gave birth to her eldest son soon after. Offender 10's mother reveals that later in the relationship, it seemed that Offender 10 and the co-accused frequently fought and Offender 10 appeared to be afraid of him.

Offender 10 was described as shy and caring, although capable of "losing her temper" on occasion. She also related well to her mother and siblings.

Offender 10's criminogenic factors were identified as: personal/emotional problems related to sexual offending behaviour, poor stress management, marital/family problems, being a spousal abuse victim, and employment problems due to low academic achievement and lack of vocational skills. She has not abused either drugs or alcohol.

Offender 10 obtained a grade 7 level of education and her mother indicated that she left school due to the negative influence of her peer group. Her employment history is not very extensive.

While incarcerated, Offender 10 upgraded her academic skills and completed a parenting program. As a program for female sex offenders was not available where Offender 10 was incarcerated, she met with a psychologist to deal with her sexual offending behaviour and emotional and relationship issues. It is suggested that Offender 10 needed continued psychological support in order to deal with these issues.

Offender 10 currently receives financial aid and is considered a dependent of her mother. She resides with her mother, two sisters, her sister's daughter, and her own three children. She is currently involved in what seems to be a healthy relationship with a man.

No incidents on file in OMS.

Étude de cas

Toutes les délinquantes sexuelles figurant dans le Système de gestion des détenus (SGD) en juillet 1995 ont été repérées selon les infractions sexuelles commises sans égard à la longueur de la peine imposée. On a d'abord utilisé les données du SGD pour établir un profil de la détenue et, lorsque ce profil n'était pas satisfaisant, des renseignements supplémentaires provenant des dossiers obtenus de divers secteurs de compétence y ont été ajoutés. Dans certains cas, même après avoir obtenu les dossiers de copies sur papier, il manquait encore des renseignements.

Bien qu'on n'ait rien épargné pour obtenir tous les renseignements disponibles, le SGD et les dossiers n'en contenaient pas beaucoup et les services correctionnels provinciaux en ont fourni peu sur les délinquantes sexuelles incarcérées dans le cadre d'accords d'échange de services. Lorsque ces prisonnières seront transférées au secteur de compétence fédéral, il sera nécessaire d'effectuer une évaluation initiale en profondeur.

Les dossiers ont été la seule source de l'information obtenue. En raison de la portée de cette étude, il a été impossible de procéder à des entrevues auprès des délinquantes ou des sources auxiliaires.

Dix-neuf études de cas de délinquantes sexuelles ont été effectuées.

Compte tenu que le profile le plus courant était celui de «Accompagnée/contrainte par un homme», un exemple détaillé de ces deux profiles est inclus.

Accompagnée par un homme - Délinquante No 1

TOUTES LES INFRACTIONS (AUX LOIS FÉDÉRALES) :

Description au Code criminel : EXPLOITATION SEXUELLE, CONTACTS SEXUELS, AGRESSION SEXUELLE 1993

La délinquante no 1 était dans la trentaine et avait été condamnée à une peine totale de 3 ans. La victime de ses agressions était sa fille. La délinquante no 1 avait déjà été condamnée pour de vol, mais il s'agissait de sa première infraction à une loi fédérale. En juin 1994, elle a obtenu une libération conditionnelle totale assortie d'une condition lui interdisant tout contact avec sa victime, son coaccusé et les enfants de moins de 16 ans et exigeant qu'elle suive des séances de counseling.

Les infractions commises avaient trait à ce qu'elle permettait à son conjoint de fait (le coaccusé) d'avoir des relations sexuelles avec sa fille. Le coaccusé a agressé la victime à partir de sa première enfance jusqu'à l'adolescence (6 ans). Pendant les cinq premières années, il s'agissait de contacts sexuels et la dernière année, il avait eu des relations sexuelles avec elle. Lorsque la victime résistait, le coaccusé lui enlevait des privilèges (p. ex., l'utilisation du téléphone) et à une occasion il lui a infligé de mauvais traitements physiques. Finalement, la victime a appelé la police pour dire qu'elle avait été victime d'une agression sexuelle de la part de son beau-père la nuit précédente.

La délinquante no 1 a participé aux agressions contre sa fille en la forçant à avoir des relations sexuelles avec le coaccusé. Elle frappait sa fille ou lui enlevait des choses lorsque cette dernière refusait.

La victime a souffert physiquement et psychologiquement. Dans sa déclaration, elle a indiqué qu'elle recevait souvent des coups et était couverte de bleus. Elle souffre de cauchemars/rappels éclairs, trouve difficile de rencontrer de nouvelles personnes et se sent mal à l'aise lorsqu'elle est seule dans une pièce avec des inconnus ou dans un bureau de médecin. Elle a aussi de la difficulté à accepter les compliments, car elle doute de la sincérité des gens et se demande ce qu'ils veulent en retour.

La délinquante no 1 a aussi été victime d'atteinte à la pudeur et d'agression sexuelle par des membres de sa famille et d'autres personnes. Elle a été victime d'agression sexuelle de la part de son père et, jusqu'à tout récemment, sa famille niait ce fait.

Les infractions commises par la délinquante no 1 semblent avoir été circonstancielles. Des tests psychologiques indiquent des lacunes graves sur le plan de l'assurance et de la capacité d'établir des relations avec d'autres personnes, de sorte qu'elle n'avait pas les compétences nécessaires pour défendre ses droits. Elle a tenté de se suicider avant sa comparution devant le tribunal.

La délinquante no 1 a suivi un nombre considérable de traitements et elle y a été très réceptive. Selon les rapports, ils lui ont permis de surmonter ses problèmes d'alcool. En ce qui concerne son orientation personnelle et affective, elle a retiré beaucoup de bienfaits du traitement visant à accroître son estime de soi.

Grâce au counseling conjugal/familial, la délinquante no 1 en est venue à accepter sa propre victimisation sexuelle par divers membres de sa famille. En outre, elle a repéré des facteurs qui l'ont menée à jouer un rôle d'agresseur. Elle s'emploie activement à tenter d'établir une relation avec sa fille (la victime) et elle a entamé des procédures de divorce du coaccusé. La fille de la délinquante no 1 semble bien aller et est intéressée à établir une relation avec sa mère.

La délinquante no 1 était une bonne étudiante qui passait beaucoup de temps à travailler pour atteindre son objectif de carrière, c'est-à-dire être infirmière.

Aucun incident n'est consigné dans le Système de gestion des détenus (SGD).

Contrainte par un homme - Délinquante No 10

TOUTES LES INFRACTIONS (AUX LOIS FÉDÉRALES) :

Description au Code criminel : OMISSION DE COMPARAÎTRE, INVITATION À DES CONTACTS SEXUELS, TOUCHEMENTS SEXUELS 1994

La délinquante no 10 était au début de la vingtaine et purgeait une première peine d'un an sous responsabilité provinciale pour attouchements sexuels et invitation à des contacts sexuels. La victime de ses infractions était la nièce âgée de 10 ans de son conjoint de fait (le co-accusé).

D'après le dossier, il semble que la délinquante no 10 se trouvait dans une relation de violence et qu'elle s'était laissée convaincre de participer à des activités sexuelles déplacées avec la victime de 10 ans.

L'infraction a eu lieu au cours d'une période de 15 ans. Les agresseurs ont obligé la victime à se livrer à des actes sexuels sur leur personne et à se soumettre elle-même à de tels actes.

Aucun renseignement n'était disponible sur la victime sauf le fait que la délinquante no 10 n'a plus aucun contact avec elle.

La délinquante no 10 vient d'une famille très dysfonctionnelle dont le père, alcoolique, buvait constamment pendant ses 13 ans de mariage avec la mère et usait de violence verbale à l'égard de la famille; selon la mère, aucun des enfants ne se sentait aimé de lui.

On croit que la délinquante no 10 et sa soeur ont toutes les deux été agressées par un gardien adolescent lorsqu'elles étaient petites. Bien qu'il soit possible que la délinquante no 10 ait subi d'autres mauvais traitements sexuels dans le passé, les détails sont vagues et, ayant été très traumatisée, elle n'a pas voulu révéler d'information.

La délinquante no 10 a rencontré le coaccusé en 1989 et a donné naissance à son fils aîné peu après. La mère de la délinquante no 10 révèle que, plus tard dans la relation, le coaccusé et la délinquante no 10 se querellaient souvent et que cette dernière semblait avoir peur de lui.

La délinquante no 10 a été décrite comme étant timide et aimante, bien que capable à l'occasion de se «mettre en colère». Elle avait de bonnes relations avec sa mère et ses soeurs.

On a déterminé que les facteurs criminogènes de la délinquante no 10 étaient les suivants : problèmes personnels/émotifs à l'origine d'un comportement sexuel délinquant, mauvaise gestion du stress, problèmes conjugaux/familiaux, violence subie aux mains du conjoint et problèmes d'emploi dus à un bas niveau d'instruction et un manque de compétences professionnelles. Elle n'a pas fait un usage abusif de drogue ou d'alcool.

La délinquante no 10 a quitté l'école après avoir terminé sa 7e année d'après sa mère à cause de l'influence négative de ses camarades. Elle a très peu d'antécédents professionnels.

Pendant son incarcération, la délinquante no 10 a poursuivi ses études et a mené à bien un programme d'acquisition de compétences parentales. Comme il n'y avait pas de programme pour délinquantes sexuelles à l'établissement où elle était incarcérée, elle a eu des séances avec un psychologue pour traiter de son comportement sexuel délinquant et de ses problèmes affectifs et relationnels. On a laissé entendre qu'elle avait besoin d'une aide psychologique soutenue pour venir à bout de ces problèmes.

La délinquante no 10 reçoit présentement de l'aide financière et elle est à la charge de sa mère. Elle habite avec sa mère, deux soeurs, la fille de l'une de ses soeurs et ses trois propres enfants. La relation qu'elle a présentement avec un homme semble saine.

Aucun incident n'est consigné dans le SGD.