Findings: Characteristics of the Offenders

Age at Sexual Offense

A number of characteristics were examined - in particular age at first offence, abuse history, socio-economic status, education, substance abuse and degree of violence used. Information on the age of the offender at the time of their first sexual offence was obtained for all cases and averaged 33 years and a standard deviation of 9.7. One offender began offending at 17. It would appear that none of the offenders began offending as a child. These results must be interpreted with caution since file data are based on self-report of early abusive behaviour. The average age of the sample appears to be somewhat older than the norms described in the literature (Brown et al., 1984).

History of Abuse

Information on abusive history was available in 11 of 19 cases. Of these 11, 55% (6) had a history of past sexual victimisation while an additional 36% (4) had a history of verbal, physical and/or mental abuse. In other words, 91% (10 of 11) had experienced a history of abuse. In 4 of the 6 cases of past sexual victimisation, further physical, verbal or mental abuse was described. In 4 cases, the offender became sexually active in her early teens. Although it has been stated, that past sexual victimisation is common in the history of female sex offenders (Mathews, et al., 1989, Atkinson, 1995), only half of the offenders in this study indicated past sexual victimisation. However, over 90% indicated some form of abuse in their history.

Socio-Economic Status

Low socio-economic status is considered to be characteristic of female sex offenders (Mathews, et al., 1989). In this study, a rating of a low socio-economic status was based on principal support by social assistance and sporadic or lack of employment history. Information on socio-economic status was available for 9 of the 19 offenders. Of these 9, almost 90% (8) were rated as low in socio-economic status which is in accordance with data presented by Mathews, et al., 1989.

Education

Mathews et al. (1989) have found that female sex offenders are often poorly educated. Information available on 9 of the female sex offenders indicated that the level of education obtained ranged from grade 5-6 to grade 11. None had pursued studies beyond high school and some had obtained further education while incarcerated.

Substance Abuse

Female sex offenders commonly have substance abuse problems (Mathews et al, 1989). In support of these findings, 12 of 13 women in this sample were found to have substance abuse problems. In 6 cases, no information on substance abuse was provided.

Gratuitous Violence

Offences committed by female sex offenders do not generally include violent force (Marvasti, 1986; Johnson & Shrier, 1987). In this sample, violence or its absence was noted in only 10 cases. In 7 cases, violence consisted of: hitting or beating the victim, handling the victim roughly, beating a victim with bottles and a piece of wood, holding the victim down forcibly during intercourse, threatening the victim at knife point, and killing a victim. In 3 cases, no extraneous violent force was used in the sexual assault. Information was either unclear or not available as to whether violence was part of the assault in the 9 remaining cases. Therefore, in 7 of the 10 cases, where case information was available, offenders used violence during their offences. This finding suggests that in a federally incarcerated sample of female sex offenders, violence is a common feature, contradictory to data obtained in other settings.

Typologies

This study investigated the extent to which the profiles of these offenders fit Mathews et al. (1989) typology of female sex offenders: male-coerced, teacher/lover or predisposed. It was hypothesised that most women would fit the male-coerced category (Mathews, et al., 1989; Knopp & Lackey, 1987). Information on whether the women had co-offenders, was available in 18 of the 19 cases. Of these 18 women, 90% (16) had co-offenders and 10% (2) did not. Each offender's case will be examined independently in order to fully illustrate the extent to which these offenders fit a particular typology.

Teacher/Lover

Of the two women who committed offences on their own, one, Offender 9, fits the typology of teacher/lover. A teacher/lover seeks a loving sexual interaction with the victim who is usually an adolescent male. She does not know she is harming

the victim in any way as the relationship appears mutually satisfactory. The offender's history includes a distant relationship with her father (Mathews et al., 1989). Offender 9's case possesses all these characteristics.

Anger as Motivation

Offender 5, the other woman who offended alone, does not seem to fit any of the typologies presented by Mathews, et al. (1989). The offender violently assaulted an adult male. The typologies neglect the occurrence of this type of offence which would appear more similar in typology to sexually assaultive men who are motivated by anger.

Male-Coerced or Male-Accompanied

Fourteen of the 16 women who had a co-offender, committed their offence(s) with a male. The other two women were co-accused for the same incidents, although inadequate information makes this unclear. Of the 14 women co-offending with males, 11 committed offences only with their husband or common-law spouse. Of the remaining three women who had male co-offenders, one woman committed offences with both her ex-husband (father of her children) and her current, common-law husband. Both an adult male friend and the offender's husband were co-accused in another woman (Offender 13)'s case. Finally, one woman committed very violent offences against her victims while accompanied by four males. This type of case is rarely presented in the literature.

Male-coerced offenders by definition commit a sexual offence with a male, primarily due to their fear of the co-offender (Mathews, et al., 1989). It is tempting to categorize all the female offenders who were involved in offences with males as male-coerced. However, a closer look at their cases reveals that such a categorization does not accurately reflect their motives or behaviour. Of the 14 women who co-offended with males, adequate information was not available to classify 5 of them into Mathews, et al's. (1989) typologies. According to file information, only 4 of the remaining 9 women can be classified as male-coerced. The first, offender was in an abusive relationship with her common-law husband at the time of the offences. She also seemed to be very dependent on her husband and was described as shy and underassertive. In addition to this, the victim of the sexual abuse was a young female. There is no evidence that this offender participated in the abuse on her own at any time. Therefore, it seems likely that she participated in the sexual as a result of force and pressure from him.

The second offender can also be classified as male-coerced. She was a victim of spousal abuse at the time of the offences, had low self-esteem and feelings of inadequacy, abused drugs and alcohol and victimized her own daughter. This appears to be characteristic of a male-coerced offender.

The third offender can be classified as male-coerced as she offended with her husband against 2 children. She was also described as passive and easily manipulated and controlled.

Finally, the fourth offender also seems to fit the category of male-coerced. Her victim was her daughter, she abused alcohol and had very low self-esteem. It is quite possible that her offences involved feelings of powerlessness in the relationship with her husband.

However, the five remaining women who co-offended with males do not fit the category of male-coerced for various reasons. Although one offender sexually assaulted her son and daughter with her husband, she does not seem to have the characteristics of a male-coerced offender. There is no evidence that she was victimized by the co-accused. Therefore, there is no evidence that she participated in the abuse because she was forced into it by her husband. In addition to this, violent force was used on her victims. This is also uncharacteristic of a male-coerced offender. She could more easily be classified as male-accompanied.

The second offender in this group, committed sexual offences with her ex-husband and current common-law husband against her three children. She was a victim of severe physical and emotional and sexual abuse as a child. Although information on this case is sparse, there is no clear indication that this offender was forced into sexually assaulting her children by a male.

Despite the fact that she offended with two males, the third offender in this group cannot be categorised as male-coerced for various reasons. First, she was described as a primary aggressor. In fact, this offender initiated the sexual assault on the victim. She also threatened the victim, mutilated and physically assaulted the victim. This offender was not only in control of the offence, but appears to have taken charge. Mathews et al.'s (1989) typologies do not include female sex offenders who violently offend against a non-familial female and who take a role equal to and, at times, greater than, her male co-offenders.

Similar to the third offender, the fourth offender in this group was very much in control of her choice to sexually offend. She committed very violent offences on two female victims while accompanied by four males. Instead of being victimized or helping the female victims, this offender was quite active by leading and participating in the assaults. The degree of violence described in this incident is rarely reported in the literature. Again, Mathews et al. (1989) do not adequately classify this type of female sex offender.

Finally, although the fifth offender offended with her husband at times, she more closely fits the category of a predisposed offender for several reasons. This offender initiated the abuse of her children on her own and carried out this very violent sexual abuse for a lengthy period of time. She later incorporated her husband as a co-offender in the sexual assaults. The victims were also physically abused and neglected by the offender, in addition to being sexually abused. The fifth offender was a victim of very severe abuse as a child. These conditions are characteristic of a predisposed offender.

In summary, of the 11 women for whom enough information was available, only one fits the classification of teacher/lover and one could be classified as angry/impulsive. Four were found to fit the male-coerced typology. However, 5 of the offenders fit into an older classification scheme developed by Mathews (1987): male accompanied. One of the five was both "predisposed" and male-accompanied. Male-accompanied offenders co-offend with a male and are more active participants in the abuse against their victims than male-coerced. It seems the distinction Mathews (1987) made between male-coerced and male-accompanied is important to maintain.

In summary, for this federally sentenced group of women, the two largest categories were male-coerced (4) and male-accompanied (5). The other two could be individually categorised as teacher/lover (1) and angry/impulsive (1).

Victims

The fourth objective of this study investigated whether victims of this sample of female sex offenders were generally female children of the offender; a common research finding (Mathews et al., 1989; Faller, 1987). Information on number of victims per offender was as follows: Although seven women had one victim, five women had two, one woman had three, two women had four, and one woman had six victims. In other words, of the 16 cases where victim information was available, just under half had one victim and the remainder had multiple victims. The mean number of victims was 2.44 per offender. Information was not available on the victims of one of the offenders in the sample (Offender 4). Information on the sex of the victims was not available in 15 of the 44 victims listed. Of the 29 remaining victims, 19 were female and 10 were male: there were almost twice as many female victims as male victims. This is consistent with previous research findings.

It is believed that female sex offenders tend to sexually assault their own children or those with whom they are well acquainted (Mathews et al., 1989;

Faller, 1987). In accordance with these findings, 25 of the 33 victims (76%) in this sample (where relevant information was available) were either children of the offender or children sharing a familial relationship with the offender, and 80% of these victims were the offender's own children. Where the sex of these

victims was known, seven were the offender's son, and nine were the offender's daughter. Information on sex was not available for four of the victims. Of the five child victims who were in a familial relationship to the offender, one was a stepson, three were nieces and one was a nephew.

Four of the women offended against eight adolescent or adult victims. All were strangers or acquaintances, and seven of the eight were female. In this sample of female sex offenders, victimization of individuals outside the family is relatively uncommon (24%).

Résultats : Caractéristiques des délinquantes

Âge au moment de la perpétration de l'infraction

On a examiné un certain nombre de caractéristiques, en particulier l'âge de la délinquante au moment de la perpétration de la première infraction, les antécédents de mauvais traitements, le statut socio-économique, le niveau de scolarité, la toxicomanie et le degré de violence en cause. Des données ont été recueillies sur l'âge de toutes les délinquantes au moment de leur première infraction sexuelle; la moyenne d'âge se situait à 33 ans et l'écart type, à 9,7. L'une des délinquantes avait commis sa première infraction à l'âge de 17 ans. Aucune, semble-t-il, n'a commencé à commettre des infractions dans l'enfance. Toutefois, ces résultats doivent être interprétés avec circonspection, car les données dans les dossiers sont fondées sur les déclarations des intéressées au sujet de leurs comportements violents précoces. La moyenne d'âge de l'échantillon semble un peu plus élevée que les normes décrites dans la documentation (Brown et coll., 1984).

Antécédents de mauvais traitements

Des renseignements sur les antécédents de mauvais traitements des délinquantes étaient disponibles dans 11 des 19 cas. De ces 11 délinquantes, 55 % (6) avaient fait l'objet de mauvais traitements sexuels dans le passé tandis qu'un autre 36 % (4) avaient été victimes de violence verbale et physique ou de cruauté mentale. En d'autres termes, 91 % (10 sur 11) avaient été victimes de violence. Dans 4 des 6 cas où il y avait eu victimisation sexuelle, d'autres mauvais traitements physiques, verbaux ou psychologiques ont été décrits. Dans 4 cas, la délinquante a commencé ses activités sexuelles au tout début de l'adolescence. Bien que d'après certains chercheurs la victimisation sexuelle soit un élément commun des antécédents des délinquantes sexuelles (Mathews et coll., 1989, Atkinson, 1995), seulement la moitié des délinquantes visées par la présente étude ont déclaré avoir subi de mauvais traitements sexuels dans le passé. Toutefois, plus de 90 % ont révélé avoir été victimes d'une forme quelconque de violence pendant leur vie.

Statut socio-économique

On considère qu'un statut socio-économique peu élevé est l'une des caractéristiques des délinquantes sexuelles (Mathews, et coll., 1989). Dans la présente étude, le statut socio-économique peu élevé correspondait à une situation où le principal soutien provenait des prestatiosn d'assistance sociale et où l'emploi était sporadique ou inexistant. On a obtenu des données sur le statut socio-économique dans 9 des 19 cas. De ces 9 délinquantes, presque 90 % (8) ont été cotées comme ayant un faible statut socio-économique, ce qui est conforme aux données présentées par Mathews et coll., 1989.

Niveau de scolarité

Mathews et coll. (1989) ont conclu que les délinquantes sexuelles ont souvent un bas niveau de scolarité. D'après les renseignements disponibles sur 9 des délinquantes sexuelles, le niveau de scolarité se situait entre la 5e et la 11e année. Aucune n'avait fait d'études postsecondaires et certaines avaient poursuivi leurs études pendant leur incarcération.

Toxicomanie

Les délinquantes sexuelles ont souvent des problèmes de toxicomanie (Mathews et coll., 1989). Conformément à ces conclusions, 12 des 13 délinquantes avaient en effet des problèmes de toxicomanie. Dans 6 cas, aucun renseignements sur ce sujet n'a été fourni.

Violence gratuite

En règle générale, les infractions commises par des délinquantes sexuelles ne comportent pas le recours à la violence (Marvasti, 1986; Johnson et Shrier, 1987). Dans le présent échantillon, la violence ou son absence n'ont été notées que dans 10 cas. Dans 7 cas, la délinquante avait frappé ou battu la victime, l'avait maltraitée, l'avait battue avec des bouteilles et un morceau de bois, l'avait immobilisée pendant les rapports sexuels, l'avait menacée avec un couteau, ou l'avait tuée. Dans 3 cas, la délinquante n'avait pas eu recours à la violence gratuite pendant l'agression sexuelle. Dans les 9 autres cas, il était difficile de savoir si l'agression avait compris le recours à la violence car les données n'étaient pas claires ou n'étaient pas disponibles. Par conséquent, dans 7 des 10 cas sur lesquels des renseignements étaient disponibles, les délinquantes avaient eu recours à la violence lors de la perpétration de l'infraction. Ainsi, dans le cas d'un échantillon de délinquantes sexuelles détenues sous responsabilité fédérale, le recours à la violence était une caractéristique commune, ce qui contredit les données obtenues dans d'autres contextes.

Typologie

Au cours de cette étude, on a examiné dans quelle mesure les profils de ces délinquantes correspondent à la typologie des délinquantes sexuelles établie par Mathews et coll. (1989), soit «contrainte par un homme», «instructrice/ amante» et «prédisposée». Selon l'hypothèse émise, la plupart des femmes doivent se classer dans la catégorie «contrainte par un homme» (Mathews et coll., 1989; Knopp et Lackey, 1987). Dans 18 des 19 cas, il y avait des renseignements sur l'existence de codélinquants. De ces 18 femmes, 90 % (16) avaient agi avec un codélinquant et 10 % (2) avaient agi seules. Chaque cas sera examiné indépendamment afin de déterminer dans quelle mesure ces délinquantes correspondent à un type donné.

Instructrice/amante

Seulement une des deux femmes qui ont commis leurs infractions seules, la délinquante no 9, correspond au type «instructrice/ amante». Ce type recherche une interaction sexuelle aimante avec la victime, qui est généralement un adolescent. Elle ne sait pas qu'elle fait du tort à la victime, car la relation semble mutuellement satisfaisante. Le passé de la délinquante révèle une relation distante avec le père (Mathews et coll., 1989). Toutes ces caractéristiques sont présentes dans le cas de la délinquante no 9.

La colère comme motif

La délinquante no 5, l'autre femme ayant agi seule, ne correspond à aucun des types établis par Mathews et coll. (1989). Elle a agressé un homme adulte. La typologie établie fait abstraction de ce type d'infraction, qui ressemblerait davantage, pour ce qui est de la typologie, à celles commises par les agresseurs sexuels motivés par la colère.

Contrainte ou accompagnée par un homme

Quatorze des 16 femmes ayant un codélinquant ont commis leur(s) infraction(s) de concert avec un homme. Les deux autres femmes ont été coaccusées pour les mêmes incidents, mais l'insuffisance des renseignements fournis ne permet pas de le confirmer. Dans le cas de 11 des 14 femmes qui ont commis leur infraction avec un homme, il s'agissait de leur mari ou conjoint de fait. En ce qui concerne les trois autres femmes qui avaient des codélinquants, l'une d'elle a commis ses infractions avec son ex-mari (le père de ses enfants) et avec son conjoint de fait. Dans le cas de la deuxième, (la délinquante no 13) un ami et le mari de la délinquante ont été coaccusés. La troisième a commis des agressions très violentes contre ses victimes alors qu'elle était en compagnie de quatre hommes. Ce type de cas est rarement présenté dans la documentation.

Par définition, les délinquantes «contraintes par un homme» commettent des agressions sexuelles de concert avec un homme, principalement parce qu'elles en ont peur de celui-ci (Mathews et coll., 1989). Il est tentant de classer toutes les délinquantes qui ont commis des infractions avec un homme dans la catégorie «contraintes par un homme». Toutefois, un examen plus minutieux des cas révèle que cette catégorisation ne correspond pas exactement à leurs motifs ou à leur comportement. Dans le cas de 5 des 14 femmes ayant commis un infraction de concert avec un homme, les renseignements disponibles étaient insuffisants pour les classer selon la typologie de Mathews et coll. (1989). D'après les renseignements contenus dans les dossiers, seulement 4 des 9 autres femmes peuvent être classées dans la catégorie «contrainte par un homme». La première est une délinquante qui, au moment où les infractions ont été commises, avait un conjoint de fait qui lui infligeait de mauvais traitements. Elle semblait très dépendante à l'égard de son mari et était décrite comme étant timide et manquant d'assurance. De plus, la victime de l'agression sexuelle était une jeune fille. Rien n'indique que cette délinquante ait commis ces agressions de son propre chef. Par conséquent, elle y a probablement participé parce qu'elle y était contrainte par son mari ou parce que celui-ci a exercé des pressions sur elle.

La deuxième délinquante peut aussi être classée dans la catégorie «contrainte par un homme». Elle était victime de violence conjugale au moment de la perpétration des infractions, avait peu d'estime de soi et ne se sentait pas à la hauteur, était toxicomane et alcoolique et victimisait sa propre fille. Ces éléments semblent caractéristiques de la délinquante «contrainte par un homme».

La troisième délinquante peut également être classée dans la catégorie «contrainte par un homme», ayant commis de concert avec son mari des infractions contre deux enfants. Elle a également été décrite comme passive et facilement manipulée et dominée.

Enfin, la quatrième délinquante semble également entrer dans la catégorie «contrainte par un homme». Sa victime était sa fille; en outre, elle était alcoolique et avait une très faible estime de soi. Il est tout à fait possible que ses infractions aient découlé d'un sentiment d'impuissance dans sa relation avec son mari.

Toutefois, les cinq autres femmes qui ont commis des infractions de concert avec des hommes, pour diverses raisons, ne correspondent pas au type «contrainte par un homme». Bien que l'une d'elle ait agressé sexuellement son fils et sa fille en compagnie de son mari, elle ne semble pas avoir les caractéristiques de la délinquante «contrainte par un homme». Rien ne prouve qu'elle était victimisée par le coaccusé. Par conséquent, rien ne prouve qu'elle ait participé aux agressions parce qu'elle y a été forcée par son mari. En outre, elle a eu recours à la violence contre ses victimes. Ce comportement n'est pas typique d'une délinquante «contrainte par un homme». Elle pourrait plus facilement être classée dans la catégorie «accompagnée par un homme».

La deuxième délinquante dans ce groupe a commis des infractions sexuelles avec son ex-mari et son conjoint de fait actuel contre ses trois enfants. Elle avait été victime dans l'enfance de mauvais traitements physiques et psychologiques graves et aussi d'agression sexuelle. Rien dans les renseignements assez succincts sur ce cas n'indique clairement qu'elle ait été forcée par un homme à agresser ses enfants sexuellement.

Même si elle a commis ses infractions de concert avec 2 hommes, la troisième délinquante dans ce groupe ne peut être classée dans la catégorie «contrainte par un homme» et ce, pour diverses raisons. D'abord, elle était le principal agresseur. En fait, c'est elle qui a pris l'initiative de l'agression sexuelle dont a fait l'objet la victime, elle l'a mutilée et elle a commis des voies de fait sur sa personne. La délinquante non seulement savait parfaitement ce qu'elle faisait, mais semble avoir pris les choses en main. La typologie de Mathews et coll. (1989) ne comprend pas les délinquantes sexuelles qui commettent une infraction accompagnée de violence contre une femme non membre de la famille et qui jouent un rôle égal à celui de leurs codélinquants et parfois encore plus grand.

Comme dans le cas de la troisième délinquante, la quatrième savait parfaitement ce qu'elle faisait lorsqu'elle a décidé de commettre une agression sexuelle. Elle a commis en compagnie de 4 hommes des agressions très violentes sur 2 victimes de sexe féminin. Au lieu d'être elle-même victimisée ou d'aider les victimes, cette délinquante a non seulement participé aux agressions mais en a pris l'initiative. On trouve rarement ce degré de violence dans la documentation. À nouveau, Mathews et coll. (1989) n'ont pas bien cerné ce type de délinquante sexuelle.

Enfin, même si elle a parfois commis ses infractions en compagnie de son mari, cette délinquante entrerait plutôt dans la catégorie «prédisposée». Elle a agressé ses enfants de sa propre initiative et elle a continué de leur infliger de mauvais traitements sexuels très violents pendant une longue période. Plus tard, elle a entraîné son mari à participer à ces agressions sexuelles. En outre, elle a infligé à ses victimes de mauvais traitements physiques et elle les as négligées. La cinquième délinquante avait subi de très mauvais traitements dans l'enfance. Ces éléments sont caractéristiques d'une délinquante dite «prédisposée».

Pour résumer, seulement une des 11 femmes sur lesquelles il y avait suffisamment de renseignements, correspond à la catégorie «instructrice/ amante» et une pourrait être classifiée comme «colérique/ impulsive». Quatre étaient du type «contrainte par un homme». Toutefois, 5 de ces délinquantes entraient dans une catégorie plus ancienne élaborée par Mathews (1987), «accompagnée par un homme». Une des cinq délinquantes entrait à la fois dans les deux catégories, «prédisposée» et «accompagnée par un homme». Les délinquantes «accompagnées par un homme» commettent des infractions de concert avec un homme et y participent plus activement que celles qui sont «contraintes par un homme». Il semble important de maintenir la distinction faite par Mathews (1987) entre «contrainte par un homme» et «accompagnée par un homme».

Donc, dans le cas de ce groupe de délinquantes sous responsabilité fédérale, les deux plus importantes catégories étaient «contrainte par un homme» (4) et «accompagnée par un homme» (5). Les deux autres délinquantes pourraient être classées dans les catégories «instructrice/ amante» (1) et «colérique/ impulsive» (1).

Victimes

Le quatrième objectif de cette étude était de déterminer si les victimes de cet échantillon de délinquantes sexuelles étaient généralement les filles des délinquantes, conclusion à laquelle sont souvent arrivés divers chercheurs (Mathews et coll., 1989; Faller, 1987). Selon les données recueillies sur le nombre de victimes par délinquante, il n'y avait qu'une seule victime dans sept cas, mais deux dans cinq cas, trois dans un cas, quatre dans deux cas, et six dans un cas. En d'autres termes, dans les 16 cas où il y avait des renseignements sur les victimes, un peu moins de la moitié ne concernaient qu'une victime et les autres, plusieurs victimes. Le nombre moyen de victimes par délinquante était 2,44. Il n'y avait pas de renseignements sur les victimes de l'une des délinquantes de l'échantillon (la délinquante no 4). Dans le cas de 15 des 44 victimes dont il a été question, il n'y avait pas d'information sur le sexe des victimes. Quant aux 29 autres victimes, 19 étaient de sexe féminin et 10 de sexe masculin; il y avait donc presque deux fois plus de victimes de sexe féminin que de sexe masculin, ce qui est conforme aux résultats des recherches précédentes.

On croit que les délinquantes sexuelles agressent surtout leurs propres enfants ou des enfants qu'elles connaissent bien (Mathews et coll., 1989; Faller, 1987). En effet, 25 des 33 victimes (76 %) dans cet échantillon (lorsqu'il y avait des renseignements) étaient soit les enfants de la délinquante, soit des enfants ayant un lien de famille avec elle, et 80 % de ces victimes étaient les propres enfants de la délinquante. Dans les cas où le sexe des victimes était connu, sept étaient les fils des délinquantes et neuf les filles de ces dernières. Il n'y avait pas d'information sur le sexe de quatre des victimes. Parmi les cinq enfants victimes qui avaient un lien de famille avec la délinquante, un était un beau-fils, trois étaient des nièces et un était un neveu.

Quatre des délinquantes rencensées avaient agressé huit victimes adolescentes ou adultes. Toutes étaient pour elles des inconnues ou des connaissances et sept étaient de sexe féminin. En ce qui concerne cet échantillon de délinquantes sexuelles, il est relativement rare que les victimes ne soient pas des membres de la famille (24 %).