Correctional Service of Canada Profile

This section contains a summary of what CSC does and how we do it.

CSC is an agency within the Public Safety Portfolio, which is comprised of five key federal agencies dedicated to public safety: the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), the Parole Board of Canada (PBC), the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS), and CSC. There are also review bodies: the Office of the Correctional Investigator, the Office of the Inspector General of CSIS, the Commission for Public Complaints against the RCMP, and the RCMP External Review Committee. The Public Safety Portfolio is designed to address a range of risks to the safety and security of Canadians - from crime affecting the lives of individuals, to natural disasters, terrorism and other threats to national security. The Portfolio allows for a continuum of service delivery - from prevention to response, including, for example, emergency preparedness, crime prevention, border management, emergency response, law enforcement, corrections, and parole. The creation of the Portfolio in 2003 enhanced our ability, among other things, to make Canada's communities safer. CSC contributes directly to this goal.

The Government of Canada is committed to ensuring that Canadians are safe in their communities. CSC has the fundamental obligation to contribute to public safety by actively encouraging and assisting offenders to become law-abiding citizens, while exercising reasonable, safe, secure, and humane control in its institutions, and effectively supervising and intervening while they are under conditional release in the community.

What We Do

CSC contributes to public safety by administering court-imposed sentences for offenders sentenced to two years or more. This involves managing institutions of various security levels and supervising offenders on different forms of conditional release, while assisting them to become law-abiding citizens. CSC also administers post-sentence supervision of offenders with Long Term Supervision Orders for up to 10 years.

CSC is organized to provide effective correctional services in a fiscally responsible manner, through three levels of management: national, regional, and local operations.Footnote 1

National Headquarters: Provides support to the Commissioner and the Executive Committee and delivers services to all of CSC such as: correctional operations; communications and engagement; human resource and financial management expert advice; national investigations and audit; performance assurance; policy and planning; program development; functional leadership on Women offender and Aboriginal offender initiatives; research; legal services; health services; corporate services and information management.

Regional Headquarters: Provides management and administrative support to National Headquarters by monitoring the delivery of programs and services; developing regional policies; developing plans and programs for performance measurement; providing human resources and financial management support; coordinating federal / provincial / territorial relations and public consultation; managing health services to offenders and providing information to local media, the public and stakeholders. The regions are also responsible for providing direction and supervision over local operations.

Local Operations: CSC manages 53 institutions, 16 Community Correctional Centres, and 84 Parole Offices and sub-offices across the country. There are four main institutional security level classifications and they include: maximum, medium, minimum and multi-level.Footnote 2

Stony Mountain Institution, Prairie Region
Stony Mountain Institution,
Prairie Region

Partnerships We Have

CSC is working with internal and external partners to facilitate the expansion and renewal of human and technological resources and of physical infrastructure. Under the leadership of a team of CSC personnel who represent a rich and diverse range of professional expertise and correctional experience, we ensure that renewal initiatives are consistent with both our primary mandate of contributing to public safety and our direction established in 2008.Footnote 3

CSC partners with various non-governmental organizations and private aftercare agencies to provide structured living environments to assist offenders with gradual and supervised transition to the community. CSC has approximately 200 contracts with community residential facilities such as hostels, private home placements and alternative community beds.

Profil du service correctionnel du Canada

La présente section contient un sommaire des activités du SCC et de ses méthodes de travail.

Le SCC est un organisme du portefeuille de Sécurité publique Canada, qui comprend cinq organismes fédéraux importants chargés de la sécurité publique : la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada (CLCC), l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) et le SCC. Le portfeuille de la Sécurité publique comprend aussi des organismes de surveillance : le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel, le Bureau de l’inspecteur général du SCRS, la Commission des plaintes du public contre la GRC et le Comité externe d’examen de la GRC. Ces organismes ont pour mandat de gérer une gamme de risques liés à la sécurité des Canadiens – des crimes qui perturbent la vie des personnes aux catastrophes naturelles, au terrorisme et à d’autres menaces qui pèsent sur la sécurité nationale. Ils assurent une prestation homogène des services – de la prévention à l’intervention, notamment la planification d’urgence, la prévention du crime, la gestion des frontières, l’intervention dans les situations d’urgence, l’application de la loi, les services correctionnels et la libération conditionnelle. La création du Portefeuille en 2003 a notamment accru notre capacité d’améliorer la sûreté des collectivités canadiennes. Le SCC contribue directement à cet objectif.

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à assurer la sécurité des Canadiens dans leur collectivité. Le SCC a l’obligation fondamentale de contribuer à la sécurité publique en incitant et en aidant activement les délinquantes et délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois tout en assurant une surveillance raisonnable, sûre, sécuritaire et humaine dans ses établissements, ainsi qu’en supervisant et en intervenant efficacement dans le cadre des mises en liberté sous condition dans la collectivité.

Nos activités

Le SCC contribue à la sécurité publique en administrant les peines d’emprisonnement de deux ans ou plus imposées aux délinquants par les tribunaux. Cette responsabilité comprend la gestion des établissements de divers niveaux de sécurité, la surveillance des délinquants assujettis à divers régimes de mise en liberté sous condition, ainsi que l’aide offerte aux délinquants pour qu’ils deviennent des citoyens respectueux des lois. En outre, le SCC assure la surveillance postpénale des délinquants visés par une ordonnance de surveillance de longue durée pouvant aller jusqu’à dix ans.

Le SCC est organisé de façon à offrir des services correctionnels efficaces d’une manière responsable sur le plan financier, et ce, à l’échelle nationale, régionale et localeNote de bas de page 1.

L’administration centrale fournit un soutien au commissaire et au Comité de direction et offre des services à l’ensemble du SCC, par exemple les suivants : opérations correctionnelles; communications et engagement; avis d’expert pour la gestion des ressources humaines et financières; enquêtes nationales et vérification; assurance du rendement; politiques et planification; élaboration de programmes; leadership fonctionnel pour les initiatives destinées aux délinquants autochtones; recherche; services juridiques; services de santé; services organisationnels; et gestion de l’information.

Les administrations régionales offrent des services de soutien en gestion et en administration pour l’administration centrale, en surveillant la prestation des programmes et des services; en élaborant des politiques régionales; en élaborant des plans et des programmes pour évaluer le rendement; en offrant de l’aide pour la gestion des ressources humaines et financières; en coordonnant les relations fédérales-provinciales-territoriales et la consultation publique; en gérant les services de santé offerts aux délinquants; et en donnant de l’information aux médias locaux, au grand public et aux intervenants. En outre, elles sont chargées d’orienter et de superviser les opérations ocales.

Les opérations locales fournissent des services aux 53 établissements, aux 16 centres correctionnels communautaires et aux 84 bureaux et bureaux secondaires de libération conditionnelle du SCC répartis dans l’ensemble du pays. Il y a les quatre principaux niveaux de sécurité au sein des établissements : sécurité maximale, sécurité moyenne, sécurité minimale et niveaux de sécurité multiplesNote de bas de page 2.

Établissement Stony Mountain, Région des Prairies
Établissement
Stony Mountain,
Région des Prairies

Nos partenariats

Le SCC travaille avec des partenaires internes et externes pour faciliter l’expansion et le renouvellement de ses ressources humaines et technologiques et de son infrastructure matérielle. Sous le leadership d’une équipe d’employés qui représente une gamme riche et diversifiée d’expertises professionnelles et d’expérience du milieu correctionnel, il assure la conformité des initiatives de renouvellement à son principal mandat, qui est de contribuer à la sécurité publique, et à son orientation qui a été établie en 2008Note de bas de page 3.

Le SCC établit des partenariats avec diverses organisations non gouvernementales et divers organismes privés d’aide postcarcérale afin d’offrir aux délinquants des milieux de vie structurés qui favoriseront leur réinsertion sociale graduelle et sous surveillance dans la collectivité. Il a conclu environ 200 contrats avec des établissements résidentiels des collectivités, par exemple des auberges, des maisons privées et d’autres maisons d’hébergement communautaires.