Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

The Transformation of Federal Corrections for Women

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Where Did We Come From?

Prison for Women - An Historical Context

The past decade has ushered in a new philosophy of women's corrections. Ten years ago, there was only one federal facility for women offenders in Canada - the Prison for Women in Kingston, Ontario. Since the opening of this facility in 1934, numerous task forces and royal commissions have called for its closure. This is not surprising, given that the institution was geographically isolated (many women were incarcerated far away from their families, friends, and communities); it lacked programming specific to women's needs; it had limited space, ventilation, and privacy; it could not fully meet the cultural and spiritual needs of Aboriginal offenders; and its environment only supported the language requirements of its English-speaking majority.

The Task Force on Federally Sentenced Women

Determined to address these issues, Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) Commissioner Ole Ingstrup initiated the creation of a new task force in 1989. Comprised of a broad range of correctional practitioners, government agencies and non-governmental organizations, the Task Force on Federally Sentenced Women was asked to develop a comprehensive strategy for the management of women offenders. The task force report, entitled Creating Choices, was endorsed by the federal government in September 1990. The report was founded on the principles of empowerment, meaningful choices, respect and dignity, supportive environments, and shared responsibility. These principles served as the driving force behind a number of recommendations, including:

  • the closure of Prison for Women;
  • the construction of regional women's facilities1 and an Aboriginal healing lodge (all to be structured in accordance with community-style living environments);
  • the development of women-centred programs, including survivors of abuse and mother-child programming; and
  • the establishment of a community strategy to expand and strengthen residential and non-residential programs and services for women offenders who are conditionally released.

These recommendations brought about a new definition of effective corrections for women offenders, one that now encompasses a holistic approach to dealing with their specific needs. The task force based this definition on the results of its consultations and research findings. The research included surveys of CSC staff and women offenders, as well as comprehensive literature reviews.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

La transformation des services correctionnels fédéraux pour les femmes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Historique

La Prison des femmes : contexte historique

Au cours des dix dernières années, une nouvelle philosophie en matière de services correctionnels pour femmes a vu le jour. Il y a dix ans, le Canada ne comptait qu'un seul établissement pour les délinquantes sous responsabilité fédérale : la Prison des femmes à Kingston, en Ontario. Depuis l'ouverture de cet établissement en 1934, plusieurs groupes d'étude et commissions royales en ont réclamé la fermeture. Cela n'est pas surprenant : la Prison des femmes était isolée sur le plan géographique (bien des femmes étaient incarcérées loin de leurs familles, de leurs amis et de leur collectivité), elle n'offrait pas de programmes conçus spécialement pour répondre aux besoins des femmes; on s'y trouvait à l'étroit, la ventilation y était de piètre qualité et l'intimité était limitée; de plus, on n'y répondait pas de manière satisfaisante aux besoins culturels et spirituels des délinquantes autochtones et on n'y utilisait que la langue de la majorité, soit l'anglais.

Le groupe d'étude sur les femmes purgeant une peine fédérale

Déterminé à régler la situation, le commissaire du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC), Ole Ingstrup, a mis sur pied un nouveau groupe d'étude en 1989. Composé de divers intervenants du milieu correctionnel et de représentants d'organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux, le groupe d'étude sur les femmes purgeant une peine fédérale a été chargé d'élaborer une stratégie globale de gestion des délinquantes. Le rapport du groupe d'étude, intitulé La création de choix, a reçu l'aval du gouvernement fédéral en septembre 1990. Ce rapport était fondé sur les principes de l'habilitation, des choix judicieux, du respect et de la dignité, des milieux d'entraide et des responsabilités partagées. Ces principes ont inspiré un certain nombre de recommandations, dont celles-ci :

  • la fermeture de la Prison des femmes
  • la construction d'établissements régionaux pour femmes1 et d'un pavillon de ressourcement pour Autochtones (structurés selon le modèle d'environnement de vie communautaire);
  • l'élaboration de programmes axés sur les femmes, y compris de programmes pour les survivantes d'actes de violence et sur les relations mère-enfant;
  • la mise sur pied d'une stratégie communautaire visant à élargir et à renforcer les programmes et les services résidentiels et non résidentiels offerts aux délinquantes mises en liberté sous condition.

Ces recommandations ont permis d'établir une nouvelle définition du concept de services correctionnels efficaces pour les délinquantes, qui repose sur une approche holistique pour répondre aux besoins particuliers de celles-ci. Le groupe d'étude a fondé sa définition sur les résultats des consultations et de la recherche, dont un sondage auprès du personnel du SCC et des délinquantes, ainsi qu'un examen approfondi de la documentation.