Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

The Transformation of Federal Corrections for Women

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Where Are We Headed?

Intensive Intervention Strategy for High Needs Women

In 1996, shortly after the opening of the first new regional facilities for women offenders, it became evident that a small portion of the population (approximately 15%) was unable to function in a community-style living environment. As an interim measure, CSC transferred maximum security women requiring a greater degree of structure and control to three units co-located within existing men's facilities in Saskatchewan, Quebec, and Nova Scotia. These units are physically separate from the remainder of the facility. Minimum and medium security women requiring long-term intensive mental health treatment were transferred to mental health units at the Regional Psychiatric Centre in Saskatchewan and the Prison for Women in Ontario.

At the time of their transfer, the Correctional Service of Canada made a commitment to develop a national strategy for high risk, high needs women. Details of this strategy, announced by Solicitor General Lawrence MacAulay on September 3, 1999, are as follows:

  • the regional facilities' Enhanced Security units will be modified to accommodate maximum security women who require a greater degree of structure and control. These units will be physically separate from the remainder of the facility, but will be located within its existing perimeter. Specialized staff will provide high-level intervention and supervision;
  • a Structured Living Environment house will be constructed at each regional facility to accommodate minimum and medium security women with special needs and/or mental health problems. These houses will provide 24-hour staff support and supervision; and
  • specialized programming will be provided to both populations.

To implement the above, CSC will develop operational plans, program models, and a human resources strategy. All units are expected to be operational by September 2001.

The Intensive Intervention Strategy will ultimately result in the closure of Prison for Women and the units co-located within existing men's facilities.

Community Corrections Strategy

In September 1999, there were 855 women serving federal sentences in Canada. Of those, 354 were incarcerated in an institution, and the remainder (501) were on conditional release in the community. The opening of the new regional women's facilities has not had a negative impact on the balance between the incarcerated and community populations. Since 1990, regions have implemented new community initiatives and expanded community services to better meet the needs of women in the community. CSC is now developing an enhanced Community Corrections Strategy to ensure that the successful reintegration of women offenders is supported through a coherent national framework.

As part of this project, a community corrections resource review will be conducted to ensure that appropriate and effective service delivery to conditionally released women is maintained.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

La transformation des services correctionnels fédéraux pour les femmes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

À venir

Stratégie d'intervention intensive pour les femmes à besoins élevés

En 1996, peu après l'ouverture du premier établissement régional pour délinquantes, il est devenu évident qu'une petite partie de la population (environ 15 %) était incapable de fonctionner dans un cadre de vie communautaire. Le SCC a alors temporairement logé des délinquantes classées au niveau de sécurité maximale et nécessitant davantage d'encadrement et de contrôle dans trois unités colocalisées situées dans des établissements pour hommes en Saskatchewan, au Québec et en Nouvelle-écosse. Il est à noter que ces unités sont physiquement séparées du reste de l'établissement pour hommes. Les délinquantes classées au niveau de sécurité moyenne ou minimale et nécessitant des traitements psychiatriques intensifs à long terme ont été transférées dans des unités de santé mentale au Centre psychiatrique régional, en Saskatchewan, ainsi qu'à la Prison des femmes, en Ontario.

Au moment du transfèrement de ces délinquantes, le Service correctionnel du Canada s'est engagé à élaborer une stratégie nationale à l'intention des délinquantes à risque et à besoins élevés. Le solliciteur général, Lawrence MacAulay, a annoncé les éléments de cette stratégie le 3 septembre 1999 :

  • les unités à encadrement renforcé dans les établissements régionaux seront modifiées pour accueillir des délinquantes à sécurité maximale nécessitant davantage d'encadrement et de contrôle. Ces unités seront séparées du reste de l'établissement, tout en étant à l'intérieur du périmètre actuel. Un personnel spécialisé assurera une intervention et une surveillance intensives;
  • des unités d'habitation à environnement structuré seront construites pour recevoir les délinquantes qui sont classées au niveau de sécurité minimale ou moyenne et qui ont des besoins spéciaux ou des problèmes de santé mentale, ou les deux. Du personnel sera sur place jour et nuit pour offrir du soutien et surveiller les délinquantes;
  • des programmes spéciaux seront offerts à ces deux groupes de délinquantes.

Pour mettre en ouvre cette stratégie, le SCC élaborera des plans opérationnels, des modèles de programme et une stratégie des ressources humaines. Toutes les unités devraient être opérationnelles en septembre 2001.

La Stratégie d'intervention intensive entraînera la fermeture de la Prison des femmes et des unités colocalisées.

Stratégie de services correctionnels communautaires

En septembre 1999, on comptait 855 femmes purgeant une peine sous responsabilité fédérale au Canada; 354 d'entre elles étaient incarcérées, les autres (501) bénéficiaient d'une mise en liberté sous condition dans la collectivité. L'ouverture des établissements régionaux pour femmes n'a pas eu une incidence négative sur la proportion de délinquantes incarcérées et de délinquantes purgeant une peine dans la collectivité. Depuis 1990, les régions ont mis en ouvre de nouvelles initiatives communautaires et ont élargi les services offerts dans la collectivité en vue de mieux répondre aux besoins des délinquantes dans la collectivité. Le SCC est en train d'élaborer une stratégie de services correctionnels communautaires améliorée en vue d'établir un cadre national favorisant la réinsertion sociale des délinquantes.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, le SCC effectuera un examen des ressources en matière de services correctionnels communautaires pour que les femmes mises en liberté sous condition continuent de recevoir des services efficaces et adaptés à leurs besoins.