Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Response from the Correctional Service of Canada Response to the Annual Report of the Correctional Investigator 2005-2006

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

PRIORITY 3 – ABORIGINAL OFFENDERS
Enhanced capacities to provide effective interventions for First Nations, Métis and Inuit offenders

As previously noted, Aboriginal peoples continue to be disproportionately represented in the correctional system. Moreover, Aboriginal people admitted to federal custody are increasingly younger and are more likely to be incarcerated for a violent offence, have affiliations with gangs and have much higher needs (relating to substance abuse, health, employment and education, for example). While many needs of Aboriginal men and women are similar, they require different types of interventions to address those needs. Furthermore, research highlights distinct background, offence patterns and need characteristics among First Nations people on reserve, First Nations people off reserve, Métis and Inuit offenders.

To address the specific needs of all Aboriginal offenders, CSC’s Strategic Plan for Aboriginal Corrections (2006-07 to 2010-11) will assist CSC in moving forward on three key areas:

  • implement initiatives within a continuum of care to provide culturally appropriate interventions that address the specific criminogenic needs of First Nations, Métis and Inuit men and federally sentenced women offenders;
  • enhance horizontal collaboration and coordination within CSC, within the Public Safety portfolio, and with other levels of government, Aboriginal organizations and stakeholders, to contribute to Aboriginal community development and to help Aboriginal offenders initiate and sustain their healing journeys; and
  • address systemic barriers internally and increase CSC cultural competence

CSC’s response is organized according to its five priorities, and recommendations related to community transition, safety and security in institutions, mental health and strengthening management are included in those specific sections, since these issues apply to all offenders, regardless of their heritage. Those responses will not be reiterated within this priority.

CI’s Recommendation 6:

I recommend that, in the next year, the Correctional Service:

  • implement a security classification process that ends the over-classification of Aboriginal offenders;
  • significantly increase the number of Aboriginal offenders housed at minimum security institutions; and
  • build capacity for and increase use of section 84 and 81 agreements with Aboriginal communities.

CSC’S RESPONSE:

CSC will continue to develop and use evidence-based tools that facilitate the overall assessment and security classification of all offenders, including Aboriginal offenders.

CSC is actively pursuing strategies to continue to enhance its ability to provide effective interventions for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Offenders. At the same time, CSC will continue to work collaboratively with its criminal justice partners and the community to support the safe transition of Aboriginal offenders to communities, including those returning to urban areas.

  • implement a security classification process that ends the over- classification of Aboriginal offenders;

The security classification tool used by CSC is appropriate for Aboriginal offenders, and the criteria which are used to classify offenders are contained in the CCRA and Corrections and Conditional Release Regulations (CCRR). Empirical evidence has not been provided by the OCI that Aboriginal offenders are over classified.

Criticisms have been levied against CSC’s reclassification methods. Therefore, CSC plans to conduct a needs analysis into the efficacy and cultural appropriateness of its re-classification methods, and will revise these methods, if the analysis provides evidence that changes are necessary.

As well, CSC is focussing its efforts on increasing access to programs and interventions which will help Aboriginal peoples who are incarcerated, to address criminogenic needs identified in each individual’s correctional plan, and consequently improve the process of gradual supervised release.

  • significantly increase the number of Aboriginal offenders housed at minimum security institutions;

The number of Aboriginal offenders eligible for transfer to minimum security is the result of a complex interaction of factors, not all of which are under CSC’s control. Nonetheless, CSC is committed to assisting Aboriginal offenders in achieving the correctional goals that would enable them to be safely housed at minimum security. To this end, CSC is integrating the needs of Aboriginal offenders into each of its operational activities, such as Programs, to maximize the resources and energy that can be brought to bear on this objective.

  • build capacity for and increase use of section 84 and 81 agreements with Aboriginal communities.

Section 81
As a result of increased Elder involvement and Pathways7 implementation, CSC healing lodges8 (minimum security) were near full capacity, as of March 31, 2006. The transition of four CSC-operated facilities to Aboriginal communities, and the development of new proposals for section 81 agreements, is dependent on a community’s capacity to assume responsibility. A variety of funding mechanisms through Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), the Department of Justice (DoJ) and the National Crime Prevention Centre (NCPC) are in place to assist communities in developing that capacity.

Section 84
In 2005-06, 226 release plans were completed for presentation to NPB, reflecting a significant increase in community involvement. These release plans do not constitute agreements. Parole Officers integrate the plans into documentation for NPB’s consideration in making a decision for a conditional release.

As noted previously in response to recommendation 5, ACDO positions have been staffed across the country to create links for both men and women offenders with Aboriginal communities, raise Aboriginal community interest in participating in the correctional process, and initiate section 84 agreements.

Also noted elsewhere in this document, the Section 84 Conditional Release Planning Kit has been produced and widely distributed throughout CSC.

[7] Pathways: traditional environment for Aboriginal offenders who wish to follow a healing path.

[8] Healing Lodges: institutions that offer culturally appropriate services and programs in an environment that incorporates Aboriginal peoples’ traditions and beliefs.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Réponse du Service correctionnel du Canada au rapport annuel de Enquêteur correctionnel, 2005-2006

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

PRIORITE 3 – DELINQUANTS AUTOCHTONES
La capacité accrue d’intervenir efficacement auprès des délinquants issus des Premières nations et des délinquants métis et inuits

Tel qu’il a déjà été souligné, les Autochtones continuent d’être surreprésentés dans le système correctionnel. De plus, les Autochtones admis dans les établissements fédéraux sont de plus en plus jeunes et plus nombreux à être incarcérés pour un crime violent, à faire partie de gangs et à avoir des besoins plus criants, notamment dans les domaines de la toxicomanie, de la santé, de l’emploi et de l’éducation. Les besoins des hommes et des femmes autochtones sont souvent semblables, mais nécessitent différents types d’interventions. En outre, la recherche révèle des différences dans les antécédents, les habitudes criminelles et les besoins des délinquants autochtones issus des Premières nations qui vivent dans les réserves, des délinquants autochtones issus des Premières nations qui vivent à l’extérieur des réserves, des délinquants métis et des délinquants inuits.

Le Plan stratégique concernant les services correctionnels pour autochtones (de 2006-2007 à 2010-2011) aidera le SCC à progresser dans les domaines clés qui devraient permettre de répondre aux besoins particuliers de tous les délinquants autochtones :

  • tout en offrant un éventail complet de soins, mettre en œuvre des initiatives qui permettent des interventions qui ciblent les facteurs criminogènes particuliers des délinquants des Premières nations, métis et inuits et des délinquantes sous responsabilité fédérale, et qui sont adaptées à leurs cultures respectives;
  •  accroître la collaboration horizontale et la coordination à l’intérieur du SCC, à l’intérieur du portefeuille de la Sécurité publique et avec les autres ordres de gouvernement, les organisations autochtones et les parties intéressées afin de contribuer au développement des collectivités autochtones et aider les délinquants autochtones à entreprendre et poursuivre leur expérience de guérison;
  • supprimer les obstacles systémiques internes et accroître la compétence culturelle du SCC.

La réponse du SCC est organisée suivant ses cinq priorités, les recommandations relatives à la transition dans la collectivité, à la sécurité dans les établissements, à la santé mentale et au renforcement de la gestion sont prises en compte dans ces sections précises, puisque toutes ces questions s’appliquent à tous les délinquants, quel que soit leur patrimoine culturel. Ces réponses ne sont pas répétées en regard de cette priorité.

Recommandation 6 de l’EC :

Je recommande qu’au cours de l’année prochaine, le Service :

  • mette en œuvre un processus de classement selon le niveau de sécurité, qui mettra fin au surclassement des délinquants autochtones;
  • augmente considérablement le nombre de délinquants autochtones incarcérés dans les établissements à sécurité minimale;
  • ait recours davantage aux accords conclus avec les collectivités autochtones en vertu des articles 81 et 84 de la LSCMLC, et établisse la capacité requise.

RéPONSE DU SCC :

Le SCC continuera d’élaborer et d’utiliser des outils validés qui facilitent l’évaluation et le classement selon le niveau de sécurité de tous les délinquants, y compris les délinquants autochtones.

Le SCC poursuit activement des stratégies visant à continuer d’accroître sa capacité de procéder à des interventions efficaces auprès des délinquants issus des Premières nations et des délinquants métis et inuits. Parallèlement, le SCC continuera de travailler en collaboration avec ses partenaires de la justice pénale et la collectivité afin de favoriser la transition en toute sécurité des délinquants autochtones dans les collectivités, y compris des délinquants qui retournent vers les zones urbaines.

  • mette en œuvre un processus de classement selon le niveau de sécurité, qui mettra fin au surclassement des délinquants autochtones

L’instrument de classement selon le niveau de sécurité que le SCC utilise convient aux délinquants autochtones, et les critères qui servent à classer les délinquants sont énoncés dans la LSCMLC et le Règlement sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (RSCMLC). Le BEC n’a pas fourni de données empiriques prouvant que les délinquants autochtones se voient attribuer des cotes de sécurité supérieures à celles des autres délinquants.

Certains ont dénoncé les méthodes de reclassement du SCC. Le SCC entend donc réaliser une analyse des besoins portant sur l’efficacité et la pertinence culturelle de ses méthodes de reclassement, et réviser ces dernières si l’analyse montre clairement que des changements sont nécessaires.

De plus, le SCC concentre ses efforts sur l’amélioration de l’accès aux programmes et aux interventions qui aideront les détenus Autochtones, de façon à s’attaquer aux facteurs criminogènes décrits dans le plan correctionnel de chacun et, par conséquent, à améliorer le processus de mise en liberté graduelle supervisée.

  • augmente considérablement le nombre de délinquants autochtones incarcérés dans les établissements à sécurité minimale;

Le nombre de délinquants autochtones admissibles au transfèrement vers un établissement à sécurité minimale s’explique par une interaction complexe de facteurs qui ne relèvent pas tous de la responsabilité du SCC. Cependant, le SCC s’est engagé à aider les délinquants Autochtones à atteindre les objectifs correctionnels qui vont leur permettre de vivre en toute sécurité dans un établissement à sécurité minimale. C’est pourquoi le SCC tient compte des besoins des délinquants autochtones dans chacune de ses activités opérationnelles, comme les Programmes, afin d’optimiser les ressources et l’énergie qui peuvent être dirigées vers la réalisation de cet objectif.

  • ait recours davantage aux accords conclus avec les collectivités autochtones en vertu des articles 81 et 84 de la LSCMLC, et établisse la capacité requise.

Article 81

En raison de la participation accrue des Aînés et de la mise en œuvre des Sentiers autochtones7, les pavillons de ressourcement8 (à sécurité minimale) du SCC étaient presque remplis à pleine capacité au 31 mars 2006. Le transfert de la responsabilité de quatre établissements administrés par le SCC à des collectivités autochtones et l’élaboration de nouvelles propositions découlant d’accords conclus en vertu de l’article 81 dépendent de la capacité de la collectivité d’en assumer la responsabilité. Différents mécanismes de financement, qui passent par Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada, le ministère de la Justice (MJ) et le Centre national de prévention du crime (CNPC), sont en place pour aider les collectivités à développer cette capacité.

Article 84

En 2005-2006, 226 plans de libération ont été préparés en vue de leur présentation à la CNLC, ce qui témoigne d’une augmentation importante de la participation des collectivités. Ces plans de libération ne constituent pas des accords. Les agents de libération conditionnelle joignent les plans à la documentation que la CNLC doit examiner avant de prendre la décision d’autoriser la mise en liberté sous condition.

Tel qu’il a été souligné dans la réponse à la recommandation 5, le SCC a procédé, dans l’ensemble du pays, à la dotation de postes d’agent de développement auprès de la collectivité autochtone, afin de créer des liens entre les délinquants (hommes et femmes) et les collectivités autochtones, de susciter l’intérêt des collectivités autochtones à participer au processus correctionnel et d’amorcer des accords aux termes de l’article 84.

De plus, tel qu’il est mentionné ailleurs dans le présent document, la trousse de planification de la mise en liberté sous condition aux termes de l’article 84 a été préparée et distribuée largement dans l’ensemble du SCC.

[7] Sentiers autochtones : milieu traditionnel pour les délinquants autochtones qui souhaitent vivre une expérience de guérison.

[8] Pavillons de ressourcement : établissements qui offrent des services et programmes adaptés à la culture, dans un environnement qui intègre les traditions et croyances des Autochtones..