Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Program Strategy for Women Offenders August 2004

Appendix

Relevant Legislation & Policy

The Corrections and Conditional Release Act states that correctional programs must respect gender, ethnic, cultural, spiritual and linguistic differences of offenders (CCRA, 4. (h)). Programs must also be designed to meet the special needs of women, Aboriginal offenders, ethnocultural offenders as well as other groups who have specific needs (Ref.: CCRA Articles 76, 77, and 80).

CCRA, Article 4 (h). That correctional policies, programs and practices respect gender, ethnic, cultural and linguistic differences and be responsive to the special needs of women and aboriginal peoples, as well as to the needs of other groups of offenders with special requirements.

CCRA, Article 76. The Service shall provide a range of programs designed to address the needs of offenders and contribute to their successful reintegration into the community.

CCRA, Article 77. Without limiting the generality of section 76, the Service shall (ii) provide programs designed particularly to address the needs of female offenders; and (b) consult regularly about programs for female offenders with (ii) appropriate women's groups, and (ii) other appropriate persons and groups with expertise on, and experience in working with, female offenders.

CCRA, Article 80. Without limiting the generality of section 76, the Service shall provide programs designed particularly to address the needs of aboriginal offenders.

Commissioner's Directive (726) on the Management of Correctional Programs aims to establish a framework for the development and management of those correctional programs which contribute to offenders' successful reintegration into the community and are effective in reducing re offending. Correctional programs are defined as interventions, which address the multiple factors that contribute directly to criminal behaviour. A correctional program has clearly articulated objectives, participant selection criteria, a process for evaluating progress made by the participant and a process for measuring program effectiveness. It is facilitated by qualified and trained Program Staff.

The Program Strategy for Women Offenders takes into account and is linked to The 2002 Mental Health Strategy for Women Offenders. The stated goal of the Mental Health Strategy is “to develop and maintain a co-ordinated continuum of care that addresses the varied mental health needs of women offenders in order to maximise well-being and to promote effective reintegration”. Correctional programs should be viewed as an essential component to promote effective reintegration, but also constitute interventions, which are complementary to psychological services and treatment.

Similarly, the Program Strategy for Women Offenders must be read in parallel to the Community Strategy for Women Offenders. The Strategy provides a framework for the approaches to be taken with respect to women offenders on release in the community.

The Assessment and Treatment Protocol for Women Who Sexually Offend, revised in 2001, is also to be read in parallel to the Program Strategy as it defines the treatment needs of women who have sexually offended.

The following Commissioner's Directives and policy documents are essential components of the Program Strategy:

  • CD 585 National Drug Strategy
  • CD 700 Case Management
  • CD 702 Aboriginal Programming
  • CD 720 Education of Offenders
  • CD 726 Management of Correctional Programs
  • CD 730 Inmate Assignments and Payments
  • CD 760 Leisure Activities
  • CD 767 Ethnocultural Offender Programs
  • CD 768 Institutional Mother-Child Program
  • CD 840 Psychological Services
  • CD 850 Mental Health Services
  • Program Guidelines Survivors of Abuse and Trauma
  • Guidelines for Parenting Skills Programs for Federally Sentenced Women
  • CSC Manual on Religious and Spiritual Accommodation

Standards for Correctional Programs guide the development and implementation of correctional programs in CSC. Program standards include but are not exclusive to:

  • Administration of correctional programs;
  • Program staff resourcing (selection, training, and certification);
  • Program implementation (staff awareness; offender selection; program delivery; materials; group size; participant assessment; consent; and information sharing).

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Stratégie des programmes pour délinquantes août 2004

Annexe

Lois et politiques applicables

La Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition dispose que les programmes correctionnels doivent respecter les différences ethniques, culturelles, spirituelles et linguistiques ainsi qu'entre les sexes (l'alinéa 4h) de la LSCMLC). Il faut également prévoir des programmes pour répondre aux besoins particuliers des femmes, des délinquants autochtones, des délinquants des communautés ethnoculturelles et des autres groupes qui ont des besoins précis (voir les articles 76, 77 et 80 de la LSCMLC).

LSCMLC, alinéa 4h) : « ses directives d'orientation générale, programmes et méthodes respectent les différences ethniques, culturelles et linguistiques, ainsi qu'entre les sexes, et tiennent compte des besoins propres aux femmes, aux autochtones et à d'autres groupes particuliers; »

LSCMLC, article 76 : « Le Service doit offrir une gamme de programmes visant à répondre aux besoins des délinquants et à contribuer à leur réinsertion sociale. »

LSCMLC, article 77 : « Le Service doit notamment, en ce qui concerne les délinquantes, leur offrir des programmes adaptés à leurs besoins spécifiques et consulter régulièrement, à cet égard, les organisations féminines compétentes ainsi que toute personne ou groupe ayant la compétence et l'expérience appropriées. »

LSCMLC, article 80 : « Dans le cadre de l'obligation qui lui est imposée par l'article 76, le Service doit offrir des programmes adaptés aux besoins des délinquants autochtones. »

La Directive du commissaire 726 sur les programmes correctionnels vise à établir un cadre pour l'élaboration et la gestion des programmes correctionnels qui contribuent à la réussite de la réinsertion sociale des délinquants et à la réduction de la récidive. Les programmes sont définis comme des interventions axées sur les multiples facteurs qui contribuent directement au comportement criminel. Ils comportent des objectifs nettement définis, des critères de sélection des participants, un processus d'évaluation des progrès des participants et un processus de mesure de l'efficacité du programme. Ils sont exécutés par des agents de programme qualifiés et formés.

La Stratégie des programmes pour délinquantes tient compte de la Stratégie de 2002 en matière de santé mentale pour les délinquantes, à laquelle elle est liée. L'objectif officiel de cette stratégie de santé mentale est d'instaurer et de garantir la continuité des soins qui répondent aux besoins divers des délinquantes en matière de santé mentale pour maximiser leur bien-être et favoriser une réinsertion sociale efficace. Les programmes correctionnels doivent être vus comme une composante essentielle à la promotion d'une réinsertion sociale efficace, mais ils constituent également des interventions qui sont complémentaires des services et traitements psychologiques.

De la même façon, la Stratégie des programmes pour délinquantes doit être considérée parallèlement à la Stratégie communautaire pour les délinquantes. La Stratégie propose un cadre pour les approches à adopter relativement aux délinquantes au moment de leur libération.

Le document Protocole d'évaluation et de traitement pour les délinquantes sexuelles, révisé en 2001, doit également être lu en regard de la Stratégie des programmes, car il définit les besoins en traitement des délinquantes sexuelles.

Les Directives du commissaire et documents de politique suivants sont des composantes essentielles de la Stratégie des programmes :

  • DC 585 « Stratégie nationale antidrogue »
  • DC 700 « Gestion des cas »
  • DC 702 « Programmes autochtones »
  • DC 720 « Éducation des délinquants »
  • DC 726 « Programmes correctionnels »
  • DC 730 « Affectation aux programmes et paiements aux détenus »
  • DC 760 « Activités de loisir »
  • DC 767 « Programmes destinés aux délinquants des minorités ethnoculturelles »
  • DC 768 « Programme mère-enfant en établissement »
  • DC 840 « Services de psychologie »
  • DC 850 « Services de santé mentale »
  • Lignes directrices du Programme d'aide aux survivantes de traumatismes et d'actes de violence
  • Lignes directrices sur les programmes de compétences parentales destinés aux femmes purgeant une peine fédérale
  • Manuel sur la satisfaction des besoins religieux et spirituels au SCC

Les Normes des programmes correctionnels guident l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre des programmes correctionnels au SCC.

Les normes des programmes portent notamment, mais non uniquement, sur :

  • l'administration des programmes correctionnels;
  • le recrutement du personnel chargé des programmes (sélection, formation et accréditation);
  • la mise en œuvre des programmes (sensibilisation du personnel, choix des délinquants, exécution des programmes, documentation, taille des groupes, évaluation des participants, consentement, communication de l'information).