Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Long-Term Federally Sentenced Women: Literature Review

Stages In A Long-Term Sentence

It is important to begin by assessing whether it is desirable to identify stages in the experiences of women serving long sentences. There is merit for such a framework , as it would help staff to understand some of the difficulties experienced by women serving long-term sentences. Also, it may provide some guidance as to the appropriate responses needed from staff to support women, and into what programs in each phase are needed to meet the women's needs. However, any type of framework that compartmentalizes women's (life) experiences must be scrutinized and used with caution. There is always the potential that a framework will be used to codify women and hinder the articulation of their own experiences. On the other hand, if such frameworks are used only as an educational tool to provide insight into the difficulties and pain that goes along with serving a long-term sentence, then they can be beneficial for both the staff and the women themselves.

One of the main recommendations of the report was "that CSC adopts a management model for long-term sentences, according to the four stages... and that programs, modules and services be developed according to the characteristics and needs of each stage." [ Perron Report, Recommendation # 10.]

The Perron Report identified four stages in long-term sentences: adaptation; integration in the prison environment; preparation for release; and, reintegration in society.

Adaptation

1. Objectives: assist the inmate to accepting his [ The Perron Report does not use inclusive language, although the findings are presumed to be applicable to women offenders.] sentence. Guide him and support him in his adaptation to his new life. Specifically his needs shall be addressed in all areas of the correctional plan.

Programs: assessment, information, orientation, family/community, support.

2. Integration in prison environment

Objective: promote a way in which the inmate can serve his sentence by taking full advantage of the opportunities for personal growth inside the prison.

Programs: training/employment, personal growth, family/community, re-evaluation and reorientation.

3. Preparation for release

Objective: prepare the inmate to live progressively and harmoniously in society as a law-abiding citizen.

Programs: training/employment, personal growth, community internal/external, [ By internal, the report refers to increasing community presence inside the prison. External refers to providing inmates with progressive access to the community.] re-evaluation and reorientation.

4. Return to society

Objectives: help the inmate adjust to life outside.

Programs: training/employment, personal growth, community. [ Perron Report, pg. 70-77.]

The Perron Report identifies the management process for an offender with a long sentence. It asserts that programs need to be reflective of the offenders' needs as experienced in the different stages of their sentence.

Other models have identified similar phases with psychological adaptation as the focal point. [ For example, Lee Axon examines Camille Grahanm Camp's psychological model of adaptation, based on the work by Kubler-Ross with terminally ill patients. Camp identifies five stages: ˇ Denial - the process in which offenders refuse to accept their long sentence; ˇ Mourning stage - where offenders begin to accept the reality of their situation; ˇ Rebellion - in which officers are perceived as the enemy (release of hostility and frustration may be present in this stage); ˇ Adjustment - offenders begin to cooperate (it is in this stage that offenders become institutionalized); and, ˇ Socialization - the process of self-actualization. Other models, such as the Palmer (1984) Lifesavers Program at Warkworth Institution and North Carolina's model "Chameleon Syndrome" - named to reflect the changes that long-term offenders must go through to protect themselves from their hostile environment - identified similar stages offenders go through during a long incarceration.] From the literature review, the most significant model for women offenders, nevertheless, was developed by Maria Christina Jose; her study draws from research done on long-term female offenders, using and describing the experiences of the women themselves. Jose, in her book Women Doing Life Sentences: A Phenomenological Study, describes the stages that women serving long sentences go through "before accepting the meaning of their incarceration."

1. Denial and Isolation

According to Jose, most women deny they will be in prison for very long. Most believed that their lawyers were appealing and they would, therefore, be freed shortly. She argues that denial can be present in many forms. For example, many women continue to think as a free person for the first year and refuse to identify themselves as prisoners. They refuse to mix with other prisoners or participate in any of the activities and become isolated and withdrawn.

2. Anger

Anger is the second identified stage. Jose argues that when denial cannot be maintained, coming to terms with the reality of a long prison sentence makes the prisoner very angry. Anger seems to be a necessary step before resigning to the reality of the sentence. According to Jose, women in this stage are more likely to:

• rebel against the guards;

• rebel against the rules;

• rebel against other inmates;

• become bitter about the outside world (women begin to lose their ties -or they may in fact be rejecting - family and friends).

During this stage, women realize that they are not free and must live with regulations and daily intrusions. They now realize they are prisoners.

Anger is also sometimes expressed because of a greater need for self-assertion. This self-assertion is a product of their need to control some aspect of their lives. Given the restrictions imposed by the institutional system and the amount of control exercised over the women, any kind of autonomous decision-making is considered by offenders to be a luxury. In an institutional setting, women who express their frustration are often punished for displaying inappropriate behaviour. According to Jose, Kubler-Ross in their studies on loss and grieving suggest one should encourage subjects (in the Kubler-Ross study, the subjects are terminally-ill patients) to talk about their anger. [ Jose, pg. 133-150.] However, for women in prison, she argues, there is no appropriate time or place in which anger is allowed to be expressed. Jose asserts that if women were allowed to acknowledge their anger, grief and loss, the institutions might "...have fewer "maladjusted normals" and more "inmate human beings" trying to come to terms as best they can with their prison reality." [ Jose, pg. 140-141.]

3. Depression

Depression is the third stage identified by Jose. Depression often sets in when women realize they can no longer deny the reality of the length of their sentence. Women at this stage deal with a lot of losses, including contact with their children, lovers and family. Some women at this stage become suicidal, others learn to live with depression.

Jose argues that staff often encourage women to "look at the positive side of things" and to forget about their depression. She argues that often the institution and the officers do not want to acknowledge that women are going through depression and try to dismiss it.

There are a number of indications of depression including: self-inflicted injuries, sleepiness, wanting to be alone and to remain in or be sent to segregation.

4. Mourning

Mourning is the fourth stage identified in Jose's model. It begins when the losses are acknowledged. Some of the signs of mourning are:

• retreat from activities, people;

• may not want contact with the outside (it is more painful to see your love ones);

• grief;

• isolation (wanting to be alone);

• may feel and express more guilt about the situation;

• express more guilt about how this affected her children. [ Jose, pg. 133-150.]

5. Acceptance

Acceptance is the fifth stage that a women goes through while serving her long-term sentence. Acceptance, according to Jose, does not mean that the women will be content in prison, but rather that they have become numb. Jose states that for women, it is a feeling of being empty and void. In a sense women feel as if no more pain could be taken in because they are already saturated with pain. They become disinterested with the outside world, gain or lose great amounts of weight and often lose hope.

Hope is described by Jose as very important for prisoners serving long sentences. Jose states that initially the women have hope with regard to their appeals, reviews and hearings since this often translates into the possibility of being freed. However, after a while women experience a loss of hope and that usually "this occurred after seven or eight years of incarceration." [ Jose, pg. 148.] The effects of losing ties with families are pertinent for all incarcerated women; however, for long-term offenders the awareness that these ties may be irrevocably lost creates a unique concern. In order to cope with this prospect, women often continue to see their roles outside as intact.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Les Femmes Purgeant Une Peine De Longue Durée: Analyse Des Recherches

Étapes d'une peine de longue durée

NVoyons tout d'abord l'utilité de distinguer des étapes dans l'expérience des femmes qui purgent une peine de longue durée. Cette démarche présente des avantages certains

puisqu'elle peut aider le personnel à comprendre les difficultés que vivent ces femmes. Elle peut aussi renseigner sur la façon dont le personnel doit intervenir pour appuyer les femmes et sur les programmes qu'il faudrait offrir à chaque étape pour répondre aux besoins des délinquantes. Toutefois, toute démarche qui compartimentalise le vécu des femmes doit être examinée de près et utilisée avec prudence. En effet, elle risque d'entraîner une catégorisation des femmes, et d'empêcher celles-ci d'exprimer leur propre point de vue. Toutefois, si elle est employée uniquement pour mieux comprendre les difficultés et la douleur qui accompagnent l'obligation de purger une peine de longue durée, cette démarche peut se révéler utile tant au personnel qu'aux femmes elles-mêmes.

Une des principales recommandations du Rapport Perron était la suivante : "Que le SCC adopte un modèle de gestion des longues sentences en fonction des quatre (4) phases identifiées [...] et que les modules de programmes et services soient élaborés en fonction des caractéristiques et besoins propres à chacune des phases". [6 Rapport Perron, recommandation 1.] 6

D'après le Rapport Perron, les peines de longue durée comportent quatre étapes : l'adaptation; l'intégration au milieu carcéral; la préparation à la mise en liberté; le retour dans la société.

1. Adaptation

Objectifs : aider le [7 Les auteurs du Rapport Perron n'ont pas eu recours à un language inclusif du masculin et du féminin, mais il est présumé que ses conclusions s'appliquent aussi aux délinquantes.] 7 détenu à accepter sa peine. Le guider et l'appuyer dans son adaptation à sa nouvelle existence. S'occuper expressément de ses besoins en ce qui concerne tous les aspects du plan correctionnel.

Programmes : évaluation, information, orientation, famille/collectivité, appui.

2. Intégration au milieu carcéral

Objectifs : trouver un moyen d'amener le détenu à purger sa peine en tirant pleinement parti des possibilités de croissance personnelle qui s'offrent en milieu carcéral.

Programmes : formation/emploi, croissance personnelle, famille/collectivité, réévaluation et réorientation.

3. Préparation à la mise en liberté

Objectifs : préparer le détenu à vivre progressivement dans la société et en harmonie avec celle-ci en tant que citoyen respectueux des lois.

Programmes : formation/emploi, croissance personnelle, collectivité interne/externe [8 Dans le rapport, l'expression collectivité interne désigne la présence accrue de membres de la collectivité dans la prison. La collectivité externe désigne le fait de donner progressivement accès à la collectivité aux détenus.] 8, réévaluation et réorientation.

4. Retour dans la société

Objectifs : aider le détenu à s'adapter à la vie à l'extérieur.

Programmes : formation/emploi, croissance personnelle, collectivité. [9 Rapport Perron, p. 75-83.] 9

Il est question, dans le Rapport Perron, d'un processus de gestion pour le délinquant purgeant une peine de longue durée et du fait que les programmes doivent traduire les besoins des détenus qui se manifestent aux diverses phases de la peine.

D'autres modèles sont articulés autour du même genre de phases, l'adaptation psychologique constituant le critère central. [0 Lee Axon examine par exemple le modèle psychologique d'adaptation de Camille Grahanm Camp, basé sur les travaux effectués par Kubler-Ross auprès des patients en phase terminale. Camp distingue cinq étapes : · Le déni - refus par les délinquants d'accepter leur longue peine; · Le deuil - étape à laquelle les délinquants commencent à accepter la réalité de leur situation; · La révolte - étape à laquelle les agents sont considérés comme l'ennemi (les délinquants peuvent exprimer à cette étape des sentiments d'hostilité et de frustration); · L'adaptation - les délinquants commencent à coopérer (c'est souvent à cette étape que les délinquants sont institutionnalisés); · La socialisation - processus d'actualisation de soi. Il est aussi question des étapes que traversent les délinquants au cours de leur peine de longue durée dans d'autres modèles comme celui du programme Lifesavers de Palmer (1984), appliqué à l'établissement de Warkworth, et le modèle du syndrome du caméléon, employé en Caroline du Nord et désigné ainsi pour traduire les changements que doivent effectuer les délinquants purgeant une peine de longue durée pour se protéger contre leur environnement hostile.] 0 Il ressort toutefois de l'analyse des

recherches que le modèle le plus important pour les délinquantes est celui de Maria Christina Jose. Cette dernière s'est basée sur des recherches effectuées auprès de délinquantes purgeant une peine de longue durée et elle a utilisé et décrit les expériences des femmes elles-mêmes. Dans son ouvrage intitulé Women Doing Life Sentences: A Phenomenological Study, elle décrit les étapes que doivent franchir les femmes purgeant une peine de longue durée "avant d'accepter le sens de leur incarcération".

1. Déni et isolement

Selon Maria Christina Jose, la plupart des femmes refusent d'admettre qu'elles seront incarcérées longtemps. La plupart des participantes croyaient que leur avocat en appelait du jugement et qu'elles allaient par conséquent être libérées sous peu. L'auteur soutient que le déni peut se manifester sous diverses formes. Ainsi, beaucoup de femmes continuent à se considérer comme des personnes libres la première année et refusent de se voir comme des prisonnières. Elles refusent de se mêler aux autres détenues ou de participer aux activités; elles s'isolent et se replient sur elles-mêmes.

2. Colère

La colère constitue la deuxième étape. M.C. Jose soutient que, lorsque les femmes ne peuvent plus continuer à nier leur situation, l'obligation d'accepter la réalité d'une longue peine d'incarcération provoque chez elles un vif sentiment de colère. Il semble que les femmes doivent éprouver ce sentiment avant d'accepter la réalité de la peine. Selon l'auteur, les femmes qui se trouvent à cette étape sont plus susceptibles de :

• se révolter contre les gardes;

• se révolter contre les règles;

• se révolter contre les autres détenues;

• être remplies d'amertume face au monde extérieur (les femmes commencent à perdre leurs liens avec les membres de leur famille et leurs amis ou peuvent même rejeter ces personnes).

À cette étape, les femmes réalisent qu'elles ne sont pas libres et qu'elles doivent se faire aux règlements et aux intrusions quotidiennes. Elles prennent conscience de leur état de prisonnière.

Parfois, elles expriment leur colère parce qu'elles éprouvent un plus grand besoin de s'affirmer, attribuable à leur besoin de contrôler un aspect de leur vie. Étant donné les restrictions imposées par le système carcéral et le contrôle qui est exercé sur elles, les femmes considèrent toute forme de décision autonome comme un luxe. Dans un établissement, les femmes qui expriment leur frustration sont souvent punies pour avoir fait preuve d'un comportement inacceptable. Selon M.C. Jose, les travaux de Kubler-Ross sur la perte et le deuil concluraient à la nécessité d'encourager les sujets (dans l'étude, il s'agissait de patients en phase terminale) à parler de leur colère. [1 Jose, p. 133-150.] 1 Toutefois, dans le cas des femmes incarcérées, il n'y a pas d'endroit ni de moment, d'après elle, où elles peuvent convenablement exprimer leur colère. Elle ajoute que si les femmes pouvaient reconnaître leur colère, leur deuil et leur perte, les établissements auraient peut-être "... moins de "personnes normales inadaptées" et plus d'"êtres humains détenus" qui s'efforcent de s'adapter du mieux qu'ils peuvent à leur vécu en prison". [2 Jose, p. 140-141.] 2

3. Dépression

Selon M.C. Jose, la troisième phase est celle de la dépression. La dépression survient souvent lorsque les femmes se rendent compte qu'elles ne peuvent plus nier la réalité de la durée de leur peine. À cette étape, les femmes doivent faire face à une foule de pertes, y compris la perte de leurs liens avec leurs enfants, leurs amants et leur famille. Certaines d'entre elles deviennent suicidaires tandis que d'autres apprennent à vivre avec la dépression. L'auteur affirme que le personnel encourage souvent les femmes à "voir les choses du bon côté" et à oublier leur dépression. Elle fait valoir que les

responsables et les agents ne veulent pas reconnaître que les femmes traversent une période de dépression et essaient d'écarter cette réalité.

Il y a plusieurs indices de dépression comme l'auto-agression, la somnolence, le désir d'être seule et la volonté d'être laissée ou placée en isolement.

4. Deuil

Le deuil est la quatrième étape d'après le modèle de M.C. Jose. Il commence lorsque les femmes reconnaissent leurs pertes. Voici quelques signes de deuil :

• le fait d'éviter les activités et les gens;

• le refus d'avoir des relations avec des personnes de l'extérieur (il est plus douloureux de voir les êtres chers);

• la peine;

• l'isolement (le désir d'être seule);

• un plus grand sentiment de culpabilité au sujet de la situation et l'expression de cette culpabilité;

• le fait de se sentir davantage coupable des répercussions sur les enfants. [3 Jose, p. 133-150.] 3

5. Acceptation

L'acceptation est la cinquième étape qu'une femme traverse lorsqu'elle purge une peine de longue durée. Selon M.C. Jose, l'acceptation signifie non pas que la femme se complaît en prison, mais plutôt qu'elle est devenue insensible. L'auteur affirme que les femmes ont alors un sentiment de vide, de néant. Elles croient ne pas pouvoir éprouver plus de douleur parce qu'elles sont arrivées au fond de leur peine. Elles se désintéressent du monde extérieur, gagnent ou perdent beaucoup de poids et l'espoir les abandonne souvent.

Selon M.C. Jose, l'espoir est très important pour les prisonniers qui purgent une peine de longue durée. Elle affirme qu'au début, les femmes nourrissent de l'espoir en ce qui concerne leurs appels, révisions et audiences puisque cela signifie la possibilité d'être libérées. Toutefois, après un certain temps, elles perdent espoir; cela se produit ordinairement "après sept ou huit ans d'incarcération". [4 Jose, p. 148.] 4 La perte des liens avec la famille constitue un facteur important pour toutes les femmes incarcérées mais, pour les détenues purgeant une peine de longue durée, la prise de conscience du fait que la rupture risque d'être irrémédiable crée un problème particulier. Pour faire face à cette possibilité, les femmes continuent souvent à voir leurs rôles à l'extérieur comme s'ils étaient demeurés intacts.