Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Long-Term Federally Sentenced Women: Literature Review

Appendix 3 - Long Term Offenders: Needs Identification

MEETING WITH FEDERALLY SENTENCED WOMEN SERVING LIFE AND LONG TERM SENTENCES

INTRODUCTION

According to a census conducted on July 13, 1994, there are 51 federally sentenced women serving life sentences and another 19 serving sentences of 10 years and more. It is important for programs and overall operations to be responsive to the needs of this group. Therefore, areas in which meaningful change can occur must be identified.

BACKGROUND

Traditionally, there has been concern regarding the management of those serving long-term sentences. Several studies have found that this population is generally neglected by correctional services. Those serving long sentences represent a small percentage of the entire offender population and programs tend not to be sensitive to the needs that stem from long incarceration. In 1990, a task force on long-term offenders (the Perron Report), put forth several recommendations regarding the management of these offenders. It is necessary to explore how those recommendations are applicable to the experiences of federally sentenced women serving long-term sentences. As well, the fulfilment of these needs must be examined in the context of the overall program strategy for the new regional facilities.

ACTION TAKEN

Literature on the needs and experiences that are encountered by long-term offenders was deemed sufficient for identifying the issues. There has been a number of studies conducted on the subject. Therefore, it was decided that a discussion paper would be prepared providing an overview of the literature. A draft has been completed, and the needs of federally sentenced women serving long-term sentences are highlighted. Also outlined is how those needs are met by the overall program strategy. To ensure that the findings in the discussion paper reflected the realities experienced, it was necessary to share the findings and have the women decide whether it was an accurate articulation of their needs.

With this purpose, a group interview with women serving life and long-term sentences was conducted at the Prison for Women on September 14, 1994. Presently, there are 22 women serving life sentences and 13 serving terms of ten years or more at that prison. Interviews for these two groups were held separately. Approximately 18 lifers participated in the first interview session and 4 long-term offenders participated in the second. Since the feedback and concerns were similar for both groups, the findings have been incorporated.

QUESTIONS

Overall, there was little structure to the interviews to allow the women to identify issues they thought as important. Questions and the rationale for those are as follows:

1) Do the findings in the literature regarding the needs of long-term offenders reflect your experiences as a women long-term offender?

Rationale: The main purpose of the interview was to determine whether the literature available presents an accurate portrayal of the needs felt by the women.

2) Are there any specific programs needed in the pre-release phase of incarceration?

Rationale: In the literature there was little information on the needs of long-term offenders during the pre-release phase of incarceration. Asking the women directly may provide some guidance into what is required.

3) Are there other issues and concerns that are not mentioned, that you deem as significant?

Rationale: The purpose of this question is to identify any other issues that may be absent in the literature. For example, since women will be transferred to the new facility, it is important to determine issues arising from the move.

FINDINGS

The discussion paper outlined several needs of federally sentenced women serving long-term sentences. The women commented on the findings as follows:

Need identified: Staff training

The literature identified that staff should be trained regarding the specific needs of offenders serving long-term sentences.

Comments:

• The women agreed with this finding. They felt that staff needed to be more aware of the difficulties experienced due to the length of sentence. In addition, they believed that, at the very least, their case managers should have the expertise regarding legal restraints, as well as sufficient knowledge regarding the judicial review process.

• The women also stated that having one case manager who deals exclusively with offenders serving long terms would be beneficial, for both the case manager and the offender. This would prevent, they argued, case managers from giving priority to those serving short sentences while neglecting those serving long sentences. Also, having to deal only with long-term offenders would enable the case manager to gain experience on their legal constraints and the judicial review process.

Need identified: Programming

The literature asserted that programming often did not met the needs of offenders serving long-term sentences. The duration of programs tended to be short and programs were often postponed to later in their sentences.

Comments:

• Women agreed with these findings. They stated feeling that due to the nature of their crime they should be given priority in programs such as anger management.

• Women claimed that some programs are given in all-day sessions, and it was felt that there was no connection to the program. Further, this provided no time to reflect on what was being learned and retaining the information given in such a short period of time was difficult.

• Women stated that there should be specific programs dealing with issues regarding parents legal rights.

• As well, they stated needing programs designed to deal with their judicial review. They said the judicial review was their primary goal as it represented a way out of incarceration.

Need identified: Meaningful Work

The literature identified meaningful work as an important need of offenders serving long-term sentences.

Comments:

• Women agreed that this is an important component. They want to have jobs that will give them the skills to be self-sufficient in the community. Also, they stated needing to feel productive.

• Women felt they could be of assistance to those coming into the institution, since they have experienced the incarceration process. They could be of support and a source of information for the newly sentenced.

• Women were interested in having programs such as the buddy system, in which they can help other inmates orientate to the institution.

Need identified: Mobility

The literature identified the ability to move from institution to institution as an important need since it alleviated the boredom and monotony experienced when serving a sentence in one location.

Comments:

• The women found this not applicable to them at the moment. They asserted that there are far more pressing issues that must be dealt with. They acknowledged that once those issues are addressed, mobility may become more significant.

• Women also felt that they liked living in one place, so that they can feel like it was their own space.

Need identified: Release and Pre-release stages

There is very little literature dealing with this specific issue.

Comments:

• The women stated that being able to access programs as soon as they commenced serving their sentence would benefit them when they are to integrate back into the community.

OTHER SUGGESTIONS

The women made the following suggestions that would assist with the managing of their sentence, these are as follows:

A kit should be developed which contains a list of all the programs available and a detailed explanation of the duration of the programs and what each contains. (The women claimed that they often did not know what the programs entailed and this prevented them from being a full participant in their correctional plan. )

• A kit outlining some of the experiences of women coping with long sentences, as well as information about the judicial review process would be useful. It would

• alleviate much of the uncertainty suffered by the women.

• Lifers and long-term offenders should be given institutional careers. They could co-facilitate some of the programs.

• Women serving long-term sentences should receive a correctional plan at the initial stages of their sentence.

• Since most women serving long-term sentences are usually classified at the highest level, it is important to clearly outline what they can do to lower that classification level.

OTHER CONCERNS

There were several issues and concerns that arose with regards to the new facilities. The following were mentioned:

• Since the new facilities will have no highly visible perimeters, i.e. no concrete wall, it is necessary to clearly state what is expected of the women. Since most are classified as high security, the restrictions and privileges afforded to them must be known.

• Concern was expressed regarding the information now circulating that in the new facilities they will be moved every six months, from cottage to cottage.

• They wanted to ensure that they were not all housed together. They expressed the need to see new people with whom they could talk about the outside.

• Women stated that a non-smoking cottage should be available for those that do not wish to be housed with smokers. Some have health concerns regarding second-hand smoke.

• Restrictions on belongings should be sensitive to the needs of long-term offenders.

• Levels of pay for women remain low, with some only receiving 40 dollars every two weeks.

• Restrictions concerning parcels should be sensitive to long-term offenders, since this can, at times, be their only contact with families.

CONCLUSION

Overall, the women agreed with the findings of the discussion paper presented to them. However, they asserted that these findings and recommendations are not innovative. Women serving long-term sentences have been voicing these concerns for a long time. Although these concerns were to be addressed by the implementation of the recommendations of the Perron Report, the women claimed that they have not yet been implemented at the Prison for Women.

Although the women that participated in the interview demonstrated a great willingness to share their experiences, expertise, and feedback, their level of frustration was obvious. It is crucial, therefore, that the findings and recommendations be acknowledged, and that some of the issues put forth be incorporated in the overall program strategy.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Les Femmes Purgeant Une Peine De Longue Durée: Analyse Des Recherches

Annexe 3 : Délinquants purgeant une Peine de longue durée : Détermination Des Besoins

INTRODUCTION

Le 13 juillet 1994, d'après le recensement mené à cette date, 51 femmes purgeaient une peine d'emprisonnement à perpétuité et 19 autres, une peine de 10 ans ou plus. Comme il est important que les programmes et les activités générales soient adaptés aux besoins de ce groupe, il faut cerner les domaines dans lesquels des changements significatifs peuvent être apportés.

CONTEXTE

La gestion des délinquants purgeant une peine de longue durée a traditionnellement été source de préoccupation. Plusieurs études ont en effet abouti à la conclusion que cette population était généralement laissée pour compte par les responsables des services correctionnels. Les détenus purgeant une peine de longue durée correspondent à un faible pourcentage de la population carcérale totale, et les programmes offerts tendent à ne pas être adaptés aux besoins que crée une incarcération prolongée. En 1990, le Groupe d'étude sur les longues sentences a présenté plusieurs recommandations (Rapport Perron) au sujet de la gestion de ces détenus. Il faut explorer l'application de celles-ci au vécu des femmes purgeant une peine de longue durée et voir également comment on pourrait répondre aux besoins de ces dernières dans le contexte de la stratégie générale des programmes envisagés pour les nouveaux établissements régionaux.

MESURES PRISES

Les recherches sur les besoins et le vécu des délinquants purgeant une peine de longue durée permettent de cerner les problèmes. Un certain nombre d'études ont en effet été menées sur le sujet. C'est pourquoi l'on a décidé de rédiger un document de travail donnant un aperçu des recherches. Une ébauche a été produite pour présenter les besoins des femmes purgeant une peine de longue durée et la façon dont la stratégie générale des programmes répond à ces besoins. Pour être sûr que les constatations présentées dans le document de travail rendent compte du vécu des femmes, on les a soumises à ces dernières, qui ont été invitées à dire si elles traduisaient bien leurs besoins.

À cette fin, une interview de groupe avec des femmes purgeant une peine d'emprisonnement à perpétuité ou une peine de longue durée a été menée à la Prison des femmes le 14 septembre 1994. On dénombre actuellement à cet établissement 22 femmes qui purgent une peine d'emprisonnement à perpétuité et 13 qui purgent une peine de 10 ans ou plus. L'interview a été menée séparément avec les deux groupes. Environ 18 femmes purgeant une peine d'emprisonnement à perpétuité ont participé à la première séance tandis que quatre femmes purgeant une peine de longue durée ont participé à la seconde. Étant donné la similarité des deux groupes quant aux observations faites et aux préoccupations exprimées, il a paru opportun de combiner les constatations.

QUESTIONS

Les interviews n'ont pas été très structurées. On voulait ainsi donner aux femmes l'occasion de faire part des questions qu'elles jugeaient importantes. Les questions et leur justification sont les suivantes :

1) Les constatations des études au sujet des besoins des délinquants purgeant une peine de longue durée traduisent-elles votre expérience en tant que détenue purgeant une peine de longue durée?

Justification : L'interview avait pour but principal de déterminer si les études traduisaient fidèlement les besoins des femmes.

2) Y a-t-il des programmes précis qui s'imposent à l'étape prélibératoire de l'incarcération?

Justification : Il n'était presque pas question, dans les études, des besoins des délinquants purgeant une peine de longue durée durant l'étape prélibératoire. En posant cette question directement aux femmes on espérait avoir une idée des mesures requises.

3) Y a-t-il d'autres questions et préoccupations qui n'ont pas été mentionnées et que vous jugez importantes?

Justification : Il s'agissait de déterminer si d'autres questions n'avaient pas été laissées de côté par les études. Comme les femmes seront transférées dans de nouveaux établissements, il est important, par exemple, de cerner les problèmes que ce transfèrement peut soulever.

CONSTATATIONS

Il a été question, dans le document de travail, de plusieurs besoins des femmes purgeant une peine de longue durée. Voici les observations que les participantes ont faites à ce sujet.

Besoin cerné : la formation du personnel

D'après les recherches, le personnel devrait recevoir une formation sur les besoins propres aux délinquantes purgeant une peine de longue durée.

Observations

• Les femmes étaient d'accord avec cette constatation. À leur avis, le personnel doit être plus sensible aux difficultés qu'elles vivent en raison de la durée de leur peine. Selon elles, il faudrait au moins que leur agent de gestion de cas soit parfaitement informé des restrictions juridiques et ait une connaissance suffisante du processus de révision judiciaire.

• Les femmes ont également signalé que le fait d'affecter un agent de gestion de cas exclusivement aux délinquantes purgeant une peine de longue durée serait avantageux et pour l'agent et pour la délinquante. De cette manière, les agents de gestion de cas ne seraient pas portés à accorder la priorité aux délinquantes purgeant une courte peine et à laisser pour compte celles qui purgent une peine de longue durée. De plus, l'agent affecté aux délinquantes purgeant une peine de longue durée acquerrait de l'expérience en ce qui concerne les contraintes juridiques et le processus de révision judiciaire.

Besoin cerné : les programmes

D'après les études, les programmes ne répondent souvent pas aux besoins des délinquantes purgeant une peine de longue durée. Ils tendent à être courts et ils ne sont souvent offerts que vers la fin de la peine.

Observations

• Les femmes étaient de cet avis. Elles ont précisé qu'en raison de la nature de leur crime, on devrait leur accorder la priorité dans des programmes comme ceux de maîtrise de la colère.

• Les femmes ont déclaré que, dans certains cas, les programmes étaient donnés en séances d'une journée complète et qu'il n'y avait pas de lien entre le vécu et le programme. Cela ne permet pas de réfléchir à ce qui a été appris; il est en outre difficile d'assimiler l'information communiquée en si peu de temps.

• Selon les femmes, il faudrait offrir des programmes portant expressément sur les droits juridiques des parents.

• Enfin, les femmes ont dit avoir besoin de programmes sur la révision judiciaire. Celle-ci constitue leur objectif premier étant donné qu'elle peut offrir une issue.

Besoin cerné : un travail valable

Selon les recherches, les délinquantes purgeant une peine de long durée éprouvent un vif besoin d'accomplir un travail valable.

Observations

• Les femmes ont convenu qu'il s'agissait là d'un aspect important. Elles veulent exercer des emplois qui leur permettront d'acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour subvenir à leurs besoins dans la collectivité. Elles ont aussi besoin de se sentir productives.

• Les femmes croyaient pouvoir aider celles qui arrivent en établissement, étant donné qu'elles ont vécu le processus de l'incarcération. Elles peuvent appuyer et renseigner celles qui viennent d'être condamnées.

• Les femmes souhaitaient avoir des programmes, comme celui du système de la copine, qui leur permettraient d'aider d'autres détenues à s'orienter dans l'établissement.

Besoin cerné : la mobilité

Selon les recherches, la possibilité de passer d'un établissement à un autre est importante parce qu'elle permet de combattre l'ennui et la monotonie d'avoir à purger une peine au même endroit.

Observations

• Selon les femmes, cette constatation ne s'applique pas à elles pour l'instant. Il y a, à leur avis, des questions beaucoup plus pressantes dont il faut s'occuper. Une fois celles-ci réglées, il se peut que la mobilité prenne plus d'importance.

• En outre, les femmes aiment vivre au même endroit puisque cela leur donne l'impression d'avoir leur espace à elles.

Besoin cerné : l'étape prélibératoire et la mise en liberté

Il y a très peu de recherches sur cette question.

Observations

• Selon les femmes, l'accès à des programmes dès le début de leur peine faciliterait leur retour dans la société.

AUTRES SUGGESTIONS

Les femmes ont aussi fait les suggestions suivantes pour faciliter la gestion de leur peine :

• Il faudrait créer une trousse d'information énumérant tous les programmes disponibles et comportant une description de chaque programme avec une indication de sa durée. (Les femmes ont dit que, bien souvent, elles ne savaient pas en quoi consistaient les programmes, ce qui les empêche de participer pleinement à l'établissement de leur plan correctionnel.)

• Il serait utile de produire un document décrivant l'expérience des femmes qui purgent une peine de longue durée et renfermant des renseignements au sujet de la révision judiciaire. Ce document éliminerait une bonne part de l'incertitude dont souffrent les femmes.

• Les femmes purgeant une peine d'emprisonnement à perpétuité ou une peine de longue durée devraient pouvoir suivre une carrière en établissement. Elles pourraient participer à la prestation de certains programmes.

• Les femmes qui doivent purger une peine de longue durée devraient recevoir un plan correctionnel dès le début de leur peine.

• Étant donné que la plupart des femmes qui purgent une peine de longue durée sont classées au niveau de sécurité le plus élevé, il faudrait leur expliquer clairement ce qu'elles peuvent faire pour passer à un niveau de classement inférieur.

AUTRES PRÉOCCUPATIONS

Les femmes ont fait part de plusieurs questions et préoccupations au sujet des nouveaux établissements. En voici quelques-unes :

• Étant donné qu'il n'y aura pas, aux nouveaux établissements, de périmètre visible, comme un mur de béton, il faut bien préciser ce qui est attendu des femmes. Comme la plupart ont une cote de sécurité élevée, les femmes doivent connaître les restrictions qui leur sont imposées et les privilèges qui leur sont accordés.

• Les femmes ont exprimé des préoccupations au sujet du bruit qui circule actuellement, selon lequel, dans les nouveaux établissements, elles déménageront tous les six mois d'un pavillon à un autre.

• Les femmes voulaient être certaines de ne pas être logées toutes ensemble. Elles ont exprimé le besoin de voir de nouvelles personnes avec lesquelles elles pourraient discuter du monde extérieur.

• Les femmes ont dit qu'il faudrait prévoir un pavillon où il serait interdit de fumer pour celles qui ne veulent pas habiter avec des fumeuses. Certaines ont dit craindre la fumée des autres.

• Les restrictions imposées en ce qui concerne les effets personnels doivent faire entrer en ligne de compte les besoins des délinquantes purgeant une peine de longue durée.

• Les niveaux de rémunération des femmes sont faibles; certaines d'entre elles reçoivent seulement 40 $ toutes les deux semaines.

• Les restrictions imposées quant aux colis doivent aussi faire entrer en ligne de compte les besoins des délinquantes purgeant une peine de longue durée, étant donné que ces envois constituent parfois leur unique rapport avec des membres de leur famille.

CONCLUSION

Dans l'ensemble, les femmes étaient d'accord avec les constatations formulées dans le document de travail qui leur a été présenté. Elles ont toutefois affirmé qu'il n'y avait rien de neuf dans les constatations et recommandations. Il y a longtemps que les femmes purgeant une peine de longue durée expriment ces préoccupations. La mise en oeuvre des recommandations formulées dans le Rapport Perron devait y répondre, mais selon les femmes, elle n'a pas encore été entreprise à la Prison des femmes.

Disposées à faire part de leur expérience, de leurs connaissances et de leurs observations, les femmes qui ont participé à l'interview connaissaient toutefois un degré de frustration évident. Il est donc capital de reconnaître la valeur des constatations et recommandations et de veiller à ce que certains des points soient incorporés à la stratégie globale des programmes.

Les responsables du Programme des femmes purgeant une peine fédérale, à l'Administration centrale du SCC, remercient Mme Pat Vargas de sa contribution à ce document de travail.