Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Literature Review on Women's Anger and Other Emotions

Assessment Instruments

Anger assessment instruments encountered in the literature are listed below with brief descriptions. Empirical studies that have included women in their samples have utilized the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (Moll & Marler, 1990; Schill & Wang, 1990; O'Laughlin & Schill, 1994), the Speilberger Anger Expression Scale (Emerson & Harrison, 1990; Schill & Wang, 1990; Tangney, et al., 1992; O'Laughlin & Schill, 1994), Zelin, Adler, and Myerson's Anger Self Report Scale (Schill & Wang, 1990; O'Laughlin & Schill, 1994), the Cook & Medley Hostility Scale (Schill & Wang, 1990; O'Laughlin & Schill, 1994), the State-Trait Anger Scale (Thomas & Atakan, 1990; Potter-Efron & Potter Efron, 1991; Moreno, et al., 1993; Thomas, 1993d), the Framingham Anger Scales (Thomas & Atakan, 1990; Grover & Thomas, 1993; Thomas, 1993d), the Contrada Cognitive Anger Scale (Thomas, 1993), the Anger Situation Questionnaire (van Goozen, Frijda, Kindt, & van de Poll (1994), and the Hostility and Direction of Hostility Questionnaire (HDHQ) (Moreno, et al., 1993).

In one study of a Canadian federal and provincial inmate sample, the Anger Expression Scale was found to be satisfactory, but the conclusion was drawn that the State-Trait Anger Expression Scales should be used on this population with caution (Kroner & Reddon, 1992). It should be noted however, this study was conducted on a male sample and thus should not be generalized to a female population. Kroner and Reddon note the absence of research examining the role of anger in violent behaviour and "more broadly, in crime" (p. 398).

1. Anger Expression (AX) Scale

The Anger Expression Scale measures style and expression of anger and includes anger-in (the extent to which anger is experienced but not expressed) and anger-out (the external expression of anger) (Schill & Wang, 1990; Spielberger, Johnson, Russell, Crane, Jacobs, & Worden, cited in Thomas, 1993a). It also has a subscale for anger control.

2. Anger Inventory

Designed for women and men survivors of child sexual abuse to assist individuals to assess their current experience of anger and express it in the process of healing, this inventory consists of sentence completion and other writing exercises (Davis, 1990).

3. Buss-Durkee Hostility Inventory (BDHI)

Developed in 1957, this scale measures assault, indirect aggression, irritability, negativism, resentment, suspicion, and verbal expressions of anger. Though regarded as one of the most meticulously constructed measures of hostility, evidence of its validity was found to be "both fragmentary and limited" (Speilberger, Jacobs, Russell, & Crane, 1983). It was further rejected as an appropriate anger test by Braha (1987).

4. Contrada Cognitive Anger Scale

This 10-item measurement, designed by Contrada, Hill, Krantz, Durel, and Wright in 1986, scores tendency to engage in unhealthy thinking and dwell on angry incidents (cited in Thomas, 1993a). The tool includes a Somatic Anger Scale measuring physical symptoms in reaction to anger arousal.

5. Cook & Medley Hostility Scale

The Cook & Medley Hostility Scale, developed in 1954 primarily measures "suspiciousness, resentment, frequent anger, and cynical distrust of others rather than overtly aggressive behaviour" (Smith & Frohm, cited in Schill & Wang, 1990).

6. Framingham Anger Scales

The Framingham Anger Scales were developed in a study of coronary heart disease risk in Framingham, Massachusetts (Haynes, Levine, Scotch, Feinleib, & Kannel, cited in Thomas, 1993a), to assess how anger is expressed when it is felt. In addition to assessing internalization (anger-in), and externalization in an attacking or blaming way (anger-out), the Framingham scales measure somatization (physical symptoms), and discussion of anger (anger-discuss) (Grover & Thomas, 1993).

7. Hostility and Direction of Hostility Questionnaire (HDHQ)

The HDHQ (Foulds, Caine, & Creasy, cited in Moreno et al., 1993) includes 48 components of the MMPI (see below) and is purported to be the best known measure of hostility that has been derived from the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (Foulds, Caine, & Creasy, cited in Speilberger, et al., 1983). It consists of four subscales: Intropunitiveness, Extrapunitiveness, Direction of Hostility, and General Hostility. Speilberger et al. conclude its validity may be restricted to neurotics and depressives, the populations with which it has been used.

8. Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI)

This assessment instrument, named "the most widely researched objective personality questionnaire available" (Butcher, 1987, p. 161), was originally published in 1943 as an aid to psychological screening for professionals in the mental health fields and general medical practice. It is the most frequently administered psychological test with over 10,000 articles and books documenting its use.

9. Mosher Forced-Choice Guilt Inventory

An index of aggression anxiety (Mosher, 1966, cited in Tangney et al. 1992), that includes a Hostility-Guilt subscale.

10. Multidimensional Anger Inventory

The Multidimensional Anger Inventory (Siegel, cited in Kroner & Reddon, 1992) includes five categories: anger-arousal, range of anger-eliciting situations, hostile outlook, anger-in and anger-out.

11. The Anger Situation Questionnaire

This scale was developed by van Goozen et al. (1994) to focus on the relationship between anger and anger-readiness, rather than overt aggressive behaviour. The ASQ consists of thirty three scenarios or vignettes. The respondent is asked to imagine herself in each situation and to indicate from a choice of five emotion labels, five intensity levels, and five action tendencies, "which emotion she would experience, how intense this emotion would be, and what she would feel inclined to do of she found herself in the situation" (p. 81).

12. The Awareness and Expression of Anger Indicator

This inventory appeared in the research only under testing for a 1987 Masters thesis, with further testing recommended at that time (Braha, 1987).

13. The State-Trait Anger Scale

Psychologist Charles Speilberger was first to distinguish between state and trait anger. Anger defined as an emotional state is a transient condition varying in intensity. Trait anger involves one's general propensity to perceive situations as anger provoking and to respond with expressions of anger (Spielberger et al., 1983). Examining both aspects assumes that anger is both stable (trait anger) and variable over time (state anger) (Fuqua, Leonard, Masters, Smith, Campbell & Fischer, 1991). There has been significant work completed on examining the validity of this assessment tool and it has been widely used in many well known studies. It includes the subscales of Angry Temperament and Angry Reaction. This tool was developed following the assessment that most available anger scales cloud "the experience of anger with aggressive behavior and anger-provoking situations" (Speilberger et al., 1983).

14. Self assessment tool: How Enraged Are You?

This is a questionnaire designed for personal use to assist women to assess their rage quotient (Valentis & Devane, 1994).

15. Zelin, Adler, and Myerson's Anger Self-Report Scale

This 1972 scale differentiates between awareness and expression of anger and includes the following subscales: awareness of anger, general expression of anger, physical expression, verbal expression, guilt, condemnation of anger, and mistrust and suspicion (projection of anger) ( Schill & Wang, 1990). This scale was found to be infrequently used, and its validity drawn into question (Speilberger et al., 1983).

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

La colère et les autres émotions chez les femmes: Analyse de la littérature

Instruments d’évaluation

Les prochains paragraphes présentent un exposé sommaire des instruments d’évaluation relevés à travers la littérature traitant du sujet. Les études empiriques, dans lesquelles ont été inclues des échantillons de femmes, ont eu recours aux échelles et aux questionnaires suivants : l'inventaire «Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory» (Moll et Marler, 1990; Schill et Wang, 1990; O'Laughlin et Schill, 1994), l'échelle «Speilberger Anger Expression Scale» (Emerson et Harrison, 1990; Schill et Wang, 1990; Tangney et al., 1992; O'Laughlin et Schill, 1994), l'échelle «Zelin, Adler & Myerson's Anger Self Report Scale» (Schill et Wang, 1990; O'Laughlin et Schill, 1994), l'échelle «Cook & Medley Hostility Scale» (Schill et Wang, 1990; O'Laughlin et Schill, 1994), l'échelle «State-Trait Anger Scale» (Thomas et Atakan, 1990; Potter-Efron et Potter-Efron, 1991; Moreno et al., 1993; Thomas, 1993d), les échelles «Framingham Anger Scales» (Thomas et Atakan, 1990; Grover et Thomas, 1993; Thomas, 1993d), l'échelle «Contrada Cognitive Anger Scale» (Thomas, 1993), le questionnaire «Anger Situation Questionnaire (van Goozen, Frijda, Kindt et van de Poll, 1994), et le questionnaire «Hostility and Direction of Hostility (HDHQ)» (Moreno et al., 1993).

Une étude canadienne effectuée sur un échantillon de détenues (de prisons fédérales et provinciales) a révélé des résultats satisfaisants sur l’échelle de l’expression de la colère «Anger Expression Scales». Cette étude a d’autre part conclu que le questionnaire intitulé «State-Trait Anger Expression Scales» (expression de la colère réactionnelle et chronique) devrait être appliqué à cette population de manière très prudente (Kroner et Reddon, 1992). Il faut cependant souligner que cette étude n’a porté que sur un échantillon composé d’hommes, et par conséquent ne devrait pas être généralisée à la population des femmes. Kroner et Reddon mentionnent l’absence de recherche au sujet du rôle de la colère dans le comportement violent, et "de façon plus générale, dans le comportement criminel" (p.398).

1. Anger Expression (AX) Scale

L’échelle d’expression de la colère mesure le style et l’expression de la colère, la colère intériorisée «anger-in» (autrement dit, l'étendue d'une colère ressentie mais non exprimée), ainsi que la colère extériorisée «anger-out» (l’expression extérieure de la colère) (Schill et Wang, 1990; Spielberger, Johnson, Russell, Crane, Jacobs, et Worden, cité dans Thomas, 1993a). Cette échelle comprend également une sous-échelle pour la maîtrise de la colère.

2. Anger Inventory

Ce questionnaire est destiné à apporter une aide aux réchappés femmes et hommes victimes d’abus sexuels pendant leur enfance. À l’aide de ce document, ces personnes peuvent évaluer leur expérience actuelle de la colère et l’exprimer au cours de traitement de guérison. Ce questionnaire consiste en une série de phrases à compléter ainsi que d’exercices écrits (Davis, 1990).

3. Buss-Durkee Hostility Inventory (BDHI)

Cette échelle, mise au point en 1957, mesure les voies de fait, l’agression indirecte, l’irritabilité, le négativisme, le ressentiment, la méfiance, et les expressions verbales de la colère. Bien que cet instrument d’évaluation compte parmi les systèmes de mesure de l'hostilité les plus précis, les preuves de sa validité se sont avérées "à la fois fragmentaires et limitées" (Spielberger, Jacobs, Russell, et Crane, 1983). Braha (1987) a d’ailleurs rejeté cette échelle en invoquant qu’elle ne constituait pas un test approprié pour mesurer la colère.

4. Contrada Cognitive Anger Scale

Élaborée en 1986 par Contrada, Hill, Krantz, Durel et Wright, il s’agit d'un instrument de mesure de 10 points qui servent à évaluer la tendance à nourrir des pensées malsaines, ainsi que la propension à ruminer les moments de colère (cité dans Thomas, 1993a). Cet instrument comprend une échelle de la colère somatique «Somatic Anger Scale» destinée à mesurer les symptômes physiques causés par l’excitation de la colère.

5. Cook & Medley Hostility Scale

Cette échelle mise au point en 1954, est surtout destinée à mesurer "l’attitude soupçonneuse, le ressentiment, le tempérament coléreux et la méfiance cynique des autres, au lieu du comportement ouvertement agressif" (Smith et Frohm, cité dans Schill et Wang, 1990).

6. Framingham Anger Scales

Ces instruments ont été élaborés à l'occasion d’une étude qui a eu lieu à Framingham, Massachussetts, et qui portait sur les risques de maladies coronariennes (Haynes, Levine, Scotch, Feinleib et Kannel, cité dans Thomas, 1993a). L’échelle sert à mesurer la façon dont est exprimée la colère au moment où elle est ressentie. En outre, cet instrument évalue également l’intériorisation (colère intériorisée) «anger-in», l'extériorisation sous forme d’agression ou de reproches (colère extériorisée) «anger-out», la conversion (symptômes physiques somatisés), et la discussion de la colère (colère-discutée) «anger-discuss» (Grover et Thomas, 1993).

7. Hostility and Direction of Hostility Questionnaire

Le questionnaire HDHQ (Foulds, Caine et Creasy, cité dans Moreno et al., 1993) comprend 48 composantes empruntées à l’Inventaire multiphasique de personnalité du Minnesota (MMPI, décrit ci-dessous). Par rapport à tous les questionnaires qui se sont inspirés du MMPI (Foulds, Caine, et Creasy, cité dans Spielberger et al., 1983)., le questionnaire HDHQ se présente comme l'instrument le plus répandu pour mesurer l'hostilité. Cette échelle se divise en quatre sous-échelles : attitude intrapunitive, attitude extrapunitive, direction de l’hostilité, et l'hostilité générale. Spielberger et al. signalent qu'il est possible que la validité de cet instrument soit limitée aux névropathes et aux dépressifs puisque ces derniers correspondent à la population ciblée par ce même instrument.

8. Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI)

Cet instrument d’évaluation décrit comme "le questionnaire existant le plus répandu sur la recherche objective de la personnalité" (Butcher, 1987, p.161), et dont la première publication remonte à 1943, était destiné à proposer un test psychologique aux professionnels de la santé mentale et de la médecine générale. La grande majorité des tests psychologiques administrés sont des MMPI, du fait sans doute que plus de 10 000 articles et livres offrent une large documentation sur son utilisation.

9. Mosher Forced-Choice Guilt Inventory

Il s’agit d’un index sur l’anxiété causée par l’agression (Mosher, 1966, cité dans Tangney et al., 1992), dans lequel est inclue une sous-échelle qui mesure l'hostilité et la culpabilité «Hostility-Guilt subscale».

10. Multidimensional Anger Inventory

Cet instrument d’évaluation (Siegel, cité dans Kroner et Reddon, 1992) comprend cinq catégories : l'excitation de la colère «anger-arousal», la gamme de situations qui engendrent la colère, l'attitude hostile, la colère intériorisée «anger-in», et colère extériorisée «anger-out».

11. The Anger Situation Questionnaire (ASQ)

Van Goozen et al. (1994) ont élaboré cette échelle en se fixant pour objectif d’examiner non pas le comportement ouvertement agressif, mais plutôt les relations entre la colère et la prédisposition à la colère «anger-readiness». Le questionnaire ASQ consiste en trente-trois scénarios ou vignettes. La personne interrogée doit s’imaginer dans chacune de ces situations, et indiquer un de cinq niveaux d’intensité et choisir parmi cinq émotions étiquetées et cinq tendances d’actions, autrement dit "quelle émotion est-ce que la personne éprouverait, quelle serait l’intensité de cette émotion, et que serait-elle prête à faire si elle se trouvait dans une telle situation" (p.81).

12. The Awareness and Expression of Anger Indicator

Ce questionnaire est présenté uniquement sous la catégorie des expérimentations car il faisait partie en fait d’une thèse de maîtrise rédigée en 1987. Pour cette raison, de plus amples mises à l’épreuve étaient recommandées à cette époque-là (Braha, 1987).

13. The State-Trait Anger Scale

Le psychologue, Charles Speilberger était le premier à formuler la distinction entre la colère réactionnelle «state» et la colère chronique «trait». La colère définie comme un état émotionnel, est une condition éphémère dont l’intensité varie. La colère chronique est une manifestation de la propension ordinaire d’une personne à percevoir des situations comme étant des provocations à la colère, ainsi qu’à réagir en exprimant sa colère (Spielberger et al., 1983). L’analyse de ces deux aspects laissent supposer que la colère se caractérise à la fois par sa stabilité (colère chronique) et par sa variabilité dans le temps (colère réactionnelle) (Fuqua, Leonard, Masters, Smith, Campbell et Fischer, 1991). La validité de cet instrument d’évaluation a fait l’objet de plusieurs recherches et il a été utilisé de façon répandue dans un grand nombre d’études bien connues. Dans cet instrument sont comprises les sous-échelles qui mesurent le tempérament coléreux ainsi que la réaction coléreuse, («Angry Temperament» et «Angry Reaction»). L’origine de l’élaboration de cet instrument repose sur la constatation suivante : les échelles les plus disponibles sur la colère dissimulent "l’expérience de la colère derrière le comportement agressif et les situations provoquant la colère" (Spielberger et al., 1983).

14. Self Assessment Tool : How Enraged Are You?

Il s’agit d’un questionnaire individuel destiné aux femmes et grâce auquel elles peuvent évaluer leur niveau de rage (Valentis et Devane, 1994).

15. Zelin, Adler, and Myerson’s Anger Self-Report Scale

Cette échelle mise au point en 1972, marque bien la distinction entre la prise de conscience et l’expression de la colère. Cet instrument comprend les sous-échelles suivantes : la prise de conscience de la colère, l’expression générale de la colère, l’expression physique, l’expression verbale, la culpabilité, la condamnation de la colère, et la méfiance et l’attitude soupçonneuse (projection de la colère) (Schill et Wang, 1990). La validité de cette échelle a été remise en question du fait qu'elle était rarement utilisée (Spielberger et al., 1983).