Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Understanding Violence By Women: A Review of the Literature

The Patterns Of Violent Crime By Women

The extent of violent crime by women
Sentencing violent offenders
Is violent crime by women increasing?
Race and social class
Summary

Sex differences in rates of violence by men and women are consistent, with men outnumbering women by a very large margin. This is so across countries, over time, at all ages, and in relation to different types of violence. This relates to all types of violent or aggressive behaviour, including bullying in schools, in sports, on the street, in the home, among hospital patients or prison populations. The only exceptions are the recent recognition of greater parity (but not equality) between rates of domestic homicide among black men and women in the USA, and in child abuse in the home.

Considerable disputes have also centred on the extent to which women use violence against partners in the home compared with men. The weight of opinion is that men's violence against partners is much more frequent, extensive and serious for women than women's violence against their partners (Dobash, Dobash, Wilson & Daly 1992; Wilson and Daly 1992, 1993; Reiss and Roth 1993). This issue is considered later in the review.

In terms of recorded criminal violence in the USA in 1991, 89% of all those arrested for violent offences were male and 11% women (FBI, 1991 reported in Reiss and Roth, 1993). In England and Wales in 1989, 89% of all violent offences were committed by men and 11% by women (Heidensohn, 1992).

In Canada in 1991 88% of all those charged with violent crime were men, and 12% women. This amounted to 110,000 charges against men, compared with 13,000 against women (Statistics Canada reported in Johnson and Rodgers, 1993).

The extent of violent crime by women

In Canada, Criminal Code classifications of violent crime include assaults ranging from less serious offences such as threats to use violence, or pushing or shoving, through serious attacks which result in physical injury; sexual assaults; robbery which may involve a threat to use force, a display of a weapon, use of a weapon and actual physical force; abduction; infanticide, attempted murder, murder and manslaughter. Most violent crime, 58% overall, consists of charges classified as minor assaults. Only 13% involves more serious assaults, 11% sexual assault, 11% robbery, and 7% `other' including 0.24% murder or manslaughter (Statistics Canada 1994).

Overall, women are more likely to be charged with minor assaults than men. Very few are charged with robbery and fewer still sexual assault (a pattern which is similar in the USA (Reiss and Roth 1993; Steffensmeier, 1995)). Among both men and women charges for murder or manslaughter are rare, and were laid against 486 men in 1991 and 48 women. However, a major difference is in their relationship to the victim. Among women charged with homicide in 1993 71% of the victims were related to the offender domestically, compared with 24% of the men (Statistics Canada, 1994b).

 

Sentencing violent offenders

No national data on court sentencing is currently available in Canada. What information does exist, suggests that the majority of women found guilty of violent offences receive a non custodial sentence, a small proportion receive a provincial sentence of less than two years imprisonment, and a much smaller proportion a federal sentence of two years or more.

Thus in 1991 XXXX women were sentenced to probation for violent offences, some 900 women were admitted to provincial prisons under sentence for a violent offence (about 10% of all admissions) and around 150 to the federal system (based on figures in Johnson and Rodgers 1993; Statistics Canada 1993; and the Offender Information System, CSC). An Ontario survey suggested that 19% of women in both provincial institutions and under community supervision in 1991 had been convicted or charged with a violent offence (Shaw 1994). This underlines the contention that most violent charges against women are not seen to be of a serious nature nor represent a threat to the public.

While the number of women who receive federal sentences is very small, more than half of the women in the federal population will have a conviction for a violent offence. In 1989 of the 203 federally sentenced women in prison 42% (85) were serving a sentence for murder, attempted murder or manslaughter, and 27% (55) for robbery or assaults (Shaw 1992). The findings from that study, as well as those from many other reviews of women offenders suggest that as a group, women convicted of violent offences differ considerably from their male counterparts in terms of the types of violence involved, the reasons for their offence, their relationships to their victim, their offence histories, their level of risk to the public, their likelihood of committing further violence, and their own experience of violence in childhood and as adults (Immarigeon & Chesney Lind 1992; Reiss and Roth, 1993).

 

Is violent crime by women increasing?

Over the past twenty years in Canada, the rate of charges for violent crimes (as well as other crimes) has increased generally, among men, women and young offenders. While still a relatively small proportion of all offences, violence has increased at a faster rate than property and other offences. The increase has been slightly greater among women than men, largely because the numbers of women committing violent offences is proportionately so small.

In 1970 8.1% of all charges against women under the Criminal Code were for violent offences. By 1991 violence had risen to 13.6% of all charges against women (Johnson and Rodgers, 1993). While there has been an increase in violent crimes by women, the numbers of women convicted of violence remains still well below that of men, and the majority involves minor assaults. In the US, Steffensmeier (1995) has examined the increases in arrests for violence by men and women between the 1960's and 1990's and concludes that, relative to men, women showed a slight increase in arrests for minor assaults. For serious violent offences (robbery, aggravated assault or murder) however, the rate for women remained stable, while that for men increased.

Twenty years ago Freda Adler (1975) argued that the women's liberation movement would result in greater equality between the sexes and predicted an increase in aggressive criminal behaviour by women. A number of studies in the 1980's framed their work around an assumption that women's contribution to violent crime would increase for this reason (eg. Balthazar and Cook 1984; Girouard 1988; Robertson, Bankier & Swartz, 1987). Nevertheless, as many more studies have indicated, the majority of the increase in women's offending has been in terms of property offences and can be explained in terms of their increasing poverty (Carlen 1988; Box and Hale 1983; Naffine 1987; Jurik & Winn 1990; Johnson and Rodgers 1993; Steffensmeier 1995).

Liberation and equality do not mean much to single young women with children, or with little prospect of reasonably paid legitimate employment (Naffine 1987). They mean even less to Aboriginal women (or black women in the USA) growing up in an increasing violent environment (Sugar and Fox 1990; LaPrairie 1993; Moyer 1992). Such factors Robertson et al., (1987) did not consider in their study of female offenders in Winnepeg Remand Centre, many of whom are likely to be Aboriginal. Not surprisingly they `failed to identify what had been described as the "new female criminal" '.

Explanations for the increase in violent offences (by both genders) cannot be easily verified. It has been suggested that part of the increase is because Canadian society, along with others, has become less tolerant of violence and consequently more willing to press charges for violent behaviour, particularly the less serious threats or assaults (Bala 1994; Stanko 1994; Statistics Canada 1994). In the case of women, this may also reflect a decline in a traditional reluctance to prosecute women (Chunn and Gavigan 1991). At a more general level, Thomas (1993) cites changing work patterns, child-rearing, and marital and divorce patterns as likely to induce more stress in the lives of women and men and lead to more anger and aggression on a daily basis.

 

Race and social class

The effects of race and social and economic class cannot be separated from issues of gender in considering violent crime. A number of American studies have pointed to the higher rates of violent crime among black populations than white (eg. Simpson 1991; Reiss and Roth 1993; Arnold 1990). Others have noted that black women are much more likely to be charged with violent offences in the USA than other women (McClain 1982-83; Mann 1990b; Simpson 1991).

Similarly, in Canada, Aboriginal men and women are more likely to be charged and incarcerated for violent offences than non-Aboriginals (Moyer 1992; LaPrairie 1992; LaPrairie 1993).

Since data have been collected on comparative offences of incarcerated Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal women, they have consistently revealed that Aboriginal women are incarcerated for more violent crimes than non-Aboriginal women. (LaPrairie 1993 p.236)

This has occurred during a period of increasing marginalization and the disintegration of traditional Aboriginal society and culture (Sugar & Fox 1990; Shkilnyk 1985; LaPrairie 1992). As LaPrairie (1993) underlines:

`A broad range of economic, socio-cultural, and legal factors associated with being Aboriginal and female in a male-dominated, non-Aboriginal society, contribute to Aboriginal women coming into conflict with the law. The violent behaviour often demonstrated by Aboriginal women offenders is a product of historical socio-economic forces and background factors. The undermining of traditional Aboriginal roles and values, the acceptance of violence in society, discriminatory provisions of the Indian Act, and tensions in male-female relationships have conspired to regulate many Aboriginal women to a marginalized status.' (p. 243)

 

Summary

In relation to women, therefore, it is has always, and continues to be important to stress:

A. that women commit proportionately far less violent crime than men;

B. that violent offences constitute a very small proportion of all female offending;

C. that the types of violent offences with which women are charged tend to be less serious than among men;

D. that the majority of homicides by women involve family members;

E. that most increases in women's offending are accounted for by property offences, and any increases in violent offences by minor assaults;

F. that race and social class must also be considered with gender in understanding women's violence.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Comprendre la violence exercée par des femmes : Un examen de la documentation

Types de crimes violents commis par des femmes

Ampleur des crimes violents commis par des femmes
L'imposition de la peine aux délinquantes violentes
Est-ce que les crimes violents commis par des femmes sont en augmentation ?
Race et classe sociale
Résumé

La différenciation par sexe des taux d'actes de violence commis par des hommes et par des femmes est logique, les hommes surpassant les femmes par un très large écart. Il en est ainsi dans les pays, au cours des temps, à tous les âges et en relation avec différents types de violence. Ceci se relie à tous les types de comportement violent ou agressif, y compris les brutalités à l'école, dans les sports, dans la rue, à la maison, parmi les patients des hôpitaux ou les populations carcérales. La seule exception est la récente reconnaissance d'une plus grande parité (mais non une égalité) entre les taux d'homicides domestiques parmi les hommes et les femmes de race noire aux États-Unis et dans les mauvais traitements aux enfants, exercés à la maison.

Des débats importants se sont aussi centrés sur l'ampleur du fait selon lequel les femmes se servent de violence contre leur partenaire à la maison, en comparaison des hommes. Le poids de l'opinion est que la violence des hommes contre leur partenaire est plus fréquente, plus importante et plus sérieuse envers les femmes que la violence des femmes envers leur partenaire (Dobash, Dobash, Wilson and Daly, 1992; Wilson and Daly, 1992, 1993; Reiss and Roth, 1993). Cette question est examinée plus loin dans cet examen. Pour ce qui est de la violence criminelle enregistrée aux États-Unis en 1991, 89 % des personnes arrêtées pour des actes de violence étaient des hommes et 11 %, des femmes (FBI, 1991, selon Reiss and Roth, 1993).

En 1989, en Angleterre et au pays de Galles, 89 % des infractions violentes ont été commises par des hommes et 11 % par des femmes (Heidensohn, 1992).

En 1991, au Canada, 88 % des personnes accusées de crimes violents étaient des hommes et 12 %, des femmes. Ceci s'est traduit par 110 000 accusations portées contre des hommes, en comparaison de 13 000 portées contre des femmes (d'après Statistique Canada, dont font état Johnson and Rodgers, 1993).

 

Ampleur des crimes violents commis par des femmes

Au Canada, la classification des crimes violents du Code criminel comprend les voies de fait allant des infractions les moins sérieuses, comme la menace d'utiliser la violence ou le fait de pousser ou de bousculer, jusqu'à des attaques sérieuses qui causent des dommages physiques; les agressions sexuelles; les vols qui peuvent comporter la menace d'utiliser la force, le fait de menacer d'une arme, l'utilisation d'une arme et l'emploi de la violence physique; l'enlèvement; l'infanticide, les tentatives de meurtre, le meurtre et l'homicide involontaire coupable. La plupart des crimes violents, 58 % du total, relèvent d'accusations classifiées comme des voies de fait mineures, 11 % sont des agressions sexuelles, 11 % des vols et 7 % « d'autres » infractions, dont 0,24 % de meurtre ou d'homicide involontaire coupable (Statistique Canada, 1994).

Dans l'ensemble, les femmes risquent plus d'être accusées de voies de fait mineures que les hommes. Très peu d'entre elles sont accusées de vol et encore moins d'agression sexuelle (un modèle que l'on retrouve aux États-Unis [Reiss and Roth, 1993; Steffensmeier, 1995]). Parmi les hommes et les femmes, les accusations de meurtre ou d'homicide involontaire coupable sont rares et, en 1991, elles ont été portées contre 486 hommes et 48 femmes. Néanmoins, il y a une importante différence dans leur type de relation avec la victime. Dans le cas des femmes accusées d'homicide en 1993, 71 % des victimes étaient rattachées à la délinquance au niveau familial, en comparaison de 24 % dans le cas des hommes (Statistique Canada, 1994 (b)).

 

L'imposition de la peine aux délinquantes violentes

Actuellement, au Canada, des données nationales concernant l'imposition des peines par les tribunaux ne sont pas disponibles. Les informations qui existent suggèrent que la majorité des femmes trouvées coupables d'infractions violentes reçoivent une peine à purger en milieu ouvert; une petite proportion d'entre elles reçoivent une peine sous responsabilité provinciale de moins de deux ans de prison et une proportion encore plus petite une peine sous responsabilité fédérale de deux ans ou plus.

Ainsi, en 1991, xxx femmes ont été condamnées à la probation pour des infractions violentes, quelque 900 femmes ont été admises dans des prisons provinciales, ayant été condamnées pour des infractions de violence (environ 10 % de toutes les admissions) et environ 150 dans le système fédéral (d'après des données de : Johnson and Rodgers, 1993; Statistique Canada, 1993; le Système d'information sur les détenus, SCC). Une enquête effectuée en Ontario suggère qu'en 1991, 19 % des femmes dans les établissements provinciaux et en surveillance communautaire ont été condamnées ou accusées par suite d'une infraction de violence (Shaw, 1994). Ceci souligne l'assertion voulant que la plupart des accusations de violence portées contre des femmes ne soient pas considérées comme étant de nature sérieuse et qu'elles ne représentent pas une menace pour le public.

Même si le nombre de femmes qui reçoivent une peine sous responsabilité fédérale est très petit, plus de la moitié des femmes de la population fédérale sont condamnées pour des infractions violentes. En 1989, parmi les 203 délinquantes en prison sous responsabilité fédérale, 42 % (85) purgaient une peine pour meurtre, tentative de meurtre ou homicide involontaire coupable, et 27 % (55) pour vol ou voies de fait (Shaw, 1992). Les résultats de cette étude, ainsi que ceux de plusieurs autres examens portant sur les femmes délinquantes, suggèrent qu'en tant que groupe, les femmes condamnées pour des infractions violentes se distinguent de manière très significative de leur contrepartie masculine, pour ce qui est des types de violence concernés, des raisons de leur infraction, de leur relation avec leur victime, des antécédents à leur infraction, de leur niveau de risque pour le public, de leur probabilité de commettre d'autre violence et de leur propre expérience de la violence dans leur enfance et comme adultes (Immarigeon and Chesney-Lind, 1992; Reiss and Roth, 1993).

 

Est-ce que les crimes violents commis par des femmes sont en augmentation ?

Au Canada, au cours des vingt dernières années, le taux d'accusations pour des crimes violents (ainsi que pour d'autres crimes) s'est accru, de manière générale, parmi les hommes, les femmes et les jeunes délinquants. Même si elle représente encore une proportion relativement faible de toutes les infractions, la violence s'est accrue à un rythme plus rapide que les infractions relatives aux biens, ou autres. L'augmentation a été légèrement plus importante chez les femmes que chez les hommes, surtout parce que le nombre de femmes qui commettent des infractions violentes est, en proportion, très petit.

En 1970, 8,1 % de toutes les accusations portées contre des femmes en vertu du Code criminel l'ont été pour des infractions violentes. En 1991, la violence avait atteint 13,6 % de toutes les accusations portées contre des femmes (Johnson and Rodgers, 1993). Même s'il y a eu une augmentation des crimes violents commis par des femmes, le nombre de femmes condamnées pour violence reste encore bien en dessous de celui des hommes et la plus grande partie comprend des voies de fait mineures. Aux États-Unis, Steffensmeier (1995) a étudié l'accroissement des arrestations concernant des violences causées par des hommes et par des femmes, entre les années 1960 et 1990; il en conclut que par rapport aux hommes, les femmes ont montré une légère augmentation des arrestations pour des voies de fait mineures. Toutefois, pour ce qui est des infractions violentes sérieuses (vol, voie de fait grave ou meurtre) le taux demeure stable pour les femmes tandis que celui des hommes est en hausse.

Il y a vingt ans, Freda Adler (1975) faisait valoir que le mouvement de libération des femmes aurait pour résultat une plus grande égalité entre les sexes et prévoyait une augmentation du comportement criminel agressif des femmes. Dans les années 1980, un certain nombre d'études ont organisé leur recherche autour de l'hypothèse voulant que la contribution des femmes aux crimes violents augmenteraient pour cette raison (par exemple, Balthazar and Cook, 1984; Girouard, 1988; Robertson, Bankier and Schwartz, 1987). Néanmoins, comme beaucoup plus d'études l'ont montré, la majorité de l'augmentation des infractions commises par des femmes l'a été en infractions contre les biens et peuvent s'expliquer par leur pauvreté croissante (Carlen, 1988; Box and Hale, 1983; Naffine, 1987; Jurik and Winn, 1990; Johnson and Rodgers, 1993; Steffensmeier, 1995).

La libération et l'égalité ne signifient pas grand chose pour une femme célibataire ayant des enfants ou ayant peu de perspectives d'obtenir un emploi valable raisonnablement rétribué (Naffine, 1987). Elles ont encore moins de sens pour des femmes autochtones (ou des femmes de race noire aux États-Unis) élevées dans un environnement de plus en plus violent (Sugar and Fox, 1990; LaPrairie, 1993; Moyer, 1992). Robertson et al. (1987) n'ont pas considéré de tels facteurs dans leur étude concernant les femmes délinquantes au Centre Remand de Winnipeg, dont beaucoup sont probablement des Autochtones. Comme on pouvait s'y attendre, ils ne sont pas arrivés à identifier celle que l'on a décrit comme la « nouvelle femme criminelle ».

Il n'est pas facile de vérifier les explications de l'accroissement des infractions violentes (commises par les deux sexes). On a suggéré qu'une partie de cette augmentation tient à ce que la société canadienne soit, entre autres facteurs, devenue moins tolérante vis-à-vis de la violence et, par conséquent, plus disposée à engager des poursuites pour un comportement violent, en particulier dans le cas de menaces ou de voies de fait moins sérieuses (Bala, 1994; Stanko, 1994; Statistique Canada, 1994). Dans le cas des femmes, ceci peut aussi refléter un déclin des hésitations traditionnelles à poursuivre des femmes en justice (Chunn and Gavigan, 1991). À un niveau plus général, Thomas (1993) cite les changements touchant les types de travail, l'éducation des enfants, et les modèles conjugaux et de divorce, comme pouvant provoquer plus de tensions dans la vie des femmes et des hommes, et entraîner quotidiennement plus de colère et d'agression.

 

Race et classe sociale

Les effets de la race et de la classe sociale et économique ne peuvent être dissociés du sexe, en examinant les crimes violents. Un certain nombre d'études américaines ont indiqué des taux de violence plus élevés parmi les populations noires que parmi les populations blanches (par exemple, Simpson, 1991; Reiss and Roth, 1993; Arnold, 1990). D'autres ont noté qu'aux États-Unis, les femmes noires courent plus de risques d'être accusées d'infractions violentes que les autres femmes (McClain, 1982-1983; Mann, 1990 (b); Simpson, 1991). De même, au Canada, les hommes et les femmes autochtones courent plus de risques d'être accusés et incarcérés pour des infractions violentes que les non autochtones (Moyer, 1992; LaPrairie, 1992: LaPrairie, 1993).

« Depuis que des données ont été recueillies concernant les infractions comparatives des femmes incarcérées autochtones et non autochtones, celles-ci ont constamment révélé que les femmes autochtones sont incarcérées pour des crimes plus violents que les femmes non autochtones. » (LaPrairie, 1993, p. 236)

Ceci s'est produit pendant une période de marginalisation croissante et de désintégration de la société et de la culture autochtones traditionnelles (Sugar and Fox, 1990; Shkilnyk, 1985; LaPrairie, 1992). Comme le souligne LaPrairie (1993) :

« Une grande variété de facteurs économiques, socio-culturels et judiciaires, associés au fait d'être autochtone et femme dans une société dominée par les hommes et les non-Autochtones, contribuent à faire entrer en conflit avec la loi les femmes autochtones. Le comportement violent, souvent montré par des femmes autochtones, est un produit de forces socio-économiques et de facteurs socio-culturels. L'ébranlement des rôles et des valeurs traditionnels des Autochtones, l'acceptation de la violence dans la société, les dispositions discriminatoires de la Loi sur les Indiens et les tensions dans les relations entre les hommes et les femmes ont concouru, pour réduire bien des femmes autochtones à un statut marginal. » (p. 243)

 

Résumé

En conséquence, par rapport aux femmes, il a toujours été important et il continue de l'être, de faire ressortir :

a. que les femmes commettent proportionnellement moins de crimes violents que les hommes;

b. que les infractions violentes forment une très petite proportion de toutes les infractions commises par des femmes;

c. que les types d'infractions violentes pour lesquelles des femmes sont accusées ont tendance à être moins sérieuses que celles des hommes;

d. que la majorité des homicides commis par des femmes comprennent des membres de la famille;

e. que la plupart des augmentations des infractions commises par des femmes représentent des infractions contre les biens et des augmentations d'infractions violentes aux voies de fait mineures;

f. que la race et la classe sociale doivent aussi être prises en compte avec le sexe pour comprendre la violence exercée par des femmes.