Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Study of the Mother-Child Program

Introduction

The number of federally sentenced women (FSW) is small , and, as a result, this population has not been targeted for many innovative experiments, nor has it been the subject of preventive action adapted to its specific needs. In this regard, let us mention, in particular, that two thirds of women in prison are mothers of children under five years of age, that they are often single parents, and that living apart is an ordeal for both the mothers and their children. However, "the development of parenting skills and the establishment of the mother-child relationship are both social characteristics and social expectations in regard to all mothers, including those who have serious difficulties of adaptation" (CRJ, 1992). When we understand this social fact and its implications, we see the absolute necessity of looking for new strategies that will be better suited to the culture and specific needs of mothers serving a federal sentence and their children.

Identification of this serious problem of mother-child separation and of the concerns to which it gives rise, and the fact that there are many mothers in the FSW population, led to the creation of a task force (in 1990), which examined the issue. The task force recognized the deficiency in the development of programs and services in this area, and even more in the evaluation of these programs when they exist.

Most existing programs fall into the category of public visiting programs (day care program) or programs of occasional or part-time residence in a facility or probation centre. Regarding actual full-time residence programs, let us mention, in particular, the case of long-term nurseries in prison environments, which have been "marked by controversy". This controversy arose in part because of a lack of objective information or because of differences of opinion concerning the development of emotional ties (Cannings, 1990). Moreover, the lack of any systematic evaluation of these programs made the cohabitation of mothers and children in a prison environment (whether of long or short duration) seem a paradoxical phenomenon. Nonetheless, there are data to show that well-structured programs can produce a preventive effect.

One of the recommendations of the Task Force (1990) is to allow women to live with their children on a full-time or part-time basis in the facility where they are required to remain, subject to a certain number of conditions and criteria. This recommendation has been accepted by the Government. However, a number of points require further clarification, in particular: the critical stages of the development of the child; the essential conditions for the child's well-being; the impact of the child's circumstances on his or her development; suggestions and solutions regarding these circumstances; the relevance of setting up parenting skills acquisition programs for clients; and the relevance of staff training.

This document has been developed to examine these issues in greater depth. It will also provide an opportunity to situate the mother-child program in the context of the development and operation of FSW facilities. The document is designed as a complement to what already exists, and will therefore not repeat all the details concerning the infrastructure, as these have already been given in great abundance in the operational plan. The document is divided into four parts. Part One deals with the stages of development of the child and with the child's basic needs. Part Two situates the program in the context of the development of FSW services, while Part Three deals with prevention. Finally, Part Four offers some suggestions for making the program more effective.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Étude sur le programme mére-enfant

Introduction

Le petit nombre de femmes purgeant une peine fédérale (FPPF) a fait que cette population n'a pas été la cible d'un grand nombre d'expériences novatrices. Elle n'a pas fait non plus l'objet d'interventions préventives adaptées à leurs besoins spécifiques. Citons entre autres le fait que les deux tiers des femmes incarcérées sont des mères souvent monoparentales ayant de jeunes enfants de moins de cinq ans dont elles sont le seul soutien et l'épreuve que constitue pour elles et leurs enfants le fait de vivre séparés. Pourtant, "le développement de la compétence parentale et l'établissement de la relation mère-enfant sont à la fois des caractéristiques et des attentes sociales à l'endroit de toutes les mères y compris celles qui présentent des difficultés graves d'adaptation" CRJ (1992). Lorsque l'on comprend ce fait social et ce qu'il implique, il devient impérieux de rechercher de nouvelles stratégies mieux adaptées à la culture et aux besoins spécifiques des mères PPF et à ceux de leurs enfants.

Après avoir ciblé ce grave problème que constitue la séparation mère-enfant et les préoccupations qu'elle entraîne, compte tenu du nombre élevé de mères chez les FPPF, un groupe d'étude (1990) s'est penché sur cette réalité. On a reconnu le manque dans le développement de programmes et de services et plus encore, au niveau de l'évaluation de ces programmes lorsqu'ils existent.

La majorité des programmes existants s'inscrivent en effet dans le cadre de programmes de visites publiques (programme de garde) ou de séjours occasionnels ou à temps partiel en établissement ou en centre de probation. Dans le cas où des programmes de séjour à temps plein existent effectivement, citons entre autres le cas des pouponnières à long terme en milieu carcéral, ils ont été "marqués par la controverse". Celle-ci découlait en partie du manque d'information objective ou des divergences d'opinions en ce qui concerne le développement des liens affectifs. Cannings (1990). D'un autre côté, le manque d'évaluation systématique de ces programmes a fait de la cohabitation mère-enfant en milieu carcéral (de longue ou de courte durée), un phénomène paradoxal. Il existe pourtant des données qui démontrent comment des programmes bien structurés peuvent produire un effet préventif.

Une des recommandations du Groupe d'étude (1990) vise à permettre aux femmes de cohabiter avec leurs enfants à temps plein ou à temps partiel dans l'établissement où elles sont amenées à séjourner sous réserve d'un certain nombre de conditions et critères. Cette recommandation a été acceptée par le gouvernement. Plusieurs points nécessitaient néanmoins d'être approfondis, notamment: les étapes critiques du développement de l'enfant, les conditions essentielles à son bien-être, l'impact du contexte sur son développement, les suggestions et les solutions à y apporter, la pertinence de mettre en place des programmes d'acquisition de compétences parentales pour les bénéficiaires et de former le personnel.

Le présent document a donc été élaboré dans le but d'approfondir ces questions. Il sera aussi l'occasion de situer le programme mère-enfant dans le cadre de l'aménagement et du fonctionnement des établissements pour FPPF. Ce document se veut un complément à ce qui existe déjà. Il ne reprendra donc pas tout ce qui concerne l'infrastructure déjà abondamment exposée dans le plan opérationnel. Il se divise en quatre volets. Le premier porte sur les stades du développement de l'enfant et ses besoins fondamentaux; le deuxième s'attachera à situer le programme dans le contexte de l'aménagement et des services pour FPPF; le troisième portera sur la prévention et le quatrième présentera quelques suggestions pour rendre le programme plus efficace.