Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Study of the Mother-Child Program

Part Two: Establishing a Context

A. The Mother-Child Program Proposed in the Action Plan
B. Problems Involved

 

A. The Mother-Child Program Proposed in the Action Plan

As proposed in the projected work plan, this section will not present the organizational development of facilities for federally sentenced women. This work is described in detail in draft number 4 of the operational plan. Rather, what we shall do here is present, in summary form, the mother-child program as it is projected and described in this document and in the document entitled "Examen du travail du sous-comité du CNMO sur les enfants et un plan d’action pour le comité PFPPF." (May 1994).

The operational aspect of the program is presented here in order to establish correlations with psycho-social and legal parameters and with other actions designed to approach the goals projected by the program, and to make suggestions and proposals that will make it possible to minimize the negative effects that might arise from the particular circumstances of the prison environment.

The program has the following components:

1. Full-time residency of the child with his or her mother in the facility.

2. Part-time or occasional residency of the child in the facility (weekends and holidays).

3. Visits of the child in the context of family visits and of the program of private family visits at the facility.

4. Exchanges of visits at the facility and outside it in the neighbourhood, between the mother and child (when the child lives in a foster home or placement house).

1. Full-time residency of the child

Aim: To give mothers the opportunity to fulfil their parental role when this is in the best interests of the child.

Eligibility Criteria for mother and child:

The criteria are based on the needs of the mother and of the child.

• Participation in the program is optional, both for the mother and for the child.

• The mother must have some degree of responsibility in regard to the child (biological mother, legal custody, permission of the legal guardian, etc.).

• The legal custody of the child must not create a problem.

• The women must be prepared to take care of their children 24 hours a day, or to make all the necessary arrangements for an alternative.

• The director of the facility and the mother shall determine what is in the best interests of the child. They will take the following points into account:

• The existence of positive, stable ties between the mother and the child.

• Assessment of the physical and mental health of the mother, excluding any disability. The use of unprescribed drugs or alcohol terminates eligibility.

• The consent of the judicial or child protection authorities, where appropriate.

• The result of an assessment interview, in order to determine the type of program, including the program which allows the mother to raise her child, which the mother would prefer and which would benefit her and ensure participation in the programs agreed upon.

• A commitment on the mother’s part to work as a volunteer at the day care centre should she decide to make use of this service.

• The mother is the person who will establish emergency action plans (the services of a babysitter, for example).

• The mother must be prepared to co-operate with the authorities and to facilitate visits between the child and other significant members of the family, in accordance with the instructions of the judicial or child protection authorities.

• In cases where the mother has withdrawn from the program, readmission of the child to the program will be refused unless the mother has sought to resolve all difficulties that led to the withdrawal.

• A mother convicted of mistreating or neglecting her child shall not be eligible unless she has again obtained her right to custody from the courts, has received treatment or participated in a series of visits with her child.

Eligibility of the child

Among the factors that will be examined, let us mention:

• An assessment of the child’s health.

• The consent of the judicial or child protection authorities, where appropriate.

• Annual or semi-annual assessments of physical and mental health.

• Age to be determined in accordance with "certain" events.1

• Disturbances must be avoided to the greatest possible extent, and the child’s need for stability, according to competent professional workers, the mother and other family members must be taken into account.

• The consent of the child, to the greatest extent possible.

Operationalization

The children will live with their mothers in the facility, in housing provided for and described in the operational plan.

Children who are the subject of joint custody agreements and are staying in a facility on a part-time basis (weekends for example) are taken into consideration on the same basis as those staying in the facility.

The majority of children who have full-time residency are of preschool age (between 0 and 5 years of age).

In the home, the mother is responsible for the child. However, she can benefit from the assistance of other residents (for babysitting, etc.).

During the day, the children will be able to:

• stay with their mother,

• attend the day care centre in the facility,

• or take part in preschool programs in the community.

The nature of the activities shall be determined in accordance with the requirements for participation in this residential program.

The ways in which the child participates in activities are the same as those which exist in the community (medical visits, social, cultural and spiritual events). The children may not move about freely everywhere, and shall always be accompanied by an adult. The children may go to community institutions (health services, recreational services, religious education). Visits to relatives shall be tolerated. When it is possible, mothers will be authorized to accompany their children.

The facility shall offer, on the premises, a child care service run by qualified staff.

2. Part-time or occasional residency of the child

Aim: An aim of this program, but not the only one, is to maintain the mother-child ties established under the program of full-time residency. The program is also designed to respond to emergency situations.

Eligibility criteria for mother and child

The eligibility criteria are the same as in cases of full-time residency.

Part-time residency may be on weekends and holidays, for example.

Occasional residency may take the form of one weekend per month or less, and of one holiday per year.

Operationalization

A program of part-time or occasional residency provides for sleepover visits. Children shall have access to the same facilities as the participants in the full-time program.

3. Regular visits by the child

Aim: To be part of the continuum of normal activities of everyday life.

This component is an option that is added to the program of regular public visits (for example, after school). These visits are not regarded as a privilege that may be refused.

Eligibility criteria: All women are eligible, except women who are refused visiting rights by the judicial or child protection authorities. All the children registered on the women’s visiting list are acceptable.

 

B. Problems Involved

The knowledge that we currently have of what is "truly necessary" for the development of the child is insufficient to allow the establishment of definite criteria in this area. As far as the manner of raising a child is concerned, information on what is desirable varies from one culture to another and even from one era to another within a given culture (Korbin, 1987). Moreover, given individual differences, it is difficult to predict the impact of a given situation on a particular child, and especially to develop generally standards in this regard (Guédon et al. (1989)). The difficulty in defining what is "really good" for the optimal development of the child is a problem with which one must come to terms. Moreover, as revealed by the CRJ (1992), "While the majority of parents may be able to handle their parental role and develop harmonious emotional ties with their children, some can manage to do so only with external help."

However, more can be said about the problem in regard to the prevention aspect. Like a number of prevention programs that already exist in the community, the mission of the mother-child program for federally sentenced women is to foster harmonious development of the child and the mother-child relationship. Despite the fact that this program forms part of the continuity of the role of correctional services, its objective is in fact to foster healthy relationships between mothers and their children, giving priority to the welfare of the children. This objective is already part of the continuity of the role of the prevention programs already existing in the community, and it seems unnecessary for us to reinvent the wheel.

These programs are defined on the basis of the complexity and seriousness of the situation in which the parents find themselves. More specifically, the nature of the services to be offered in this type of program is defined by the seriousness of the psychosocial situation of the mother (mental illness, emotional immaturity, substance abuse, etc.), parental incompetence (ignorance regarding care, particular values), the problems of adapting to the role (depression, rejection of the child, etc.) and the poor quality of the surrounding social environment. The ultimate aim of these programs is to prevent neglect of children.

Unlike the majority of these programs, the mother-child program for FSW has not been defined in terms of these problems. The social and demographic study of the FSW population and the findings of the task force show, however, that federally sentenced women have serious psychological and social problems:

• 52% are serving a sentence of more than 5 years.

• Heavy physical, cognitive, social and emotional needs.

• Precarious family situation (single-parent family, violence, conflict, traumatic events, etc.).

• A history of abuse and neglect.

• Abuse of drugs and/or alcohol.

• Self-mutilation (45% in the course of imprisonment)

• Low level of education (70.5%).

• Problems with employment (62%).

A number of studies, including those of Bouchard (1981, 1991), Biller and Solomon (1986) and Zeller (1987), clearly show the relationships that exist among these characteristics (low level of education, single-parent family, history of abuse and neglect, emotional immaturity, substance abuse, poor quality of the surrounding social environment, etc.), and the risks that mothers and children face in experiencing serious problems of adaptation.

While a certain number of women in the FSW population may have no problem in parenting, others may have little information on child development and exhibit poor parenting skills. Moreover, the social environment itself is one of high risk because those in it are likely to encounter all sorts of problems: stress, tolerance of violence, delinquent attitudes, inappropriate language, presence of drugs and syringes, poor ability to tolerate stress, etc.

In short, it can be said that, in the prison context, mother-child dyads form a clientele that can be described as "at risk". We also know that problems are transmitted from generation to generation, creating lines of individuals who are affected in their development. Moreover, it has been shown that many physical, cognitive, social and emotional problems and needs can interfere with the mother-child relationship.

Furthermore, the personal history of each mother-child dyad will involve particular difficulties and needs, because of a number of factors: the personal circumstances of the mother (her problems, plans for her life, the length of her imprisonment, the issues around her desire to live with her child, her level of parenting skills, etc.); the personal circumstances of the child (the child’s age, placement history, length of separation from the mother, current situation, degree of maturity, etc.). The "life situation" of mother-child dyads in a prison environment will be "unique", as is often the case in a rehabilitation situation (C.R.J. (1992)). Consequently, a number of clinical conditions must be established.

Taking these problems as a whole, we see that the problems of the development of the child and of the mother-child relationship are central to the concerns of researchers and workers in social and community institutions who are dealing with clienteles of "high-risk" mothers. In this regard, a number of types of collaboration among agencies are possible.

Summary

We have identified risk factors that have been associated in the literature with the problems of neglect of children, including emotional neglect. These factors equally concern the parents, the children and the social environment in which the child will develop. We have noted that these risk factors are found among women in the FSW population, 80% of whom are mothers, and in even more acute form in the prison environment. The importance of these factors calls into question the position that advocates setting up a program from a reference point external to this reality (Corin et al. (1986)). It is important that the correctional service be aware that merely "enriching" the environment is not enough to reduce risks.

On the other hand, we have found that there is information to show how well-structured programs can have a preventative effect and allow children developing in "high-risk" environments to remain in them, provided that measures are taken to adjust the behaviour of parents and interventions are made in relation to the environment. These measures are based on the observation that separation of children from their "real family" is likely to have even more negative effects on their psychosocial development, and that the parent-child relationship is of extreme importance in the process of development. Moreover, the stability and the continuity of a significant parental figure are factors that have been identified as major determinants in the life of the child, both for the child’s harmonious development and for his or her equilibrium (Guédon et al (1989)).

In the present context of programs and services dedicated to high-risk mother-child dyads, it has been observed that professional and non-professional workers are increasingly complementing each other’s efforts, and are pooling their knowledge to develop a plan of individualized services. Agencies are working together, both to develop a type of program suited to specific needs, and to train workers. These major findings will now guide us in answering questions specifically relating to the problems of child development in the context of facilities and services for federally sentenced women.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Étude sur le programme mére-enfant

Deuxieme volet : Mise en contexte

A. Le programme mere-enfant proposé dans le plan d'action
B. Problématique

 

A. Le programme mere-enfant proposé dans le plan d'action

Tel que proposé dans le plan de travail projeté, cette section ne présentera pas l'aménagement organisationnel des établissements pour FPPF. Celui-ci est décrit en détail dans l'ébauche no. 4 du plan opérationnel. Il s'agit plutôt ici de présenter sommairement le programme mère-enfant tel qu'il est projeté et décrit dans ce document ainsi que dans celui portant le titre «Examen du travail du sous-comité du CNMO sur les enfants et un plan d'action pour le comité PFPPF» (Mai 1994).

L'aspect opérationnel du programme est présenté ici dans le but d'établir des corrélations avec des paramètres psycho-sociaux et légaux et avec d'autres actions qui se rapprochent des buts projetés par le programme et de faire des suggestions et des propositions qui permettront de minimiser les effets négatifs pouvant découler du contexte propre au milieu carcéral.

Le programme comporte les volets suivants :

1. Séjour à temps plein de l'enfant avec sa mère dans l'établissement.

2. Séjour à temps partiel ou occasionnels de l'enfant dans l'établissement (fins de semaine et jours de congé).

3. Visites de l'enfant dans le cadre des visites publiques et du programme de visites familiales privées à l'établissement.

4. Échanges de visites à l'établissement et à l'extérieur dans le voisinage entre la mère et l'enfant (lorsque l'enfant réside dans un foyer d'accueil ou une maison de placement).

1. Le séjour à temps plein de l'enfant :

But : offrir aux mères l'occasion de satisfaire son rôle de parent quand c'est le meilleur intérêt de l'enfant.

Les critères d'admissibilité de la mère et de l'enfant :

Les critères sont fondés sur les besoins de la mère et de l'enfant.

• La participation au programme est facultative tant pour la mère que pour l'enfant.

• La mère doit avoir un certain degré de responsabilité vis-à-vis de l'enfant (mère biologique, garde légale, permission du tuteur légal, etc.).

• La garde légale de l'enfant ne doit pas faire de problème.

• Les femmes doivent être disposées à prendre soin des enfants 24 heures sur 24 ou à prendre toutes les dispositions nécessaires pour une solution de rechange.

• Le directeur de l'établissement et la mère détermineront ce qui est dans l'intérêt de l'enfant. Ils tiendront compte des points suivants :

• l'existence des liens positifs et stables entre la mère et l'enfant;

• l'évaluation de la santé physique et mentale de la mère, excluant tout handicap. L'utilisation de drogues non prescrites ou d'alcool met fin à l'admissibilité;

• le consentement des autorités judiciaires ou de protection de l'enfance, s'il y a lieu;

• les résultats d'une entrevue d'évaluation afin de déterminer le type de programme, y compris celui qui permet à la mère d'élever son enfant, que la mère préférerait et dont elle pourrait tirer profit et la participation aux programmes convenus;

• un engagement de la mère d'être bénévole à la garderie dans les cas où elle choisira d'utiliser ce service.

• C'est la mère qui établira les plans d'intervention en cas d'urgence (les services d'une gardienne par exemple).

• La mère doit être disposée à collaborer avec les autorités et à faciliter les visites entre l'enfant et d'autres membres importants de la famille, suivant les directives des autorités judiciaires ou de protection de l'enfance.

• Dans les cas où la mère s'est retirée du programme, la réadmission de l'enfant au programme sera refusée à moins que la mère ait cherché à régler toute difficulté à l'origine du retrait.

• Une mère condamnée pour avoir maltraité ou négligé son enfant ne sera pas admissible tant qu'elle n'aura pas obtenu de nouveau des tribunaux son droit de garde, reçu un traitement ou participé à une série de visites avec son enfant.

Admissibilité de l'enfant

Parmi les facteurs qui seront examinés mentionnons :

• une évaluation de la santé de l'enfant;

• le consentement des autorités judiciaires ou de protection de l'enfance, s'il y a lieu;

• des évaluations annuelles ou semi-annuelles de la santé physique et mentale;

• l'âge à déterminer d'après «certains» événements;

• il faut éviter les dérangements dans toute la mesure du possible et tenir compte du besoin de stabilité de l'enfant, d'après les intervenants professionnels compétents, la mère et d'autres membres de la famille;

• le consentement de l'enfant dans toute la mesure du possible.

Opérationnalisation

Les enfants habiteront avec leur mère en établissement dans le contexte des habitations prévues et décrites dans le plan opérationnel.

Les enfants faisant l'objet d'une garde partagée séjournant en établissement à temps partiel (fins de semaine par exemple) sont concernés au même titre que ceux qui séjournent à temps plein.

La majorité des enfants qui participent aux séjours à temps plein seront d'âge pré-scolaire (entre 0 et 5 ans).

A la maison, la mère est responsable de l'enfant. Elle peut néanmoins bénéficier de l'aide des autres résidentes (faire garder, etc.).

Pendant la journée, les enfants pourront soit:

• demeurer avec leur mère

• fréquenter la garderie de l'établissement

• participer à des programmes pré-scolaires au sein de la collectivité

La nature des activités sera déterminée en fonction des exigences de participation à ce programme résidentiel.

Les modalités de participation de l'enfant aux activités sont les mêmes qui existent dans la collectivité (visites médicales, événements sociaux, culturels et spirituels). Les enfants ne peuvent pas circuler librement partout et seront toujours accompagnés par un adulte. Les enfants pourront fréquenter des établissements communautaires (services de santé, de loisirs, enseignement religieux). Les visites dans la parenté seront tolérées. Lorsque cela sera possible, les mères seront autorisées à accompagner leurs enfants.

L'établissement offrira sur place un service de garderie dirigée par du personnel qualifié.

2. Les séjours à temps partiel ou occasionnels de l'enfant

But : Ce programme vise mais non exclusivement à entretenir les liens mère-enfant établis dans le cadre du programme des séjours à temps plein. Il vise aussi à répondre aux situations d'urgence.

Critères d'admissibilité de la mère et de l'enfant

Les critères d'admissibilité sont les mêmes que dans les cas de séjours à temps plein.

Les séjours à temps partiel sont par exemple les fins de semaine et les jours de congé.

Les séjours occasionnels peuvent prendre la forme d'une fin de semaine par mois ou moins, un congé par année.

Opérationnalisation

Le séjour à temps partiel ou occasionnel prévoit des visites avec coucher. Les enfants auront accès aux mêmes installations que les participants au programme à temps plein.

3. Les visites régulières de l'enfant

But : s'inscrire dans la continuité des activités normales de la vie courante.

Il s'agit ici d'une option qui s'ajoute au programme des visites publiques régulières (par exemple, après l'école). Elles ne sont pas considérées comme un privilège qui peut être refusé.

Critères d'admissibilité : toutes les femmes sont admissibles à l'exception de celles qui se voient refuser le droit de visite par les autorités judiciaires ou de protection de l'enfance. Tous les enfants inscrits sur la liste de visite des femmes sont acceptables.

 

B. Problématique

Les connaissances que l'on possède actuellement sur ce qui est "vraiment nécessaire" au développement d'un enfant sont insuffisantes pour permettre l'établissement de critères indiscutables en la matière. Les données concernant ce qui est souhaitable, quant à la façon d'élever un enfant, varient d'une culture à l'autre et même d'une époque à l'autre à l'intérieur d'une même culture. Korbin (1987). Par ailleurs, compte tenu des différences individuelles, il est difficile de prédire l'impact d'une situation donnée sur un enfant donné et, surtout, de formuler des normes générales à cet égard (Guédon et al.(1989)). La difficulté à définir ce qui est "vraiment bon" pour le développement optimal d'un enfant est un problème avec lequel il faut composer. Par ailleurs, tel que relevé par le CRJ (1992), "Si la majorité des parents peuvent faire face à leur rôle parental et développer des liens affectifs harmonieux avec leurs enfants, certains n'y arrivent qu'avec une contribution extérieure".

En revanche, le problème peut être développé au chapitre de la prévention. En effet, à l'instar de plusieurs programmes de prévention qui existent déjà dans la collectivité, la mission du programme mère-enfant pour FPPF est de favoriser le développement harmonieux de l'enfant ainsi que la relation mère-enfant. Malgré le fait que ce programme s'inscrit dans la continuité du rôle des services correctionnels, son objectif est effectivement de favoriser des relations saines entre les mères et leurs enfants en accordant priorité au bien-être des enfants. Cet objectif s'inscrit déjà dans la continuité du rôle des programmes de prévention déjà existants dans la collectivité et il nous semble inutile de réinventer la roue.

Ces programmes se définissent à partir de la complexité et de la gravité de la situation dans laquelle les parents se trouvent. De façon spécifique, ce sont la gravité de la situation psycho-sociale de la mère (maladie mentale, immaturité affective, toxicomanie, etc.), l'incompétence parentale (ignorance des soins, valeurs particulières), les difficultés d'adaptation au rôle (dépression, rejet de l'enfant, etc.) et la piètre qualité du milieu social environnant qui définissent la nature des services à offrir dans ce type de programmes. Leur but ultime: prévenir la négligence à l'égard des enfants.

Contrairement à la majorité de ces programmes, le programme mère-enfant pour FPPF n'a pas été défini en fonction de cette problématique. L'étude socio-démographique des FPPF et les constatations faites par le groupe d'étude démontrent cependant la gravité des problèmes psycho-sociaux des FPPF :

• 52% purgent une peine de plus de 5 ans

• lourdeur des besoins physiques, cognitifs, sociaux et affectifs

• situation familiale précaire (monoparentalité, violence, discorde, événements traumatiques, etc.)

• antécédents de mauvais traitements et de négligence

• consommation abusive de drogue et (ou) d'alcool

• automutilation (45% au cours de l'incarcération)

• faible niveau d'instruction (70.5%)

• problème au niveau de l'emploi (62%).

Plusieurs études, entre autres celles de Bouchard (1981), (1991), Biller et Solomon (1986), Zeller (1987) démontrent clairement la relations entre ces caractéristiques (faible niveau d'instruction, monoparentalité, antécédents d'abus et de négligence, immaturité affective, toxicomanie, piètre qualité du milieu social environnant, etc.) et les risques pour les mères et les enfants de vivre de graves difficultés d'adaptation.

Même si un certain nombre de FPPF peuvent n'avoir aucun problème au chapitre des compétences parentales, plusieurs peuvent n'avoir que peu d'information sur le développement de l'enfant et manifester une faible compétence parentale. Par ailleurs, l'environnement social lui-même est à risque parce que l'on est susceptible de rencontrer toutes sortes de problèmes: stress, tolérance à la violence, attitudes délinquantes, langage inapproprié, présence de drogue, seringue..., faible capacité de support en regard du stress vécu, etc.

En bref, on peut dire que les dyades mère-enfant dans le contexte carcéral forment une clientèle que l'on peut qualifier "à risque". On sait par ailleurs que les problèmes se transmettent de génération en génération créant ainsi des lignées d'individus affectés dans leur développement. En outre, il a été établi que de nombreux problèmes et besoins physiques, cognitifs, sociaux et affectifs peuvent interférer dans la relation mère-enfant.

En outre, l'histoire personnelle de chaque dyade mère-enfant présentera des difficultés et des besoins particuliers en raison de plusieurs facteurs : la situation personnelle de la mère (ses problèmes, son projet de vie, la durée de son incarcération, les enjeux reliés à son désir de cohabiter avec l'enfant, le degré de sa capacité parentale, etc.); la situation personnelle de l'enfant (son âge, ses antécédents de placement, la durée de la séparation avec la mère, sa situation actuelle, son degré de maturité, etc.) La "situation de vie" des dyades mère-enfant en milieu carcéral sera "unique" comme c'est souvent le cas en situation de réadaptation (C.R.J. (1992)). En conséquence, plusieurs conditions d'ordre clinique devront être faites.

Considérant l'ensemble de cette problématique, celles du développement de l'enfant et de la relation mère-enfant se situent à la croisée des préoccupations des intervenants et des chercheurs dans les établissements sociaux et communautaires auprès des clientèles de mères à "haut risque". A ce chapitre, plusieurs types de collaboration inter-organismes sont possibles.

SYNTHESE

Nous avons identifié des facteurs de risques qui ont été associés, dans la littérature, à la problématique de la négligence à l'égard des enfants dont la négligence affective. Ces facteurs concernent tout autant les parents que les enfants et le milieu social dans lequel l'enfant évoluera. Nous avons constaté que ces facteurs de risques se retrouvent chez les FPPF dont 80% sont des mères et dans le milieu carcéral d'une façon plus aiguë encore. Leur importance questionne la position de mettre en place un programme à partir d'un point de référence extérieure à cette réalité (Corin et al (1986)). Il est important que le service correctionnel soit très conscient qu'il ne suffit pas "d'enrichir" le milieu pour diminuer les risques.

En revanche, on a pu constater qu'il existe des données démontrant comment des programmes bien structurés peuvent produire un effet préventif et permettre à l'enfant qui évolue dans des milieux à "haut risque" d'y demeurer avec des mesures d'ajustement des comportements des parents et des interventions sur le milieu. Ces mesures font suite aux constats suivants: que la séparation de l'enfant avec sa "vraie famille" risque d'entraîner des effets encore plus négatifs sur son développement psycho-social et que la relation parent-enfant dans le processus de développement est d'une extrême importance. La stabilité et la continuité d'une figure parentale significative d'autre part sont des éléments qui ont été ciblés comme des déterminants majeurs dans la vie de l'enfant, tant pour son développement harmonieux que pour son équilibre (Guédon et al. (1989))

Dans le contexte actuel des programmes et des services dédiés aux dyades mère-enfant à risques, on a pu constater que les intervenants professionnels et non-professionnels travaillent de plus en plus en complémentarité et associent leur savoir à l'intérieur d'un plan de services individualisés. Des collaborations inter-organismes existent tant pour élaborer un type de programme adapté à des besoins spécifiques que pour former des intervenants. Ces principaux constats maintenant nous serviront de guide pour répondre aux questions spécifiquement reliées à la problématique du développement de l'enfant dans le contexte de l'aménagement et des services pour FPPF.