Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Study of the Mother-Child Program

Part Four: Some Suggestions for Making the Program More Effective

A. Conclusion
B. Collaboration Between Agencies

 

A. Conclusion

The reader will remember that this review of literature was also intended to answer more specific questions. The first question concerns the type of residency to select (full-time or part-time residency). The second question deals with the risks for the child of growing up in an FSW facility, and the means to be proposed to minimize negative impact. To answer these questions, we have tried to go beyond the depiction of the deficits of social life in a correctional facility. We wish to place other concepts at the centre of our discussion.

In the first place, we have seen that today, the mother-child attachment and the impact of that relationship on the psychosocial development of the child are regarded as being of great importance. The concept of stage of development is also at the centre of current discussions. For Cloutier and Renaud (1990), for example, the concept of stage is an invaluable tool for asking questions because it introduces a chronology of acquisitions made by the child. From this perspective, early childhood and the preschool period have been described as "critical" periods for the child, and the authors therefore agree that the stability and continuity of a significant figure are what enable the child to invest in the external world. From another viewpoint, maintaining the child in environments "at risk" with appropriate support measures today seems a valid solution in prevention settings where the physical safety of the child is not threatened (Durand et al (1989)). Finally, we have discovered – and the reader may refer in this regard to the work done by the Rosalie Jetté Centre – that the many physical, cognitive, social and emotional needs interfere with the mother-child relationship. In other words, the quality and stability of the mother-child relationship appears to depend on the way in which the mother and child function and on their "life situation", and it is only through a detailed analysis of these "situations" that it is possible to identify the service delivery modes that are best suited to their needs (type of residency, for example). Because of the complexity of living situations experienced by mothers and children, each mother-child dyad is a unique case. It is thus necessary to evaluate all cases of registration/admission systematically, using recognized assessment tools.

In short, one cannot make assumptions in advance about the appropriateness of one type of accommodation as compared to another, or about the circumstances in which one is preferable to another. Too many factors may interfere with a decision. On the other hand, according to Andrée Fontaine, an educational psychologist at the Rosalie Jetté Centre, the length of the mother’s imprisonment, the age of the child, the child’s placement history, and the existence of serious behaviour problems such as substance abuse, both in the child and in the mother, are important factors that must be weighed in determining the most appropriate form of residency. In some cases, where the complexity and the seriousness of the situation require, occasional stays or regular visits by the child may become the only preventive measures that can be considered in order to maintain the mother-child relationship.

In defining a suitable service plan, the committee responsible for the registration/admission of a mother-child dyad should be guided by the following principles:

Voluntary participation by the mother.

Assessment of the mother’s ability to parent.

• For making this assessment, Magura et Moses (1986) have provided a reliable, valid instrument, the "Child Well-Being Scales". This instrument has been adapted by Laurendeau (1989) and Foucault (1992) in different contexts.

Assessment of the mother-child attachment.

• Q-SORT, produced by Peterson and Moran (1990), is a valid, reliable instrument for assessing maternal behaviour.

Study of the mother’s social network and support network (family or other).

• ASSIS, by Barrera (Arizona Social Support), is a reliable, valid instrument for this purpose. This instrument has been translated and adopted by Lepage (1984).

Account of the life of the child and an assessment of the child’s cognitive, physical, emotional and social capacities.

Biological, psychological and social assessment of the mother’s situation.

• The Rosalie Jetté Centre has valid, suitable tools for this purpose.

Consent of the Director of Youth Protection or of the Youth Court.

Supervised assessment of the mother-child dyad, the duration of which may vary between two and three months.

The objective of the supervised evaluation of the dyad is to allow the child to become gradually familiar correctional services environment, and to maintain the mother-child relationship. During this period, the child should be living outside the facility. This activity could take place within the larger framework of the facility’s child care centre, with educators specially trained for this purpose. If the mother can leave the facility, the assessment could be done in a day centre. In this type of program, the major activities offered are: supervised visits of the mother-child dyad, activities to develop parenting skills, individual follow-up, activities developed in a context of supporting the improvement of the mother-child relationship. This type of activity allows screening and prevention of cases of abuse and neglect.

When the registration/admission process is completed, the committee in charge of that process will be able to decide on the type of residency that would be best, and to draw up a personalized service plan reflecting the specific problems targeted by the assessment process. This personalized service plan should fit into the broader framework of the programs and services offered to the whole group of federally sentenced women.

----------

At this stage, it may be assumed that the majority of mothers will be able to face up to their parental role and to develop harmonious emotional ties with their child, regardless of the type of residency. Certain situations peculiar to the prison environment may, however, cause serious problems for the mother. As is the case in the community, some mothers will succeed in developing their skills only with external help (C.R.J. (1992)). The risk factors that are part of the etiology of neglect are present in this environment in a more acute form (stress, poor social support, tolerance of violence, many social, emotional and cognitive needs, low educational level, etc.). Furthermore, when mothers have, in particular, been made aware of the need to offer high-quality complementary identification models, the surrounding environment may generate stress, causing problems of adaptation for the mothers, and consequently for their children.

The possibility of having the mothers and children all lodged together in one or two houses, rather than being scattered through the whole facility, seems to us to be one of the solutions that could be implemented in order to minimize the negative effects.

Furthermore, like the majority of mothers living in the community, mothers in the FSW population will have to rely upon a significant social support network (family or other) in order to improve their parenting skills, increase their psychological well-being, acquire the knowledge they need to look after their child, and adapt to their situation. As we have noted above, the mothers will have a better chance of adapting more easily if they can rely upon a support network in four specific areas:

• Acquiring the knowledge and skills required to look after a child.

• Validation of the mother’s way of acting with her child.

• Sharing the various emotions they experience, which are sometimes intense and unexpected.

• Access to human and material resources corresponding to their personal situation.(Lepage et Guay (1985)).

Social isolation and ineffective support from the social network, have been associated with a whole set of problems, including emotional neglect of the child. One of the actions that CSC could take to ensure that mothers can rely on a significant support network, and to foster the social integration of the mother and her child, would be to work in a complementary way with non-professional workers who have received training in working with mothers at risk. The actions of these workers can be incorporated into the activities of everyday life, in the form of accompaniment to the doctor, the hospital, a restaurant, a swimming pool or a library. The workers can accompany the mothers in their dealings with relatives, friends, etc.

For reference purposes, let us mention "La fondation de la visite" (the visiting foundation), which has been in existence for seven years. In this program, non-professional workers involved in accompaniment and visiting activities have been trained to invigorate the mother’s support network and to develop the mother’s ability to parent.

These actions would enable clients and CSC to achieve the following:

Clients:

To choose and to develop positive relationships with other mothers in their immediate environment, with relatives, professionals, members of the community network and others.

CSC:

To carry out ongoing needs assessments, to make the necessary adjustments, and to review the service plan on a regular basis.

Assessment and training

Even today, we have few studies on institutional risk factors. As was mentioned in the report of the youth task force, "Un Québec fou de ses enfants" (1991), the existing studies "have little to say about the characteristics of living environments, other than the family, that could add to the development risks for children." Consequently, according to the authors of the report, considerable importance should be attached to evaluating the implementation of programs and impacts, and to acquiring competent staff. The evaluative and training component has been deemed essential to the success of a program. The evaluation also obliges the developers to think seriously about objectives, means and criteria. Training and supervision do indeed ensure the stability of the staff that is hired. The authors also note: "The present tendency to acquire staff solely on the basis of the criterion that they are available and cheap should be seriously reviewed." The individuals involved in intervention with families must have the necessary knowledge and skills. Evaluation and training of competent staff are major factors in ensuring the success of a program (Bouchard et al. (1991)).

In this regard, the Rosalie Jetté Centre is an essential resource for CSC in the field of training and supervision.

Within the context of potential collaboration between agencies, the Rosalie Jetté Centre has targeted three possibilities for collaboration with CSC. We present them here for reference purposes.

 

B. Collaboration Between Agencies

Three possibilities

1. Development of a program and clinical consultation

This possibility proposes that a person from mother and child services be involved in the development of a program adapted to the situation, while taking into account the expertise developed with the clientele.

Context of collaboration:

• clinical consultations through a few meetings (3 ?)

• regular meetings to develop a program (between 3 and 6 months).

2. Implementation and clinical supervision

This possibility complements the first, but remains optional. A worker from mother and child services (probably the same person) would supervise the implementation of the program, train staff in accordance with the objectives of the program, and offer clinical supervision to the person in charge of the project.

Context of collaboration:

• training of clinical staff (to be determined).

3. Carrying out of clinical activities

Through a contractual agreement, an educator would be loaned for the concrete, day-to-day carrying out of the clinical activities. This loan of an educator would have to be determined according to need, on the basis of an experimental project.

The proposed possibilities could be implemented independently or on a complementary basis, on the basis of previously identified needs.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Étude sur le programme mére-enfant

Quatrième volet : Quelques suggestions pour rendre le programme plus efficace

A. Conclusion
B. Collaboration inter-organismes

 

A. Conclusion

Le lecteur se souviendra que la présente revue de littérature voulait aussi répondre à des questions plus spécifiques. La première, porte sur le type d'hébergement à privilégier (hébergement à temps plein ou à temps partiel). La deuxième, portait sur les risques pour l'enfant de grandir dans un établissement pour FPPF et les moyens à proposer pour minimiser les effets négatifs. Pour répondre à ces questions, nous avons voulu dépasser le portrait déficitaire de la vie sociale en milieu carcéral. Ce sont d'autres concepts que nous voulons placer au centre de ce questionnement.

D'abord en premier lieu, on a pu voir l'importance accordée à la théorie de l'attachement mère-enfant aujourd'hui et à l'impact de cette relation sur l'adaptation psycho-sociale de l'enfant. Par ailleurs, la notion de stade de développement est elle aussi au coeur des débats actuels. Ainsi donc, selon Cloutier et Renaud (1990), parce qu'elle introduit une chronologie des acquisitions chez l'enfant, la notion de stade est un instrument précieux pour poser les problèmes. Dans cette perspective, la période de la petite enfance et la période pré-scolaire ayant été qualifiées comme des périodes "critiques" pour l'enfant, les auteurs s'entendent pour dire que c'est la stabilité et la continuité d'une figure significative qui permettront à l'enfant de s'investir au monde extérieur. D'un autre côté, le maintien de l'enfant dans des milieux "à risque" avec de mesures de soutien préventives appropriées apparaissent aujourd'hui comme des solutions valables dans les milieux de prévention lorsque la sécurité physique de l'enfant n'est pas en jeu (Durand et al. (1989). Par ailleurs, nous avons découvert, on peut se référer ici aux travaux réalisés par le Centre Rosalie Jetté, que les nombreux besoins physiques, cognitifs, sociaux et affectifs peuvent interférer dans la relation mère-enfant. En d'autres termes, que la qualité de la relation mère-enfant et sa stabilité seraient la conséquence du mode de fonctionnement de la mère et de l'enfant et de leur "situation de vie" et que seule l'analyse en profondeur de ces "situations" peut permettre de cibler les modalités des dispensation de services les plus appropriés à leurs besoins (type d'hébergement, par exemple). La complexité des situations de vie de la mère et de l'enfant fait de chaque dyade mère-enfant un cas unique d'où la nécessité d'évaluer systématiquement tous les cas d'inscription-admission avec des outils d'évaluation reconnus.

En bref, il est impossible de présumer à l'avance de la pertinence d'un type d'hébergement par rapport à un autre ni dans quel contexte l'un est préférable à l'autre. Trop de facteurs peuvent interférer une décision. Par contre, la durée de l'incarcération de la mère, l'âge de l'enfant, ses antécédents de placement, la présence de problèmes graves de comportement tant chez l'enfant que chez la mère, par exemple la toxicomanie, sont des facteurs importants dont on devra tenir compte dans le choix du type d'hébergement à privilégier selon Andrée Fontaine, psycho-éducatrice au Centre Rosalie Jetté. Les séjours occasionnels ou les visites régulières de l'enfant dans certains cas pourraient devenir les seules mesures préventives pouvant être envisagées dans le but d'entretenir les liens mère-enfant lorsque la complexité et la gravité de la situation l'exigera.

Les principes qui devraient guider le comité responsable d'inscription-admission d'une dyade mère-enfant, dans le but de définir un plan de services adapté:

le volontariat de la mère

une évaluation de sa capacité parentale.

• Il existe un instrument fiable et valide à cet effet, celui de Magura et Moses (1986) "The child-Being Scales" qui a été adapté par Laurendeau (1989) et Foucault (1992) dans différents contextes

une évaluation de l'attachement mère-enfant.

• Il existe aussi un instrument fiable et valide, le Q-SORT des comportements maternels, Peterson et Moran (1990)

une étude du réseau social et du réseau de soutien de la mère (familial ou autre).

• Il existe un instrument fiable et valide le ASSIS de Barrera (Arizona Social Support). Cet instrument a été traduit et adapté par Lepage (1984)

un récit de vie de l'enfant et l'évaluation de ses capacités cognitives, physiques, affectives et sociales

une évaluation bio-psycho-sociale de la situation de la mère.

• A cet effet, le Centre Rosalie Jetté possède des outils adaptés et valides:

le consentement du Directeur de la protection de la jeunesse ou du Tribunal de la jeunesse

une évaluation supervisée de la dyade mère-enfant dont la durée peut varier entre deux et trois mois.

L'objectif de l'évaluation supervisée de la dyade est de permettre à l'enfant de se familiariser progressivement avec le contexte de l'aménagement des services correctionnels et de maintenir le lien mère-enfant. Pendant cette période, l'enfant devrait habiter en dehors de l'établissement. Cette activité pourrait se dérouler dans le cadre plus large de la garderie de l'établissement avec des éducateurs spécialement formés à cet effet. Si la mère peut sortir en dehors de l'établissement, l'évaluation pourrait se faire en centre de jour. Les principales activités qui sont offertes dans ce type de programmes sont: des visites supervisées de la dyade mère-enfant, des activités permettant le développement des capacités parentales, un suivi individuel, des activités élaborées dans un contexte de support à l'amélioration de la relation mère-enfant. Ce type d'activité permet le dépistage et la prévention des cas d'abus et de négligence.

Lorsque le processus d'inscription-admission sera terminé, le comité en charge de ce processus serait en mesure de décider du type d'hébergement à privilégier et d'établir un plan de services personnalisé selon les besoins et les difficultés spécifiques ciblés par le processus d'évaluation. Ce plan de services personnalisé devrait s'inscrire dans le cadre plus large des programmes et services offerts à l'ensemble des FPPF.

---------

A ce stade, on peut présumer que la majorité des mères pourront faire face à leur rôle parental et développer des liens affectifs harmonieux avec leur enfant quel que soit le type d'hébergement. Certaines situations propres au milieu carcéral peuvent cependant provoquer chez la mère de graves difficultés. Comme c'est le cas dans la collectivité, certaines mères n'arriveront à développer leurs compétences qu'avec une aide extérieure (C.R. J. (1992)). Les facteurs de risques qui font partie de l'étiologie de la négligence sont en effet présents et d'une façon encore plus aiguë dans ce milieu (stress, support social de piètre qualité, tolérance à la violence, nombreux besoins socio-affectifs et cognitifs, faible scolarité, etc.). De plus, lorsque les mères auront été sensibilisées entre autres à la nécessité d'offrir des modèles d'identification complémentaires de qualité à leurs enfants, le milieu environnant risque de générer du stress et provoquer des difficultés d'adaptation chez les mères et par voie de conséquence sur les enfants.

La possibilité pour les enfants et leurs mères d'être logés tous ensemble dans une ou deux maisons plutôt que d'être répartis dans tout l'établissement, nous apparaît être une des solutions à mettre en place afin de minimiser ces effets négatifs.

Par ailleurs, comme la majorité des mères vivant dans la collectivité, les mères PPF devront compter sur la présence d'un réseau de support social significatif (familial ou autre) pour améliorer leurs capacités parentales, augmenter leur bien-être psychologique, acquérir les connaissances nécessaires pour prendre soin de leur enfant et s'adapter à leur situation. Comme nous l'avons mentionné précédemment, les mères auront plus de chance de s'adapter plus facilement si elles peuvent compter sur un réseau de soutien qui se manifestera dans quatre domaines spécifiques :

1. acquérir des connaissances et des habilités requises pour prendre soin d'un enfant;

2. validation de leur façon d'agir avec l'enfant;

3. partage d'émotions diverses parfois inattendues et intenses qui les envahissent;

4. accès à des ressources matérielles et humaines répondant à leur situation personnelle (Lepage et Guay (1985)).

L'isolement social ou la piètre efficacité du réseau social en matière de support ont été associés à un ensemble de problématiques dont la négligence affective à l'égard de l'enfant. L'une des mesures que le SCC pourrait prendre pour s'assurer que les mères peuvent compter sur un réseau de support significatif et favoriser la réintégration sociale de la mère et de l'enfant serait de travailler en complémentarité avec des intervenant(e)s non-professionnel(le)s qui ont reçu une formation pour travailler avec des mères à risque. Les actions de ces intervenantes peuvent s'intégrer dans les activités de la vie courante: accompagnement chez le médecin, à l'hôpital, au restaurant, à la piscine, à la bibliothèque. Elles peuvent accompagner les mères dans leur parenté, chez des amis, etc.

A titre de référence, "La fondation de la visite", qui existe depuis 7 ans, a formé des intervenantes non-professionnelles qui travaillent par des activités d'accompagnement et de visite à dynamiser le réseau de soutien de la mère et à développer la compétence parentale.

Ces mesures permettraient:

aux bénéficiaires :

de choisir et de développer des relations positives avec d'autres mères dans leur environnement immédiat, avec des membres de leur parenté, avec des professionnels et des membres du réseau communautaire ou autres.

au SCC :

d'évaluer au fur et à mesure les besoins et de faire les ajustements nécessaires et réviser d'une manière régulière le plan de services.

L'évaluation et la formation

On dispose encore aujourd'hui de peu d'études sur les facteurs de risques institutionnels. Comme le mentionne le rapport du groupe de travail pour les jeunes "Un Québec fou de ses enfants" (1991), les études existantes ne sont cependant "guère éloquentes au sujet des caractéristiques de milieu de vie autres que la famille qui viendraient ajouter aux risques développementaux des enfants". Aussi, selon les auteurs, une grande place devrait être accordée à évaluer la mise en oeuvre des programmes et les impacts et à s'associer un personnel compétent. La composante évaluative et formative a été jugée essentielle à la réussite d'un programme. L'évaluation oblige aussi les promoteurs à s'interroger sérieusement sur les objectifs, sur les moyens et sur les critères. La formation et l'encadrement par ailleurs assurent la stabilité des personnes engagées. "La tendance actuelle à s'associer des personnes à partir du seul critère qu'elles sont disponibles et peu dispendieuses" disent-ils, "devrait être sérieusement revue"... Les personnes engagées dans une action auprès de familles doivent présenter les connaissances et les habiletés nécessaires. L'évaluation et la formation d'un personnel compétent sont des éléments majeurs de réussite d'un programme (Bouchard et al. (1991)).

A cet effet, le Centre Rosalie Jetté constitue dans le domaine de la formation et de l'encadrement une ressource essentielle pour le SCC.

Trois possibilités de collaboration avec le SCC ont été ciblées par le Centre Rosalie Jetté dans le cadre d'une collaboration inter-organismes possible. Nous vous les présentons ici à titre de référence.

 

B. Collaboration inter-organismes

Trois possibilités:

1. Élaboration d'un programme et consultation clinique

Cette possibilité propose qu'une personne des services aux mères et à la petite enfance soit impliquée dans l'élaboration d'un programme adapté à la situation, tout en tenant compte de l'expertise développée auprès de la clientèle.

Contexte de collaboration:

• consultations cliniques par quelques rencontres ou 3 rencontres)

• rencontres régulières pour élaborer un programme (entre 3 mois à 6 mois)

2. Implantation et supervision clinique

Cette possibilité de collaboration est complémentaire à la première possibilité mais demeure facultative. Une intervenante des services (probablement la même) supervise l'implantation du programme, forme le personnel en fonction des objectifs du programme et offre de la supervision clinique au responsable du projet.

Contexte de collaboration:

• formation du personnel clinique (à déterminer)

3. Réalisation des activités cliniques

Par une entente contractuelle, une éducatrice serait prêtée pour la réalisation concrète, dans le quotidien, des activités cliniques. Sur une base de projet expérimental, ce prêt d'éducateur serait à déterminer selon les besoins.

Les possibilités proposées peuvent être réalisées de façon indépendante ou en complémentarité, selon les besoins préalablement identifiés.