Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Exemplary Community Programs For Federally Sentenced Women : A Literature Review

Profile Of The Female Offender

Recent statistics document that 321 federally sentenced women are on supervised release in the community comprising approximately half of all FSW at any given time (FSWP, 1995). A further 322 women are currently serving federal sentences within Canadian institutions totalling approximately 2% of the total federal offender population (FSWP, 1995). More than half of these women are housed at Canada's only federal female prison, the Kingston Penitentiary For Women (P4W) while the others are able to complete their sentences at provincial institutions based upon Exchange of Service Agreements between the federal and provincial governments. These arrangements enable women to serve their sentences closer to home thus allowing more frequent contact with family. As well, it is surmised that arrangements for community involvement can be utilized by the women more efficiently should they be able to establish contacts in their hometowns while incarcerated. However, the reality may be that women have less access to resources while incarcerated in provincial institutions than at P4W. Programs and services available to FSW within provincial facilities are often limited compared to those offered at P4W, a dilemma which must be weighted against the benefit of having frequent familial contact. As one Aboriginal parolee stated "I only stayed there [at a provincial institution] because family ties were important to me. But there were no programs for someone serving a long term. I don't think I should have been forced to choose between a prison life and my life outside" (Task Force on FSW, 1990:7).

Slightly more than half of all federally sentenced women are between the ages of 20 and 34 years (50.2%) and most are single (67.8%) (Canada, 1993:17). They typically originate from socially disadvantaged backgrounds, particularly Aboriginal women (Task Force on FSW, 1990:41). Concurrently, FSW experience high incidences of substance abuse, attain low levels of education and possess few marketable skills. Seventy percent of the women have, at most, some high school education (CSC pamphlet).

Just over 83% of FSW are serving sentences for their first time having been overlooked for community-based alternatives to incarceration (CSC pamphlet). This is in spite of the fact that women are generally not seen as posing a danger or risk to society. There is a modest number of women who commit violent offenses in Canada; most women who commit murder do so in the context of a domestic situation (Hatch & Faith, 1989-90:436) and are unlikely to be charged with subsequent violent offenses (Shaw et al., 1991b:21). Women tend to turn their anger and frustration inward rather than projecting violence onto others (Gavigan, 1993:228). Nevertheless, women are repeatedly denied the option of alternative measures to imprisonment. In a survey conducted by the Probation Inspectorate (1991), women were found to disproportionately receive short custodial sentences for the same offenses that men were granted community-based alternatives (NACRO, 1993:4). Windschuttle suggests that because women breach the traditional female role by committing crimes which are typically viewed as masculine behaviour, they are treated more disparately by the criminal justice system than their male counterparts (1981:33).

As with the aboriginal population as a whole, Native women are over-represented within the female prison population, comprising nearly 17% of women serving prison sentences (Canada, 1993:19). This is compared to a national total which figures Canada's entire Native population at approximately 3% (Statistics Canada, 1991). The Prairie provinces in particular tend to have an overwhelming number of Native people convicted of criminal offenses. In 1992-93, for example, Native women comprised 55.8% of the female offender population (Canada, 1993:20).

While the population of federally sentenced women is notably low, their need for programs and services remains essential. Several research studies have been completed to address the issues surrounding female criminality which identify the risks and needs of female offenders.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Programmes communautaires exemplaires à l’intention des femmes purgeant une peine fédérale : Analyse documentaire

Profil de la délinquante

Selon des statistiques récentes, 321 femmes purgeant une peine fédérale sont en liberté surveillée dans la collectivité, soit environ la moitié de toutes les délinquantes sous responsabilité fédérale à un moment donné (PFPPF, 1995). En effet, 322 femmes sont incarcérées dans des établissements fédéraux, ce qui correspond à environ 2 % de l’ensemble de la population carcérale sous responsabilité fédérale (PFPPF, 1995). Plus de la moitié de ces femmes sont incarcérées dans le seul établissement fédéral pour femmes, c’est-à-dire la Prison des femmes de Kingston, tandis que les autres purgent leur peine dans des établissements provinciaux, aux termes d’accords d’échange de services conclus entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces. Ces accords permettent aux femmes de purger leur peine dans un établissement plus proche de leur domicile et par conséquent d’entretenir des rapports plus fréquents avec leur famille. On suppose également que les femmes profiteront davantage des dispositions favorisant une participation à la vie communautaire si elles peuvent établir des contacts dans leur ville d’origine pendant leur incarcération. Mais le fait est que les femmes incarcérées dans des établissements provinciaux ont peut-être accès à moins de ressources que celles qui se trouvent à la Prison des femmes. Les programmes et services offerts aux femmes dans des établissements provinciaux sont souvent plus restreints que ceux de la Prison des femmes, ce qui doit être mis en balance avec les avantages qu’il y a à entretenir des contacts fréquents avec la famille. Comme une libérée conditionnelle autochtone l’a déclaré : « Je suis restée là [à la prison provinciale] seulement parce que je tenais à mes liens avec ma famille. Mais il n’y avait aucun programme pour quelqu’un qui purgeait une longue peine. Je pense qu’on n’aurait pas dû me forcer à choisir entre la vie en prison et ma vie à l’extérieur » (Groupe d’étude sur les femmes purgeant une peine fédérale, 1990, p. 8).

Un peu plus de la moitié (50,2 %) des femmes purgeant une peine fédérale sont âgées de 20 à 34 ans et la plupart (67,8 %) sont célibataires (Canada, 1993, p. 17). Ces femmes, surtout les Autochtones, viennent ordinairement de milieux socialement défavorisés (Groupe d’étude sur les FPPF, 1990, p. 41). De plus, les FPPF ont un taux élevé de toxicomanie, un faible niveau de scolarisation et possèdent peu de compétences monnayables. Soixante-dix pour cent d’entre elles ont au plus fait des études secondaires partielles (brochure du SCC).

Un peu plus de 83 % des FPPF sont incarcérées pour la première fois, et l’on n’a pas envisagé de recourir, dans leur cas, à des solutions de rechange à l’incarcération (brochure du SCC), même si les femmes ne sont généralement pas considérées comme présentant un danger ou un risque pour la société. Un petit nombre de femmes commettent des infractions avec violence au Canada; la plupart de celles qui commettent un meurtre le font dans un contexte familial (Hatch et Faith, 1989-1990, p. 436) et sont peu susceptibles d’être accusées dans l’avenir d’autres infractions avec violence (Shaw et coll., 1991b, p. 21). Les femmes tendent à intérioriser leur colère et leur frustration plutôt que d’exprimer ces sentiments par des actes de violence contre autrui (Gavigan, 1993, p. 228). Néanmoins, on refuse systématiquement aux femmes la possibilité de mesures de rechange à l’incarcération. Une enquête réalisée par le Probation Inspectorate (1991) a révélé que les femmes étaient condamnées de façon disproportionnée à de courtes peines de détention pour des infractions qui entraînaient, dans le cas des hommes, des sanctions communautaires (NACRO, 1993, p. 4). Selon Windschuttle, parce qu’elles vont à l’encontre de leur rôle traditionnel en commettant des crimes, ce qui est ordinairement considéré comme un comportement typiquement masculin, les femmes sont traitées plus sévèrement que les hommes par le système de justice pénal (1981, p. 33).

Comme les Autochtones en général dans l’ensemble de la population carcérale, les femmes autochtones sont surreprésentées au sein de la population carcérale féminine, dont elles forment près de 17 % (Canada, 1993, p. 19). Rappelons que les Autochtones forment environ 3 % de la population du Canada (Statistique Canada, 1991). Dans les provinces des Prairies, surtout, un nombre exceptionnel d’Autochtones sont reconnus coupables d’infractions criminelles : en 1992-1993, par exemple, 55,8 % des délinquantes étaient des Autochtones (Canada, 1993, p. 20).

Bien que leur nombre soit relativement faible, les femmes purgeant une peine fédérale ont un grand besoin de programmes et de services. Plusieurs recherches menées sur différents aspects de la criminalité féminine ont permis de cerner les risques et les besoins des délinquantes.