Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Exemplary Community Programs For Federally Sentenced Women : A Literature Review

Criteria For Effective Programming For FSW

1. Women-Centred Principles
2. Principles of Women's Education
3. Diversity
4. Analytical Approach
5. Program Structure
6. Program Success

 

CSC (1994b) proposes a further six components which are recommended for the implementation of correctional programs for federally sentenced women (8-12). It is recommended that these principles be the guidelines for any type of program for FSW, including community-based models:

 

1. Women-Centred Principles

Top of page

Programs must take into account the social, political and economic contexts of women's lives and reflect individual needs in relation to the world in which women live. Programs are based upon a collective approach rather than a hierarchal model in order to reduce potential power imbalances between participants and the facilitator. Women are regarded as experts on their individual life experiences and treated with respect. The survival strengths within each women is focused upon in order to promote empowerment and effect change. Interactions between the women and the facilitator are regarded as most constructive when they are empathetic, accepting, supportive, encouraging, challenging and non-confrontational. Women are encouraged to listen and learn from one another and to build trusting relationships.

 

2. Principles of Women's Education

Top of page

As women tend to learn best by interacting with others and building relationships, programs should reflect a model of shared learning. However, a variety of delivery techniques, such as videos, role playing, or artistic work need to be employed in order to address individual learning styles. The benefit of humour is another technique often useful to promote a safe, supportive learning environment. Facilitators also need to acknowledge that they become role models for participants and therefore need to be observant of their own behaviour.

 

3. Diversity

Top of page

Program participants come with diverse and multifaceted backgrounds which must be reflected in the availability of programs and acknowledged in their delivery. Issues of power inequalities such as race, class, and sexual orientation must be regarded with a sense of understanding.

 

4. Analytical Approach

Top of page

Women should be encouraged to develop and use problem-solving skills, examine there own and others' value systems, to think critically and creatively, and to learn and practice appropriate social skills.

 

5. Program Structure

Top of page

Facilitators should receive adequate training in order to understand the purpose and design of programs. Programs must be made accessible to women and be flexible to meet their individualized needs, and provide sufficient opportunity for progress and healing.

 

6. Program Success

Top of page

Programs need to establish assessment criteria in order to determine whether a specific service is sufficient to address a potential client's needs. Once groups are formulated, rules must be agreed upon which adhere to feminist principles. In order to ensure that needs are adequately met, programs further require on-going monitoring by CSC, reporting between facilitators and CSC, and evaluation.

CSC (1994b) developed the preceding paradigm in order to respond to the distinct needs of FSW. Four concerns commonly identified by female offenders to be areas of need were identified and the development of specific programs to address these demands were recommended:

1. abuse/trauma issues

2. education and employment skills

3. substance abuse

4. parenting

In the review of literature, CSC (1994b) found that criminality among women is greatly influenced by their past and present life circumstances. In order to adequately address these issues, the literature recommends that programs designed for female offenders should employ a holistic and multi-dimensional approach to treatment rather than focusing on one problematic area. It is from this perspective, combined with the principles drafted by The Task Force on Federally Sentenced Women, that a review of exemplary programs was undertaken. It is evident that little is available which adheres to the model prescribed while thoroughly attending to the needs of female offenders.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Programmes communautaires exemplaires à l’intention des femmes purgeant une peine fédérale : Analyse documentaire

Critères d’établissement de programmes efficaces à l’intention des FPPF

1. Principes axés sur les femmes
2. Principes de l’éducation des femmes
3. Diversité
4. Approche analytique
5. Structure des programmes
6. Réussite des programmes

 

Le SCC (1994b) propose six autres composantes, qui sont recommandées pour mettre en oeuvre des programmes correctionnels à l’intention des femmes purgeant une peine fédérale (p. 9-14). Il recommande que ces principes servent de lignes de conduite pour tout type de programme destiné aux femmes purgeant une peine fédérale, y compris les programmes communautaires :

 

1. Principes axés sur les femmes

Haut de la page

Les programmes doivent faire entrer en ligne de compte les contextes social, politique et économique de la vie des femmes et répondre à leurs besoins particuliers dans le monde où elles vivent. Les programmes sont basés sur une démarche collective plutôt que sur un modèle hiérarchique afin de réduire les déséquilibres de forces entre les participantes et l’animateur ou l’animatrice. Les femmes sont considérées comme des expertes en ce qui concerne leur vécu personnel et traitées avec respect. Pour amener les femmes à découvrir leur pouvoir de contrôler leur vie et à effectuer des changements, on met l’accent sur la capacité de survie de chaque femme. Pour être constructives, les interactions entre les femmes et l’animatrice doivent être basées sur l’empathie, l’acceptation, l’appui, l’encouragement et le dépassement de soi plutôt que sur l’affrontement. On encourage les femmes à s’écouter mutuellement, à apprendre les unes des autres et à nouer des relations de confiance.

 

2. Principes de l’éducation des femmes

Haut de la page

Étant donné que le mode d’apprentissage des femmes tend à être basé sur l’interaction et sur la création de liens, les programmes doivent suivre un modèle d’apprentissage en commun. Mais il faut aussi recourir à diverses techniques, comme les enregistrements vidéo, les jeux de rôles ou les travaux artistiques, pour tenir compte des styles d’apprentissage individuels. L’humour est un autre moyen souvent employé pour créer un milieu d’apprentissage dans lequel les participantes se sentent appuyées et en sécurité. Les animatrices doivent aussi être conscientes qu’elles deviennent des modèles de comportement pour les participantes et elles doivent par conséquent être attentives à leur propre comportement.

 

3. Diversité

Haut de la page

Les programmes offerts et les méthodes de prestation choisies doivent refléter la diversité des milieux dont viennent les participantes. Il faut faire preuve de compréhension en ce qui concerne les facteurs qui contribuent au déséquilibre de pouvoirs, comme l’origine raciale, la classe et l’orientation sexuelle.

 

4. Approche analytique

Haut de la page

Il faut encourager les femmes à acquérir et appliquer des techniques de résolution de problèmes, à examiner leur système de valeurs et ceux des autres, à réfléchir de façon objective et créative, ainsi qu’à acquérir et à mettre en pratique les compétences sociales requises.

 

5. Structure des programmes

Haut de la page

Les animatrices doivent recevoir une formation leur permettant de comprendre le but et la structure des programmes. Ceux-ci doivent être accessibles et assez souples pour répondre aux besoins particuliers des femmes, et doivent les aider à faire des progrès et à guérir.

 

6. Réussite des programmes

Haut de la page

Il faut établir des critères d’évaluation de programmes afin de déterminer si un programme donné suffit à répondre aux besoins d’une cliente éventuelle. Une fois les groupes constitués, ils doivent s’entendre sur des règles conformes aux principes du féminisme. Pour veiller à ce que les programmes satisfassent aux besoins des participantes, le SCC doit constamment suivre ceux-ci, favoriser un échange de rapports entre les animatrices et le SCC, et faire une évaluation.

Le SCC (1994b) a élaboré ce modèle pour répondre aux besoins particuliers des FPPF. Il a cerné quatre secteurs de besoins correspondant aux préoccupations couramment exprimées par les délinquantes, et recommandé l’élaboration de programmes pour y répondre :

1. violence et traumatismes;

2. éducation et formation professionnelle;

3. toxicomanie;

4. compétences parentales.

Une analyse des recherches a amené le SCC (1994b) à conclure que la criminalité chez les femmes dépendait largement des circonstances passées et actuelles. Pour répondre aux besoins, les auteurs de recherches recommandent que les programmes conçus à l’intention des délinquantes reflètent une approche holistique et multidimensionnelle du traitement plutôt que d’être axés sur un problème particulier. C’est dans cette optique et à la lumière des principes énoncés par le Groupe d’étude sur les femmes purgeant une peine fédérale que l’examen des programmes exemplaires a été entrepris. Il n’existe manifestement pas beaucoup de programmes qui sont conformes au modèle prescrit tout en répondant aux besoins des délinquantes.