Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Federally Sentenced Women On Conditional Release: A Survey Of Community Supervisors

Supervision Status

Current Caseload

Supervisors were asked how many FSW they were currently supervising. There were 118 FSW being supervised, however 3 respondants did not respond to this question. These three respondents would presumably account for the "missing" 8 FSW that are reported on in other areas of this document.

DIRECT SUPERVISION

The number of FSW supervised by one supervisor ranged from 1 to 19. Most supervisors were directly supervising one FSW (n=36) or two FSW (n=10). The average number of FSW being directly supervised by one supervisor is 2. Regional trends are not significantly different and can be noted in Appendix C.

# of FSW/caseload (direct) # who have this many FSW on their caseload Subtotal of FSW
1 FSW 36 36
2 FSW 10 20
3 FSW 7 21
4 FSW 1 4
5 FSW 2 10
6 FSW 1 6
8 FSW 1 8
19 FSW 1 19
No Response 3 .
Total # FSW currently supervised
118

INDIRECT SUPERVISION

Supervisors were also questioned regarding the number of FSW they were indirectly supervising. Indirect supervision means that the FSW is not reporting directly to this particular supervisor, but would be reporting to an agency worker such as an Elizabeth Fry employee. Only six women in the community at the time of the survey were currently being indirectly supervised. Regional trends are provided in Appendix C.

# of FSW/caseload (indirect) Number who have this many FSW on their caseload Subtotal of FSW
None 60 0
1 FSW 1 1
5 FSW 1 5
Total # FSW currently supervised
6

Caseload: Past Three Years

DIRECT SUPERVISION

Caseloads have averaged from 1 to 24 FSW per supervisor over the past three years. The average number of FSW per caseload was 5. Most supervisors were managing 1 (n=21) or 2 (n=11) women. There have been 194 FSW directly supervised by those surveyed in the past three years. Note Appendix D for further clarification according to region.

Number of FSW/Caseload (direct) Number who have this many FSW on their caseload Subtotal of FSW
1 FSW 21 21
2 FSW 11 22
3 FSW 9 27
4 FSW 4 16
5 FSW 4 20
6 FSW 3 18
7 FSW 1 7
8 FSW 2 16
10 FSW 2 20
24 FSW 1 24
No Response 3 3
TOTAL # FSW
194

INDIRECT SUPERVISION

Fifty FSW have been indirectly supervised in the community over the past three years. The majority of supervisors have not indirectly supervised a FSW.

Number of FSW/Caseload (indirect) Number who have this many women on their caseload Subtotal of FSW
None 54 0
1 FSW 3 3
3 FSW 1 3
4 FSW 1 4
5 FSW 1 5
35 FSW 1 35
TOTAL # FSW SUPERVISED OVER THE PAST THREE YEARS
50

Proportion Of FSW On Caseloads

Supervisors were asked what proportion of their total caseload (men and women) currently included FSW cases. The Prairies reported the largest proportion of FSW on their caseload (23%). Quebec and Ontario had comparable proportions of women on their caseload with 19% and 18% respectively. The Pacific had 12% of their caseload occupied with FSW, and the Atlantic Region report 8%. On average, 16% of caseloads across the country are FSW.

REGION % OF CASELOAD THAT ARE FSW
Prairies 23
Quebec 19
Ontario 18
Pacific 12
Atlantic 8

Risk Levels

Some offenders when released into the community are more likely than others to re-offend. Those individuals who are considered to be more likely to commit a crime again are considered "higher risk" for re-offending. This does not mean that if an individual committed a violent offense in the past they are automatically at a high risk for re-offending. There are other characteristics and situational factors that should be considered before assessing an individual as high or low risk.

Supervisors were asked what they felt was the overall level of risk this client presented to the community. The majority of FSW in the community (92%) were considered as being medium or low risk for re-offending. Only 8% were considered "high" risk.

Undisplayed Graphic

Higher risk cases required more supervision time (p=.000). Also, a client who required more time to be supervised was more likely to have more scheduled visits. Those who required more supervision time got more visits, but not longer ones. This may seem intuitively obvious, however, it is not always the case that those clients who require more time actually receive more services.

There was no relationship between risk levels of the FSW and where meetings with their supervisor took place, the nature of the index crime (violent vs. non-violent), being a primary caregiver, marital status, employment situation, release type, location of residence or region.

Risk Assessment

There were several options by which the supervisor could assess the risk level of their client. They were asked to rank the top three "methods" by which they were making this "classification". The overwhelming majority of the supervisors based their decisions on subjective measures such as the women's attitude, her reintegration potential into the community and the level of commitment that the supervisor felt the FSW was exuding. Interestingly, objective risk assessment measures were used only 7% of the time to formulate judgments concerning risk levels of the FSW in the community.

Basis for Decision % used this "Method"
Overall attitude 26
Ability to Reintegrate 24
Level of Commitment 21
Behavior in Program 10
Behavior in Residence 8
Objective risk assessments 7
Prior Criminal Record 2
Length of Time in the Community 1
Health/Psychological Status <1
Available Support System for FSW in community. <1

Needs Level

When Federally Sentenced Women are released to the community they are sometimes in need of direct intervention through appropriate services to deal with problems that they are experiencing in their life. Thirty three percent of the women surveyed were classified as having high needs. Sixty eight percent had average to low needs levels.

Undisplayed Graphic

There was a significant association between financial assistance (p<.01), level of education (p<.05), employment status (p<.05), level of risk (p=.000) and amount of supervision time (p=.000). That is women with higher needs had less education, were more likely to be unemployed, received financial assistance, were assessed as a higher level of risk and required more time to supervise. There was no relationship with their marital status and having responsibility for children.

Information Received Prior To Release

Supervisors were asked to rate how accurate they felt the information was which they received prior to the FSW's release into the community, e.g., progress reports, assessments. Eighty five percent of those surveyed felt the information they received prior to the FSW release was accurate. Only five percent thought it to be inaccurate.

Undisplayed Graphic

Supervision Time

Time spent out in the community by FSW ranged from less than one month to over three years at the time of the survey. The slight majority of women had been out in the community for less than six months (52%). There was a somewhat even dispersion of FSW having been in the community from six months to over three years.

MONTHS OUT ON SUPERVISION PERCENT OF FSW
< 1 month 3
1 - 2 months 25
3 - 4 months 14
5 - 6 months 10
7 - 10 months 12
11 - 12 months 5
13 - 18 months 9
19 - 24 months 10
25 - 36 months 7
+ 36 months 5

Those women who were in the community for a shorter period of time required more visits with their supervisor, but not for longer periods of time. However, FSW in the community for less than six months were reported as requiring more time overall in their supervision than the average client in their caseload. There was no relationship between time out and level of risk/need of the FSW.

Undisplayed Graphic

Length Of Meetings

Most (65%) of the meetings between supervisors and FSW last between 15 and 45 minutes. Meetings ranged from as short as 15 minutes to between 1 to 2 hours.

There are significant differences among regions regarding the length of meetings. Ontario and the Prairies are generally keeping their meetings between 15 and 45 minutes, the other areas seem to vary more in time spent in the meetings.

Meeting length are not related to the need or risk level of the client. This would be disconcerting when one considers the "risk/need principle" as clients with higher risk/needs should receive more intensive services than those who are lower risk/needs. It is noted, however, in other analysis that the client may be receiving the appropriate intensity of services by receiving more visits (p=.000) instead of longer visits.

Undisplayed Graphic

Interestingly enough, meeting length is highly significant with where the meeting takes place (p=.000). In public places or in the client's home, meetings tend to be 45 minutes and longer; in the work place, they are shorter lasting between 15 and 45 minutes, while telephone "visits" are always under 15 minutes.

Number Of Meetings

The majority (59%) of the FSW are seen by their supervisor 2 or fewer times per month. Those clients assessed to have a higher risk (p<.01) and needs (p<.001) level are more frequently seen.

Undisplayed Graphic

Location Of Meetings

The majority of visits are taking place either at the supervisor's place of employment (34%) or at the client's home (38%). A substantial number (23%) of the sample are meeting at various locations, while very few (<5%) are meeting at the client's work place, a public place or on the phone. There are no statistical differences among regions regarding the location of the visits.

Undisplayed Graphic

Topics For Discussion

Topics discussed at monthly visits vary tremendously. The one topic that continues to be the most important, however, is that of social adjustment (26%).

Social adjustment includes relationship issues, emotional state, coping with stress, future goals/plans, and finding support in the community. Note the category "quiet" in the graph below indicates the FSW is quiet in the meeting and does not initiate discussion regarding any topic.

Undisplayed Graphic

There appears to be a relationship between topics discussed and the level of need of the FSW (p<.05). Those individuals classified with higher needs tended to discuss alcohol/substance abuse issues and social adjustment the most, while "average" needs level clients centered more on social adjustment and lower needs level individuals talked about employment issues. This may be a significant reminder that when implementing and offering programs, different services may be more pertinent to different needs levels than others. There was no association between risk level and topics discussed at meetings.

Assistance From Supervisors

Supervisors were asked what assistance they have provided for the FSW in the community. It was not clear if this question was fully understood, therefore, results from this question should be interpreted with caution. Note: an individual could receive assistance in more than one area (see table below).

Sixty percent of FSW in the community required assistance with coping with daily demands/stresses. There was no relationship between those who required assistance with adapting with the daily demands of life and being a primary caregiver, marital status, receiving financial assistance, employment status. There was, however, a significant association with the level of need (p<.01) and assessed risk level (p<.05).

Area of Assistance % who received assistance
Daily Demands 60
Employment 48
Referral to program not part of release 44
Finance 43
Housing 28
Referral to Social Worker 27
Health/Fitness 23
Legal 21
Child care 21

Forty eight percent of the women surveyed required help with employment issues. There was no association with those requiring employment assistance and need level, risk level, location of residence, education completed, marital status or being a primary caregiver. Not surprisingly, there was a relationship with their employment status (p<.05).

Twenty one (21%) percent of the sample received assistance with child care demands. Child care assistance was significantly associated with being a primary caregiver (p<.001), level of need (p<.001), level of risk (p<.001), region (p<.05), assistance with finances (p<.05) and employment (p<.05).

Forty three percent of the women needed help regarding financial assistance. This was independent of region, marital status, caregiver status, needs level and assessed risk.

Twenty eight percent received help from their supervisor regarding housing assistance. This was not related to region, marital status, caregiver status, level of needs or risk, or accommodations where the FSW was residing at the time.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Femmes purgeant une peine fédérale en liberté sous condition : Sondage auprès des responsables de la surveillance communautaire

Données concernant la surveillance

Cas actifs

On a demandé aux surveillants d’indiquer combien de FPPF étaient directement sous leur surveillance au moment du sondage. Après compilation des réponses, nous avons constaté qu’il y en avait 118, soit 8 de moins que ce qui est mentionné ailleurs dans le présent document. Un tel écart tient probablement au fait que trois surveillants n’ont pas répondu à cette question.

SURVEILLANCE DIRECTE

Le nombre de FPPF surveillées par un même responsable pouvait aller de 1 à 19. La plupart des surveillants devaient s’occuper directement d’une FPPF (n=36) ou de deux FPPF (n=10). En moyenne, chaque surveillant était directement responsable de deux FPPF. Comme on le verra à l’Annexe C, il n’y a pas à cet égard de différence significative entre les régions.

N. de cas attribués (surveillance directe) N. de surveillants Sous-total de FPPF
1 FPPF 36 36
2 FPPF 10 20
3 FPPF 7 21
4 FPPF 1 4
5 FPPF 2 10
6 FPPF 1 6
8 FPPF 1 8
19 FPPF 1 19
Pas de réponse 3 .
N. total de FPPF actuellement

sous surveillance directe


118

SURVEILLANCE INDIRECTE

On a également demandé aux surveillants d’indiquer le nombre de FPPF dont ils étaient indirectement responsables. On parle de surveillance indirecte, quand la FPPF ne relève pas directement du surveillant en question, mais d’un agent travaillant pour le compte d’un organisme, comme la Société Elizabeth Fry, par exemple. Au moment du sondage, seulement six FPPF dans la collectivité étaient sous surveillance indirecte. On trouvera à l’Annexe C la répartition des cas attribués par région.

N. de cas attribués (surveillance indirecte) N. de surveillants Sous-total de FPPF
Aucune 60 0
1 FPPF 1 1
5 FPPF 1 5
N. total de FPPF sous surveillance indirecte
6

Cas attribués (trois dernières années)

SURVEILLANCE DIRECTE

Au cours des trois dernières années, chaque surveillant s’est vu attribuer un nombre de cas pouvant aller de 1 à 24. Chaque surveillant a été responsable en moyenne de 5 cas. La plupart des surveillants s’occupaient de 1 (n=21) ou de 2 (n=11) femmes. Au total, les personnes qui ont répondu au questionnaire avaient surveillé 194 FPPF depuis trois ans. Voir l’Annexe D pour les données par région.

N. de cas attribués (surveillance directe) N. de surveillants Sous-total de FPPF
1 FPPF 21 21
2 FPPF 11 22
3 FPPF 9 27
4 FPPF 4 16
5 FPPF 4 20
6 FPPF 3 18
7 FPPF 1 7
8 FPPF 2 16
10 FPPF 2 20
24 FPPF 1 24
Pas de réponse 3 3
N. TOTAL DE FPPF
194

SURVEILLANCE INDIRECTE

Sept FPPF ont été indirectement surveillées dans la collectivité au cours des trois dernières années. La plupart des surveillants n’ont été indirectement responsables d’aucune FPPF.

N. de cas attribués (surveillance indirecte) N. de surveillants Sous-total de FPPF
Aucune 54 0
1 FPPF 3 3
3 FPPF 1 1
4 FPPF 1 1
5 FPPF 1 1
35 FPPF 1 1
NOMBRE TOTAL DE FPPF
7

Proportion de FPPF par rapport au nombre total de cas attribués

On a demandé aux surveillants de nous dire quelle proportion de l’ensemble des cas (hommes et femmes) dont ils étaient actuellement responsables étaient des femmes. C’est dans la région des Prairies que cette proportion était la plus élevée (23 %). Le Québec et l’Ontario comptaient sensiblement la même proportion de femmes (respectivement 19 % et 18 %). La région du Pacifique avait une proportion de FPPF de 12 %, tandis que dans l’Atlantique cette proportion était de 8 %. Pour l’ensemble du Canada, les femmes comptaient pour 16 % du nombre total de cas attribués.

RÉGION POURCENTAGE DE FPPF SUR L’ENSEMBLE DES CAS ATTRIBUÉS
Prairies 23
Québec 19
Ontario 18
Pacifique 12
Atlantique 8

Niveau de risque

Certaines délinquantes risquent plus que d’autres de récidiver une fois en liberté conditionnelle. Celles qui sont ainsi davantage exposées à commettre un autre crime sont considérées comme des personnes à risque élevé de récidive. Cela ne veut pas dire que toutes celles qui ont commis un crime avec violence par le passé présentent automatiquement un risque élevé de récidive. D’autres caractéristiques et d’autres facteurs situationnels devraient être pris en compte lorsqu’on évalue le risque de récidive d’une personne.

On a demandé aux surveillants quel était, à leur avis, le degré de risque que présentait leur cliente. La majorité (92 %) des FPPF dans la collectivité présentaient à leur avis un risque moyen ou faible de récidive. Seulement 8 % des FPPF étaient considérées à risque « élevé ».

Undisplayed Graphic

Les cas à risque élevé exigeaient plus de temps de surveillance (p=.000) et, partant, un plus grand nombre de rencontres. Une cliente qui demandait plus de temps de surveillance était effectivement rencontrée plus souvent, mais pas nécessairement plus longtemps à chaque rencontre. On s’attendrait d’emblée que les clientes qui requièrent plus de temps de surveillance obtiennent plus de soutien, mais ce n’est pas toujours le cas.

Le degré de risque que présentait une FPPF n’avait pas de lien avec l’endroit où se tenaient les rencontres avec son surveillant, ni avec la nature du crime répertorié (avec ou sans violence), ni avec le fait qu’elle était ou non première responsable de la garde d’enfants, ou qu’elle avait ou non un conjoint ou un emploi, ni avec le type de mise en liberté qu’elle avait obtenue, ni avec son lieu ou sa région de résidence.

Évaluation du risque

Les surveillants pouvaient se référer à plusieurs critères pour évaluer le risque que présentaient leurs clientes. Ainsi, on leur avait demandé de classer par ordre d’importance les trois principales « méthodes » auxquelles ils recouraient pour cette « classification ». La très grande majorité des surveillants fondaient leurs décisions sur des critères subjectifs, comme l’attitude de leur cliente, son potentiel de réintégration dans la société et son degré de détermination. Fait à signaler, seulement 7 % des surveillants se servaient de critères objectifs pour évaluer le niveau de risque que présentait leurs cliente une fois dans la collectivité.

Critère d’évaluation du risque Pourcentage de surveillants utilisant cette « méthode »
Attitude générale 26
Aptitude à se réintégrer 24
Degré de détermination 21
Comportement dans le programme 10
Comportement à son lieu de résidence 8
Critères d’évaluation objectifs 7
Antécédents criminels 2
Temps passé dans la collectivité 1
État de santé physique/psychologique <1
Accès à des services de soutien dans la collectivité <1

Niveau de besoin

Une FPPF libérée sous condition doit avoir directement accès, au besoin, à des services propres à l’aider à surmonter ses difficultés. Dans les réponses au sondage, 33 % des femmes ont été classées comme ayant un niveau élevé de besoin et 68 % comme ayant un niveau moyen ou faible.

Undisplayed Graphic

On a constaté un parallèle étroit entre le besoin d’aide financière (p<.01), le niveau d’instruction (p<.05), la situation d’emploi (p<.05), le degré de risque (p=.000) et le temps de surveillance requis (p=.000). Ainsi, les femmes dont le niveau de besoin était élevé étaient moins instruites, risquaient davantage d’être en chômage, bénéficiaient d’une aide financière, avaient été jugées à risque élevé et exigeaient plus de temps de surveillance. Leur niveau de besoin n’avait par contre aucun lien avec leur état matrimonial ou avec le fait qu’elles avaient ou non la garde d’enfants.

Renseignements obtenus

On a demandé aux surveillants dans quelle mesure ils estimaient que les renseignements obtenus au sujet de leurs clientes avant leur mise en liberté (par ex. : rapports de suivi, évaluations) étaient exacts. D’après les réponses au sondage, ces renseignements étaient exacts dans 80 % des cas. On ne pensait le contraire que dans 5 % des cas.

Undisplayed Graphic

Temps de surveillance

Au moment du sondage, le temps écoulé depuis la mise en liberté des FPPF variait de moins d’un mois à plus de trois ans. Un peu plus de la moitié des femmes étaient en liberté sous condition depuis moins de six mois (52 %). Pour le reste, la période de liberté conditionnelle des femmes s’étendait selon des proportions assez égales depuis au moins six mois jusqu’à plus de trois ans.

NOMBRE DE MOIS DE LIBERTÉ SOUS SURVEILLANCE POURCENTAGE

DE FPPF

< 1 mois 3
1 - 2 mois 25
3 - 4 mois 14
5 - 6 mois 10
7 - 10 mois 12
11 - 12 mois 5
13 - 18 mois 9
19 - 24 mois 10
25 - 36 mois 7
+ 36 mois 5

D’après les réponses au sondage, moins une femme était en liberté conditionnelle depuis longtemps, plus ses rencontres avec son surveillant devaient être fréquentes, mais pas plus longues, de sorte que, par exemple, une FPPF dans la collectivité depuis moins de six mois exigeait dans l’ensemble plus de temps de surveillance que n’en exigeaient en moyenne les clientes confiées aux surveillants. Il n’y avait pas de rapport entre le temps écoulé depuis la libération et les niveaux de risque et de besoin que présentaient les FPPF.

Undisplayed Graphic

Durée des rencontres

Dans la majorité des cas (65 %), les rencontres entre les surveillants et les FPPF duraient de 15 à 45 minutes. Les plus courtes pouvaient durer aussi peu que 15 minutes et les plus longues, jusqu’à 2 heures.

On a noté des différences marquées entre les régions quant à la durée des rencontres. En Ontario et dans les Prairies, on avait tendance à s’en tenir à des rencontres d’une durée de 15 à 45 minutes, tandis que dans les autres régions la durée des rencontres pouvait varier davantage.

La durée des rencontres n’avait aucun lien avec les niveaux de besoin et de risque de la cliente. Voilà qui peut sembler déconcertant, si l’on songe au principe voulant qu’on fasse concorder les services fournis avec les niveaux de risque et de besoin. Il demeure toutefois, comme nous l’avons déjà noté, qu’on peut très bien intensifier la surveillance d’une cliente en augmentant la fréquence des rencontres (p=.000) plutôt que leur durée.

Undisplayed Graphic

Fait à signaler, la durée des rencontres a beaucoup à voir avec l’endroit où elles se tiennent (p=.000). Quand elles ont lieu dans un endroit public ou chez la cliente, elles durent facilement 45 minutes et plus, alors que sur les lieux du travail elles sont plus courtes (de 15 à 45 minutes); les « rencontres » au téléphone durent invariablement moins de 15 minutes.

Nombre de rencontres

La majorité (59 %) des FPPF avaient deux rencontres ou moins par mois avec leur surveillant. Dans les cas de clientes dont les niveaux de risque (p<.01) et de besoin (p<.001) étaient jugés élevés, les rencontres étaient plus fréquentes.

Undisplayed Graphic

Lieu des rencontres

La majorité des rencontres se font soit au bureau du surveillant (34 %) soit au domicile de la cliente (38 %). Très peu (5 %) de ces entretiens entre le surveillant et sa cliente se tiennent au lieu de travail de la cliente, dans un endroit public ou au téléphone, mais pour beaucoup (23 %) ils ont lieu à divers autres endroits. Aucune différence notable ne semble exister entre les régions en ce qui concerne le lieu des rencontres.

Undisplayed Graphic

Sujets de discussion

Les sujets abordés à l’occasion des rencontres mensuelles varient énormément. Le sujet prédominant semble toutefois être l’adaptation sociale (26 %). Dans l’adaptation sociale, on inclut les problèmes de relations humaines, la maîtrise des émotions, la gestion du stress, les plans et les objectifs futurs et les moyens d’aller chercher de l’aide dans la collectivité. On notera que la catégorie « peu loquace », dans le prochain graphique, renvoie au fait que la cliente n’a pas tendance à s’exprimer durant les rencontres et qu’elle n’amorce la discussion sur aucun sujet.

Undisplayed Graphic

Il semble y avoir un lien entre les sujets abordés et le niveau de besoin de la FPPF (p<.05). Les clientes jugées à niveau élevé de besoin avaient tendance à discuter de problèmes liés à l’alcoolisme, à la toxicomanie et à l’adaptation sociale, tandis que celles jugées à niveau « moyen » de besoin s’en tenaient davantage aux questions liées à l’adaptation sociale, et celles jugées à faible niveau de besoin parlaient surtout de problèmes liés à l’emploi. De telles observations devraient nous amener, au moment de concevoir ou d’offrir des programmes, à tenir compte du niveau de besoin des clientes. On n’a par contre constaté aucun lien entre le niveau de risque et les sujets abordés lors des rencontres.

Soutien apporté par les surveillants

On a demandé aux surveillants quel genre d’aide ils avaient été appelés à apporter aux FPPF dans la collectivité. Il y a lieu de se demander si cette question a été bien comprise; par conséquent, les réponses devraient être interprétées avec circonspection. On notera qu’une même cliente peut très bien avoir reçu de l’aide dans plus d’un domaine (voir le tableau ci-après).

Soixante pour cent de ces FPPF avaient besoin de soutien pour faire face au stress et aux exigences de la vie quotidienne. On n’a noté chez les clientes aucun lien entre leur besoin de ce genre d’aide et le fait qu’elles étaient ou non premières responsables de la garde d’enfants, qu’elles avaient ou non un conjoint, qu’elles recevaient ou non une aide financière, ou qu’elles avaient ou non un emploi. Il y avait, par contre, un rapport étroit entre les niveaux présumés de besoin (p<.01) et de risque (p<.05).

Genre d’aide Pourcentage de FPPF ayant reçu cette aide
Exigences de la vie quotidienne 60
Emploi 48
Orientation vers un programme non prévu dans les conditions de la mise en liberté 44
Conseils d’ordre financier 43
Logement 28
Renvoi à un travailleur social 27
Santé/Condition physique 23
Aide en matière juridique 21
Aide concernant la garde d’enfants 21

Quarante-huit pour cent des femmes au sujet desquelles on a obtenu des réponses au sondage avaient eu besoin d’une aide en matière d’emploi. On n’a relevé aucun rapport entre le besoin d’aide à cet égard et les niveaux présumés de besoin ou de risque, l’endroit de résidence, le degré d’instruction, l’état matrimonial de la cliente et le fait qu’elle était ou non première responsable de la garde d’enfants. Il va sans dire que le besoin d’une aide de ce genre avait un lien avec la situation d’emploi de la cliente (p<.05).

Vingt et un pour cent (21 %) de l’échantillon recevaient une aide concernant les exigences liées à la garde d’enfants. Le besoin d’aide était en étroit rapport avec le fait pour la cliente d’être ou non première responsable de la garde d’enfants (p<.001), avec ses niveaux de besoin (p<.001) et de risque (p<.001), avec sa région de résidence (p<.05), avec son besoin de conseils financiers (p<.05) et avec sa situation d’emploi (p<.05).

Quarante-trois pour cent des femmes avaient besoin de conseils d’ordre financier, et ce, indépendamment de leur région de résidence, de leur état matrimonial, du fait qu’elles étaient ou non premières responsables de la garde d’enfants, et de leurs niveaux présumés de besoin et de risque.

Vingt-huit pour cent avaient reçu de l’aide de leur surveillant pour trouver un logement, et ce, indépendamment de la région où elles résidaient, de leur état matrimonial, du fait qu’elles étaient ou non premières responsables de la garde d’enfants, et du genre de logement qu’elles habitaient auparavant.