Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Federally Sentenced Women On Conditional Release: A Survey Of Community Supervisors

Information On Existing Programs

National Program Utilization

There are seven major types of programs available to FSW in the community. These programs are agency/residential services, counselling, community skills, educational/vocational, financial assistance, substance abuse, and violence/abuse support groups.

Supervisors were asked to "list the community programs/services which are used most often by your FSW clients". Substance abuse programs were the most utilized programs (n=57), followed closely by counselling services (n=53). Community skills programs (n=25) and agency/residential programs (n=22) were also extensively used. Programs involving education, employment, financial assistance and support for victims of violence/abuse have relatively low participation. For a list of services within each program category refer to Appendix A.

Undisplayed Graphic

Regional Program Utilization

Regionally, the program utilization remains comparable to the national picture.

One must keep in mind that the majority of FSW in the community that responded to the survey are in Ontario (48%), the Prairies (23%) and Quebec (14%), thus the greater number of programs used may be reflecting the greater numbers in those regions who responded to the survey. The number of programs in the regions are proportional to number of women in their community that responded to the survey. Ontario had 74 programs that were most commonly used by the women. The majority of services were counselling (n=24) and substance abuse programs (n=19). The Prairies had 48 popular programs and again substance abuse (n=13), counselling programs (n=10) and community skills programs (n=12) were all well utilized. This trend of substance abuse programs and counselling services as the most frequently used programs continued in all regions.

Program Pacific Prairies Ontario Quebec Atlantic
Agency 0 4 9 4 5
Counsel 6 10 24 9 4
Community Skills 0 12 9 2 2
Education /Vocation 0 3 6 5 2
Finance 2 4 4 2 1
Substance Abuse 3 13 19 15 7
Violence /Abuse 2 2 3 0 2
Total # Programs Region 13 48 74 37 23

Funding For Programs

Program funding across the country comes from two identified sources: contract (29%) and community services (28%). Note that 27% of the programs identified as "most often used" could not be classified relative to its funding source. CSC contributed 8% of programming, while the provincial government carries 5% of total programming. Elizabeth Fry and John Howard Society fund approximately 4% of the above referenced programs. For a more detailed description of the types of funding which correspond with different program types refer to Appendix A and for regional distributions of funding types see Appendix B. Contract services costs ranged from $1,000 to $76,000. See Appendix F for detailed regional distribution of program funding.

Undisplayed Graphic

Provincial Vs. Federal Programs

Supervisors were asked to comment on the differences between the types of community programs/services available to provincially sentenced women in contrast to those for a FSW.

Response # of Responses
More variety for PSW 0
More variety for FSW 2
No difference 19
No responses/left blank on survey 41
Total 62

Two respondents from Ontario (n=1) and Quebec (n=1) reported more variety in programs/services existing for FSW than for provincially sentenced women. Most responses indicated no difference between the two types of services available for provincially sentenced women and FSW (n=19). The high number of missing responses (n=41) are likely due to the fact that many people did not supervise any provincially sentenced women and, therefore, could not formulate any comparisons.

Suggested Programs For Community Strategy

Respondents were asked "what type of assistance/services/supervision would you suggest be included/stressed in the community strategy in order to make FSW more successful at re-integrating into the community". Employment programs (n=51), Counselling programs (n=51) and Substance Abuse Programs (n=49) were all strongly recommended. Groups for Survivors of Abuse (n=46), Halfway Houses (n=42) and Parenting Courses (n=41) were also popular responses. All suggested programs and the number of "votes" they received are tabulated below.

SUGGESTED PROGRAMS Number of Responses
Training Programs (Employment) 51
Counselling Programs 51
Substance Abuse Programs 49
Groups for Survivors of Abuse 46
Halfway Houses 42
Parenting Courses/Support 41
Financial Assistance 38
Subsidized Housing 34
Child Care Services 32
Communication with Agencies 32
Subsidized Child Care 27
Fitness/Exercise 26
Other 6

The "Other" category of programs included Offender/Ex-offender Support Group, Easy Access to Bonding, Aboriginal Cultural Training, Female Sex Offender Services, Cultural/Gender Sensitive Support Groups, Consultation with Sexologists.

Regional Need For Programs

Regions differed significantly concerning their opinion on what programs or services should be implemented/emphasized for FSW in the community. Below are listed the programs that received the most "number one rankings" when supervisors were asked what services should be included or emphasized for the FSW community strategy. In the Pacific Region, training programs were ranked as the most important (#1) program that could be offered. In the Prairie Region, halfway houses were the top priority. Counselling programs were number one with both the Ontario and the Atlantic Regions. Finally, Quebec ranked both parenting courses and employment training programs as the most important service to make available to the FSW in the community. Detailed information on services already established/utilized in each region can be found in Appendix B.

REGION PROGRAM
Pacific Training Programs (Employment)
Prairies Halfway Houses
Ontario Counselling Programs
Quebec Training Programs & Parenting Programs
Atlantic Counselling Programs

Regional Recommendations

The following is a regional summary of comments that were expressed in the survey regarding programs in their area.

PACIFIC

"A community re-integration program as well as a recreational program would be beneficial. Women need more support and direction (to achieve goals, make plans and address problem areas). There are never enough funding resources for employment/education programs. Child care is important." - B.C.

PRAIRIES

"FSW are to a great extent ‘needy' in all areas." - Manitoba

"Because female perpetrators are categorized too often as the victims, they are often reluctant to attend appropriate treatment programs." - Saskatchewan

"All programs are important and depend on the needs of the each woman. A community pre-marriage counselling course would be beneficial." - Saskatchewan

"Extreme Substance Abuse is a serious problem. Relationships, both past and present are also of concern. A family violence program is needed. When children are present, many of the women become overwhelmed by their responsibility and are therefore unable to provide full time care." - Alberta

"Too many programs are geared towards male offenders only. Females often feel intimidated when involved in programs where other male offenders are present. Aboriginal women prefer Aboriginal counsellors. They are however difficult to access - especially female Aboriginal counselors." - Saskatchewan

"Each program is important and depends on the offender's needs. Those services that assist the female offender to obtain and maintain emotional stability should come first."- Alberta

ONTARIO

"Toronto appears to have adequate resources."

"The women need more of a community education, including how to find a place to live, how to find employment (resume writing, filling out applications, etc.) financial expectations (food, rent, etc.) and how to face family and friends upon release."

"Some useful programs that should be considered include a ‘Living Without Violence' program, an ‘opportunities' program, cognitive skills training and specialized programming in the community for the female Aboriginal offender."

"Anger management programs are needed as well as child care and subsidized housing."

"Many of the women have multiple needs that present themselves all at once."

"Support systems tend not to be available outside of major centers like Toronto. Shared funding with existing agencies such as the provincial government might be a good way to develop services. A half-way house was recently purchased for provincially sentenced women. What about housing more FSW?"

"Psychological counselling and substance abuse relapse prevention are both adequately covered in Central Ontario."

QUEBEC

"There are presently not enough women for the programs. The region is sufficiently able to supply services in employment, health, violence, etc."

"A program should be created relating to relationships."

"The needs of the female offender vary and are diverse. It would be beneficial for the CSC to contract the aid of professionals who could lend their expertise by responding to the psychological, psychiatric and sociological needs of the women."

ATLANTIC

"Female offenders need lots of support and encouragement. Emotional issues such as self esteem, victimization of abuse and relationships play a significant role." - New Brunswick

"There is a lack of services for both FSW and provincially sentenced women.." - Nova Scotia

"Program priorities depend on individual needs. Accommodations and finances (basic needs) must be met before programming can be considered." - Nova Scotia

"Priority of individual programs depend on individual needs. Residential programs in either a CCC or CRC situation are very important as a step for gradual integration in to the community." - Nova Scotia

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Femmes purgeant une peine fédérale en liberté sous condition : Sondage auprès des responsables de la surveillance communautaire

Renseignements sur les programmes existants

Utilisation des programmes à l’echelle nationale

Sept types de programmes sont offerts aux FPPF dans la collectivité. Les FPPF sont en effet invitées à participer à des programmes dispensés par des organismes communautaires ou en résidence, à des programmes de counseling, à des programmes d’aide à l’intégration communautaire, à des programmes d’études ou de formation professionnelle, à des programmes d’aide en matière de gestion financière, à des programmes pour toxicomanes ainsi qu’à des groupes de soutien pour les victimes d’actes de violence ou d’abus sexuels.

On a demandé aux surveillants « d’énumérer les programmes et les services communautaires dont bénéficiaient le plus souvent leurs clientes ». Ils ont répondu que les programmes pour toxicomanes étaient les plus utilisés (n=57), suivis de près par les services de counseling (n=53). Les programmes d’aide à l’intégration communautaire (n=25) et les programmes offerts par un organisme communautaire ou donnés en résidence (n=22) étaient aussi utilisés par un grand nombre. Les programmes d’études, d’intégration à l’emploi, d’aide en matière de gestion financière et de soutien aux victimes d’actes de violence ou d’abus sexuels attiraient relativement peu de femmes. On trouvera à l’Annexe A la liste des services offerts dans le cadre de chacun des programmes.

. Undisplayed Graphic

Utilisation des programmes par région

Le niveau d’utilisation des programmes dans les régions était comparable à ce qu’il était à l’échelle nationale. Étant donné que la majorité des réponses au sondage concernaient des FPPF qui habitaient l’Ontario (48 %), les Prairies (23 %) ou le Québec (14 %), on notera forcément une distorsion en faveur de ces régions par rapport aux autres quant aux données recueillies concernant l’utilisation des programmes. En Ontario, les divers programmes avaient au total été utilisés 74 fois par les clientes, qui s’étaient prévalues le plus souvent des services de counseling (n=24) et d’aide aux toxicomanes (n=19). Dans les Prairies, les programmes avaient été utilisés 48 fois, et là encore, c’étaient les services d’aide aux toxicomanes (n=13), de counseling (n=10) et d’aide à l’intégration communautaire (n=12) qui avaient la faveur du plus grand nombre. Cet attrait pour les services d’aide aux toxicomanes et de counseling a été constaté dans toutes les régions.

Programme Pacifique Prairies Ontario Québec Atlantique
Organisme 0 4 9 4 5
Counseling 6 10 24 9 4
Intégration comm. 0 12 9 2 2
Études/formation professionnelle 0 3 6 5 2
Gestion financière 2 4 4 2 1
Toxicomanie 3 13 19 15 7
Violence /abus sexuels 2 2 3 0 2
N. total de programmes par région 13 48 74 37 23

Financement des programmes

Les fonds requis pour le financement des programmes dans l’ensemble du pays viennent de deux sources : des contrats (29 %) et des services communautaires (28 %). On notera que, dans le cas de 27 % des programmes désignés comme étant « les plus utilisés », on n’a pas pu déterminer d’où provenaient les fonds. Le SCC a financé 8 % des programmes, comparativement à 5 % pour les gouvernements provinciaux. Les sociétés Elizabeth Fry et John Howard ont contribué pour approximativement 4 % au financement global des programmes. On trouvera à l’Annexe A une description du mode de financement des divers types de programmes et, à l’Annexe B, une répartition par région des sources de financement. Les services fournis à contrat ont coûté entre 1 000 $ et 76 000 $. On trouvera à l’Annexe F la ventilation détaillée par région des fonds ayant servi au financement des programmes.

Undisplayed Graphic

Comparaison entre les programmes fédéraux et les programmes provinciaux

On a demandé aux surveillants de comparer les types de programmes ou de services communautaires offerts aux femmes purgeant une peine provinciale (FPPP) par rapport aux types de programmes offerts aux FPPF.

Réponse Nombre de réponses
Plus de variété pour les FPPP 0
Plus de variété pour les FPPF 2
Pas de différence 19
Pas de réponse/case non cochée 41
Total 62

Selon deux des répondants, un de l’Ontario (n=1) et un du Québec (n=1), les programmes ou services offerts aux FPPP étaient plus variés que ceux offerts aux FPPF. La plupart des répondants (n=19) ne voyaient pas de différence entre les deux. L’absence de réponses dans un aussi grand nombre de cas (n=41) tient peut-être au fait que, n’étant responsables d’aucune FPPP, de nombreux surveillants ne pouvaient pas faire de comparaison.

Programmes suggérés pour une stratégie communautaire

On a demandé aux surveillants de dire « quel genre d’aide, de services ou de surveillance devraient être englobés ou soulignés dans la stratégie communautaire afin de mieux réussir à réintégrer les FPPF dans la collectivité. » Ils ont fortement recommandé les programmes d’intégration à l’emploi (n=51), de counseling (n=51) et d’aide au toxicomanes (n=49). Nombre de répondants ont également insisté pour qu’il y ait des groupes de soutien pour victimes d’actes de violence ou d’abus sexuels (n=46), des cours d’acquisition de compétences parentales (n-41) et des foyers de transition (n=42). On trouvera dans le tableau ci-après la liste de tous les programmes suggérés et le nombre de « votes » donnés en leur faveur.

PROGRAMMES SUGGÉRÉS Nombre de réponses
Programmes de formation (emploi) 51
Programmes de counseling 51
Programmes d’aide aux toxicomanes 49
Groupes de soutien aux survivantes d’actes de violence ou d’abus sexuels 46
Foyers de transition 42
Cours ou groupes de soutien - compétences parentales 41
Gestion financière 38
Logements subventionnés 34
Services de garderie 32
Communication avec les organismes 32
Garderies subventionnées 27
Conditionnement physique/exercice 26
Autres 6

Dans la catégorie « autres », on avait suggéré la création de groupes de soutien pour les détenues ou les ex-détenues, de mécanismes facilitant l’établissement de liens familiaux, de cours de formation culturelle pour Autochtones, de services aux femmes responsables de délits sexuels, de groupes de solidarité entre femmes/entre membres d’une même culture, de services de consultation en matière de sexologie.

Besoin de programmes - par région

On a noté de grandes différentes entre les régions en ce qui concerne les opinions exprimées à propos des programmes et des services qui devraient être organisés ou proposés en priorité aux FPPF dans la collectivité. Dans le tableau ci-après, on verra, pour chacune des régions, quels programmes les répondants ont le plus souvent placés en tête des priorités en vue de l’élaboration de la stratégie communautaire. Dans la région du Pacifique, on considérait qu’il fallait avant tout offrir des programmes de formation. Dans les Prairies, c’était les foyers de transition qui l’emportaient. Les programmes de counseling venaient en première place chez les répondants de l’Ontario et de l’Atlantique. Enfin, au Québec, on désignait à la fois les cours d’acquisition de compétences parentales et les programmes de formation professionnelle comme étant les plus importants. On trouvera à l’Annexe B des données détaillées sur les services déjà offerts ou utilisés dans chaque région.

RÉGION PROGRAMME
Pacifique Formation professionnelle (emploi)
Prairies Foyers de transition
Ontario Programme de counseling
Québec Formation professionnelle et compétences parentales
Atlantique Programmes de counseling

Recommandations - par région

Voici un résumé des commentaires exprimés par les répondants des diverses régions concernant les programmes qu’il serait souhaitable de mettre en place.

PACIFIQUE

Il serait souhaitable d’établir un programme d’aide à la réintégration communautaire ainsi qu’un programme de loisirs pour les FPPF. Les femmes ont besoin d’être davantage soutenues et orientées, pour atteindre leurs objectifs, faire des plans d’avenir et régler leurs problèmes. Les fonds sont toujours insuffisants pour financer les programmes favorisant la réintégration du monde du travail ou le retour aux études. Les services de garderie sont importants. - (C.-B.)

PRAIRIES

À vrai dire, les FPPF sont largement « dans le besoin » à tous égards. - Manitoba

Parce que les délinquantes sont trop souvent décrites comme des victimes, elles sont souvent réticentes à se soumettre à un traitement approprié. - Saskatchewan

Tous les programmes sont importants, mais ils doivent être adaptés aux besoins de chacune. Un cours de préparation au mariage serait utile. - Saskatchewan

La dépendance extrême à l’égard des drogues est un sérieux problème. Le problème des relations interpersonnelles de la cliente, dans le passé comme dans le présent, nous préoccupe également. Il faudrait organiser un programme sur la violence familiale. Les femmes qui ont la garde d’enfants se trouvent vite dépassées par leurs obligations et incapables d’assumer leur rôle à plein temps. - Alberta

Trop de programmes ne sont conçus que pour les délinquants mâles. Les femmes se sentent souvent intimidées quand elles participent à des programmes en présence de détenus masculins. Les femmes autochtones préfèrent avoir affaire à des conseillers autochtones, mais ils sont difficiles à trouver - surtout les conseillères. - Saskatchewan

Chaque programme est important, mais il doit être adapté aux besoins de la délinquante. Les services visant à aider la détenue à retrouver et à conserver sa stabilité émotive devraient être prioritaires. - Alberta

ONTARIO

À Toronto, on ne semble pas manquer de ressources.

Les femmes ont besoin de plus de services d’aide à l’intégration communautaire, y compris pour trouver un logement, pour trouver un emploi (rédiger un curriculum vitae, remplir des formulaires de demande d’emploi, etc.), pour évaluer leurs éventuels besoins financiers (nourriture, loyer, etc.) et pour savoir comment affronter leur famille et leurs amis une fois en liberté.

On devrait envisager d’offrir aux FPPF des programmes, comme « Vivre sans violence » et « Perspectives d’emploi », ainsi que des programmes pour améliorer leurs compétences cognitives. Il faudrait en outre prévoir des programmes d’intégration communautaire spécialement conçus pour les délinquantes autochtones.

Il faut offrir aux femmes des programmes pour les aider à maîtriser leurs pulsions colériques, des services de garderie et des logements subventionnés.

Beaucoup de femmes ont des besoins multiples qui se manifestent tous en même temps.

On a tendance à offrir des services de soutien à l’extérieur des grands centres comme Toronto. Il serait peut-être bon de travailler en partenariat avec les organismes existants, avec le gouvernement provincial, par exemple, pour créer de nouveaux services. Un foyer de transition vient d’être acheté pour les FPPP. Ne devrions-nous pas mettre davantage de logements à la disposition des FPPF?

Le centre de l’Ontario a déjà suffisamment de services de consultation psychologique et de prévention des rechutes chez les toxicomanes.

QUÉBEC

Il n’y a actuellement pas assez de femmes pour les programmes. La région ne manque de rien pour offrir des services adéquats d’intégration au marché du travail, de santé, d’aide aux victimes d’actes de violence, etc.

Il faudrait créer un programme de relations humaines.

Les besoins des détenues sont divers et varient selon les personnes. Le SCC aurait avantage à conclure des contrats avec des professionnels dont l’expérience pourrait être mise à contribution pour répondre aux besoins psychologiques, psychiatriques et sociologiques des FPPF.

ATLANTIQUE

Les FPPF ont besoin de beaucoup de soutien et d’encouragement. Les problèmes d’ordre affectif (dévalorisation de soi-même, sentiment de victimisation, problèmes relationnels) ont un important rôle à jouer dans la réadaptation. - Nouveau-Brunswick

Il y a carence de services pour les FPPF comme pour les FPPP. - Nouvelle-Écosse

Les priorités en matière de programmes doivent être établies en fonction des besoins de chacune. On doit satisfaire les besoins de base (logement et finances) avant d’offrir d’autres programmes. - Nouvelle-Écosse

Les priorités concernant les programmes individuels doivent être établies en fonction des besoins de chacune. Les programmes dispensés en résidence par le SCC ou le CRC sont très importants pour le succès de la réintégration graduelle de la FPPF dans la collectivité. - Nouvelle-Écosse