Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

The Cross Gender Monitoring Project
3rd and Final Annual Report

i) International Law

Canada has ratified or subscribed to a large number and variety of international instruments dealing with the protection of human rights generally and the treatment of prisoners specifically. While the vast majority of these instruments are not technically binding on the Government of Canada, they do provide guidance as to what is internationally recognized as good practice. Even more importantly, they reflect the values and principles that should inform the interpretation and application of Canadian law as fully as possible.

In Baker v. Canada (Minister of Citizenship and Immigration), [1999] 2 S.C.R. 817, the Supreme Court of Canada commented upon the application of the International Convention on the Rights of the Child which has been ratified by Canada but not implemented by Parliament. Even though the Convention has no direct application in Canada, the majority of the Court adopted a contextual approach to statutory interpretation that was informed by the values and principles of the Convention.10 In so doing the Court adopted the following statement by Ruth Sullivan in Dreidger on the Construction of Statutes (3rd ed. 1994) at p. 330:

The legislature is presumed to reflect the values and principles enshrined in international law, both customary and conventional. These constitute a part of the legal context in which legislation is enacted and read. In so far as possible, therefore, interpretations that reflect these values and principles are preferred. (Emphasis added by Court) at p. 861.

In 1975 Canada subscribed to the United Nations' Standard Minimum Rules for the Treatment of Prisoners (1957) (SMRTP). At that time, Canada explicitly committed itself to compliance with and implementation of the SMRTP. The Rules set out in the Standard are intended "to set out what is generally accepted as being good principles and practice in the treatment of prisoners and the management of institutions" (preamble). While not mandatory, these rules are explicitly described as minimum. The Government is in no way restricted from going beyond the standard set out in these Rules, but employing a standard below the minimum provided by the Rules would seem a questionable practice and would demand careful and thorough justification. As set out by the Supreme Court of Canada in Baker, the SMRTP reflect the values and principles that should guide and inform the treatment of prisoners in Canada.

Rule 53 of the SMRTP deals directly with the question of cross gender staffing in relation to women prisoners as follows:

53. (2) No male member of the staff shall enter the part of the institution set aside for women unless accompanied by a woman officer.

(3) Women prisoners shall be attended and supervised only by women officers. This does not, however, preclude male members of the staff particularly doctors and teachers, from carrying out their professional duties in institutions or parts of institutions set aside for women.

The rule is clear and unequivocal and provides specific direction on what is considered the best practice in dealing with women prisoners. In applying the approach adopted by the majority of the Supreme Court of Canada, Rule 53 of the SMRTP should guide the interpretation and application of Canadian legislation, including the Canadian Human Rights Act and The Corrections and Conditional Release Act, as they relate to the treatment of women prisoners. Although some stakeholders put their position on Rule 53 somewhat more forcefully, this understanding of the role and effect of Rule 53 accords with the positions put forward by NAWL, CAEFS, the Correctional Investigator Canada and the Canadian Human Rights Commission in their response to the Co-Monitors' question on this issue.

10 Justices Cory and Iacobucci concurred in the judgment but disagreed with the majority on this point.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Projet de vérification de la dotation mixte
3e et dernier rapport annuel

i) Droit international

Le Canada a ratifié un nombre élevé d'instruments internationaux divers traitant de la protection des droits de la personne en général et du traitement des prisonniers en particulier, ou il y a souscrit. Bien que, techniquement, la vaste majorité des instruments ne soient pas exécutoires pour le gouvernement du Canada, ils donnent une bonne idée de ce que l'on considère comme de bonnes pratiques sur le plan international. Ce qui est encore plus important, c'est qu'ils reflètent les valeurs et les principes qui devraient inspirer dans toute la mesure du possible, l'interprétation et l'application du droit canadien.

Dans Baker c. Canada (Ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l'Immigration), [1999] 2 L.R.C. 817, la Cour suprême du Canada a commenté l'application de la Convention internationale sur les droits de l'enfant qui a été ratifiée par le Canada mais n'a pas été appliquée par le Parlement. Bien que la Convention n'ait pas d'application directe au Canada, la majorité des membres de la Cour ont adopté une démarche contextuelle à l'interprétation des droits fondée sur les valeurs et les principes de la Convention10. La Cour a ainsi adopté la déclaration suivante de Ruth Sullivan dans Dreidger on the Construction of Statutes (3e édition, 1994), à la p. 330 :

La législature est présumée respecter les valeurs et les principes contenus dans le droit international, coutumier et conventionnel. Ces principes font partie du cadre juridique au sens duquel une loi est adoptée et interprétée. Par conséquent, dans la mesure du possible, il est préférable d'adopter des interprétations qui correspondent à ces valeurs et à ces principes. [Je souligne.] À la p. 861.

En 1975, le Canada a souscrit à l'Ensemble des Règles minima des Nations Unies pour le traitement des prisonniers (1957) (ERMTD). À l'époque, le Canada s'était clairement engagé à observer et à mettre en _uvre l'ERMTD. Ces règles ne visent qu'« à établir les principes et les règles pour le traitement des prisonniers et la gestion des établissements » (préambule). Bien qu'il ne soit pas obligatoire, il est bien précisé qu'il s'agit de règles minima. Rien n'empêche le gouvernement d'aller plus loin que les normes fixées dans ces règles; cependant, l'utilisation d'une norme inférieure à ces règles minima paraît très discutable et exigerait des arguments solides et soigneusement pesés pour le justifier. Comme l'a déclaré la Cour suprême du Canada dans Baker, l'ERMTD reflète les valeurs et les principes qui devraient guider et inspirer le traitement des prisonniers au Canada.

La règle 53 de l'ERMTD traite directement de la question de la dotation mixte en ce qui a trait aux détenues :

53. (2) Aucun membre masculin du personnel ne doit entrer dans la partie de l'établissement réservée aux femmes à moins d'être accompagné d'une agente.

    (3) Seules des agentes doivent s'occuper des détenues et les surveiller. Cela n'empêche cependant pas des membres masculins du personnel, en particulier des médecins et des enseignants, de s'acquitter de leurs devoirs professionnels dans des établissements ou parties d'établissements réservés aux femmes.

La règle est claire et sans équivoque et indique avec précision ce qui constitue la meilleure méthode de traitement des détenues. Dans l'application de la démarche adoptée par la majorité de la Cour suprême du Canada, la Règle 53 de l'ERMTD devrait guider l'interprétation et l'application des dispositions législatives canadiennes, y compris la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne et la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, en ce qui concerne leur application au traitement des détenues. Bien que certains intervenants présentent avec nettement plus de vigueur leur position au sujet de la Règle 53, cette interprétation du rôle et de l'effet de cette règle est conforme aux positions adoptées par l'ANLD, l'ACSEF, l'Enquêteur correctionnel du Canada et la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne dans leur réponse à la question des covérificateurs à ce sujet.

10 Les juges Cory et Iacobucci étaient d'accord avec le jugement mais pas avec la majorité sur ce point particulier.