Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

The Cross Gender Monitoring Project
3rd and Final Annual Report

i) Bona Fide Occupational Requirement

Many of the respondents were concerned that a policy of women only PWs would be inequitable and contrary to the law. However, there are strong legal arguments to support, possibly even to require, a policy of women only PWs relating to FSW. The bona fide occupational requirement (BFOR) established under the Canadian Human Rights Act is the mechanism whereby what might appear on the face of it to be a discriminatory employment practice is deemed to be non discriminatory because it serves an important and positive function. The current cross gender staffing policy which restricts the duties of male PWs is similarly an apparently discriminatory practice that would need to be justified as a BFOR. The arguments for both of these as BFORs would essentially be the same. However, the findings and analysis provided in this report indicate that in order to meet the positive purpose of the BFOR, it is necessary at this time to have only female PWs dealing with Federally Sentenced Women. The less discriminatory option of restricting the activities of male guards, while it may initially appear more palatable, has been shown to be inadequate and unworkable. Accordingly, the following discussion relates to the justification of the requirement of women only PWs to deal with Federally Sentenced Women as a BFOR. The ultimate determination of whether the BFOR justification supports the women only PW requirement would be made by a human rights tribunal, or further along by a court, if a challenge were brought against the policy.

Much of what is contained in this report relates to the BFOR question, that is an examination of whether and to what extent being female is a legitimate and necessary requirement for the PW position in relation to female inmates. The data gathered and presented in this report will provide the evidence for and/or against this proposition and upon which the BFOR assessment would be premised. We cannot repeat all of the relevant findings and analysis contained in the report in this discussion of the BFOR. This section is intended to provide an overview of the framework into which the information provided in this report would be put for the BFOR justification.

The classic statement of the requirements for a BFOR is from the 1982 Supreme Court of Canada decision in Ontario (human Rights Commission v.Etobicoke, [1982} 1 S.C.R. 202 and has been quoted in most BFOR cases since:

        To be a bona fide occupational qualification and requirement, a limitation... must be imposed honestly, in good faith, and in the sincerely held belief that such limitation is imposed in the interests of the adequate performance of the work involved with all reasonable dispatch, safety and economy, and not for ulterior or extraneous reasons aimed at objectives which could defeat the purpose of the Code. In addition, it must be related in an objective sense to the performance of the employment concerned, in that it is reasonably necessary to assure the efficient and economic[al] performance of the job without endangering the employee, his fellow employees and the general public. (at p.208)

As an exception to the general prohibition against discrimination, the BFOR will be narrowly and strictly construed and rigorously examined. The requirement must clearly relate to the needs and performance of the job. It must have been thoroughly thought through, including a full exploration of alternatives that do not discriminate or are less discriminatory. Also, it must be well supported by credible evidence. According to the Supreme Court of Canada, "if the general purpose of the standard is rationally connected to the performance of the particular job, the particular standard was imposed with an honest good faith belief in its necessity and its application in its existing form is reasonably necessary for the employer to accomplish its legitimate purpose without experiencing undue hardship, the standard is a BFOR" (para 67 BCGSEU case).

BFOR's are not static concepts. Technological and other changes over time will give rise to different needs and requirements. What is considered a necessary and legitimate standard today may not be considered necessary tomorrow and vice versa. Different contexts will present different issues. Every BFOR should be periodically reviewed and assessed to determine whether it continues to be justified. Future changes in social conditions or in the correctional environment may mean that the women only PW requirement is no longer necessary.

The Supreme Court of Canada recently decided a BFOR case - British Columbia (Public Service Employees Relations Commission) v. BCGSEU (not yet reported) in which they outlined the test and requirements in detail. In addition, the Canadian Human Rights Commission's "Policy on Bona Fide Occupational Requirement" produced in 1988 is very helpful in setting out the intention, and likely application, of the BFOR exception.

The Supreme Court outlines a 3 step test to determine whether a discriminatory standard is a BFOR. The employer is required to establish the following in order to justify a discriminatory standard as a BFOR:

1. Rational connection to the job -- that the employer adopted the standard for a purpose rationally connected to the performance of the job.

This first step requires identifying the general purpose of the standard, that is what generally the standard is designed to achieve. The purpose of the female only PW standard is to protect women inmates from sexual harassment and abuse by male PWs; to protect the privacy of women inmates engaged in intimate activities; and to facilitate the emotional and psychological healing of women inmates who have been sexually abused. These purposes relate directly and significantly to the job of PW.

2. Bona fides - that the employer adopted the particular standard in an honest and good faith belief that it was necessary to the fulfillment of that legitimate work-related purpose.

This is the subjective element of the test, related to the motives and intentions of the employer. The standard cannot constitute a BFOR if it was not genuinely thought to be reasonably necessary or if it was motivated by discriminatory animus. There is ample evidence of CSCs efforts and commitment to avoid a discriminatory hiring practice in relation to PWs, if at all possible.

3. Reasonably necessary - that the standard is reasonably necessary to the accomplishment of the legitimate work-related purpose.

To show that the female only standard is reasonably necessary, it necessary to demonstrate that it is impossible to accommodate male PWs without imposing undue hardship. The women only PW standard must be shown to be necessary for the safe, efficient and reliable performance of the essential components of the job. The requirement must be objectively necessary, taking into account:

a) scientific and empirical data and expert opinion; impressionistic opinions or anecdotal evidence are less persuasive - there is no scientific data available on this question but this project provides extensive empirical data and expert opinion to support the women only BFOR

b) the detailed nature of the duties to be performed - the relevant duties relate to the extensive control and authority necessarily exercised by PWs over inmates; the job-related intimacy; the extreme vulnerability of many of the women inmates.

c) the conditions existing in the workplace with a duty to modify these conditions if to do so would not cause undue hardship - attempts to modify workplace conditions to accommodate male PWs have been unsuccessful; the undue hardship of having male PWs falls primarily on the women inmates rather than the employer, although male PWs pose an increased risk to the employer with respect to vicarious liability.

d) the effect of workplace conditions on employees, particularly those belonging to a protected group - the impact on female PWs of restricting the activities of male PWs in terms of leaving the women PWs with the most onerous and negative duties and the impact of this on their relations with the inmates is a factor that points to the inadequacy of restricted activities for male PWs as a BFOR. : It is the attempt to employ a less discriminatory practice (i.e. the current cross gender staffing policy) that actually creates the negative effect on workplace conditions. Not only is the current policy ineffective in attaining the purpose of greater protection for women inmates, it has given rise to an additional set of problems in relation to female staff.

The following are factors to be considered in relation to the BFOR:

  • Safe performance of the job -- relates to situations where the absence of the requirement would likely result in injury to the public or co-workers. Safety considerations are the strongest when they pertain to the safety of others and carry diminishing weight as they relate to the safety of the individual and to economic or material loss. The injury at risk in the PW context is to the women inmates. The risk is significant and the injury, if incurred, would be major.
  • Economic risk -- includes indirect economic damage likely to result from injury to persons. In the PW context this would include the costs associated with the increased risk of vicarious liability.

In order to show that the requirement is reasonably necessary, the employer must establish that there were no reasonable, non or less discriminatory, alternatives and that it was not possible to accommodate those adversely affected by the standard without undue hardship to the employer. If a reasonable alternative exists to burdening members of a group with a given rule, that rule will not be a BFOR. This report extensively documents the inadequacy of the less discriminatory alternative of restricting the activities of male PWs and the impossibility of accommodating male PWs while at the same time providing the protection and healing environment necessary for women inmates.

Conclusion

A BFOR exists where "the general purpose of the standard is rationally connected to the performance of the particular job, the particular standard was imposed with an honest, good faith belief in its necessity, and its application in its existing form is reasonably necessary for the employer to accomplish its legitimate purpose without experiencing undue hardship". The female only PW standard would seem to meet the requirements of each of the three steps outlined by the Court in BCGSEU and accordingly to constitute a legitimate BFOR. If found to be a BFOR, it would provide a full defence to any claim of discrimination by a male seeking a PW position working with Federally Sentenced Women.

The Supreme Court of Canada decision in Conway clearly lays the groundwork for the analysis of women only prison workers as a BFOR. The gender analysis in Conway relating to the different circumstances and particular vulnerability of women inmates strongly supports the women only PW BFOR argument. In addition, Rule 53 of the United Nations' Standard Minimum Rules for the Treatment of Prisoners provides strong support for the requirement of female only prison workers as a BFOR. The rule that women prisoners be attended and supervised only by women officers is internationally recognized as the best practice for dealing with women prisoners. The rule is premised on the values of protecting the physical and emotional safety of women prisoners and respect for their dignity and human rights. According to the Supreme Court of Canada decision in Baker, these are the values and the principle that, if possible, should be reflected in the interpretation of the CHRA and the determination of what constitutes a BFOR with respect to staffing in relation to Federally Sentenced Women.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Projet de vérification de la dotation mixte
3e et dernier rapport annuel

i) Exigence professionnelle justifiée

De nombreux répondants craignaient que l'adoption d'une politique d'emploi exclusif d'IPL de sexe féminin serait inéquitable et contraire au droit. Cependant, de solides arguments juridiques permettent d'appuyer, peut-être même d'exiger, une politique d'emploi exclusif d'IPL exclusivement de sexe féminin pour s'occuper des délinquantes. L'exigence professionnelle justifiée (EPJ) établie en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne est le mécanisme grâce auquel ce qui pourrait paraître, au premier abord, être une pratique discriminatoire en matière d'emploi, est considéré non discriminatoire parce qu'elle sert une fonction importante et positive. La politique de dotation mixte actuelle, qui restreint les fonctions des IPL de sexe masculin, constitue aussi, apparemment, une pratique discriminatoire qui aurait besoin d'être justifiée comme EPJ. Les arguments pour en faire des EPJ dans les deux cas seraient essentiellement les mêmes. Cependant, les résultats et l'analyse présentés dans le présent rapport montrent que pour que la politique puisse être considérée comme une EPJ, il faudrait actuellement que seules des IPL de sexe féminin s'occupent des délinquantes. L'option moins discriminatoire qui consiste à restreindre les activités des gardiens de sexe masculin peut, de prime abord, paraître plus acceptable, mais on a pu constater qu'elle était inadéquate et inefficace. Dans la suite de cette étude, nous nous efforçons donc de déterminer s'il est justifié d'utiliser exclusivement des IPL de sexe féminin pour s'occuper des délinquantes et de faire de cette politique une EPJ. La décision finale à ce sujet devra être prise par un tribunal des droits de la personne, ou par un tribunal compétent, en cas de contestation de cette politique.

Une très grande partie de ce rapport est liée à la question de l'EPJ; il s'agit en effet de déterminer dans quelle mesure le fait d'être une femme est une exigence légitime et nécessaire pour occuper un poste d'IPL auprès de détenues. Les données recueillies et présentées dans ce rapport fournissent les arguments pour et contre cette proposition et constituent la base sur laquelle l'évaluation de l'EPJ devrait être fondée. Il ne nous est pas possible de reprendre tous les résultats pertinents et l'analyse contenue dans le rapport dans cette discussion de l'EPJ. L'objet de la présente section est de fournir un aperçu du cadre dans lequel l'information que nous présentons devrait être placée pour justifier l'EPJ.

L'énoncé classique des exigences concernant l'EPJ est fourni par la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada de 1982 dans Ontario (Commission des droits de la personne c. Etobicoke, (1982) 1 L.R.C. 202 et a été cité dans la plupart des affaires d'EPJ depuis :

[...] Pour constituer une exigence professionnelle réelle, une restriction comme la retraite obligatoire à un âge déterminé doit être imposée honnêtement, de bonne foi et avec la conviction sincère que cette restriction est imposée en vue d'assurer la bonne exécution du travail en question d'une manière raisonnablement diligente, sûre et économique, et non pour des motifs inavoués ou étrangers qui visent des objectifs susceptibles d'aller à l'encontre de ceux du Code. Elle doit en outre se rapporter objectivement à l'exercice de l'emploi en question, en étant raisonnablement nécessaire pour assurer l'exécution efficace et économique du travail sans mettre en danger l'employé, ses compagnons de travail et le public en général. (p. 64-65)

En tant qu'exception à l'interdiction générale de toute discrimination, l'EPJ doit être structurée de manière stricte et restrictive et examinée très attentivement. L'exigence doit être clairement reliée aux besoins et à l'exécution du travail. Elle doit avoir fait l'objet d'une réflexion approfondie, notamment d'un examen complet des autres options qui ne sont pas discriminatoires ou moins discriminatoires. Par ailleurs, il faut qu'elle s'appuie sur des preuves crédibles. Selon la Cour suprême du Canada, « Si l'objet général de la norme est relié de manière rationnelle à l'exécution du travail particulier La norme pertinente a été appliquée parce que l'on croyait sincèrement à sa nécessité et que son application sous sa forme existante est raisonnablement nécessaire pour que l'employeur atteigne son but légitime sans subir de préjudice excessif, la norme est une EPJ. » (par. 67 de l'arrêt BCGSEU).

La Cour suprême du Canada a récemment rendu un arrêt sur une affaire d'EPJ - British Columbia (Public Service Employees Relations Commission) v. BCGSEU (inédit) dans lequel elle décrivait en détail la méthode et les exigences. En outre, la « Politique relative à l'exigence professionnelle justifiée » de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne, présentée en 1988, aide beaucoup à déterminer l'intention, et l'application probable de l'exception.

La Cour suprême décrit une méthode en trois étapes pour déterminer si une norme discriminatoire est une EPJ. L'employeur doit établir les points suivants pour justifier qu'une norme discriminatoire est une EPJ :

1. Lien rationnel avec le travail - que l'employeur a adopté la norme dans un but rationnellement lié à l'exécution du travail en cause.

Dans la première étape, il faut déterminer l'objet général de la norme, c'est-à-dire le but dans lequel elle a été conçue. L'objet de la norme consistant à utiliser uniquement des IPL de sexe féminin est de protéger les détenues contre le harcèlement sexuel et la violence de la part d'IPL de sexe masculin; de protéger la vie privée des détenues lorsqu'elles se livrent à des activités intimes; de faciliter la guérison émotionnelle et psychologique des détenues victimes de violence sexuelle. Le lieu entre ces buts et le travail du IPL est direct et pertinent.

2. Bonne foi - que l'employeur a adopté la norme en question en croyant sincèrement qu'elle était nécessaire pour réaliser ce but légitime lié au travail.

C'est là l'élément subjectif du critère car il est lié aux motifs et aux intentions de l'employeur. La norme ne peut pas constituer une EPJ si on ne pensait pas sincèrement qu'elle était raisonnablement nécessaire ou si elle était inspirée par une volonté de discrimination. Il existe d'innombrables preuves des efforts et de la bonne volonté déployés par le SCC pour éviter dans toute la mesure du possible une pratique de recrutement discriminatoire des IPL.

3. Raisonnablement nécessaire - que la norme soit raisonnablement nécessaire pour assurer l'atteinte de l'objectif lié au travail.

Pour montrer que la norme d'emploi exclusif de femmes est raisonnablement nécessaire, il est indispensable de prouver qu'il est impossible d'utiliser des IPL de sexe masculin sans imposer un préjudice indu. Il faut pouvoir montrer que la norme d'utilisation exclusive d'IPL de sexe féminin est nécessaire pour assurer l'exécution sûre, efficiente et fiable des composantes essentielles de l'emploi. L'exigence doit être objectivement établie, en tenant compte des éléments suivants :

a) les données scientifiques et empiriques et l'opinion des spécialistes; les simples opinions ou les preuves anecdotiques sont moins convaincantes - il n'existe pas de données scientifiques sur la question mais ce projet fournit des données empiriques abondantes ainsi que l'opinion de spécialistes en faveur de l'EPJ relative à l'emploi exclusif de femmes;

b) le caractère détaillé des tâches à exécuter - ces tâches sont liées au contrôle et à l'autorité considérables qui sont nécessairement exercés par les IPL sur les détenues; le climat d'intimité créé par l'emploi lui-même; la vulnérabilité extrême d'un grand nombre de détenues;

c) les conditions existant dans le milieu de travail et l'obligation de modifier ces conditions si cela ne crée pas de préjudice excessif - les tentatives de modification du milieu de travail pour faire une place aux IPL de sexe masculin ont été un échec; ce sont les détenues et non l'employeur qui doivent faire face au préjudice indu créé par la présence d'IPL de sexe masculin, encore que ceux-ci constituent un risque accru pour cet employeur sur le plan de la responsabilité du fait d'autrui;

d) l'effet des conditions du milieu de travail sur les employés, en particulier ceux qui appartiennent à un groupe protégé - les incidences sur les IPL de sexe féminin de la restriction des activités de leurs collègues masculins ayant pour effet de laisser les IPL de sexe féminin devoir assumer les tâches les plus lourdes et les plus désagréables, et l'incidence de cette situation sur leurs relations avec les détenues est un facteur qui montre qu'une EPJ consistant à restreindre les activités des IPL de sexe masculin n'est pas acceptable : c'est la tentative faite pour employer une pratique moins discriminatoire (la politique de dotation mixte actuelle) qui a en fait un effet négatif sur les conditions dans le milieu de travail. La politique actuelle ne parvient non seulement pas à atteindre l'objectif qui est d'assurer une plus grande protection aux détenues, mais il crée une série de problèmes supplémentaires pour le personnel féminin.

Voici les facteurs qui jouent lorsque l'on considère l'EPJ :

  • Exécution du travail dans des conditions de sécurité - Situations dans lesquelles, si cette exigence n'existait pas, il est probable que le public ou des compagnons de travail seraient victimes de préjudice. La sécurité est une préoccupation primordiale lorsqu'il s'agit de la sécurité d'autrui; elle perd de son importance lorsqu'il s'agit de la sécurité de l'individu ou d'une perte économique ou matérielle. Dans le contexte des IPL, ce sont les détenues qui courent le risque de préjudice. Ce risque est important et, s'il se produisait, le préjudice serait grave.
  • Risque économique - Préjudice économique indirect probablement dû aux préjudices subis par des personnes. Dans le cas des IPL, cela comprendrait les coûts liés à l'augmentation du risque de responsabilité du fait d'autrui.

Pour montrer que l'exigence est raisonnablement nécessaire, il faut que l'employeur établisse qu'il n'existait pas d'autres options non discriminatoires ou moins discriminatoires raisonnables et qu'il n'a pas été possible d'adapter le travail des personnes auxquelles la norme nuisait sans que cela ne fasse subir un préjudice injustifié à l'employeur. S'il existe une mesure de rechange raisonnable à l'imposition d'un règlement pesant sur les membres d'un groupe, ce règlement ne doit pas être une EPJ. Le présent rapport prouve abondamment que l'option moins discriminatoire consistant à restreindre les activités des IPL de sexe masculin n'est pas satisfaisante et qu'il est impossible d'adapter le travail des IPL de sexe masculin tout en assurant aux détenues la protection et le climat propice à la guérison dont elles ont besoin.

Conclusion

Il y a exigence professionnelle justifiée parce que « l'objet général de la norme est liée de manière rationnelle à l'exécution de la tâche concernée, la norme a été imposée de bonne foi parce qu'elle a été jugée nécessaire, et son application sous sa forme existante est raisonnablement nécessaire pour que l'employeur parvienne à réaliser son but légitime sans subir de préjudice injustifié ». La norme d'utilisation exclusive d'IPL de sexe féminin semble satisfaire aux exigences de chacune des trois étapes décrites par la Cour dans l'arrêt BCGSEU et constitue donc une EPJ légitime. Si cela s'avérait le cas, cela constituerait une défense parfaite contre toute accusation de discrimination présentée par un homme cherchant à obtenir un poste d'IPL dans un établissement pour femmes.

La décision de la Cour suprême du Canada dans Conway établit clairement les bases de l'analyse visant à faire une EPJ de l'emploi exclusif de femmes dans les prisons. L'analyse comparative dans Conway portant sur la situation différente des hommes et des femmes et sur la vulnérabilité particulière des détenues renforce sérieusement l'argument de l'utilisation exclusive d'IPL de sexe féminin. En outre, la Règle 53 de l'Ensemble de Règles minima des Nations Unies pour le traitement des prisonniers confirme que l'utilisation exclusive d'IPL de sexe féminin constitue une exigence professionnelle justifiée. La règle selon laquelle seules des agents de sexe féminin s'occupent des détenues et les supervisent est internationalement reconnue comme la meilleure pratique lorsqu'il s'agit de détenues. Cette règle est fondée sur l'importance qui s'attache à la protection de la sécurité physique et émotionnelle des détenues et au respect de leur dignité et de leurs droits. Selon la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada dans Baker, ces valeurs et ce principe devraient, dans la mesure du possible, inspirer l'interprétation de la LCDP et de la définition de ce qui constitue une EPJ en ce qui concerne la dotation dans les établissements pour femmes purgeant une peine de ressort fédéral.