Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Parenting Roles And Experiences Of Abuse In Women Offenders: Review Of The Offender Intake Assessments

Age and number of children

Table 2 shows the proportion of women who had at least one child in a particular age group. In order to allow for comparison, specific age groups that were used here were those presented in the Survey. However, it should be noted that the Survey did not provide a precise description of the categories "with at least one child 5 and under and not adopted" and "with at least one child 16 and under and not adopted." Therefore, it is not clear whether all women who had only children 5 years old or younger, were also subsumed under the category "with at least one child 16 and under and not adopted" since the categories are not mutually exclusive. It is assumed for the present analyses, however, that the categories were intended to be mutually exclusive, given that otherwise, the category of women with at least one child 5 years old or younger would be redundant. In the OIAs Review, therefore, if a woman had one or more children aged 5 or under, she was placed only in the category of women "with at least one child 5 and under and not adopted."

Table 2

Number of Women with Children According to Children's Ages

   

Survey of FSW

(N=169)a

OIAs Review

(N=351)b

 

n

%

n

%

Women with at least one child 5 or under & not adopted

41

(24.2)

112

(31.9)

Women with at least one child 16 or under & not adopted

81

(47.9)

148

(42.2)

Women with all children 17 and older

20

(11.8)

35

(10.0)

Note. In the first two categories, a woman may be represented more than once.

a In the Survey, information for 1 woman was missing.

b In the OIAs Review, information for 75 women was missing: for 49 women, information on all of their children's ages was missing, and for 26 women, there was no information on whether they had children.

There was no significant difference [(_2 (1, N = 521) = 3.74, n.s.)] between the proportion of women who had at least one child 5 or under and not adopted in the Survey (47.9%) and in the OIAs Review (42.2%). Similarly, the two samples did not differ [(_2 (1, N = 521) = 1.18, n.s.)] in regards to the proportion of women who had at least one child 16 or under and not adopted. Given that the main interest was to explore the proportion of women with at least one minor child, the between-group difference was not tested in respect to the number of women whose children were all 17 or older. Information was missing for 17.6% of women in the OIAs Review study (N=75), and for that reason the proportion of women who had at least one child in a particular age group, as presented in Table 2, represents an approximation of the true value.

Table 3 shows the total number of children for women in both samples. It is clear that most of the women who were mothers had more than one child. In many instances, their children were of different age groups and for that reason a number of women are represented more than once in Table 3.

Table 3

Number of Children

   

Survey of FSW

(N=168)a

OIAs Review

(N=383)b

 

n

%

n

%

0

60

(35.7)

75

(19.6)

1

31

(18.5)

78

(20.4)

2

37

(22.0)

94

(24.5)

3

18

(10.7)

69

(18.0)

4

10

(5.9)

35

(9.1)

5

10

(5.9)

20

(5.2)

6 and more

2

(1.2)

12

(3.1)

Note. a In the Survey information for 2 women was missing: for one woman there was no information whether she had children, and for another one, information on the number of children she had was missing.

b In the OIAs Review, information for 43 women was missing: whether a woman had children was not available for 26, and for 17, there was no information on the number of children.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Le rôle parental et les expériences de violence des délinquantes : Examen des évaluations initiales des délinquantes

Le nombre d'enfants et leur âge

Le tableau 2 indique la proportion de femmes qui ont au moins un enfant dans un groupe d'âge particulier. Afin de rendre la comparaison possible, les groupes d'âge utilisés ici sont ceux présentés dans le Sondage. Il faut toutefois souligner que le rapport du Sondage ne décrit pas de manière précise les catégories " ayant au moins un enfant de 5 ans et moins, non donné en adoption " et " ayant au moins un enfant de 16 ans et moins, non donné en adoption ". Il est donc difficile de savoir si toutes les femmes ayant uniquement des enfants de 5 ans ou moins sont également comprises dans la catégorie " ayant au moins un enfant de 16 ans et moins, non donné en adoption ", puisque les catégories ne sont pas absolument exclusives. Aux fins des présentes analyses, il est toutefois présumé que les catégories se veulent absolument exclusives; si tel n'était pas le cas, la catégorie des " femmes ayant au moins un enfant de 5 ans ou moins " serait superflue. Donc, dans l'Examen des EI, la femme qui a un enfant ou plus d'un enfant de 5 ans ou moins, est classée dans la catégorie des femmes " ayant au moins un enfant de 5 ans et moins, non donné en adoption ".

Tableau 2

Nombre de femmes ayant des enfants, selon l'âge des enfants

   

Sondage auprès des FPPF

(N=169)a

Examen des EI

(N=351)b

 

n

%

n

%

Femmes ayant au moins un enfant de 5 ans ou moins, non donné en adoption

41

(24,2)

112

(31,9)

Femmes ayant au moins un enfant de 16 ans ou moins, non donné en adoption

81

(47,9)

148

(42,2)

Femmes dont tous les enfants ont 17 ans et plus

20

(11,8)

35

(10,0)

Remarque. Dans les deux premières catégories, une femme peut être représentée plus d'une fois.

a Lors du Sondage, ce renseignement n'était pas disponible pour une femme.

b Lors de l'Examen des EI, ce renseignement n'était pas disponible pour 75 femmes; pour 49 femmes, l'âge de tous leurs enfants n'était pas indiqué; et pour 26 femmes, il n'était pas précisé si elles avaient des enfants ou non.

Il n'y a pas de différence significative [(_2 (1, N = 521) = 3.74, n.s.)] entre la proportion de femmes ayant au moins un enfant de 5 ans ou moins, non donné en adoption, dans l'échantillon du Sondage (47,9 %) et dans celui de l'Examen des EI (42,2 %). Dans le même ordre d'idées, les deux échantillons ne diffèrent pas non plus [(_2 (1, N = 521) = 1,18, n.s.)] au regard de la proportion de femmes ayant au moins un enfant de 16 ans ou moins, non donné en adoption. L'intérêt principal étant d'explorer la proportion de femmes ayant au moins un enfant mineur, la différence entre les deux groupes n'a pas été vérifiée en ce qui concerne le nombre de femmes dont les enfants sont âgés de 17 ans ou plus. Cette information n'est pas disponible pour 17,6 % des femmes visées par l'Examen des EI (N=75) et c'est la raison pour laquelle la proportion de femmes ayant au moins un enfant dans un groupe d'âge en particulier, telle que présentée au tableau 2, n'est qu'une approximation de la valeur vraie.

Le tableau 3 indique le nombre total d'enfants qu'ont les femmes dans les deux échantillons. Il est clair que la majorité des femmes qui sont mères ont plus d'un enfant. Dans bien des cas, leurs enfants appartiennent à différents groupes d'âge et c'est pourquoi un certain nombre de femmes sont représentées plus d'une fois dans le tableau 3.

Tableau 3

Nombre d'enfants

   

Sondage auprès des FPPF

(N=168)a

Examen des EI

(N=383)b

 

n

%

n

%

0

60

(35,7)

75

(19,6)

1

31

(18,5)

78

(20,4)

2

37

(22,0)

94

(24,5)

3

18

(10,7)

69

(18,0)

4

10

(5,9)

35

(9,1)

5

10

(5,9)

20

(5,2)

6 et plus

2

(1,2)

12

(3,1)

Remarque. a Lors du Sondage, ce renseignement n'était pas disponible pour deux femmes; pour l'une d'entre elles, il n'était pas précisé si elle avait des enfants, tandis que pour l'autre, le nombre d'enfants qu'elle avait n'était pas indiqué.

b Lors de l'Examen des EI, ce renseignement n'était pas disponible pour 43 femmes; pour 26 d'entre elles, les dossiers ne précisaient pas si elles avaient des enfants, tandis que pour les 17 autres, le nombre d'enfants qu'elles avaient n'était pas indiqué.