Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Parenting Roles And Experiences Of Abuse In Women Offenders: Review Of The Offender Intake Assessments

Childcare responsibilities prior to incarceration

Table 4 shows women's childcare responsibilities and the living arrangements of their children prior to incarceration. The difference between the proportion of women who were primary careproviders for their children in the two studies was not statistically significant [(_2 (1, N = 395) = 2.97, n.s.)]. In both studies, over half of the women with children had primary responsibility for their children prior to incarceration. Results from the Survey indicate that before incarceration, 62.4% of women with children lived full-time with at least one of their children either as a single parent or with a partner (children's father), whereas in the OIAs Review, the figure was 52.1%.

Table 4

Children's Living Arrangements Prior to Mothers' Incarcerationa

   

Survey of FSW

(N=109)

OIAs Review

(N=286)b

 

n

%

n

%

All grown up & live apart

8

(7.3)

34

(11.9)

At least one with her

58

(53.2)

99

(34.6)

With her and father

10

(9.2)

50

(17.5)

With ex-husband/common lawc

10

(9.2)

30

(10.5)

With grandparents, etc.

12

(11.0)

38

(13.3)

With friend

3

(2.8)

2

( .7)

All in care/adopted out

8

(7.3)

14

(4.9)

Note. In the OIAs Review, some women may be represented more than once in certain categories, since childcare arrangements differed for some of their children. For that reason percentages do not sum to 100.

a In addition to the living arrangements listed in the Survey other arrangements were indicated in the OIA Review including: one or more lived with their relatives (17), in foster home/CAS (33), at least one adopted out at early age (28)

b In the case of 39 women, all information regarding their children was missing.

c In OIAs Review ex-husband/common law refers to the child's father. This was not specified in the Survey.

Survey results showed that out of those women who were primary careproviders for their child(ren) prior to incarceration (68 women), most mothers were single parents (58 women, or 85.3%), whereas a smaller number of women lived with their child(ren) and their child's father (10 women, or 14.7%). Compared to the Survey, in the OIAs Review, out of all the women who were primary careproviders for their children (149), a smaller proportion were sole parents (99 women, or 66.4%), whereas proportionally more women were living with their child(ren) and the child(ren)'s father (50 women, or, 33.5%). These differences were statistically significant [(_2 (1, N = 217) = 7.38, p> .01)], indicating that in the present study, a greater proportion of women who were primary careproviders for their children prior to incarceration lived with their child and partner (child's father), rather than as single parents.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Le rôle parental et les expériences de violence des délinquantes : Examen des évaluations initiales des délinquantes

Les responsabilités à l'endroit des enfants avant l'incarcération

Le tableau 4 montre quelles étaient les responsabilités des femmes à l'endroit de leurs enfants et les dispositions prises pour la garde de ces derniers avant l'incarcération. Dans les deux études, la différence entre le pourcentage de femmes qui étaient les principales prestataires de soins à leurs enfants n'est pas statistiquement significative [(_2 (1, N = 395) = 2,97, n.s.)]. Dans les deux cas, plus de la moitié des femmes ayant des enfants en étaient les premières responsables avant d'être incarcérées. Les résultats du Sondage indiquent qu'avant l'incarcération, 62,4 % des femmes ayant des enfants vivaient à temps plein avec au moins l'un d'entre eux, à titre de chef de famille monoparentale ou avec un conjoint (père de l'enfant), tandis que dans l'Examen des EI, ce pourcentage est de 52,1 %.

Tableau 4

Dispositions prises pour la garde des enfants avant l'incarcération de la mèrea

   

Sondage auprès des FPPF

(N=109)

Examen des EI

(N=286)b

 

n

%

n

%

Sont grands et vivent seuls

8

(7,3)

34

(11,9)

Au moins un avec elle

58

(53,2)

99

(34,6)

Avec elle et le père

10

(9,2)

50

(17,5)

Avec ex-mari ou ex-conjoint de faitc

10

(9,2)

30

(10,5)

Avec grands-parents, etc.

12

(11,0)

38

(13,3)

Avec un ou une amie

3

(2,8)

2

(0,7)

Tous placés ou donnés en adoption

8

(7,3)

14

(4,9)

Remarque. Dans l'Examen des EI, des femmes peuvent être représentées plus d'une fois dans certaines catégories, puisque les dispositions prises pour la garde des différents enfants ne sont pas toujours les mêmes. C'est la raison pour laquelle le total des pourcentages n'est pas égal à 100.

a Outre les dispositions prises pour la garde des enfants énumérées dans le Sondage, d'autres sont indiquées dans l'Examen des EI, notamment les suivantes : un enfant ou plus vit avec des personnes apparentées (17), foyers d'accueil ou Société d'aide à l'enfance (33), au moins un enfant a été donné en adoption en bas âge (28)

b Dans les cas de 39 femmes, tous les renseignements concernant les enfants n'étaient pas indiqués.

c Dans l'Examen des EI, l'ex-mari ou l'ex-conjoint de fait est le père de l'enfant. Cette précision n'est pas fournie dans le Sondage.

Les résultats du Sondage indiquent que la plupart des femmes qui étaient les principales prestataires de soins à leur enfant (ou à leurs enfants) avant l'incarcération (68 femmes) étaient chefs de famille monoparentale (58 femmes, soit 85,3 %), mais qu'elles étaient moins nombreuses à vivre avec leur enfant (ou leurs enfants) et le père de celui-ci ou de ceux-ci (10 femmes, soit 14,7 %). En comparaison avec le Sondage, l'Examen des EI révèle qu'une plus faible proportion des femmes qui étaient les principales prestataires de soins à leurs enfants (149), étaient parents uniques (99 femmes, soit 66,4 %), tandis que, proportionnellement, davantage de femmes vivaient avec leur enfant (ou leurs enfants) et le père de celui-ci ou de ceux-ci (50 femmes, soit 33,5 %). Ces différences sont statistiquement significatives [(_2 (1, N = 217) = 7,38, p> 0,01)] et indiquent que, dans la présente étude, une plus forte proportion de femmes, principales prestataires de soins à leurs enfants avant l'incarcération, vivaient alors avec leur enfant et un conjoint (père de l'enfant) au lieu d'être chefs de famille monoparentale.