Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Parenting Roles And Experiences Of Abuse In Women Offenders: Review Of The Offender Intake Assessments

Number of women who indicated experiences of abuse

Review of the Domain Comments showed that women indicated a variety of types of childhood/adolescent environments and adulthood experiences. Women's descriptions of their experiences ranged from very positive statements about their childhood/adolescence and adulthood, to those of extreme violence and abuse. The contents of the Domain Comments covering the abuse issue varied tremendously. Some provided only general statements referring to experiences of abuse, such as: "reports that she was abused as a child," "grew up in an abusive/dysfunctional family," "was abused by her common law partner," etc. Other Domain Comments, documented women's indications of the specific types of abuse they suffered (physical, emotional, sexual). Examples of the indicated experiences of abuse are provided in Appendix B. General statements of abuse, as well as those that refer to specific types of abuse experienced during childhood/adolescence and/or adulthood, were collapsed here in order to provide an estimate of the proportion of women for whom it was documented that they indicated having experienced abuse during some period in their lives. This estimation resulted in 78.8% of women in the OIAs Review.

In some Domain Comments it was pointed out that a woman did not want to talk about her experiences of abuse in greater detail, or that a woman was not able to remember anything more specific about these experiences. It should be noted that the Survey also indicated the possibility that some women may not remember abuse at all. For that reason, it is important to keep in mind that if a woman did not indicate abuse, it does not mean that she did not have this type of experience.

Categorizing indicated experiences was problematic and difficult at times. In some instances, it was noted that the woman stated she had no experiences of abuse and had a positive relationship with her parents. Yet, she would describe a dysfunctional family environment in which she would routinely witness violence and fighting between her parents and/or siblings. In other cases, documented accounts of a woman's childhood experiences conveyed that she felt loved, accepted and nurtured during her childhood and that she lived in a stable and supportive family environment. The woman herself would qualify her childhood experiences as positive. Thus, despite the extremely different life stories, in both instances the relationships were described as "positive" by the women. For this study, the first case was coded as "dysfunctional/abusive," and the latter case as "positive childhood experiences." One rationale for this distinction was that it seemed more relevant for the purposes of this study to differentiate those women who may have some issues from their childhood experiences to deal with (although they may not call them experiences of abuse), from those who most likely do not, and whose childhood experiences may represent an "asset." Secondly, many of the women described experiences that they did not consider to represent abuse, such as neglect, rejection or witnessing violence which are in the literature identified as forms of abuse (Demare, 1996). This, combined with the fact that some women possibly need to redefine their experiences of abuse in order to survive them (and therefore may not define a certain experience as abuse), represented reasons for coding them as "experience of abuse." Finally, in some instances it was clear that women considered their childhood experiences as "positive" primarily in comparison to the extreme instances of abuse they experienced later on in their lives.

Keeping in mind the aforementioned difficulties and limitations of collecting data on the experiences of abuse by the method employed in the OIAs Review, it is not appropriate to conduct a statistical comparison of the findings from this study and those from the Survey. However, the percentage figures are similar. OIA Review showed that 78.8% of women indicated abuse. The Survey showed that "82% (84) of the women in PFW had been either physically or sexually abused and 72% (49) of those in the provinces" (p.30). Thus, although the possibility of comparing results of these two studies is very limited, it is nevertheless clear that they both indicate that a proportion of women who had experienced abuse is very high.

Finally, it should be noted that not all documented references women made in relation to their childhood and adulthood experiences necessarily referred to experiences of abuse, and as previously mentioned, some women conveyed that they had very positive relationships. These positive relationships were also coded in the present study.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Le rôle parental et les expériences de violence des délinquantes : Examen des évaluations initiales des délinquantes

Nombre de femmes qui ont indiqué avoir vécu des expériences de violence

L'examen des commentaires sur le domaine des besoins montre que les milieux de l'enfance et de l'adolescence, et les expériences de vie adulte, décrits par les femmes sont fort diversifiés. Ces descriptions vont de visions très positives de l'enfance, de l'adolescence et de la vie adulte, à l'évocation d'une extrême violence. Lorsqu'il est question de violence, de très grandes variations sont constatées dans les commentaires sur le domaine des besoins. Certains dossiers ne contiennent que des déclarations générales au sujet des expériences de violence, comme celles-ci : " déclare avoir été maltraitée alors qu'elle était enfant ", " a grandi dans une famille violente et dysfonctionnelle ", " a été violentée par son conjoint de fait ", etc. D'autres commentaires sur le domaine de besoins indiquent que les femmes ont précisé la nature de la violence subie (physique, psychologique, sexuelle). Des exemples d'expériences de violence vécues par les femmes sont fournis à l'annexe B. Afin d'estimer le pourcentage des femmes ayant indiqué avoir été maltraitées à une période ou l'autre de leur vie, nous avons placé ensemble les dossiers évoquant de manière générale ou plus précise des expériences de violence vécues pendant l'enfance, l'adolescence et la vie adulte. Dans l'ensemble, l'Examen des EI permet d'affirmer qu'environ 78,8 % des femmes ont déjà été victimes de violence.

Certains commentaires sur le domaine des besoins font remarquer que la femme refuse de fournir des détails sur les expériences de violence qu'elle a vécues ou qu'elle ne parvient pas à se remémorer ceux-ci. Il faut aussi signaler que le rapport sur le Sondage soulève la possibilité que des femmes aient complètement oublié les mauvais traitements subis. Il est donc important de rappeler que le fait qu'une femme n'évoque aucun épisode de violence dans sa vie ne signifie pas nécessairement qu'elle n'a jamais été maltraitée.

Il s'est révélé à la fois problématique et difficile de diviser en catégories les expériences racontées. Dans certains cas, la femme déclare n'avoir jamais vécu de violence et avoir été en bons termes avec ses parents. Pourtant, cette même femme décrit un milieu familial dysfonctionnel dans lequel elle était couramment témoin de violence et de querelles entre ses parents et entre ses frères et s_urs. Dans d'autres cas, la femme déclare s'être sentie aimée, acceptée et entourée pendant son enfance et avoir grandi dans un milieu familial stable favorisant son épanouissement. La femme elle-même qualifie de positives les expériences de son enfance. Même si ces récits sont diamétralement opposés, les femmes qualifient de positives, dans les deux cas, leurs relations avec leurs familles. Aux fins de la présente étude, le premier cas a été codé " famille dysfonctionnelle et violente " et le second " expériences positives durant l'enfance ". Cette distinction est justifiée notamment par le fait qu'il semble plus pertinent, compte tenu des buts visés, de classer dans des catégories différentes les femmes qui sont peut-être aux prises avec des problèmes découlant des expériences de leur enfance (même si elles ne qualifient pas celles-ci d'expériences de violence) et celles qui ne vivent probablement pas de tels problèmes et dont les expériences de l'enfance peuvent même représenter un " atout ". En deuxième lieu, bon nombre de femmes décrivent des expériences qu'elles ne jugent pas violentes, telles que la négligence, le rejet ou le fait d'être témoin de la violence, mais qui sont relevées dans les écrits sur le sujet comme des formes de violence (Demare, 1996). Ce constat, ajouté au fait que certaines femmes ont peut-être senti le besoin de redéfinir leurs expériences de violence afin d'y survivre (ce qui les amène à ne pas qualifier de violentes certaines de ces expériences) est une raison de les inscrire dans la catégorie " expérience de violence ". Enfin, dans certains cas, il est évident que les femmes considèrent comme " positives " les expériences de leur enfance par comparaison avec la violence extrême qu'elles ont vécue par la suite.

Sans perdre de vue les difficultés susmentionnées et les limites de la collecte de données sur les expériences de violence, et compte tenu de la méthode employée dans l'Examen des EI, il n'est pas approprié d'établir une comparaison statistique entre les constatations de la présente étude et celles du Sondage. Cependant, les pourcentages sont les mêmes. L'Examen des EI montre que 78,8 % des femmes affirment avoir subi des mauvais traitements. Le Sondage parvient à la conclusion que 82 % (84) des détenues de la Prison des femmes et 72 % (49) des femmes sous responsabilité provinciale ont déjà été victimes de violence physique ou sexuelle. Par conséquent, même s'il est difficile de comparer les résultats des deux études, il n'en demeure pas moins que les deux révèlent qu'une forte proportion des femmes a vécu des expériences de violence.

En dernier lieu, il convient de rappeler que les récits documentés que font les femmes sur les expériences vécues pendant l'enfance et la vie adulte n'évoquent pas nécessairement des épisodes de violence et que, comme nous l'avons déjà vu, certaines femmes affirment avoir eu dans le passé des relations très positives. Ces relations positives ont également été codées dans la présente étude.