Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Parenting Roles And Experiences Of Abuse In Women Offenders: Review Of The Offender Intake Assessments

Indicated experiences of abuse in adulthood

Table 8 shows that altogether 75.4% of women for whom information was available indicated experiences of abuse in adulthood (i.e. gave a general statement or indicted a specific type of abuse). OIAs of a fairly high number of women (104 or 24.4% of the entire sample) contained no information about abuse during adulthood, which may affect the accuracy of the provided estimates.

Table 8

Indications of Women's Adulthood Experiences

   

OIAs Review

(N=322)a

 

n

%

General statements of abuse

90

(27.4)

Specific type(s) of abuse

158

(48.0)

No experience of any abuse

74

(22.5)

Note. a Information was missing for 104 women.

Types of indicated abuse experienced in adulthood are presented in Table 9. In many instances, women experienced multiple types of abuse, physical and verbal being the most frequent (38.6%).

Table 9

Indicated Types of Abuse in Adulthood

   

OIAs Review

(N=158)a

 

n

%

Physical and verbal

61

(38.6)

Physical

54

(34.2)

Verbal, sexual and physical

27

(17.1)

Verbal/emotional

Sexual

12

4

(7.6)

(2.5)

Note. a Information on adulthood experiences was missing for 104 women. In the case of 90 women, only a general indication of abuse was provided and they were not included in this table.

Available data, although very limited, suggest that women's abusers in adulthood were most frequently the women's (male) partners. Nevertheless, in reviewing the women's documented accounts of their relationships, two patterns emerged. In the case of approximately half of the women for whom information was available, all of their partners had been abusive. In the case of the other half, although they had experienced abusive relations with one (or some) partners, they also indicated experiences of warm and supportive relationships with others.

Accounts of substance abuse were almost inseparable from those on situations of abuse and violence. The most commonly reported themes were that women resorted to drinking/substance abuse in order to "make it through the day" and to survive the abuse they were exposed to. Another theme that was often present was that their abusers (in most instances partners) were heavy drinkers and would often force women to drink with them. In some instances, women themselves were violent towards their partners and they themselves depicted fights more as a two-way process, in which both sides participated in "attacking" or defending themselves. And finally, some women stated that once they started "fighting back," they noticed that the abuse decreased or stopped entirely.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Le rôle parental et les expériences de violence des délinquantes : Examen des évaluations initiales des délinquantes

Expériences de violence que les femmes affirment avoir vécues au cours de leur vie adulte

Le tableau 8 montre que, dans l'ensemble, 75,4 % des femmes dont les dossiers contiennent des renseignements sur leur vie adulte affirment avoir été maltraitées pendant cette période de leur existence (qu'elles aient fait une allusion générale à la violence subie ou fourni des détails sur les mauvais traitements subis). Les évaluations initiales d'un nombre assez élevé de femmes (104, soit 24,4 % de tout l'échantillon) ne contiennent aucun renseignement sur la violence subie au cours de la vie adulte, ce qui peut avoir des effets sur l'exactitude des estimations établies.

Tableau 8

Expériences de violence que les femmes affirment avoir
vécues au cours de leur vie adulte

   

Examen des EI

(N=322)a

 

n

 %

Allusion générale à la violence subie

90

(27,4)

Renseignements détaillés sur la violence subie

158

(48,0)

Aucune expérience de violence

74

(22,5)

Remarque. a Ce renseignement n'était pas disponible pour 104 femmes.

Les formes de violence vécues au cours de la vie adulte sont présentées au tableau  9. Dans bien des cas, les femmes déclarent avoir été victimes de nombreuses formes de violence, la violence physique et verbale étant la plus fréquente (38,6 %).

Tableau 9

Formes de violence que les femmes affirment avoir subies au cours de leur vie adulte

   

Examen des EI

(N=158)a

 

n

%

Violence physique et verbale

61

(38,6)

Violence physique

54

(34,2)

Violence verbale, sexuelle et physique

27

(17,1)

Violence verbale et psychologique

Violence sexuelle

12

4

(7,6)

(2,5)

Remarque. a Les renseignements concernant les expériences de la vie adulte n'étaient pas disponibles pour 104 femmes. Quatre-vingt-dix femmes n'ont fait qu'une allusion générale à la violence subie; les déclarations de ces femmes ne sont pas prises en compte dans ce tableau.

Les renseignements disponibles, quoique très restreints, donnent à penser que les agresseurs des femmes au cours de la vie adulte sont le plus souvent leurs conjoints. Pourtant, l'examen des récits que font les femmes de leurs relations, font apparaître deux tendances. Environ la moitié des femmes pour lesquelles cette information est disponible ont été maltraitées par tous leurs conjoints. L'autre moitié des femmes ont aussi vécu des relations violentes avec un ou plusieurs conjoints, mais ont également eu des conjoints aimants et bienveillants.

La toxicomanie va presque toujours de pair avec la violence. Le plus souvent, les femmes boivent et se droguent pour " tenir le coup " et survivre aux mauvais traitements auxquels elles sont exposées. Dans d'autres cas, leurs agresseurs (leurs conjoints, la plupart du temps) sont des buveurs excessifs et les forcent à boire avec eux. Certaines femmes sont elles-mêmes violentes à l'endroit de leurs conjoints et décrivent des affrontements dans lesquels les deux parties " attaquent " et se défendent tour à tour. D'autres femmes affirment enfin que, lorsqu'elles ripostent à la violence, celle-ci diminue ou cesse complètement.