Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Parenting Roles And Experiences Of Abuse In Women Offenders: Review Of The Offender Intake Assessments

The Aboriginal population and experiences of abuse

The Survey pointed out that abuse played "... a far more widespread part in the lives of native women" (Shaw et al., 1990, p.30), compared to non-native women. It indicated that 90% of Aboriginal and 61% of non-Aboriginal women had been physically abused, whereas 61% of Aboriginal and 50% of non-Aboriginal women had been sexually abused. Tables 10 and 11 show findings from this study with respect to indicated childhood/adolescent and adulthood experiences of abuse in the Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal sample.

Table 10 shows that in the OIA Review sample, 75.9% of Aboriginal women for whom information was available, indicated childhood/adolescent experiences of abuse (i.e. gave a general statement or described a specific type of abuse), whereas these experiences were indicated in the case of 55.6% of non-Aboriginal women. Also, a smaller percentage of Aboriginal women (10.8%) stated that they did not experience any type of abuse, compared to the non-Aboriginal women (21.6%).

Table 10

Indications of Childhood/Adolescent Experiences According to Aboriginal vs. Non-Aboriginal Status

   

Aboriginal

(N=83)a

Non-Aboriginal

(N=282)b

 

n

%

n

%

General statements of abuse

21

(25.3)

56

(19.8)

Specific type(s) of abuse

42

(50.6)

101

(35.8)

No experiences of any abuse

9

(10.8)

61

(21.6)

Positive/supportive environment

8

(9.6)

54

(19.1)

Note. Information on racial backgrounds was not available for 21 women [general (8), specific (5), no abuse (3), positive (4), information on abuse not available (1) ]

a Information was not available for 5 Aboriginal women.

b Information was not available for 35 non-Aboriginal women

As shown in Table 11, experiences of abuse during adulthood were indicated by 95.9% of the Aboriginal (i.e. gave a general statement or describe a specific type of abuse), whereas in the non-Aboriginal sample the figure was 72.4%. Only 4.1% of Aboriginal women and 27.6% of non-Aboriginal women stated that they did not experience any type of abuse during their adulthood.

Table 11

Indications of Adulthood Experiences According to Aboriginal vs. Non-Aboriginal Status

   

Aboriginal

(N=74)a

Non-Aboriginal

(N=232)b

 

n

%

n

%

General statements of abuse

26

(35.1)

61

(26.3)

Specific type(s) of abuse

45

(60.8)

107

(46.1)

No experiences of any abuse

3

(4.1)

64

(27.6)

         

Note. Information on racial backgrounds was not available for 21 women [general (3), specific (6), no abuse (7), no information (5)].

a Information was not available for 14 Aboriginal women.

b Information was not available for 85 non-Aboriginal women.

A chi square analysis was performed to examine the differences between the two groups (Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal) in respect to the prevalence of abuse in childhood/adolescence and adulthood. Women's indications of specific types of abuse and their general statements on these experiences were collapsed into one category. A statistically significant difference between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal women [(_2 (1, N = 365) = 10.13, p>.01)] was found, indicating that childhood abuse was to a considerably greater extent present, or indicated to have been present, in the case of Aboriginal women, compared to non-Aboriginal. Similarly, significantly more Aboriginal women indicated or described experiences of abuse during adulthood [(_2 (1, N = 311) = 19.20, p> .001)]. These results should be interpreted with some caution since there was a high proportion of missing data for the non-Aboriginal sample (approximately 27%), which may have biased the results. However, the findings of this study are quite consistent with those of the Survey in clearly indicating that experiences of abuse were prevalent among incarcerated Aboriginal women in both samples.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Le rôle parental et les expériences de violence des délinquantes : Examen des évaluations initiales des délinquantes

La population autochtone et les expériences de violence

Selon le rapport sur le Sondage, la violence est beaucoup plus omniprésente dans la vie des femmes autochtones (Shaw et al., 1990, p.30) que dans celle des femmes non autochtones. Il y est indiqué que 90 % des femmes autochtones et 61 % des femmes non autochtones sont physiquement violentées, tandis que 61 % des premières et 50 % des secondes sont victimes d'agressions sexuelles. Les tableaux 10 et 11 résument les conclusions de la présente étude concernant les expériences de violence que ces deux groupes de femmes déclarent avoir vécues pendant l'enfance et l'adolescence, et une fois devenues adultes.

Le tableau 10 montre que dans l'échantillon constitué pour l'Examen des EI, 75,9 % des femmes autochtones pour lesquelles l'information est disponible avouent avoir été maltraitées pendant leur enfance et leur adolescence (qu'elles aient fait une allusion générale à la violence vécue ou fourni des détails sur les mauvais traitements subis), alors que ce pourcentage tombe à 55,6 % pour les femmes non autochtones. De plus, un plus faible pourcentage de femmes autochtones (10,8 %) que de femmes non autochtones (21,6 %) affirment n'avoir jamais subi aucune forme de violence.

Tableau 10

Expériences de violence que les femmes autochtones et non autochtones déclarent avoir vécues pendant l'enfance et l'adolescence

   

Autochtones

(N=83)a

Non autochtones

(N=282)b

 

n

%

n

%

Allusion générale à la violence

21

(25,3)

56

(19,8)

Descriptions précises de la violence subie

42

(50,6)

101

(35,8)

Aucune expérience de violence

9

(10,8)

61

(21,6)

Milieu positif et favorable

8

(9,6)

54

(19,1)

         

Remarque. Les renseignements, selon les origines raciales, n'étaient pas disponibles pour 21 femmes [allusion générale (8), descriptions précises (5), aucune violence (3), milieu positif (4), aucune information au sujet de la violence (1)].

a Ce renseignement n'était pas disponible pour 5 femmes autochtones.

b Ce renseignement n'était pas disponible pour 35 femmes non autochtones.

Le tableau 11 démontre que 95,9 % des femmes autochtones affirment avoir subi de mauvais traitements au cours de leur vie adulte (qu'elles aient fait une allusion générale à la violence vécue ou fourni des détails sur les mauvais traitements subis), tandis que 74,2 % des femmes faisant partie de l'échantillon non autochtone font les mêmes révélations. Seulement 4,1 % des femmes autochtones et 27,6 % des femmes non autochtones déclarent n'avoir jamais subi de violence au cours de leur vie adulte.

Tableau 11

Expériences de violence que les femmes autochtones et non autochtones déclarent avoir vécues au cours de leur vie adulte

   

Autochtones

(N=74)a

Non autochtones

(N=232)b

 

n

%

n

%

Allusion générale à la violence

26

(35,1)

61

(26,3)

Descriptions précises de la violence subie

45

(60,8)

107

(46,1)

Aucune expérience de violence

3

(4,1)

64

(27,6)

         

Remarque. Les renseignements, selon les origines raciales, n'étaient pas disponibles pour 21 femmes [allusion générale (3), descriptions précises (6), aucune violence (7), aucune information au sujet de la violence (5)].

a Ce renseignement n'était pas disponible pour 14 femmes autochtones.

b Ce renseignement n'était pas disponible pour 85 femmes non autochtones.

Un test du khi carré a été réalisé afin d'examiner les différences entre les deux groupes (femmes autochtones et non autochtones) concernant la prévalence de la violence pendant l'enfance et l'adolescence, et au cours de la vie adulte. Les femmes ayant fait une allusion générale à violence subie et celles ayant fourni des descriptions précises de cette violence ont été regroupées en une seule catégorie. Une différence statistiquement significative est apparue entre les femmes autochtones et non autochtones [(_2 (1, N = 365) = 10,13, p>0,01)], indiquant que les premières avaient été beaucoup plus souvent maltraitées, ou déclaré avoir été maltraitées, que les secondes. Dans le même ordre d'idées, un beaucoup plus grand nombre de femmes autochtones déclarent avoir vécu des expériences de violence au cours de leur vie adulte ou décrivent ces expériences [(_2 (1, N = 311) = 19,20, p> 0,001)]. Ces résultats doivent être interprétés avec prudence car ils peuvent être faussés par le fait que les renseignements voulus n'étaient pas disponibles pour une forte proportion de l'échantillon non autochtone (environ 27 %). Toutefois, les conclusions de la présente étude correspondent assez bien à celles du Sondage et indiquent clairement que, dans les deux échantillons, les femmes autochtones incarcérées ont souvent vécu des expériences de violence.