Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Federally Sentenced Women Maximum Security Interview Project: "Not Letting the Time Do You"

WOMEN'S GENERAL PERCEPTIONS REGARDING CLASSIFICATION REDUCTION

    Your attitude has to change. Without a change of attitude, you're not going to be able to achieve anything or get anywhere. (Alison)

Many questions relating to security classification reduction were explored in the interviews. In Section 5, responses regarding the women's general perceptions of security level reduction are summarized. Specifically, questions considered in this section concern whether the maximum security women interviewed want to reduce their security level, whether they perceive there to be advantages of being classified down, and if so, whether there are advantages associated with a lower security classification. As well, the questions explored the women's subjective level of understanding of how security levels can be reduced.

5.1 Whether Women Want To Be Classified Down

More than three-quarters of the maximum security women (79%) stated that there had been periods of time in which they had not been interested in reducing their maximum security level or had actively engaged in behaviours to achieve or maintain maximum security. As indicated in Figure 4 below, at the time of their interviews slightly more than half of the maximum security women (57%) expressed the desire to be classified down. The SNP segment accounted for 60% of those women who did not want to be classified down.

Figure 4
Whether Women Want to be Classified Down

# Women

  • All six of the women in the GP segment expressed that for a considerable period of time at the beginning of their maximum security classification, they had little or no wish to reduce their security level.

    When I first came here my attitude wasn't that good - I admit... Well, just talking back to the guards - I didn't really care - I didn't really think about the consequences of what I did - that's changed now. I decided that - I realized that I have to try - since I've been on the range [moved from being housed with special needs population to being housed with general population], this happened actually, and I wanted to get myself down to medium - so I just tried harder - I figured that I might as well do it now because it will look better for me in the long run...I don't know...Back then it didn't matter - when I first got here - the first, like six months. (Pam)

    Like I said...I didn't want [to be] medium - I was at the point where I thought there's no point in setting myself up. (Chris)

    ˇ Similarly, one woman who had on a previous occasion been classified down to medium, spoke of not having been ready for the security reduction.

    I think when I was reclassified to medium - I think it was a little too quick...I think if I [had not been reclassified] so quickly - if my security level wasn't lowered so quickly I might have had a little bit more time to address a little more and make myself a little bit more prepared - but I really feel that I was being rushed out the door - I really do. And I couldn't understand it - because I am a violent offender and I am in for a violent crime - so I couldn't understand why would they want to hurry up and get me into society? (Alison)

  • Four of the six women in the GP segment (67%) stated emphatically that they now wished to reduce their maximum security classification and that they were actively involved in this pursuit. Moreover, these four women felt that reducing their security level was a realistic and attainable goal.

    I never, ever saw it as an achievable goal until probably three or four months ago. But now that I see it as an achievable goal, it's worth giving it the initiative to try and reach. (Kerry)

  • Of the two GP women who were ambivalent about reducing their security level, one woman stated that she had not given her security classification much thought. She also expressed ambivalence about wanting a lower classification and about being able to attain such a goal. The other woman clearly stated that she did not want her security level reduced if it meant leaving the unit where she was currently housed.

    I've never really thought too much about my classification, like max, so I don't really know - for me, I've been max the whole time, so I don't think about it...Well, I feel like I'll never achieve it, so what's the sense? (Tanya)

Special needs population segment

  • Five of the eight women in the SNP segment (63%) expressed having experienced long periods of time where they had no desire to reduce their maximum security classification.

    I don't care really - I just would like to get out when it's time to go. (Kim)

  • Two of these women expressed having actively done something (e.g. assault staff) in order to maintain their classification
  •  

    ...I never did want to go [to the regional facility] - I act[ed] out - punched out a staff member so I make sure that I won't go...Because I'm used to all the staff here - and I didn't want to change - I didn't want to go...They knew that - they could figure that out. (Nicki)

5.2 Perceived Advantages of Being Classified Down

The women interviewed were asked for their perceptions of the differences between the ways that women who were maximum security and women who were medium security did their time as well as what they considered to be some of the advantages of being classified down to a lower security level. Generally, the women felt that how an inmate was classified did affect how they served their time - from determining where they served their time (i.e. a regional facility or a maximum security unit), to the amount of restrictions placed on their movement (i.e. eligibility for certain types of passes, etc.).

General population segment

Five of the six women in the GP segment (83%) stated that there were differences between the ways that women who were maximum security and women who were medium security did their time. Such differences included not having to wear shackles and cuffs when leaving the institution for ETAs, the possibility of getting passes, being perceived as "worth a chance," and differences in the institutions where women did their time.

All six women listed a number of advantages to being classified down. These advantages included:

  • Increased parole opportunities and/or a more structured release plan (n=6, or 100%).
  • The possibility, though not the mandate of transfer to a regional facility (n=5, or 83%).
  • The possibility of getting UTAs and ETAs (n=4, or 67%).
  • Less stigma attached to a medium security classification - both within and outside of the institution (n=3, or 50%).

    Well, I wouldn't feel like I was such a big threat going outside on my statutory release with this great big thing on my file - "maximum security." (Chris)

  • Feeling that there were greater opportunities for programming at a regional facility (n=2, or 33%).

    Programs, programs, and programs. When you're maximum, you get nothing - I'm telling you. You're thrown by the wayside. You know - they feel you're not worth anything. And you feel like you're going to sit there until your MS [mandatory supervision] or your warrant expiry - which is what maximums do if they don't get reclassified...When you're a medium, then they sort of look at - okay, this program can help you do this or that - you get a chance to go somewhere. When you're a medium you're eligible for ETA - you know, successful completion of ETAs, then you're open for a UTA, then you can get a day parole and then you can get out. You can't work your way out from being maximum - you just can't, all right. Because you can't get any TA's, you can't, you know, get a day parole. Nobody wants to have anything to do with you - you're maximum, you know. They don't know what to do with us... (Kerry)

Special needs population segment

Six of the seven women in the SNP segment who understood this line of questioning (86%) stated that there were differences between the ways that women who were maximum security and women who were medium security did their time.

Six of the women stated there were advantages to being classified down, included among the advantages listed were:

  • Structural and organizational differences between where they are currently being housed and the regional facilities (n=3, or 43%).

    You live in a house and you don't have no staff members telling you what to do. You cook your own meals. And the girls do whatever you want to do in the house. But here - you can't do nothing - just spending time. (Nicki)

  • The opportunity to be transferred to a regional facility (n=2, or 29%).
  • Feelings that there are more programs and more things to do for medium security women (two women linked this to being at the regional facilities) (n=3, or 43%).

    Get more things to do. (Denise)

      One woman felt that a medium security classification would look better for the parole board and, because of programming opportunities, also provide a better chance of successful reintegration to the community.

    ...if I was classified medium it would give me a chance...In [name of regional facility] you get to have an open house, real bed to sleep on, no locked doors...you have free roam. And you get to learn cooking skills...you can't just expect a maximum security inmate, who's been max all during her sentence, and not learning no trade, no life skills, been incarcerated for a long time, and they go out - how long do you think a person who's been in prison for a couple years - and there's another person who's been medium and who's learned all these skills - medium person will go out and the other person will just fall on their face. (Tina)

  • Less restriction of movement within the institution for medium security women (n=2, or 29%).

    It's hard to do your time in a maximum - it's easier to do your time in a regular jail, like [name of regional facility]. Like they got more things to do. Like from walking in the night [being able to walk around in house] - like you gotta be watched here all the time, being maximum. You can go to the gym - and they have crafts everyday almost. (Rita)

  • Absence of shackles and handcuffs for medium security women when leaving the institution to go to the hospital (n=1).

    ...if I was medium I wouldn't have to get shackled when they take me to the hospital outside - mediums don't get shackled. (Clara)

5.3 Women's Understanding of How Security Levels Can Be Reduced

As indicated in Figure 5 below, more than half the maximum security women (57%) rated their level of understanding of how security levels are reduced as poor. Exhibiting good institutional behaviour was identified by all women as an important factor in the reduction of security classification. There were marked differences between GP and SNP women both in respect to how they rated their level of understanding and the extent of their understanding, with women in the GP segment perceiving and demonstrating a greater degree of understanding.

General population segment

  • Most women in the GP segment considered the reduction of their security classification as contingent upon exhibiting a certain pattern of conformity that included good institutional behaviour and following their correctional plan.

    Exhibiting a pattern of good institutional behaviour was identified by all the women in the GP segment as an important consideration for security classification reduction. This was explained in terms of staying charge-free, being respectful of staff and inmates, having a positive attitude, not being reactionary, and being consistent.

    I think I was really on a self-destructive pattern when I was there [at P4W]. I was digging my hole deeper and deeper - I didn't give a fuck about relocation, I didn't give a fuck about getting out of prison. Most of the times I didn't give a fuck about staying in - most of the times I didn't give a fuck whether I'd live to see the next morning, you know. I mean, I was really suicidal. I didn't think I'd ever get out of prison, I thought that my life would be - like, you know - that I'd be 50 years old looking back on my life in prison. (Kerry)

  • Five of the women in the GP segment (83%) identified following their correctional plan, especially in terms of actively participating in programming, including attending programs and working, as important for security classification reduction.
  • Aside from programming, three women (50%) stated that it was important to be seen as working on their issues (e.g. not self-injuring, staying clean, and not exhibiting ups and downs) in order to be favorably reviewed for a lower security classification.

    I knew what I had to do - number one was complete attitude adjustment...Well I guess, a maximum woman - I guess it's basically your behaviour, your attitude...if you're going around and you're saying well this is me and I don't care what you say...and I don't need any help because I got it all together - I think that's the big difference - as soon as you start realizing that you don't have it all together and you start reaching out for help - then you can become medium. But the big thing is your behaviour - violent outbursts, of course you're going to be maximum - dirty urinalysis, attitude, if you're not being productive, if you're not going to work, if you're not participating in programs, integrating with other inmates very well - I think that keeps you max. (Alison)

    Well, I think that if I stopped threatening people - hitting people - did the programs, go to the gym with the girls - the Y comes in, do that - if they see me participating, doing things, then I think that that would help. Then I think that within three months I could have my security lowered. (Tanya)

    Just try not to, you know, let history repeat itself... (Chris)

Special needs population segment
  • Exhibiting good institutional behaviour was also identified by all the women in the SNP segment as an important factor in security reduction. However, they did not view this as an overall pattern of attitude and behaviour per se, but rather more directly in terms of being "good," "taking one's medications," being "polite" to guards, "follow[ing] orders," and not incurring charges.

    Okay, let me see, don't get no charges, be polite to the guards. (Denise)

  • Four of the women in the SNP segment (50%) mentioned participating in programs as important for security classification reduction.

    If I wanted to get lower status [I needed] - to do my programs, take my medication, and treat the officers with respect and that's about it. (Kim)

    Not to hurt anybody. Don't break the crimes or the rules. You can get charged from here too - you can get charged for breaking crimes...I gotta [sic] be good here - no charges. (Rita)

    To behave myself and not to throw things or plug toilets and do what the guards tell me to do and ignore the girls if they try to get me upset...well they want me to go to programs - but they're too hard for me. (Clara)

Figure 5
Women's Understanding of How Security Levels Can Be Reduced

# of Women

Level of Understanding

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Détenues sous responsabilité fédérale - Projet d'entrevue de détenues dites à sécurité maximale : faire du temps sans se laisser faire par le temps

Segment de la population générale

5.1 Les femmes souhaitent-elles une réduction de leur cote?
5.2 Avantages perçus d'une réduction de cote
5.3 Compréhension des femmes au sujet des moyens pour réduire la cote de sécurité

    Il faut que ton attitude change. Sans un changement d'attitude, tu ne parviendras à rien et n'iras nulle part. (Alison)

Un grand nombre de questions portant sur la réduction de la cote de sécurité ont été examinées pendant les entrevues. Dans la section 5, les réponses concernant la perception générale des femmes quant à la réduction des niveaux de sécurité sont résumées. En particulier, les questions considérées dans cette section visent à savoir si les détenues dites «à sécurité maximale» interviewées veulent réduire leur cote de sécurité, si elles estiment qu'une telle réduction présente des avantages et, dans l'affirmative, si des bienfaits sont associés à une cote de sécurité inférieure. Aussi, les questions ont examiné le niveau subjectif de compréhension des femmes quant à la manière de réduire les cotes de sécurité.

 

5.1 Les femmes souhaitent-elles une réduction de leur cote?

Haut de la page

Plus des trois quarts des détenues dites «à sécurité maximale» (79 p. 100) ont indiqué qu'il y avait des périodes de temps pendant lesquelles elles n'avaient pas souhaité réduire leur cote de sécurité élevée ou s'étaient activement comportées de façon à mériter ou garder une cote de sécurité élevée. Comme l'indique la figure 4 ci-dessous, au moment de leur entrevue, légèrement plus de la moitié des détenues dites «à sécurité maximale» (57 p. 100) ont exprimé le désir d'obtenir une cote de sécurité inférieure. Le segment PBS comprenait 60 p. 100 des femmes qui ne voulaient pas une cote de sécurité réduite.

Figure 4
Les femmes souhaitent-elles une réduction de leur cote?

Nombre de femmes

Segment de la population générale

Les six femmes du segment PG ont signalé que, pendant une période de temps considérable, lorsque la cote de sécurité élevée leur avait tout d'abord été attribuée, elles avaient peu ou pas souhaité réduire leur cote de sécurité.

Lorsque je suis arrivée ici, mon attitude n'étais pas très bonne - je dois l'admettre... Eh bien, juste le fait de répliquer aux gardiens - ça m'était vraiment égal - je ne pensais pas vraiment aux conséquences de ce que je faisais - tout ça est changé maintenant. J'ai décidé que - je me suis rendue compte que je devais essayer - depuis que je suis arrivée dans la rangée [transférée de la population ayant des besoins spéciaux à la population générale], ceci s'est réellement produit et je voulais vraiment faire réduire ma cote de sécurité à moyenne - et j'ai essayé plus fort - j'ai pensé qu'il serait préférable que je le fasse maintenant parce que cela paraîtra mieux pour moi à la longue... Je ne sais pas... À ce moment-là, ça n'avait aucune importance - lorsque je suis arrivée ici - les six premiers mois par exemple. (Pam)

Comme je l'ai dit... Je ne voulais pas être [une détenue dite «à sécurité»] moyenne - J'étais au point où je pensais qu'il ne valait pas la peine d'avoir de faux espoirs. (Chris)

De même, une femme qui avait, à une occasion, obtenu une réduction de sa cote à moyenne a indiqué de ne pas avoir été prête pour la réduction de sa cote de sécurité.

Je pense que lorsque j'ai été reclassée à moyenne - je pense que c'était un peu trop vite...Je pense que si je [n'avais pas été reclassée] si vite - si ma cote de sécurité n'avait pas été abaissée si vite, j'aurais eu un peu plus de temps pour faire un peu plus et me préparer un peu mieux - mais je crois vraiment que j'étais précipitée de l'autre côté de la porte - je le crois vraiment. Et je ne pouvais pas le comprendre - parce que je suis une délinquante violente et j'ai commis un crime violent - je ne pouvais pas comprendre pourquoi ils voudraient se hâter à me réinsérer dans la société. (Alison)

  • Quatre des six femmes du segment PG (67 p. 100) ont catégoriquement affirmé vouloir à présent réduire leur cote de sécurité élevée et s'être activement engagées à le faire. De plus, ces quatre femmes croyaient que la réduction de leur cote de sécurité était un objectif réaliste qu'elles pouvaient atteindre.

Je ne l'ai jamais considéré comme un objectif réalisable qu'il y a probablement trois ou quatre mois. Mais maintenant, je vois que c'est possible, ça vaut la peine de prendre l'initiative pour tenter de l'atteindre. (Kerry)

  • Des deux femmes du segment PG qui étaient ambivalentes au sujet de la réduction de leur cote de sécurité, l'une a affirmé ne pas avoir beaucoup songé à sa cote de sécurité. Elle a aussi exprimé son ambivalence au sujet d'un classement inférieur et de sa capacité d'atteindre un tel but. L'autre femme a clairement déclaré qu'elle ne voulait pas que sa cote de sécurité soit réduite si cela signifiait quitter l'unité où elle résidait actuellement.

Je n'ai jamais réellement pensé à mon classement, comme étant à sécurité maximale, donc je ne sais pas vraiment - pour moi j'ai toujours eu une cote de sécurité maximale, donc je n'y pense pas... Eh bien, je pense que je n'y parviendrai jamais, alors à quoi bon? (Tanya)

Segment de la population ayant des besoins spéciaux
  • Cinq des huit femmes du segment PBS (63 p. 100) ont révélé avoir passé de longues périodes de temps pendant lesquelles elles ne souhaitaient pas réduire leur cote de sécurité élevée.

Ça m'est vraiment égal - je veux simplement sortir lorsque le temps sera venu. (Kim)

  • Deux de ces femmes ont dit avoir activement fait quelque chose (p. ex. voies de fait contre le personnel) afin de conserver leur cote de sécurité.

Je n'ai jamais voulu aller à [l'établissement régional] - je deviens agressive - j'ai donné un coup de poing à un membre du personnel pour m'assurer de ne pas y aller... Parce que je suis habituée au personnel ici - et je ne voulais pas changer - je ne voulais pas y aller... Ils le savaient - ça leur sautait aux yeux. (Nicki)

 

5.2 Avantages perçus d'une réduction de cote

Haut de la page

On a demandé aux femmes interviewées quelles étaient leur perception des différences entre la façon dont les détenues dites «à sécurité maximale» et les détenues dites «à sécurité moyenne» purgeaient leur peine et ce qu'elles considéraient être certains des avantages de la réduction de la cote de sécurité. En règle générale, les femmes croyaient que la cote de sécurité d'une détenue avait une incidence sur la manière dont elle purgeait sa peine - que ce soit quant à de déterminer où elle purge sa peine (p. ex. un établissement régional ou une unité à sécurité élevée) ou quant à la quantité de restrictions de ses mouvements (p. ex. admissibilité à certains types d'absences temporaires, etc.).

Segment de la population générale

Cinq des six femmes du segment PG (83 p. 100) ont affirmé qu'il y avait des différences entre la façon dont les détenues dites «à sécurité maximale» et les détenues dites «à sécurité moyenne» purgeaient leur peine. De telles différences étaient par exemple de ne pas avoir à porter de menottes et de fers au moment de quitter l'établissement pour des PSAS, la possibilité d'obtenir des absences temporaires, d'être considérée comme «valant la peine», de même que quant aux établissements où les femmes purgeaient leur peine.

Toutes les six femmes ont énuméré un certain nombre d'avantages dans la réduction de leur cote de sécurité :

  • de plus grandes chances de libération conditionnelle et un plan de libération conditionnelle plus structuré (n=6 ou 100 p. 100);
  • la possibilité, mais non le mandat de transfèrement à un établissement régional (n=5 ou 83 p. 100);
  • la possibilité d'obtenir des PSSS et des PSAS (n=4 ou 67 p. 100);
  • moins de stigmates liés à une cote de sécurité moyenne - tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur de l'établissement (n=3 ou 50 p. 100);

Eh bien, je ne sentirais pas que je constitue une si grosse menace lorsque je sortirai dans le cadre de ma libération d'office avec cette grosse chose dans mon dossier - «sécurité maximale». (Chris)

  • l'impression qu'il y avait un plus grand nombre de programmes offerts dans un établissement régional (n=2 ou 33 p. 100).

Programmes, programmes et programmes. Lorsque votre cote de sécurité est maximale, vous n'obtenez rien - je vous le dis. On vous abandonne en route. Vous savez - ils pensent que vous ne valez rien. Et vous avez l'impression que vous allez rester assis là jusqu'à votre liberté surveillée ou la date d'expiration de votre mandat - c'est ce que font les détenues dites «à sécurité maximale» dont la cote n'est pas changée... Lorsque vous avez une cote à sécurité moyenne, ils disent que ce programme, par exemple, peut vous aider à faire ceci ou cela - vous avez la chance de vous engager dans une voie. Lorsque vous avez une cote de sécurité moyenne, vous êtes admissible à la PSAS - vous savez, si les PSAS se déroulent bien, puis vous pouvez obtenir une PSSS, puis la semi-liberté, puis vous pouvez sortir. Vous ne pouvez vous en sortir avec une cote de sécurité maximale - c'est impossible, - compris. Parce que vous ne pouvez obtenir de PS, vous ne pouvez obtenir, vous savez, de semi-liberté. Personne ne veut rien savoir de vous - vous avez une cote de sécurité maximale, vous savez. Ils ne savent pas quoi faire avec nous... (Kerry)

Segment de la population ayant des besoins spéciaux

Six des sept femmes du segment PBS qui ont compris les questions (86 p. 100) ont affirmé qu'il y avait des différences entre la manière dont les détenues dites «à sécurité maximale» et les détenues «à sécurité moyenne» purgeaient leur peine.

Six des femmes ont affirmé qu'une cote de sécurité réduite présentait des avantages, dont les suivants :

  • des différences en termes de structure et d'organisation entre leur lieu d'incarcération actuel et les établissements régionaux (n=3 ou 43 p. 100);

Vous vivez dans une maison et aucun membre du personnel ne vous dit quoi faire. Vous faites votre propre cuisine. Et les filles font ce que vous voulez qu'elles fassent dans la maison. Mais ici - vous ne pouvez rien faire - juste passer le temps. (Nicki)

  • la possibilité d'être transférées à un établissement régional (n=2 ou 29 p. 100);
  • l'impression qu'il y a plus de programmes et plus d'activités pour les détenues dites «à sécurité moyenne» (deux femmes ont précisé qu'elles parlaient en fait des établissements régionaux) (n=3 ou 43 p. 100);

Tu as plus de choses à faire. (Denise)

Une femme croyait qu'une cote de sécurité moyenne donnerait une meilleure impression à la commission des libérations conditionnelles et, en raison des programmes offerts, permettrait aussi une réinsertion plus réussie dans la collectivité.

... si j'étais classée à sécurité moyenne, j'aurais une chance. À [nom de l'établissement régional], il n'y a aucune restriction, on nous donne un vrai lit pour dormir, les portes ne sont pas fermées à clé... on nous accorde une liberté de mouvement. Et, on apprend à faire la cuisine... on ne peut pas simplement s'attendre à ce qu'une détenue dite «à sécurité maximale», qui a toujours eu cette cote de sécurité, et qui n'a appris aucun métier, aucune aptitude sociale, est incarcérée depuis longtemps et lorsqu'elle sort - combien de temps pensez-vous qu'une personne qui a été incarcérée pendant deux ou trois ans - et une autre personne dite «à sécurité moyenne», qui a appris toutes ces aptitudes - une détenue dite «à sécurité moyenne» sortira et l'autre personne tombera face contre terre. (Tina)

  • moins de restrictions de mouvement dans l'établissement pour les détenues dites «à sécurité moyenne» (n=2 ou 29 p. 100);

Il est difficile de purger sa peine dans un établissement à sécurité maximale - il est plus facile de purger sa peine dans une prison ordinaire comme [nom d'un établissement régional. Ils ont beaucoup plus de choses à faire. Par exemple, faire une marche la nuit [être capable de faire le tour de la maison] - ici, on nous surveille tout le temps, parce que c'est un établissement à sécurité maximale. On peut aller au gymnase - et faire de l'artisanat presque tous les jours. (Rita)

  • l'absence de fers et de menottes pour les détenues dites «à sécurité moyenne» qui doivent quitter l'établissement pour aller à l'hôpital (n=1).

... si j'étais dans un établissement à sécurité moyenne, je n'aurais pas à porter les fers lorsqu'on m'amène à l'hôpital à l'extérieur - les détenues dites «à sécurité moyenne» n'ont pas de fers. (Clara)

 

5.3 Compréhension des femmes au sujet des moyens pour réduire la cote de sécurité

Haut de la page

Plus de la moitié des détenues dites «à sécurité maximale» (57 p. 100) ont estimé que leur niveau de compréhension de comment réduire leur cote de sécurité était mauvaise. Un bon comportement en établissement a été identifié par toutes les femmes comme étant un facteur important de réduction de la cote de sécurité. On constate des différences importantes entre les détenues des segments PG et PBS en ce qui concerne leur estimation de leur niveau de compréhension et l'étendue de leur compréhension, les femmes du segment PG percevant et démontrant, comme elles l'avaient estimé, une plus grande compréhension.

Figure 5
Compréhension des femmes au sujet des moyens pour réduire la cote de sécurité

Nombre de femmes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Niveau de compréhension

Segment de la population générale
  • La plupart des femmes du segment PG ont considéré que la réduction de leur cote de sécurité dépendait d'une certaine conformité démontrée, telle que par un bon comportement dans l'établissement et par l'observation du plan correctionnel.
  • Un bon comportement continu dans l'établissement a été identifié par toutes les femmes du segment PG comme étant un élément important de réduction de la cote de sécurité. Ceci a été expliqué comme étant l'absence d'accusations, le respect du personnel et des autres détenues, une attitude positive, aucun comportement réactionnaire et la constance.

Je pense que j'étais dans la voie de l'autodestruction lorsque j'étais là [Prison des femmes]. Je creusais mon trou de plus en plus profond - je me foutais complètement de mon transfèrement et je me foutais complètement de sortir de prison. La plupart du temps, je me foutais d'y rester - et la plupart du temps je me foutais de savoir si je verrais un autre jour, vous savez. J'étais réellement suicidaire. Je ne pensais pas que je sortirais de prison. Je pensais que ma vie serait - vous savez - que j'aurais 50 ans, évoquant ma vie en prison. (Kerry)

  • Cinq des femmes du segment PG (83 p. 100) ont dit que le respect de leur plan correctionnel, surtout la participation active aux programmes, dont l'assiduité et le travail, étaient importants pour réduire la cote de sécurité.
  • À part les programmes, trois femmes (50 p. 100) ont indiqué qu'il était important d'être vues comme travaillant à leurs problèmes (par exemple, ne pas se blesser volontairement, ne pas se droguer, ne pas avoir des hauts et des bas) afin d'être considérées favorablement pour une cote de sécurité inférieure.

Je savais ce que j'avais à faire - tout d'abord adapter complètement mon attitude... Eh bien, je pense, une détenue dite «à sécurité maximale» - je pense que c'est fondamentalement votre comportement, votre attitude... si vous vous affichez en disant voilà, c'est moi et ça m'est égal ce que vous dites... et je n'ai pas besoin d'aide parce que tout va bien - je pense que là est toute la différence - dès que vous vous rendez compte que tout ne va pas bien et que vous commencez à chercher à obtenir de l'aide - alors vous pouvez avoir une cote de sécurité moyenne. Mais la chose principale est votre comportement - des éclats de violence, bien entendu vous allez rester à sécurité maximale - avoir une analyse d'urine qui révèle des traces de drogue, l'attitude, un mauvais rendement, refuser de travailler, ne pas participer aux programmes, ne pas bien s'intégrer avec les autres détenues - je crois que cela maintient la cote de sécurité maximale. (Alison)

Eh bien, je pense que si j'arrêtais de menacer les gens - de frapper les gens - si je participais aux programmes, allais au gymnase avec les filles - le personnel du YMCA vient ici - s'ils constatent que je participe, que je fais des choses, alors je pense que ça pourrait aider. Je pense que d'ici trois mois, ma cote de sécurité pourrait être réduite. (Tanya)

Il faut essayer, vous savez, de faire en sorte que l'histoire ne se répète pas... (Chris)

Segment de la population ayant des besoins spéciaux
  • Un bon comportement à l'intérieur de l'établissement a aussi été identifié par toutes les femmes du segment PBS comme étant un facteur important dans la réduction de la sécurité; toutefois, elles ne l'ont pas perçu comme étant l'adoption générale d'une bonne conduite ou d'une bonne attitude, mais plutôt relié directement au fait «de bien se conduire», «de prendre ses médicaments», d'être «polie» envers les gardiens, «d'obéir aux ordres» et de ne pas commettre d'autres infractions.

D'accord, laissez-moi y penser, ne pas commettre d'infractions, être polie envers les gardiens. (Denise)

  • Quatre des femmes du segment PBS (50 p. 100) ont mentionné la participation aux programmes comme étant importante à la réduction de la cote de sécurité.

Si je voulais qu'on réduise ma cote de sécurité - [je devrais] participer à mes programmes, prendre mes médicaments et traiter les agents avec respect et c'est à peu près tout. (Kim)

Ne faire de mal à personne. Ne pas commettre de crimes ou enfreindre les règlements. On peut se faire mettre en accusation ici aussi - on peut être accusée pour les crimes commis... Je dois bien me comporter ici - pas de mise en accusation. (Rita)

Bien me comporter et ne pas lancer des choses ou boucher les toilettes et faire ce que les gardiens me disent de faire et ne pas faire attention aux filles si elles essaient de me déranger... eh bien, ils veulent que je participe aux programmes - mais ils sont trop difficiles pour moi. (Clara)