Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

The 2002 Mental Health Strategy For Women Offenders

Jane Laishes
Mental Health, Health Services
2002

RTF

GAPS TO BE ADDRESSED

Despite the numerous developments in women's mental health, there are some significant gaps in mental health interventions that remain outstanding as follows:

  1. The need for intermediate care for those who would not benefit from Dialectical Behavior Therapy or Psycho-Social Rehabilitation offered in the Structured Living Environments.
  2. The need for additional intensive care treatment beds especially in the Ontario, Quebec, and Atlantic regions where transfer to the Intensive Healing Program at the Churchill Unit in Saskatoon, may be problematic.
  3. Although it is believed that the prevalence/ incidence of Fetal Alcohol Effects/ Syndrome (FAS/E) is high, especially in correctional populations, no CSC studies have been undertaken. This is due, in part, to the lack of reliable diagnostic tools for the assessment of the disorder in adults, effective interventions, and information regarding the management of those affected. There is a need for additional research in this area.

Limitations
Fiscal and operational realities may override other considerations for women with mental health needs insofar as those requiring intensive care in regions without these specific treatment services may have to be transferred to another region. This then compromises the goal of attempting to ensure that women serve their sentence as near as possible to their home community.

Further, difficulties, such as the ability to acquire staff with the appropriate expertise in the highly specialized area of women offender mental health, may also place limitations on what can be developed in any particular location especially in some of the more remote locations. As well, the types of mental health services available in the community where the institution is located may play a role with respect to the range and types of services that can be offered to the institution.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Stratégie en matière de santé mentale pour les délinquants

Jane Laishes
Santé mentale, Services de santé
2002

RTF

LACUNES À COMBLER

Malgré les nombreux faits nouveaux survenus dans le domaine de la santé mentale des femmes, il reste d'importantes lacunes au chapitre des interventions de santé mentale, notamment :

  1. Le besoin de prévoir des soins intermédiaires pour les détenues qui n'auraient pas avantage à participer à une thérapie comportementale dialectique ou à la réadaptation psychosociale en milieu de vie structuré.
  2. Le besoin de prévoir des places additionnelles de soins intensifs de traitement, particulièrement dans les régions de l'Ontario, du Québec et de l'Atlantique, où les transfèrements au Programme intensif de guérison de l'unité Churchill à Saskatoon peuvent être problématiques.
  3. Même si l'on croit que la prévalence ou l'incidence du syndrome d'alcoolisation fœtale ou des effets de l'alcoolisation fœtale (SAF/EAF) est élevée, particulièrement chez les populations correctionnelles, le SCC n'a entrepris aucune étude, en raison, entre autres, du manque d'outils diagnostiques fiables pour évaluer le trouble chez les adultes, d'interventions efficaces et de renseignements sur la gestion des cas des personnes touchées. Il y a lieu d'effectuer d'autres recherches sur le sujet.

Limites
Les réalités budgétaires et opérationnelles peuvent primer sur d'autres considérations relatives aux délinquantes ayant besoin de soins de santé mentale dans la mesure où celles qui ont besoin de soins intensifs dans des régions où ces services plus spécialisés ne sont pas disponibles peuvent devoir être transférées dans une autre région. Cela nuit alors à l'atteinte de l'objectif de permettre aux délinquantes de purger leur peine le plus près possible de leur collectivité de résidence.

De plus, des difficultés telles que l'incapacité de recruter du personnel compétent dans le domaine très spécialisé de la santé mentale des délinquantes peuvent aussi limiter les services disponibles dans un endroit donné, particulièrement dans certains endroits éloignés. De même, les types de services de santé mentale offerts dans la collectivité où se trouve l'établissement peuvent jouer un rôle en ce qui a trait à la gamme et aux types de services pouvant être offerts à l'établissement.